Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1739669 times)

Hairs, lloydus67 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #700 on: August 25, 2013, 12:02:54 AM »
Welds are always hard to check because void shows as a crack. You could always get a weld run over the void

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #701 on: August 26, 2013, 09:35:33 PM »
Started my fridge mount and draws to replace what Nissan put in the xtrails.

Fridge one side, two draws on the other, not too high to allow some where for my best mate Max to travel with us.  Max is my dog, she is also my daughters best mate too.
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

« Reply #702 on: August 28, 2013, 06:54:36 AM »
I have sorted out the draws of spanners in my Nisota tool box, I like things in order.

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #703 on: August 28, 2013, 08:03:08 AM »
I almost got all my tools sorted on my bench...... In only one pile on my bench instead of scattered everywhere.  :-[
I must tidy them up
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #704 on: August 28, 2013, 08:31:43 AM »
I made a bigger better Ash catcher.. This one is Mark 2..

The first one caught several logs and tons of ash, that fell out of our Ultimate heater.. But it was time for it to be lent out to someone else and us to have a new one.

this one angles in towards the fire and is the full width of the fire.. made it ot of checker plate too so it looks a little nicer..

Carry on...
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #705 on: August 29, 2013, 03:53:51 PM »
I made a bit of room in my 20' container and set up an engine stand , then mounted up a 1HZ short motor I seem to have added to my list of things too do ..

now to find some more bits too add too it ,, someone has put new pistons in but its been sitting for a fair while and as I'm not sure about any of the work done , it will need to be striped back down and re assembled when I get a few more bits .... Agggggggghhhhhhh

Why do I ????

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #706 on: August 30, 2013, 11:07:10 PM »
changed the bearings and cups again in my new trailer.. this time with JAP bearings.

Carry on...

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #707 on: August 31, 2013, 10:25:26 AM »
Put the new muffler on my tractor as the old one blew off in the last wind storm we had. Then had to try it out so slashed on of the paddocks to get rid of the marshmallow weed.

Got the brake hose, bracket and master cylinder for my tandem, now just to find the time to fit it all. Since I'm off to the footy tonight and tomorrow is old bastards day, might not get much else done this weekend.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #708 on: August 31, 2013, 11:40:50 AM »
Put new seals on my camper, been sitting in the shed for a year waiting for me to do it.

took water tank off camper to clean and prep for second tank install, building pole holder on front drawbar.

2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #709 on: August 31, 2013, 12:47:01 PM »
stripped a heap of silicon off around the top vent from the caravan, trying to look for a leak.

messy dangerous job..

got the silicon to strip off from underneath inside the van after lunch.. bugger of a job, using my good chissel and seal puller as its hooked nicely..

Carry on...

Offline mcm72

• Australia, Love it or leave it
« Reply #710 on: August 31, 2013, 01:24:59 PM »
Been a busy morning in my garage today. 

Silicon sprayed the peg  Dring webbings around bottom of camper.  To stop water wicking up them into the tent.
Looks like that worked. !!!!! :)  ( hopefully finally a dry tent ! )

Then i sprayed the ends of the inside poles for the annex.  So it's easy to know when you are about to over extend the pole.

Repacked camper for a short weekend away next weekend.

And finally was the most important part.
Put my new my swag stickers on the tug and camper.

So pretty happy with my mornings work. 

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk - now Free
Navara D40 4x4
Camel Beachcomber CT

Australia,  Love it or Leave it :)

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #711 on: August 31, 2013, 07:17:09 PM »
Decided to put the bullbar on the patrol.

Only took 3hours and some mucking around with mounting it but its all on now.

Need bigger spotlights now :D
2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #712 on: August 31, 2013, 07:19:29 PM »
made a little umbrella or new roof for the hatch on the caravan thats leaking..

cant work out where its leaking from, so now gunna put on a cover the whole hatch and not use the hatch anymore..

hopefully that will stop the water getting in..

Carry on...

Offline evans52

« Reply #713 on: August 31, 2013, 08:34:14 PM »
Made up a spare wheel bracket for the camper from some left over 3mm steel plate and 48mm steel tubing.

Started it with a hangover and was nearing completion when The Bride came out with an ice cold glass of Coopers Sparkling Ale. I decided to down tools after 2. Will finish the bracket tomorrow arvo.

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #714 on: August 31, 2013, 08:43:41 PM »
 ;Dman and I replaced seal around the top of the camper trailer.  Job that we decided to do once we returned from the cape.  Trackabout  did a great job originally but we have done a lot of camping.  Trailer still in maintenance mode as the new bigger box we had put on before the cape trip fractured along the bottom seam and it is sitting at the repair shop waiting for them to weld up the aluminium.  Hope it gets done soon,  I feel the need to go camping again, been home from cape for 4 weeks now. :D cheers rellbell

Offline tourin n fishin

« Reply #715 on: August 31, 2013, 09:03:20 PM »
Welding, welding, welding... oh and some grinding on the trailer. nearly ready to bolt up suspension and fit top. then gas bottle holder, jerry can holder, battery and wiring, kitchen.... Dunno if i'll ever get to use it! ???

2003 GRj-120 Prado GXL
Custom trailer, oztrail camper 7 top

« Reply #716 on: September 01, 2013, 06:28:53 AM »
Spent part of  the day collecting wood from the side of the road to start the new project of Bush Furniture .
Topped up the Engel for planning purposes , then just planned & got started  :cheers:

« Reply #717 on: September 01, 2013, 06:59:16 AM »
I have sorted out the draws of spanners in my Nisota tool box, I like things in order.

Hey jclures where did you get the holder/divider/stand thingys from?

« Reply #718 on: September 01, 2013, 07:09:14 AM »
Spent the day down a my best mates man cave.  His is a business and has heaps of cool stuff like hoists, lathes, exhaust benders, tyre machines, scan tools and heaps of stuff with the words 'Snap On'.
The Pajero's minor oil drip has turning into a substantial leak in the last few weeks.  It was first diagnosed as a possible head gasket (V6) but the other side sprouted a leak too and as it got worse it became more obvious it was only the rocker covers.
The gaskets which are supposed to be a soft rubber, were a rock hard plastic, 4 of the 6 spark plug tubes were completely submerged in oil, which in turn destroyed the ignition leads too.  Also did the seals on the plates at the back of the heads.

In return for my mate doing that, I pottered around his workshop building new shelves for his office, fixing up the reception desk and a new lock on the dunny.

Then came the arduous task of checking the temperature on his beer fridge ;D  That took hours 8)

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #719 on: September 01, 2013, 07:50:03 AM »
Well i changed the wheel bearings in the Cub for the first time in preparation for the national meet and our trip afterwards. While the Cub was out side i gave it a polish and measured up the roof to get some alloy mesh welded in so it is easier to store stuff on the roof when we are travelling. Also done some forward planning for the fridge that should be arriving in the next week.
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

« Reply #720 on: September 01, 2013, 07:57:27 AM »
D4D I made them from some aluminium angle, I could not find anything that fitted the way I wanted ready made.

« Reply #721 on: September 01, 2013, 08:13:58 AM »
D4D I made them from some aluminium angle, I could not find anything that fitted the way I wanted ready made.

I think snap on used to do a plastic version. I have some but it was a long time ago.

« Reply #722 on: September 01, 2013, 08:24:46 AM »
Thanks, maybe these, I need to count how many spanners I have...
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Ernst-Low-Profile-30-Wrench-Spanner-Organizers-E6050-/160497804438

Offline Campa

« Reply #723 on: September 01, 2013, 08:32:20 AM »
Snapon have the best range.

Everything for tool storage you can find here.
http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/catalog1.asp?tool=all&Cat_ID=629052&Cat_NAME=Tool+Storage+Accessories&store=australia

Individual wrench racks. You can cut into any length.
http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/tools.asp?tool=all&Group_ID=675979&store=australia

Wrench set organiser
http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/tools.asp?tool=all&Group_ID=674753&store=australia

Offline Campa

« Reply #724 on: September 01, 2013, 08:33:11 AM »

Here's couple of tools in my toolbox.

« Last Edit: September 01, 2013, 08:41:51 AM by Campa »