Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1729806 times)

Offline markg66

• yippee ki yay MF
    • Murrumba Pistol Club Inc
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #1125 on: January 01, 2014, 02:37:08 PM »
Almost finished assembling new rc car and another 400bux down the toilet well spent

Jayco 2000 Eagle Outback.
If it isn't 50% off it aint a discount.

Offline berlitza

« Reply #1126 on: January 01, 2014, 05:49:35 PM »

will get a few up, atm I have to go a see a bloke that's selling a cheap chair

« Reply #1127 on: January 01, 2014, 07:00:01 PM »
Looks good Duggie

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #1128 on: January 03, 2014, 08:42:12 AM »
Well I built this.

It flys well. It is a bit like the camper! Let the Mods begin.
Think of the uses
Taking that fishing line out in to the surf without casting the rod getting the beer from the fridge.
Limited only by your imagination.
I am mounting my gopro on it for some different perspective shots.
Crispy

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1129 on: January 03, 2014, 09:00:22 AM »
changed the couplings around on both my offroad trailers.

well got my cheapy offroad hitch ready to fit. instead of welding it to the trailer, I welded it to another coupling plate and that can bolt onto the trailer. so if I dont like it, or I want to change it later on I can.

Its not a Chinese poly block but another sort of offroad hitch that I want to test before I buy another one.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #1130 on: January 03, 2014, 09:01:27 AM »

I have spent the last couple of days preping up my eldest sons project a , Mazda truck, for a respray.

it's a touch small to call it a truck isn't it Duggie?....lol

« Reply #1131 on: January 03, 2014, 09:22:02 AM »
it's a touch small to call it a truck isn't it Duggie?....lol

« Reply #1132 on: January 08, 2014, 10:01:10 PM »
On a day that should have been R&R, I spent the morning cleaning the man cave and then ripped into a kitchen spruce up in the arvo.  Not going the whole hog like timetogo, just a quick and cheap tidy up to get rid of that 80's look.

Re-laminate the benchtops
Paint the dark veneer doors in oil enamel (off white)
New handles
New splashback
New stainless steel rangehood (free)

Finally done! Sort of. Still a bit of caulking/trims to do and finish off the flooring to the rest of the room, which was a last minute extra!

From the above to this for under $600! Not including the flooring.

It wasn't all smooth sailing though!  I almost burnt the house down today thanks to an incident with a tin of contact adhesive and a blow torch... Don't ask.  Spent the arvo cleaning black soot and extinguisher powder of the walls and ceiling. So instead of finishing the flooring tomorrow, I'm repainting the back room :'(

Offline berlitza

« Reply #1133 on: January 08, 2014, 10:24:55 PM »
huge difference for $600 but more importantly whats hiding under the tarp outside

« Reply #1134 on: January 08, 2014, 10:41:23 PM »
more importantly whats hiding under the tarp outside

The poor Jayco that's currently feeling very unloved at the moment. :'(
Spent the week before Xmas getting it ready for our annual 10 day break with friends on the river.  2 days before Xmas the better half feel ill and our 6 year old also had her arm in plaster, so we decided to stay at home and renovate. >:(

« Reply #1135 on: January 09, 2014, 06:03:53 AM »
Great job! What's with all these white kitchens now? My missus want's to paint our solid Tassie blackwood kitchen white too :'(

« Reply #1136 on: January 09, 2014, 06:55:56 AM »
Clicked the 80 over last night after changing the head, started first shot!

:cheers: BD

« Reply #1137 on: January 09, 2014, 07:40:22 AM »

« Reply #1138 on: January 09, 2014, 08:20:29 AM »
Great job! What's with all these white kitchens now? My missus want's to paint our solid Tassie blackwood kitchen white too :'(
don't let her do it!!!  maybe do something similar to what we did with our kitchen a little while back, put 2 pac inlays inside a frame of solid timber for the doors to break up the look. whilst we didn't alter what we had and had the kitchen made that way, it gives it a nice look of not too modern for our old house, yet not full on country style kitchen either.

Ignore the light switch to the left of pic, it was replaced with the same style one you see to the bottom right of the window.

same thing in this pic aswell, the lightswitch was changed to the timber mounting block style you can just make out in the lefthand corner of the bench top splashback. no idea what type of bench top you have, but 30mm thick black granite really sets the lot off IMHO.

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #1139 on: January 09, 2014, 01:46:20 PM »
Repaired my quad copter after a little opps moment the other day. All good to go now camping this weekend.
Crispy

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

« Reply #1140 on: January 10, 2014, 07:05:28 AM »

Good news mate

« Reply #1141 on: January 10, 2014, 08:07:39 AM »

Great news mate

Offline rodw

« Reply #1142 on: January 10, 2014, 07:49:42 PM »
Dug a trench to run 15 amp power to the shed and drilled a couple of holes in the slab to get the power into the trench and back up into the shed. Looking forward to not having to run an extension lead to run my welders.

Offline evans52

« Reply #1143 on: January 10, 2014, 09:31:19 PM »
Only took 4 months, but I've finally finished a wooden toy train for my as a present for my nephew.
It's an almost exact replica of the one my grandad made for me some 36 years ago.
I think it's about the first time since trade school I've done a little woodworking project like this.

All made from recycled tassie oak except for the MDF wheels.  Sanded up to 400 grit, finished with a couple of coats of tung oil and then buffed with carnauba / bees wax.  First time I've ever done that type of finish and I don't think I'll ever use polyurethane again.

Very cool Mate. Nice work. I'm jealous for 2 reasons. 1. I didn't make it and 2. It's not my toy.

Offline evans52

« Reply #1144 on: January 10, 2014, 09:33:24 PM »
I bottled 118 Stubbies of Home Brew. First time in about 7 years.  :cheers:

« Reply #1145 on: January 10, 2014, 11:49:24 PM »
Very cool Mate. Nice work. I'm jealous for 2 reasons. 1. I didn't make it and 2. It's not my toy.

Thanks mate.
It was a pretty special moment giving to my nephew at Christmas. Initially my sister thought it was the original train Grandad made me and then got all teary when I told her I made it.  My old man was pretty emotional too seeing his fathers work replicated.
God bless my nephew, the first thing he did with the train was to try and jump it off a small set of stairs :cup:.  Sis was mortified, but explained to her, that's what little boys do.  It's a toy to play with, not a show piece.

« Reply #1146 on: January 11, 2014, 05:35:22 AM »
Thanks mate.
It was a pretty special moment giving to my nephew at Christmas. Initially my sister thought it was the original train Grandad made me and then got all teary when I told her I made it.  My old man was pretty emotional too seeing his fathers work replicated.
God bless my nephew, the first thing he did with the train was to try and jump it off a small set of stairs :cup:.  Sis was mortified, but explained to her, that's what little boys do.  It's a toy to play with, not a show piece.

Special moments, indeed..... :cup: :cup:

Offline evans52

« Reply #1147 on: January 11, 2014, 07:46:24 AM »
Thanks mate.

Perfect. The best gift someone can give and receive is from the heart, soul, mind and made by hand.

I understand the emotional factor. For Christmas, my "Kid Sister" (25 years old) made me up a DVD to a song 'Hey Brother' with photos and scanned images of cards and notes I had given her growing up. It was the best gift I've ever received and so led to a tear or two.

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #1148 on: January 11, 2014, 08:13:14 AM »
I bottled 118 Stubbies of Home Brew. First time in about 7 years.  :cheers:

Mate make the move to post mix kegs. You'll never look back.

Mind you I went from two kegs and a Pluto gun to having three taps on the bar and a dozen kegs in waiting. In fact I haven't brewed in months. I think I might need to crush some grains today and get the mash tun warmed up.

Buster

« Reply #1149 on: January 11, 2014, 08:32:39 AM »
Dug a trench to run 15 amp power to the shed and drilled a couple of holes in the slab to get the power into the trench and back up into the shed. Looking forward to not having to run an extension lead to run my welders.
that was one job I was going to do at my place over Xmas, but I went camping instead.
Maybe I should get someone experienced like yourself to do it for me ... lol