Author Topic: The most favorite car you have owned.......................  (Read 46758 times)

The most favorite car you have owned.......................
« on: August 31, 2011, 07:42:21 PM »
My first car was an HJ Kingswood station wagon, lime green, 253 V8 with original venetian blinds in the back and pizza cutters with all 4 hub caps. You could roll a swag out fully when the backseat was folded flat. But my favorite car was my next. It was an ex Emergency Services Mid wheel base 1985  Landcruiser. Fibre glass roof and a 4 litre petrol motor..........She lasted me ten years before she suffered from to must rust and I past her on to someone to do up.

So what is your favorite car?

:laugh:

Offline Just some guy

Re: The most favorite car you have owned.......................
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2011, 07:57:00 PM »
I had a 1969 1600 GT ford capri.  It broke down probably 30 percent of the times i drove it but i loved tht car!  When it went it was such a pleasure to drive.  Every car i have had since has been boring in comparison.
Please keep in mind - I'm just some guy.  I don't know nothin about nothin!

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2011, 08:00:45 PM »
I still love and will always love my Chevy, my dream car that I have owned for over 10 years. Don't think I'll ever part with him.

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Offline Campa

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2011, 08:01:46 PM »
1st car was an 1980 Escort RS 2000 2 Dr with an BDA Cosworth engine conversion.

2nd was an Mistubishi EVO 7

Both great cars hard to choose  ;D
« Last Edit: August 31, 2011, 08:03:45 PM by bnk08 »

« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2011, 08:05:19 PM »
My Fav Car was my 1st  a EH  in the mid 70's had a worked 179  
plenty of dirt roads around home  fun fun fun

Offline oldblade

• Porsche it's broken again
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2011, 08:10:52 PM »
my first car

Datsun 120y automatic

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2011, 08:14:56 PM »
Datsun 1600, stiffened suspension, mildly worked engine that reliably revved to 8000rpm.

Soooooo much fun to drive, how I miss that car.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2011, 08:24:29 PM »
I've had a few.
Some of them here
The VL 3L Turbo was a great handling car with awesome off the line speed. 16 years we owned her  ;D
But the 69 WX  I rebuilt from the ground up was an excellent cruiser. It did the best third gear roll backs  ;D
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 10:16:39 AM by Hairs »

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2011, 08:26:45 PM »
1970 VG Valiant, 2 door convertible, canary yellow, white interior, 360V8, torqueFlite 727 auto, dual exhaust, lowered, spinners, and lots of chrome :cup:
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2011, 08:27:54 PM »
My fav was my 80 Series i got while were in WA. Non Turbo G model.

Twin Batteries, Fats and Alu roof rack, 3in Exhaust,

Towed our Windsor van across the nullabor at 110 like a champ.

Was a top buy. sold her back here in NSW for bugger all.

:(

Was originally a Kalamunda vehicle, plates were KM28517.

NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2011, 08:42:12 PM »
Quote from: Jon
Datsun 1600, stiffened suspension, mildly worked engine that reliably revved to 8000rpm.

Soooooo much fun to drive, how I miss that car.
Same... Datto 510.... Similar to this but with a worked 180b SSS donk and shizzle...

God the places we went in that hing and the norty things we did...
Have you seen what they go for now? even rusty hulks? :(

Offline 4runnernomore

« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2011, 08:42:52 PM »
A 1974 Mazda RX3.  12A motor with a imported Mazda 5 speed from America.  The car was previously owned by the family mechanic who had tricked up the diff gearing and suspension.   Long distance trips were a doddle at 120 mph.What a giant killer and how I loved that tacho buzzer. The motor was standard with no porting but had tuned length extractors and exhaust with the Nikke 4barrel heavily modified. The worst thing I ever did to it was put the 48 IDA webber on it as it was a pig after that except for when the foot was flat to the floor.

A favourite trick was to wind out the old girl in third gear on the way to work at 4.00 in the morning and then take my foot off the accelerator at the northern gaet entrance. She used to idle down and then around where  the Married quater  houses were at
Williamtown  she used to backfire sounding like a shotgun going off and light up the whole area.  :cup:

Guys on the front gate used to reckon they could here me come off the dam and run all the way down to Campvale change down all the gears and hit the round about at Campvale and accelerate off towards the base.  

Finally sold it and regretted it ever since.  The guy that bought it wrote it off within two weeks.  :'(

Offline GS

• The hand the turns the doorknob, opens the door...
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2011, 08:47:01 PM »
Loved my Volvo 1800s that I had when I was 20

Like this one only RHD

« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2011, 08:49:52 PM »
Subaru Liberty RS Turbo.

I was finishing high school when these came out and I absolutely loved them and it was  my dream car.  A few years later I saved up all my money, traded in my mums car which she sold to me for a song, and drove home in it.  I have owned other nice cars including the one below, but this has always been the best as it is the one I most wanted and was able to get!

My second favourite car I ever owned was this:

« Last Edit: August 26, 2014, 04:50:41 PM by JCOJ »

Re: Re: The most favorite car you have owned.......................
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2011, 08:54:12 PM »
2004 Falcon XR6 turbo ute.

Almost cried when I sold it. 

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710a using Tapatalk

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #15 on: August 31, 2011, 09:02:11 PM »
1983 DR30 Skyline ironmask FJ20, WHY OH WHY did i sell it
HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2011, 09:03:50 PM »
First and favorite, 71 two door LJ Torana.
Close 2nd 3rd and forth would be the 3 Dato 1600s.

Which 4x4 is my favorite.     My GQ.

« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2011, 09:22:22 PM »
My EX Govt 77LX Torana ,bog standard ,173 red motor ,3 on the tree . Drove it all around Aus on my 1st lap which took 3 1/2 years . Points plugs oil water & fuel is all it needed . Drove it to places that I wasnt happy at , when I did trade it in ,,,,, . I was asked how the floor behind the drivers seat got dinted in ? Something about low ground clearence & big rocks on a track I shouldnt have been on , 4WD Only or something

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2011, 09:22:56 PM »
I have one of each in the driveway, I can't split the fave (gloat mode on).  ;D

BA XR8 awesome predictable power

FG XR6T dead set rocket

GU Patrol simple, old school, outback friendly capable tourer with heaps of memories, I'll never sell it.

Some sweet cars in this thread!

Offline bussoboy

• Wanting to travel before all the roads are sealed
« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2011, 09:27:34 PM »
close call between a '71 Datsun 240C with electric everything and a '71 HG Premier 253 with trimatic - both owned when i was still in my 20's
2011 GXL 200 Series & 2017 Kokoda Endure 111

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2011, 09:28:40 PM »
1970 VG Valiant, 2 door convertible, canary yellow, white interior, 360V8, torqueFlite 727 auto, dual exhaust, lowered, spinners, and lots of chrome :cup:

VGs are fat. The 360 is sensational clunker, would have been a nice ride!

Offline jtraf

« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2011, 09:37:58 PM »
My favorite car is presently in the garage in a million pieces........

1970 VG Valiant Pacer coupe auto Hot Mustard.....competely stock and completely original.

For the first year I drove it here and there and then when rego ran out I took it off the road for a full bare metal resto.  Have wanted one all my life since dad owned a new one was I was growing up.  The first car I can remember being in when the memories begin....

Wife calls it the money pit but I see it as a blast from the past and a good investment.
James - 1994 Patrol GQ TD42T Auto dragging around our 2007 Trackabout Safari Camper

« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2011, 09:44:14 PM »
Quote from: DANBRI
BA XR8 awesome predictable power

FG XR6T dead set rocket
Couldnt you afford the rest of them?

« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2011, 09:48:35 PM »
Dan i will line up your SH1TBOX Ford anyday   ;D
This is my Fav, love driving it its a balltearer  :cheers:

Its for sale anyone wanna buy it?

Cheers John

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2011, 09:51:42 PM »
VGs are fat. The 360 is sensational clunker, would have been a nice ride!

Clunker is an apt description, sad day when my wife sold it :'( My second favourite was the BA XR6.

Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.