Author Topic: Camper Trailer of the Year - AORC Odyssey Export Signature  (Read 21331 times)

Offline toad

Re: Camper Trailer of the Year - AORC Odyssey Export Signature
« Reply #25 on: November 23, 2010, 10:25:36 AM »
 When I started this thread it was done with tongue firmly planted in cheek. Read it again if you like.
I would like to think that every single response was also offered in good humour. After all deliberation, Camper Trailer Australia decided on the AORC Odyssey as their camper trailer of the year. Fair enough, if you don't like it, fair enough, don't buy one. Nowhere can I see did they say that you cannot get "a good camper under 20K".
 We are spoiled for choice of campers in this country, and everyone has their preferences and budgets. Just don't judge people unfairly if they want to spend more than you do. I have worked a lot longer than most here, put kids through university and flight school, paid off the mortgage years ago, and now like some slightly extravagant comfort when we head off from the city. Let me know how your priorities change when you get closer to my age.
Now, if only we could afford an LC 200!
« Last Edit: November 23, 2010, 10:37:26 AM by toad »
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

« Reply #26 on: November 23, 2010, 10:34:11 AM »
The AORC won "Camper Trailer of the Year", not "Most Affordable Camper Trailer of the Year".  

Bit like some of the 4X4s which win "4X4 of the Year", they are never the lower priced 4X4s.

They're obviously picked for their leading edge features, and qualities.

Will everyone agree with the choice made by the judges?   Never.

I know which one I'd pick, if I had a choice between a softfloor and an AORC. ;D

Well done Campertrailer Australia for at least taking them off the bitumen a couple of times during the test.

Good luck with the 200 Series, Toad.  But selling a Nissan and going to a Toyota, I'm beginning to worry about you. ;D

« Last Edit: November 23, 2010, 10:36:14 AM by Gunna Do »

Offline xmasbaby67

« Reply #27 on: November 23, 2010, 11:22:09 AM »
I would have liked to see a under $10K category and a $10 - $15K category as the majority of people buying their first CT start in one of these two price ranges and there are sooooo many different ones available in those price ranges.

I first started buying the mag to compare CT's before we bought ours and it was good, now I only buy it for the destinations.

We got our Customline for $13K and intend to have it for the next 15 years or so & hopefully well into our retirement.  We personally will never be able to afford anything much more and would never spend $52K on a CT.  Good luck to those who can though, each to their own.
2009 12ft CUSTOMLINE towed by 2005 VX Prado

Offline tommo

• the memorys
« Reply #28 on: November 23, 2010, 11:28:22 AM »
I would have liked to see a under $10K category and a $10 - $15K category as the majority of people buying their first CT start in one of these two price ranges and there are sooooo many different ones available in those price ranges.

I first started buying the mag to compare CT's before we bought ours and it was good, now I only buy it for the destinations.

We got our Customline for $13K and intend to have it for the next 15 years or so & hopefully well into our retirement.  We personally will never be able to afford anything much more and would never spend $52K on a CT.  Good luck to those who can though, each to their own.

that is what i was getting at! :cheers:

i wasn't having a go at the camper it's self its awesome!! just that the criteria started at 20-35k should have started at 5-20k or something like that :)
« Last Edit: November 23, 2010, 11:36:35 AM by tommo »
2005 gu patrol 2009 tambo copper

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #29 on: November 23, 2010, 11:41:50 AM »
When I started this thread it was done with tongue firmly planted in cheek. Read it again if you like.
I would like to think that every single response was also offered in good humour. After all deliberation, Camper Trailer Australia decided on the AORC Odyssey as their camper trailer of the year. Fair enough, if you don't like it, fair enough, don't buy one. Nowhere can I see did they say that you cannot get "a good camper under 20K".
 We are spoiled for choice of campers in this country, and everyone has their preferences and budgets. Just don't judge people unfairly if they want to spend more than you do. I have worked a lot longer than most here, put kids through university and flight school, paid off the mortgage years ago, and now like some slightly extravagant comfort when we head off from the city. Let me know how your priorities change when you get closer to my age.
Now, if only we could afford an LC 200!

Mate, You're absolutely correct. I hope you weren't offended by my google images banter!

I am planning to drop 60k or so on a boat in early 2012. Most would think this is nuts however, to me it's money well spent.

It's all good!

Offline schmik

« Reply #30 on: November 23, 2010, 11:51:12 AM »
I also know some people are driving around in older ( and cheaper ) 4WD's as well.....but as always, there is a mix of people who have different priorities in life.....and different salaries as well !!

There is a limit in most peoples minds as to how much to pay for something....and that can be $8000 for a camper or it may be $60,000.....

As to a few wealthy people ????     KK sell approx 400 a year.....AORC probably sell over 100....as do Aussie Swag......as do T Van......and Ultimate......and add to that the $30K plus soft floor palaces as well and you'll find its a fairly big slice of the market !!!!!

There are a mix of different people out there with different salaries but... have a look the proportion of people that earn $40k-$80k vs the amount that earn $100k plus or $200k plus. You will find that 90% earn $40k-$80k, 7% over $100k and 3% over $200k. Those numbers are made up but the concept is very real.

So a few hundred or thousand campers that buy the 'primo' stuff is enough to keep a magazine afloat?  Compare those numbers to a companies like GIC etc.  

I don't have a problem with expensive camper trailers but i think the tittle of the award is wrong.
In everything in life there should be 'primo' product. Everyone likes well engineered, well designed things, well made products. There is definitely a place in the market for it.

The award should be "Best camper trailer" because that is what it is.    "Camper trailer of the year" should go to the unit that sold the most and had the lowest failure rate.

mike

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #31 on: November 23, 2010, 12:01:21 PM »
You make a very valid point Schmik, I would love to see this kind of review.

Offline Campa

« Reply #32 on: November 23, 2010, 12:27:50 PM »
 Maybe include costumer service and buyer feed back too, could be interesting to see the results.

« Reply #33 on: November 23, 2010, 12:36:33 PM »
I will be honest, who cares what others think? Does the person writting, adjudicating or providing an opinion on a particular camper right or wrong? It honestly doesn't matter, we all have different wants, needs, expectations and requirements wrt Campers, what one magazine stipulates as the Best Camper Trailer of the Year is ultimately in their opinion and there is nothing wrong with that......An example, Pajero(or similar) wins 4wd of the year, will I rush out and buy one, absolutely not but doesn't mean it isn't a good vehicle. Same thing applies, it's all about opinion.......Just because it isn't the camper we chose doesn't me it isn't the best camper trailer because in your mind it is for your purpose and budget........ :cheers:

Just my opinion on the matter, don't shoot me for it..... ;D

Offline toad

« Reply #34 on: November 23, 2010, 12:38:37 PM »
Mate, You're absolutely correct. I hope you weren't offended by my google images banter!

I am planning to drop 60k or so on a boat in early 2012. Most would think this is nuts however, to me it's money well spent.
It's all good!

Dan, not offended at all, quite the contrary, it was clever, as were some other smarties! :D
Let's lock this thread, and move on.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline schmik

« Reply #35 on: November 23, 2010, 12:39:49 PM »
Just to lighten up a bit..... by the time my Sydney Sized mortgage is paid and the kids are all off my hands and I have $52k to spend... should i get a camper trailer because $52k would get me a lot of happy endings!  >:D

PS. No offence intended about the Bendy Ute. ;)

Doh! on 2nd inspection that is a Navara. Sorry I mistook it for a Triton. Now THAT is offensive!

mike
« Last Edit: November 23, 2010, 12:44:12 PM by schmik »

« Reply #36 on: November 23, 2010, 12:44:35 PM »

I thought it was interesting to see what other people are saying.  I agree with Teabag.  Who cares what camper got what award?  It's merely the ideas of the judges behind the award about some pre-selected CT's that the Mag decided could be part of their event (and I believe even some of those didn't attend).  Something the CT manufacturers can wipe the dust off of once a year.  

Personally I think MY CT is the Camper Trailer of The Year, Best Camper Trailer, and Best Value CT all rolled into one!!  My Bed On Wheels is THE BEST!!

I got what I wanted, I paid what I wanted, I go where I want and it gives me a good nights sleep out of the weather, food prep and kitchen and an awning to relax under, and it follows the car like it should.  

I don't knock anyone for purchasing their own CTOTY ... If the Bra Fits ... Wear It.

« Reply #37 on: November 23, 2010, 01:39:57 PM »
I think the results of this thread http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=9200.0 tell a thousand words.........We all make decisions taking into account our budget, buy what we can afford. Does that make a more expensive camper better than a cheaper one? The award was not for best value camper or best looking etc but camper trailer of the year under the magazines stipulated guide lines and opinions, are they wrong, no but doesn't mean we think the same...I honestly can see the big issue ???.... :cheers:

« Reply #38 on: November 23, 2010, 01:48:20 PM »
Kit_e ... so that's what they're for!

« Reply #39 on: November 23, 2010, 01:58:31 PM »
Kit_e ... so that's what they're for!

Gotta keep the girls in line and together somehow Barry!  LOL!

Offline Captain

• My Cruiser & AORC Quantum
    • My online pics
« Reply #40 on: November 23, 2010, 02:04:40 PM »
You know, it doesn't really matter what camper you have, or even if its "only" a tent for that matter. Its getting out there that counts.

I started camping in a cheap (read cold) sleeping bag and A-frame tent with a Diahatsu 4WD that had been around the clock more than once. Today I am lucky enough to have some pretty good equipment. But guess what, I would still be getting out there if I had the same stuff I did when I was a teenager.

Let me assure you that while having a few more mod cons is certainly nice, not having them shouldn't stop anyone from getting out there and it certainly doesn't detract from the experience. But I must admit, having the good gear doesn't hurt either  8)

Captain
My GXL TTD 200 Landcruiser and AORC Quantum loaded with Kayaks and bikes (my Camprite now sold )

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #41 on: November 23, 2010, 02:06:03 PM »
I can't afford the CTOTY so I am trying for "Husband of the year" and maybe I'll get a happy ending too  :D .

I also hold a few other "of the year awards" ! for "JETCREW HOUSEHOLD YEARLY"

Best stuff up of the year

most emabarrssing moment of the year

Dumbest act of the year

Idiot of the year

Dumbest statment of the year

and the list goes on ,

and these awards although very easy to earn do not come with any happy endings but they are awards non the less and I am proud to hold them in my house.

They were all issued by Mrs Jetcrew and I beat a 12 and 4 year old to win these awards .So it was not easy . :D :D

Jetcrew (of the year)
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline schmik

« Reply #42 on: November 23, 2010, 05:18:29 PM »

Dumbest statment of the year

Isn't that what this thread is about?

mike

Offline morgue

« Reply #43 on: November 23, 2010, 08:00:52 PM »
I thought it was interesting to see what other people are saying.  I agree with Teabag.  Who cares what camper got what award?  It's merely the ideas of the judges behind the award about some pre-selected CT's that the Mag decided could be part of their event (and I believe even some of those didn't attend).  Something the CT manufacturers can wipe the dust off of once a year.  

Personally I think MY CT is the Camper Trailer of The Year, Best Camper Trailer, and Best Value CT all rolled into one!!  My Bed On Wheels is THE BEST!!

I got what I wanted, I paid what I wanted, I go where I want and it gives me a good nights sleep out of the weather, food prep and kitchen and an awning to relax under, and it follows the car like it should.  

I don't knock anyone for purchasing their own CTOTY ... If the Bra Fits ... Wear It.

Agreed, wholely!!!

Bring on the Xmas Hols,lazy days, a camping fridge with cold stubbies and wine bottles (you can do that with a Bushman), contented and most importantly a non bored teenager (not completely impossible!), heaps of sun, no mozzies(i hate mozzies) and a great sun set every night...

Offline xmasbaby67

« Reply #44 on: November 24, 2010, 12:50:14 PM »
Congratulations Jetcrew!!!  :cup:

That is one big list of awards you have earned there.....well done.  Not easy work beating a 4 & 12 year old to get them either.   
2009 12ft CUSTOMLINE towed by 2005 VX Prado

Offline farmer6

« Reply #45 on: November 25, 2010, 09:08:44 AM »

Dont you love it when the word bra can be used in a post. If the word panties can some how be weaved in somehow, then about 4500 myswag members wont even care about the "camper of the year". ( insert the sound of a grown man giggling like a 12 year old boy looking at his fathers playboys with his mates ) ;D ;D
2006 100 series landcruiser wagon

2010 Jimboomba Camper

Offline T Man

• T Man with a TVan
« Reply #46 on: November 25, 2010, 07:11:25 PM »

While that Tvan is not mine, seeing as they only made two like it mine must be the other one. 8)
So for me it is  :cup: camper trailer of the year for this year and the next twenty years most likely.

« Reply #47 on: November 25, 2010, 09:00:41 PM »
Dont you love it when the word bra can be used in a post. If the word panties can some how be weaved in somehow, then about 4500 myswag members wont even care about the "camper of the year". ( insert the sound of a grown man giggling like a 12 year old boy looking at his fathers playboys with his mates ) ;D ;D

I always thought their purpose was to confuse young blokes trying to undo those clasp things with one hand ...  ;D

Some of us are of an age to remember the furore when Playboy first removed the last of lifes great mystery for teenage boys.

OK, lets move right along before the  :police: are called!

Offline Diksta

• Where I Should be
    • http://picasaweb.google.com/gbney01
« Reply #48 on: November 25, 2010, 09:22:12 PM »

It's all good!

Hi Dan,

if you need a hand with pulling up the anchor let me know

:D
2016 200 Series
1983 60 Series
POTM November 2009 Winner :cup:
2009 POTY Winner :cup:
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=49966.new#new

Offline schmik

« Reply #49 on: November 26, 2010, 07:19:11 AM »
HAHAHAHA   -  http://smh.drive.com.au/car-of-the-year/20k-hatchback-beats-400k-porsche-20101125-187tp.html

You could buy 2.5 cars of the year for the price of one camper!

mike