Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730333 times)

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #675 on: August 07, 2013, 05:01:18 PM »

9 lts :-\
Did you spill some?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Only the crap out of the filter! All up the sump, filter and oil cooler hold 9.8 litres of oil. I drained out just under 9 from the sump, and with what was in the filter I figured 9 should go back in. Ive checked the dipstick daily since, and its bang on the  full mark every time. As I had the front wheels up on ramps im assuming there was a bit that didnt drain from the sump, and some still in the oil cooler.

They can be a pain for sure ! Put a large screwdriver through it and you just need enough movement to crack it !

Nearly went the screwdriver option, but found a set of these oil filter pliers at supercheap:  http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/SCA-Pliers-Oil-Filter.aspx?pid=291475#Cross

Worked a treat! Lucky the filter on the pajero is easy to get to!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2013, 08:53:31 PM by brickiematt »

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #676 on: August 07, 2013, 06:28:46 PM »
Unwrapped a heap of goodies i bought today, replacement jump starter and work light at supercheap.

New springs and lights for trailer 2.

Lots of different tail lights and a whole box of led number plate lights..

And few other goodies..

Ohh and a small led light to go in the cargo area in the back of the cruiser.. Its soo bright.. Loving the led world..

Tapa talker
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline berlitza

« Reply #677 on: August 08, 2013, 06:51:15 PM »
Fitted led tail lights a few weeks ago and realised that the ct didn't have any form of reverse lights,,,,,,,, well now it does  :police:

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #678 on: August 14, 2013, 09:54:26 PM »
Well it's been a week and a half since we returned from our cape York trip, and we slowly sifting through the dust to retrieve the car and camper trailer.  This arvo Tony pulled off trailer brakes to dedust and regrease in readiness for the next camping adventure. Cheers rellbell

« Reply #679 on: August 14, 2013, 10:11:07 PM »
replaced the exhaust fan in the KK kitchen box. What a horrible job that is, one of the few poorly designed bits where getting to the screws is almost impossible.

Ended up not soldering hte new fan in but added some connectors incase the fan breaks again. Still have the issue with the screws but will see how it goes.

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #680 on: August 15, 2013, 09:11:06 AM »
Unboxed the nice new shiny WIA Mig welder and sat it on its trolley.....then had to go to work.  :-[

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #681 on: August 15, 2013, 12:41:02 PM »
Yes but he did use a boot for a pillow.....or was that a pillow for a boot..........
When I was in my early 20s and bushwalking a lot I found that a PAIR of lace up Blundstone boots on their side, heels out actually made a reasonable pillow.
But back then I also thought that a 'thermarest' inflatable mat gave a GREAT night's rest too!
« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 05:37:41 PM by B&B »

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #682 on: August 15, 2013, 04:48:30 PM »
Well after a load of spray out early (love the smell of 2,4,D in the morning )  I slipped down towards kans and picked up my light bars from McGirr , and the ute being out with the wench I thought what the hell ..

So Ill have a bit of fun tonight and over the weekend , then I might just pull the bull bar off and give it a coat of paint before I put this on the ute ..

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #683 on: August 15, 2013, 06:38:39 PM »
Put trailer 2 back on the work bench and welded the chassis on the body all over and positioned the springs ready to weld on tomorrow.

Tapa talker

Offline berlitza

« Reply #684 on: August 15, 2013, 06:49:43 PM »
Put trailer 2 back on the work bench and welded the chassis on the body all over and positioned the springs ready to weld on tomorrow.

Tapa talker

How did number one finish up?  do ya end up selling it ?

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #685 on: August 15, 2013, 07:25:49 PM »
No still got it, will register it next week.
Spent 3 weeks working on other things for ppl.
Had to wait till i bought more parts..

Happy to keep t1.

Put it behind the commodore and it looked nice and level, well a little down at the front but generally looked good..

Tapa talker

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #686 on: August 16, 2013, 05:53:50 PM »
did some more welding on the t2  welded on the springs, started positioning the axle to weld on the tabs but had to go to the doctor and pickup the kids and do the shopping as the wife is recovering from an operation..

Peter,
 Tapa talker

« Reply #687 on: August 16, 2013, 09:25:39 PM »
Fitted my you-bute diy rear bar with twin swing out arms, 1 for the spare, the other for 2 x jerry's.
Just got to tidy up the paint, fit the alloy checker tread plate, and she is done.

« Reply #688 on: August 17, 2013, 05:21:27 PM »
Hmm, lets see.

1. Made up a spunky LED light set up for the CT kitcken.
2. Fixed the dodgy handle on the Hot Water unit for the CT.
3. Two coated the timber kitchen edges on the CT with a very nice wood stain.
4. Fitted a 12v outlet at the front of the CT for the Coleman Hot Water thingy.
5. Improved and modified my pole holder inside the CT.
6. Gave the CT kitchen a good scrub up.
7. Made up a new rope for the runner ducky for the boat.
8. Cleaned up the hinges on the cooker fold up thingy, as the Fraser trips have seen a bit of surface rust start.
9. Had about 3 or 4 beers.

Hmmm, i did something else too,  >:D but that wasn't in the shed.  >:D

« Reply #689 on: August 17, 2013, 06:23:21 PM »
my little helper & i installed my winch into the Patrol today   :cup:

"the wiring is finished Dad"

" I'll hold up the winch til' ya get the bolts Dad "

Offline Wezza

« Reply #690 on: August 17, 2013, 06:35:20 PM »
Changed a blown brake light on the Triton.......... Pretty exciting stuff

« Reply #691 on: August 17, 2013, 06:52:07 PM »
my little helper & i installed my winch into the Patrol today   :cup:

Sweet.
I made a little seat for my young bloke to sit on that sits over the bar.

« Reply #692 on: August 19, 2013, 08:33:08 PM »
Wasnt in the man cave...........Ok, Ok, I confess, it was in the womans kitchen.!!
Helped the good wife bake almost 1000 cupcakes for the RSPCA cupcake day fundraising, She was selling them at Bunnings Saturday and at IGA on Sunday. The last few went out the door this morning.
A couple got tasted purely for quality control purposes.
Yep, apron on and oven gloves at the ready, is there no end to my skill set?

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #693 on: August 21, 2013, 11:16:05 PM »
Cleaned mine to make way for the new CT!

Smartyingreen - HZJ-105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper

Using Tapatalk 4 on my Samsung Galaxy Note

Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #694 on: August 23, 2013, 11:10:45 PM »
Started stamping the id tag on t 2 while i remember what to put on it..

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #695 on: August 23, 2013, 11:28:45 PM »
Installed a light bar and removed the 4 HID spotties it replaced :) pics on McGirrs light bar thread in the showroom :)
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

« Reply #696 on: August 24, 2013, 02:12:13 AM »
Gave the work car some love (wash inside and out, Windex the windows, paint the underside of the tray/chassis black, touch up paint chips, organise tools/materials) and for some reason it feels like a new car to drive! Amazing how a freshly cleaned car seem to run much smoother haha!

Offline carinya

• Nothing $30 million wouldn't fix
« Reply #697 on: August 24, 2013, 09:27:45 PM »
Installed a turbo timer to the triton, created a great mess in an effort to refit the tool box lid on the ct with catches that keep water out. Forgot to replace the reverse bulb I swapped out so that I didn't get pinched for no turning signal.  Now I have nothing to report for tomorrow.
MK Triton Dual Cab.
Cheap gal trailer with some stuff added.

Offline markg66

• yippee ki yay MF
    • Murrumba Pistol Club Inc
« Reply #698 on: August 24, 2013, 09:59:41 PM »
Pulled one hub and brake off the camper and sand blasted and repainted the brake backing plate, hub and some other bits.
Thought I would do magnetic particle inspection on the welds holding the stub onto the axle, now I'm worried about it as it seems to have some cracks.
I'm not experienced with welds as we only do machined items at work so I don't know how to evaluate the welds as good or not.

..................damn!
« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 10:30:17 PM by markg66 »
Jayco 2000 Eagle Outback.
If it isn't 50% off it aint a discount.

Offline Darren253

« Reply #699 on: August 24, 2013, 10:23:27 PM »
Pulled one hub and brake off the camper and sand blasted and repainted the brake backing plate, hub and some other bits.
Thought I would do magnetic particle inspection on the welds holding the stub onto the axle, now I'm worried about it as it seems to have some cracks.
I'm not experienced with welds as we only do machined items at work so I don't know how to evaluate the welds as good it not.

..................damn!

Doesn't look too bad to me...  Try to file or flash grind the crack out by <1mm and see if it's still cracked below. If you have a blacklight then this will give a clearer indication.
2013 LC200 Altitude
2014 CC Exodus 14