Author Topic: Can we still go camping in Queensland.  (Read 5211 times)

Can we still go camping in Queensland.
« on: March 24, 2020, 04:16:53 PM »
With what has happened with the closures, and lock downs with the coronavirus, can we still go camping on your own or small groups? ???

Re: Can we still go camping in Queensland.
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2020, 04:19:06 PM »
Sorry, JC, but they're saying no :'(

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2020, 04:28:14 PM »
That is the way I read it to, Fizzie.

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2020, 04:33:15 PM »
Bit of an unknown at the moment ?  I have a secluded camp spot 15 mins from home, no contact with humans to get there , while there or returning back home.
Some will say, what's the difference between that and staying at home....something I'm still mulling over ??

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2020, 04:41:44 PM »
Sorry, JC, but they're saying no :'(

Hmmm.  There's 'Social Distancing' alerts.
https://parks.des.qld.gov.au/park-alerts/#aroundbrisbane

Pic is not around Brissie.

« Last Edit: March 24, 2020, 04:43:25 PM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2020, 05:53:52 PM »
The problem we have is an intelligent person would just go straight to their secluded spot and isolate themself.
Lots will go to their spot, call into the servos, bottlo's and Maccas on their way because they dont feel too bad. And they will also go to the rural stores and stock up on dunny paper too.
Sorry but we all have to walk at the slowest pace.

« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2020, 06:04:35 PM »
 I was contemplating heading out to a very, very secluded bush camp just a few hours away.  But why risk it?.  The toll is now over 2000 cases of virus and this could rapidly get way out of hand.  Holidays are anything but essential .  I did see on some site that non essential travel should be avoided.  I wont be surprised if van parks are also forced to close down.  Its getting more serious everyday and I think the urgency of a 4 day holiday pales into insignificance compared to what we may be facing.

I still reckon the quicker a complete shut down occurs with curfews in place..the quicker we may have some sort of control of the virus...Holidays mean people will always meet and greet each other..

« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2020, 06:39:18 PM »
Just saw on the 7 news...Essential travel only from midnight tomorrow..no holidays.

« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2020, 06:48:01 PM »

This, Camping in the backyard is about as best as you can get I think.

« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2020, 07:42:21 PM »
Queensland National Parks Booking Service is still allowing you to book a site on their service

« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2020, 09:42:51 PM »
Queensland National Parks Booking Service is still allowing you to book a site on their service

It also states that this can change at any time with cancellations as well.

« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2020, 10:13:52 PM »

Everything is changing so quickly, they just likely haven't been able to update it yet.

« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2020, 07:10:11 AM »
Everything is changing so quickly, they just likely haven't been able to update it yet.

Here is a link to a list of things you can and cannot do...

https://thenewdaily.com.au/news/national/2020/03/25/coronavirus-hairdresser-wedding-funerals/

Holidaying out  as is unnecessary travel......things will get tighter yet I feel.

Maybe people will start taking it a bit more seriously now.

One thing we can all be sure of...there will be a lot of deaths and  its your actions that can help to keep this figure low..

« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2020, 08:18:53 AM »
The problem we have is an intelligent person would just go straight to their secluded spot and isolate themself.
Lots will go to their spot, call into the servos, bottlo's and Maccas on their way because they dont feel too bad. And they will also go to the rural stores and stock up on dunny paper too.

We decided to leave camping isolation and return home to a more affluent isolation yesterday and I was quite surprised to see the number of c/trailers, campers and vans heading North. Perhaps they were just returning home as well, although there were noticeably more heading North than South!
Beware, FNQ!!!!

« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2020, 08:23:57 AM »
I had to go down to Cairns yesterday, and I saw campers and caravans on the road, that is why I asked the question. :cheers:

« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2020, 08:35:58 AM »
There could be a number of people going to stay at families places to isolate there with them, especially those that live alone. Go and put your camper or van in the backyard at their place and hunker down with them.

« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2020, 09:59:42 AM »
The whole point of NOT travelling ANYWHERE is to stop spreading the virus. This whole voluntary thing just doesn't work, because everyone thinks it applies to other people. Unfortunately we're in for a long period of hurt because we have become a country of selfish pr*cks.
The following users thanked this post: Humphreythebear

« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2020, 10:00:30 AM »
Quote from: glenm64
The whole point of NOT travelling ANYWHERE is to stop spreading the virus. This whole voluntary thing just doesn't work, because everyone thinks it applies to other people. Unfortunately we're in for a long period of hurt because we have become a country of selfish pr*cks.

fair call too.

Offline Winchy

« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2020, 10:44:59 AM »
My son just told me caravan/camping parks are closing today in Vic, with permanents allowed to stay.
So maybe in Qld soon too.

« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2020, 10:48:50 AM »

Exactly...the stupidity and selfishness shown in the last three weeks proves what a bunch of self centered f wits many are in the communities.  I can guarantee country town folk dont want the scumbags in their towns.

« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2020, 11:32:45 AM »
Exactly...the stupidity and selfishness shown in the last three weeks proves what a bunch of self centered f wits many are in the communities.  I can guarantee country town folk dont want the scumbags in their towns.

Mate back in the UK described the message that needed to be sent as "Fcuk off you townie tw@ts"

I agree...

« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2020, 02:49:50 PM »

« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2020, 03:28:02 PM »
Bloody Hell, a fire in a Qld park!!!!

« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2020, 03:54:54 PM »
Stock image.
Taken 15 years ago.

« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2020, 04:08:48 PM »
Victoria now