Author Topic: Playing Mummies and Daddies in a Jayco with kids  (Read 21489 times)

Offline JU5T1N

Re: Playing Mummies and Daddies in a Jayco with kids
« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2013, 09:22:16 PM »
Best turning 90deg.  (face towards the kids with curtains blocking their view) as the support legs will stop the van rocking back & forth and not side to side.
Other wise side to side wobbles the whole van, the roof starts twisting and all anyone outside will being knowing for sure.

As for reinforcing the ply I can get pics if anyone needs

before it can be said that :worthles:, believe me I've told SWMBO the photo's are needed in order of helping others and all the bribes I could think of "WITHIN MY BUDGET"
sorry to say no pics this time.

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)

Offline Xfigio

« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2013, 09:25:20 PM »
Wow, thanks for all the replies.  Some very practical advice, and some not so much.  My wife and I haven't laughed that hard in ages.
On a serious note, we camp mostly in national parks, so while its not a major issue, we're sensitive to our neighbors sensibilities. 

It's good to know that it's not a show stopper.  :cheers:

For what it's worth, we like having the kids in the same tent/van as us, so separate accomodation isn't really an option.
Loving life with my family

« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2013, 09:26:37 PM »
And make sure the safety chains don't rattle on the drawbar.  Very embarrassing when your CP neighbour asks why the chains were rattling  :-[

B
Shell we say " Stuff Em " if its not them its you . Or should we say ' Get Busy "  >:D then :cheers::worthles:

« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2013, 09:30:49 PM »
Mate, haven't got one of the safety chains.  Hope this one of the drawbar will do  ;D

« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2013, 09:37:49 PM »
Mate, haven't got one of the safety chains.  Hope this one of the drawbar will do  ;D
wish l could raise a draw bar like that  >:D

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #30 on: January 31, 2013, 09:39:51 PM »
Camping in national parks!  Outdoor activities are a must aren't they?  >:D >:D >:D

« Reply #31 on: January 31, 2013, 10:38:11 PM »
Surely, there isn't enough room in the end of a Jayco for 'legs up'!   :D

Seriously though, Turbojohn has summed it up.
[/quote
Sorry Barry I was referring to only the jayco having legs down :angel:
So, only Jayco legs down... :cheers:

« Reply #32 on: January 31, 2013, 11:43:41 PM »
Camping in national parks!  Outdoor activities are a must aren't they?  >:D >:D >:D

That's where it's at, nothing like feeling the heat of the fire on the crown jewels.

Offline McAbouts

« Reply #33 on: February 01, 2013, 07:29:32 AM »
Nothing like waking up, checking My Swag for new posts and finding this delightful read. Best read I've had in ages, the suggestions are fabulous. I must say this has crossed my mind too but I'm very impressed someone has been brave (or ballsy!!!) enough to ask. Brilliant. I will continue to watch this one as no doubt there are loads more suggestions out there.

My suggestion- consider a camper trailer. No see-saw issues there.

Louise ;D ;D
2002 Prado
2010 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

« Reply #34 on: February 01, 2013, 07:39:37 AM »

Louise ;D ;D
Yes! That's the main reason I upgraded from a swan to a CT with a back bedroom :cheers:

Offline hargs

« Reply #35 on: February 01, 2013, 07:40:12 AM »
Nothing like waking up, checking My Swag for new posts and finding this delightful read. Best read I've had in ages, the suggestions are fabulous. I must say this has crossed my mind too but I'm very impressed someone has been brave (or ballsy!!!) enough to ask. Brilliant. I will continue to watch this one as no doubt there are loads more suggestions out there.

Louise ;D ;D

Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #36 on: February 01, 2013, 08:13:48 AM »
wish l could raise a draw bar like that  >:D
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Offline ivan

« Reply #37 on: February 01, 2013, 08:42:31 AM »
legs down when the legs are up.

Offline Xfigio

« Reply #38 on: February 01, 2013, 09:26:35 AM »

Being in southern Tas, other than Jan or Feb, this would be a non issue in a CT anyway, as it's so cold the little chap shrinks right up for warmth, so no chance of any afternoon delight.  Hence the Jayco, being off the ground for the dry and half solid walls for keeping warmth in.
Loving life with my family

Playing Mummies and Daddies in a Jayco with kids
« Reply #39 on: February 01, 2013, 10:03:46 AM »
Let's not go down the Tassie route...

Offline hargs

« Reply #40 on: February 01, 2013, 10:09:27 AM »
Let's not go down the Tassie route...

Why ? do you need a map ? :angel: :angel: :angel:
Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #41 on: February 01, 2013, 10:13:38 AM »

« Reply #42 on: February 01, 2013, 10:18:16 AM »
Camp amongst the grey nomads

They go to bed early
They sleep like the dead
And up north they have their aircons on flat out

Make as much noise as you want

Do it on a windy night with some references to o baby it is blowing and the kids will be none the wiser

Sorry could not help myself ;D

« Reply #43 on: February 01, 2013, 10:24:00 AM »
practise the chandelier swinging activities on the slide out bed oppostie end of the draw bar anchor some heavy duty extension spings from the ground to the draw bar wind up the legs on the end of the camper were you will be playing tarzan and jane and no holding back get that jayco pivoting 

« Reply #44 on: February 01, 2013, 10:30:10 AM »
May as well fit one of these in the centre of the van.

« Reply #45 on: February 01, 2013, 10:42:50 AM »
Ok I'm now starting to get a little concerned. This subject is now 3 pages long and something is quite obviously missing.... Does anyone know if Jeepers is ok? ???

Offline Smoko

« Reply #46 on: February 01, 2013, 10:46:24 AM »
Ok I'm now starting to get a little concerned. This subject is now 3 pages long and something is quite obviously missing.... Does anyone know if Jeepers is ok? ???

No doubt JC will have a commando or stealth plan of attack

Smoko
« Last Edit: February 01, 2013, 11:09:38 AM by Smoko »
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton

« Reply #47 on: February 01, 2013, 10:55:09 AM »

Why ? do you need a map ? :angel: :angel: :angel:

No need for maps around here......... Mums got Sat Nav!

Offline Trackabout Off Road Campers

• Trackabout Off Road Campers
« Reply #48 on: February 01, 2013, 11:17:33 AM »

He's probably just tied up cuttin' someone's grass.... I'm sure we'll hear from him soon  :cheers:

www.trackabout.com.au

« Reply #49 on: February 01, 2013, 12:06:18 PM »
May as well fit one of these in the centre of the van.

That's the best mod I have seen on this forum ;D.