Author Topic: Hi :)  (Read 8099 times)

Offline Ash1

Hi :)
« on: August 02, 2015, 05:44:30 PM »
Hi, I'm new here, my name is Ash and I'm from (well a bit of everywhere really) currently in Central Western NSW. Me and my husband and our three kids are currently getting ready for our big lap around Australia with our Camper trailer  :D leaving in less than two months so getting pretty excited  ;D We recently bought the camper trailer so are used to just tent camping, excited that we have finally upgraded for a bit more comfort and space will have a few test run trips before we go to make sure it's all good before we head out.

Hi :)
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 05:48:35 PM »
Welcome Ash, enjoy your trip and your myswag journey. Lot's of good folk here, and maybe one or two you need to watch;D
Ask any questions and share many stories.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2015, 06:21:39 PM by scarpsD40 »

Re: Hi :)
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2015, 05:49:12 PM »
Welcome to myswag Ash, lots of helpful folk on this forum and some not so helpful :) Good luck on your big trip.

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2015, 05:57:59 PM »
Welcome to the forum and well done mate. Keep up posted with your pics and progress  :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2015, 06:13:39 PM »
G'day Ash and welcome to myswag.  Look forward to reading of your adventures.

« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2015, 08:37:05 PM »
Welcome Ash,

Have a great time on your big adventure

Offline Beefa Toyota

• Just got to love camping
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2015, 09:21:42 PM »
Welcome also Ash,  hears to a great adventure for your trip, be sure to post some pics when you can
Cheers Beefa
2017 Toyota Hilux SR5 GUN126R
2017 EzyTrail Parkes 13 Hybrid Caravan

Offline b1

« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2015, 06:35:51 AM »
Hey Ash, welcome  :D

Hope you can post some pics when you head off. How about some details and the car and camper ? Keeps us all dreaming  ;D
The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

Offline Ash1

« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2015, 09:52:23 AM »
Thank you everyone for being so welcoming I will definitley post pics along the way (if I figure out how haha)

As for our setup our budget is small so we've gone for a 2000 NL pajero that we bought a few months ago snd as for the camper we also bought it second hand (for a steal!! And it's confition is pretty great for a few years old) I'm pretty sure I'm not allowed to mention the brand here (that might give it away  >:D ) we have modified it a little and so far love it!! It's an offroad model but I'm not planning to do anything extreme. We are loving the size and the ease of set up!  Can't wait to take it out for a few test runs  :D we have a little to do before we set off but it's all coming together nicely :)

« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2015, 10:57:06 PM »
Welcome Ash.  Look forward to your trip progress reports and pic's.

« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2015, 11:04:20 PM »
Gidday Ash   and welcome to the 'club'....   great to hear about your planned trip. ..

Shake&Bake BB

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2015, 10:28:01 PM »
Welcome Ash
looking forward to your trip report.
Wishing I was about to do a big lap but must still work  :-[
All the best on your trip
Damo

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

Offline Ash1

« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2015, 11:34:54 AM »
Sorry it would seem I don't get a reply when people reply on the thread, does anyone know how I can change this?

Offline b1

« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2015, 12:14:58 PM »
I'm no expert Ash, I just click the Notify button, next to the Reply button on threads I'm interested in. If there are multiple posts since you last read the tgread, there is still just the one notification. I think :D
B1
The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

Offline Ash1

« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2015, 12:24:00 PM »
Great thank you

Offline GreenEyedMonster

« Reply #15 on: August 05, 2015, 07:36:41 PM »
Have you done any test runs in your CT yet Ash1? A lap around Aus is on our dream to-do list, how long are you looking at taking to do it in?
Me, him, the little one and a dog.
Navara D22
2011 Trackabout Safari SV

Offline Ash1

« Reply #16 on: August 05, 2015, 08:06:21 PM »
Too cold at the moment so trying to hold out a few more weeks for the test runs :) no time limit really. Roughly aiming for about 12-18 months but could extend it a bit.

Offline GreenEyedMonster

« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2015, 08:34:12 PM »
12-18months - trip of a lifetime!  ;D
Me, him, the little one and a dog.
Navara D22
2011 Trackabout Safari SV

Offline Ash1

« Reply #18 on: August 05, 2015, 08:52:31 PM »
Absolutely :)

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #19 on: August 08, 2015, 06:56:35 AM »
Very exciting hope you enjoy your trip happy and safe travels  :cheers:

Offline Lemo79

« Reply #20 on: August 10, 2015, 05:56:20 PM »
Hi Ash and welcome also from the Central West. We also had a trailer the same as yours and only sold it last weekend after 5 years of excellent memories. no regrets from our end, and like you were on a budget and originally towing it with a Tarago van. Our circumstances have improved and are upgrading to another soft floor with a lot more bling and learnt heaps from our first camper.

Very jealous of the big lap, that is one of our goals all be it a bit further down the track.

Lemo.

Offline Ash1

« Reply #21 on: August 10, 2015, 07:42:03 PM »
Great to hear you had lot's of use out of your camper :)

We are looking forward to making memories in ours :)

Offline Micklow

« Reply #22 on: August 12, 2015, 07:17:39 AM »
That trip sounds fantastic.  Very jealous!

And welcome to the forum as well.

2013 Toyota Prado GXL & Johnno's Offroad Deluxe Camper Trailer.

Offline Ash1

« Reply #23 on: August 12, 2015, 07:23:28 AM »
Thank you :)

I hope everyone gets a chance to get out there and explore this eonderful country!! :)

Offline Ash1

« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2015, 08:21:57 AM »
Update.

1 week out from leaving on our trip (we were able to move the trip forward) took out the camper for 3 nights to test out in different weather, to test out the annexe and het the kids prepared. We did different places each night to get used to set up/pack away each day as occassionally we may need to do this. On the way back somdone pulled out into us. Missed the car luckily but got the trailer. The wheel was all bent and angled back so possibly some damage to the axle. Broje off a bit of the water tank, the gas bottle is scratched up (luckily didn't blow!) The wheel guard is all bent and twisted up. Had to wait around for a tow and then do trips from the repairers (40km away) to get our stuff out.

I explained about our trip and circumstances and bookings like the spirit of tas in approx 8 weeks and it's looking like it's not going to happen before then. Apparently it's quite a process and lots of messing around back and forth between the repairer and the insurance company  :'(

We now have to either stay put ( and cancel all of our bookings and lose out on deposits, plus we had organised distance ed and they cancel it if you don't leave within a certain timeframe) or we could take the car and tent and take off for the start of the trip and loop back to pick up the trailer when it's ready. Feeling pretty devastated so just trying to stay possitive and hoping to get good news from the assessment. Perhaps it won't need much work at all.