17 (43.6%)
The Prado will break down
5 (12.8%)
Danny will have to walk home
9 (23.1%)
The tyres will be turned around before the end of the trip
4 (10.3%)

Total Members Voted: 22

Author Topic: Brokeback Tassie Crossing RUNNING REPORT  (Read 35137 times)

Re: Brokeback Tassie Crossing RUNNING REPORT
« Reply #25 on: October 01, 2014, 06:50:51 PM »

I picked "all of the above" in the poll..... ;D ;D

Danny, you'll be travelling in a silver Prado, and you're worried about the white lettering showing..... ::) ::) ::)

Have fun boys. :cup: :cup:

That's a point!

« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2014, 06:52:37 PM »

BUT run 18" Mickey T's

I see the problem ;)

Thanks gents I'm sure we will have a great time

Offline 2010banditsa

• Cheers- It's 12 O'clock somewhere
Re: Brokeback Tassie Crossing is taking place......
« Reply #27 on: October 01, 2014, 08:18:57 PM »
Mate, having recently done a crossing I'd say the Rig Rd is the best route. Not as rough or as busy as the French Line.

See part 3 of Our Blog

I beg to differ, ive been back a week now and I found the rig rd the dullest part of the trip but it was sure easier. My vote for best part was waa.
Isuzu MUX
2013 Goldstream 16' poptop with bunk
Van- http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31445

Qld Camper

« Reply #28 on: October 01, 2014, 10:29:36 PM »
Yeah, definitely the WAA all the way.  Rig road is for the wimps  :D

« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2014, 04:21:25 PM »
I know these to blokes ( well I heard they were born that way ) and the silver  Prado is just a random photo they grabbed off the net - seriously keep a look out for a pink prado with   "priscilla 2" tassie plates but the stand out would be the white lettering on the outside of the tyres

Have a good trip Marcus as I have known for a month or 2 that Danny is not going it was just a ploy to get you off the island for a couple of weeks  ;D ;D

« Reply #30 on: October 12, 2014, 05:10:35 AM »
.....anyone playing hard to get??..... ;D ;D

« Reply #31 on: October 12, 2014, 09:38:00 AM »
.....anyone playing hard to get??..... ;D ;D
it has gone quiet

« Reply #32 on: October 12, 2014, 12:50:20 PM »
I've got him gagged.......

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
The following users thanked this post: fishfinder

« Reply #33 on: October 12, 2014, 02:30:55 PM »
We are at Birdsville watching Bathurst. No decent pics on my phone and I can't get them off the camera until we get home but so far it's been all good.
The crossing was very hot and rough, more on that when we get home as well.
Go the fords :)

« Reply #34 on: October 12, 2014, 06:30:46 PM »
Go the fords :)

Blue oval 1st....
Nissan 2nd.....

;D ;D ;D

Offline Black-Pig

• Everything is Subject to change...
« Reply #35 on: October 12, 2014, 07:42:19 PM »
The crossing was very hot and rough, more on that when we get home as well.

I thought this was a family friendly site...  >:D...

I will have to come out to Westbury and say hi one day.
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

« Reply #36 on: October 12, 2014, 07:51:33 PM »

Blue oval 1st....
Nissan 2nd.....

;D ;D ;D

I am hardly mentioning it to my travel partner on this trip who is a holden/Toyota man ;) lol

« Reply #37 on: October 12, 2014, 07:53:06 PM »

I thought this was a family friendly site...  >:D...

I will have to come out to Westbury and say hi one day.

Lol considering the topic title I probably haven't chosen my words very well!
Your welcome out at Westbury anytime :)

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #38 on: October 13, 2014, 06:27:36 PM »
Which track did you end up taking?
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline 2010banditsa

• Cheers- It's 12 O'clock somewhere
« Reply #39 on: October 13, 2014, 07:10:21 PM »
Yeah thats  what im wondering
Isuzu MUX
2013 Goldstream 16' poptop with bunk
Van- http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31445

« Reply #40 on: October 13, 2014, 07:20:55 PM »
Which track did you end up taking?
judging by the thread title, I'd say they took 'the ol' dirt track' LMAO

Qld Camper

« Reply #41 on: October 13, 2014, 07:27:32 PM »
Hope they didn't whimp out and take the Rig  ;D. WAA is so much better

Brokeback Tassie Crossing RUNNING REPORT
« Reply #42 on: October 13, 2014, 08:13:21 PM »
We took the French line and qaa. It's a difficult decision to know which way is the best.

We have quite a lot of video from the gopro showing how bad or good it was but I need to edit out our dribble from it when we get home.
There is no way id take a camper the way we went. It may be better early on the season but it was just too punishing on the approach to some of the dunes to be towing something.

« Reply #43 on: October 13, 2014, 08:17:40 PM »
Definately not somewhere I'd be taking a camper unless you're into continuous recoveries

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #44 on: October 13, 2014, 09:01:09 PM »
We took our Aussie Swag across the Rig Road/Knolls/French/Qaa. Reqiured snatching twice. Both times I reckon a second go would have got over but it was a bit easier and caused less damage to the dunes just to snatch it over.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #45 on: October 13, 2014, 09:32:19 PM »
I can't comment on what it was like but only on what it is like now. When Danny gets a chance to post videos I think you'll get what I mean.

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #46 on: October 13, 2014, 10:06:55 PM »
We crossed in July so not too different, but we avoided the French line as much as possible. Too busy, too rough. Just about had the Rig Road to ourselves for 2 days  ;D
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #47 on: October 13, 2014, 10:17:15 PM »
Ok yeah, we did the French line and only saw one car in 2 days. Might have had something to do with it being 45 degrees. Averaged 17kph to give an indication on how rough it was

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

« Reply #48 on: October 14, 2014, 07:21:11 AM »
Quote from: Marcus73
it being 45 degrees. Averaged 17kph to give an indication on how rough it was

Bumholes to that for "fun"...

« Reply #49 on: October 14, 2014, 11:19:27 AM »
Bumholes to that for "fun"...
there are 2 words in the above comment that i reckon was used quite regularly on this trip