Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730627 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #750 on: September 08, 2013, 12:36:43 PM »
Not strictly in the shed, beside the shed in the carport. Started the semi annual refresh of my old man's 6x4 trailer. He lives by the coast and I am trying to prolong the inevitable. Stripped, wire brushed and hit with rust converter. Hopefully get one coat of charcoal hammertone on this arvo.

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #751 on: September 08, 2013, 02:05:15 PM »
Well done, glad some ppl look after their box trailers.

Carry on...
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #752 on: September 08, 2013, 02:28:36 PM »
Well done, glad some ppl look after their "old Mans" box trailers.

Carry on...

« Reply #753 on: September 08, 2013, 02:31:47 PM »
Woops! that reminds me, my 6x4 cage trailer has been sitting at my inlaws for the last 8 months 3/4 full of green waste!

« Reply #754 on: September 08, 2013, 02:34:11 PM »
Woops! that reminds me, my 6x4 cage trailer has been sitting at my inlaws for the last 8 months 3/4 full of green waste!

new floor needed now !

bugger!

« Reply #755 on: September 08, 2013, 03:02:50 PM »
new floor needed now !

bugger!

Yeah, it was due for a new floor anyway, just hope I haven't completely stuffed the sides and gates too.

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #756 on: September 08, 2013, 03:41:13 PM »
hopefully they took  it to the tip and cleaned it out for you..

I would have.

Carry on...

« Reply #757 on: September 08, 2013, 05:03:32 PM »
hopefully they took  it to the tip and cleaned it out for you..

I would have.

Carry on...

It's all my rubbish.  I just dumped it at their place when cleaning up home for Christmas Day.  Then went on holidays, missed the free green waste drop off, then work/kids/life took over and I've just plain forgot about it!  The inlaws have been in and out traveling allot this year, can't really expect them to cover for my laziness.

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #758 on: September 08, 2013, 06:11:02 PM »
Over the last couple of weekends I've completely redone the electrics in the Aussie Swag.

Moved the battery to the rear storage well. The battery box has enough room to house a dcdc charger when I get a set of those great looking folding solar panels from Theo   :cup:
Installed a switch panel for all those bits and pieces.
Pulled out all the old wiring and replaced it with brand spanking 6B&S  ;D

Now I can re-purpose the jerry can holder that previously carried the battery box to it's intended use.   :cheers:
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #759 on: September 08, 2013, 08:53:45 PM »
Removed the front of the dash and the instrument panel.
Fited LED and bezel for low coolant warning unit on the front of instrument panel - including drilling a hole for the wire through the front and top of the instrument panel.
Sorted location for Traxide USI160 dual battery controller - including location for dash 'mod' switch.
Solved the 'riddle' of where to,run the wires for both he alarm and battery system through the fire wall.
Put the 'jig saw' back together for the Monday commute...
« Last Edit: September 08, 2013, 10:00:26 PM by B&B »

« Reply #760 on: September 08, 2013, 09:37:35 PM »
Cleaned washed, and did a stocktake so to speak on the trailer today.

Offline Followme1

• Follow Me Campers
« Reply #761 on: September 08, 2013, 10:47:04 PM »
fitted a solar panel to the shed roof today, to charge the battery on the boat.

George
http://www.followmecampers.com.au

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #762 on: September 09, 2013, 12:31:18 PM »
I vaccinated the lambs this moring, this afternoon I am gunna have to do a much easier job, so thats why I am going to sit at my workbench take it easy and make up a trailer lights testing control panel..

It will plug into my jump starter for power, then have a 7 pin round socket, as thats what I use for my trailers here.. then go to a series of switches i bought off ebay with different colours led lights.

yellow for left
red for stop
green for right
blue for lights, they dont do a brown led in the switches.

for the box i found an old paint tin, well its one of those jelly bean tins, saves me from making a box.

I have been wanting to make one for years, it will save backing up the car everytime I rewire a new trailer or make a new trailer to test the lights.

let yas know how it goes..

Offline Brij

« Reply #763 on: September 09, 2013, 06:01:11 PM »
make up a trailer lights testing control panel

Put a male plug on it as well, wired up to your LEDs, so you can plug it into a tow vehicle to make sure it's connections are working as well.

Saves having to use a trailer as a "test light".   :cheers:

Around at the in-laws for Father's Day tea the other week. BIL brings trailer along (loaded with bits of bed) to give to SIL to tow home.
Problem - 12 pin rectangular plug on trailer, 7 pin round on SIL's car.
FIL - "Got an adapter in the shed. I'll just go get it".
Half hour later ".....it's in here somewhere. I've found every other adapter....."
Me - "How about we take the round plug off an adapter and fit to trailer?"
No worries. Dark by now. Find screw driver.........pliers...........another half hour goes by. Plug new trailer plug into car. Nothing works. Find test light......another half hour in in FIL's shed......dismantle trailer plug whilst still plugged in....probe the back of plug.....still no good...have we got a proper earth on the test light?..... does the test even work?...... damn plastic bumpers.....take plug out of socket......yes...we have power at the car socket (at least on the parkers)..... test earth point on car socket....yes we have an earth.....test the other points.....eventually find everything except brake lights.....put trailer plug back in.......finally get power at each point with test light except brake lights.... but still no lights on trailer......torch is getting pretty flat.... relying on light in phone.....maybe no lights on trailer because wiring colors are all asre about in trailer loom....but still no brake light power at plug......give up........hook FIL's trailer up.......still no brake lights (but at least all the other lights on the FIL's trailer work, LEDs love 'em :cup:).........swap cargo from trailer A to trailer B......check brake fuse on SIL's car.....bloody mini blade fuses......looks alright.....try another anyway........no spare 15amp fuses.......steal one out of cigerette lighter circuit.......brake lights still not working.........fold myself up into the drivers foot well with test light and phone for a light to test brake light switch.......ah ha......bloody Falcon's >:(. Their crappy brake light switch should be part of their service schedule I reckon)....as good as we're going to get tonight.

Trailer lights.........do your head in sometimes >:( (especially someone else's).

Peter
NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #764 on: September 09, 2013, 08:41:34 PM »
MIght do a separate control panel for the car..

Actualy I might scrap the stupid jelly been paint can one day and make something better.

then make up a panel with LEDS on it. to represent left right brake and tail lights.

« Reply #765 on: September 13, 2013, 08:12:25 PM »
Not today but last Monday.
Welded up a trolley for my new tool box top.
Then put a shelf on it to hold my air tools.

"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #766 on: September 13, 2013, 08:35:38 PM »
replaced brake pads on one side of the CT tonight. Relocated the shock mount , and installed new shock. Will do the other side tomorrow

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline berlitza

« Reply #767 on: September 14, 2013, 04:19:24 PM »
Picked up a couple of twin packs of waterproof 12v outlets for 10bux and mounted/wired them in on the ct..

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #768 on: September 14, 2013, 06:35:20 PM »
Changed over all the spring hangers on my tandem. Fitted up the new brakes and hubs.

All that's left is bleed the brakes and weld in the floor.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline andoscamp

« Reply #769 on: September 14, 2013, 06:47:18 PM »
Started  the install of my 12v system in the CT.. hopefully get the wiring finished tomorrow..

Offline Campa

« Reply #770 on: September 14, 2013, 08:24:55 PM »
Pulled the 12v system out of the old toolbox,  to refit into the new flash aluminium toolbox I got for Father's Day.

Offline britts

« Reply #771 on: September 14, 2013, 09:11:45 PM »
Started installing twine heat exchanger and pump that I got off Rodsswag, just got to run2 more water lines then done.
No pics as mate is using my 100 series as he blew his 80 up, will get it back in time to service it before the meet.

« Reply #772 on: September 14, 2013, 09:13:32 PM »
Finished the freezer install to the Omeo

Made up a storage lid to keep put the rodents

Fitted the roof console and wrapped it in black

Tomorrow fit the console and pack the camper for a couple of weeks in the Flinders, happy days

« Reply #773 on: September 14, 2013, 09:18:57 PM »
reclined in the comfy chair & contemplated a VB , then had another as the1st went really well :cheers:

« Reply #774 on: September 14, 2013, 09:54:19 PM »
Outside the cave.
Finally picked up my trailer from the inlaws (aka the mobile compost heap).  Dismantled the old incinerator in the backyard to make way for a veggie garden, tip run and started knocking up the garden beds.

Inside the cave.
Oil and filter change on the Hilux and finish assembling an Ikea flat pack cupboard that got all too hard for the FIL.