General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2012 Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend) => Topic started by: Mace on February 23, 2012, 03:20:10 PM

Title: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
Post by: Mace on February 23, 2012, 03:20:10 PM
Dear Swaggers,

Whilst having a few quiet drinks around the campfire at Lovicks Hut with Rich & Co a few long term members were discussing how the number of Victorian based meets had dropped off recently. No specific future camps were discussed, but the need for them was generally considered a good idea.

To remedy this situation, I am more than happy to plan and arrange for a "Kelly Country Camp", general details of which are as follows:

DATE:    Friday November 2 to Tuesday November 6, 2012.

VENUE: Tolmie Recreation Reserve, approx 20km North East of Mansfield (Bitumen Road)

COST:   $5 per night per adult.

FACILITIES:  Male & Female Toilets, Hot Showers.  Bush Bar, Basic Cooking Facilities Hotplates.

OTHER:  Various other buildings that can be used for a nominal cost - Family Area, Hall.  A wood 
              chopping arena if anyone wants to test their skill!
              Fires are permitted in three fire rings provided, although Im told that by November a few
              large piles of timber should be stacked up and ready to burn in a bonfire (fire restrictions
              permitting).  The reserve committee are proactive in assisting user groups with catering
              and other activities if required (ie, family bush dance in the hall).

The Reserve is lightly timbered.  There will be plenty of room for say 30 camper trailers in shade, plus more open areas. There is no permanent watercourse here.  It is off the main road and about 2km down the road from the Tolmie Tavern.

POSSIBLE ACTIVITIES:  (Ive looked at a basic daily schedule just for example)

FRIDAY:    Early arrivers settle in.

SATURDAY:  Arrival Day,  Big bush market and street parade in Mansfield.  Scope for
                   developing evening entertainment  in the Hall if enough interest (perhaps catered
                   evening meal and bush dance?)

SUNDAY:      History day.  Local touring to Kelly Tree at Stringybark Creek (Site of the Police
                    Massacre), Powers Lookout (Hideaway of Harry Power and Young Ned), visit Benalla
                    historial precinct (site of Neds  :cheers: run in with  :police:)  Passby of
                    11 Mile Creek Kelly Homestead site and visit to Glenrowan (Final Shootout/Capture
                    site)

MONDAY:     Touring Day.  Day Trips to various locations:  King Valley, Paradise Falls, Lake Cobbler,
                    Buffalo River, OR Mt Stirling, Craigs Hut, Bindaree & Frys Flat Loop.

TUESDAY:     Departure Day.  Pack up and say farewell.  Mansfield Cup Day Races day for
                    those   who would  like to stay on a bit longer.  A great Cup day event. Others can
                    depart via say local wineries in Mansfield, King Valley, Millawa or Rutherglen
                    to the North.

Other things could develop if we have sufficient numbers.  The local colonial reinactment group could perhaps be persuaded to do a Stringybark Creek reinactment for a suitable donation (which wouldnt be a large amount on a per person basis if we get enough attendees).

If you are interested, please post up a reply.  The aim would be to have a family friendly weekend in the cool mountain air.  We could do this with 10 attendees in nearby locations, but I'd like to get a critical mass to make hiring the Reserve worthwhile for the  local community.  The Pajero club are holding a large meet there next month, we could be a great follow up for them.

Other camping areas in the area are pretty busy, we would be the sole user of the Reserve.

Happy to answer any other queries as well.

EDIT:  15 October 2012.

THOSE INTERESTED SO FAR:

1.   GU Rich
2.   Off Road Dave
3.   GeoffA
4.   Mandrake
5.   BrettB
6.   Black Diamond
7.   Big Jules
8.   Singo-26  (?)
9.   D4D
10. cruza driver
11. Mace!!
12. Mattz
13. xcavator
14. swannie OB
15. GG Patrol  (?)
16. mrdenn1s
17. Crisp Image
18. Swanne
19. Fivid
20. Malcur
21. BigSteve
22. Pacs
23. Paulmac
24. philnyvette
25. Silvo (?)
26. Kiwimark
27. Shell and Shane
28. Dennis_g
29. Flanders
30. Arel
31. Gonefishen
32. NatGav
33. GG (muso extroidinairre).
34. Adrianv
35. Lost
36. Kman (?)
37. Redback (?)
38. graham
39. hen
40. Stan Bryant
41. Tugger
42. Jadamo76
43. Nisnav
44. Poppasmurf
45. Hutchie
46. Kris
47. Speewa
48. linmac

6 still (?) at this stage.

As said, expressions of interest so far.  A good mix of swaggers.
Title: Re: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 3-6 (Cup Weekend)
Post by: GU Rich on February 23, 2012, 04:12:50 PM
Sounds like a great idea Mace, I'll be watching this thread as time goes.

Post by: OffRoadDave on February 23, 2012, 04:27:55 PM
Registering my interest.  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on February 23, 2012, 05:31:56 PM
Sounds great....... ;D
Post by: Mandrake on February 23, 2012, 05:41:50 PM
Its a fair way off to November but we're in ..

Post by: Brett B on February 23, 2012, 06:23:58 PM
sounds good to me
Post by: POD on February 23, 2012, 06:38:52 PM
Good on ya Mace. Top idea, and sounds like a top place too.

Unfortunately, we're not in, due to our excessive Western location, but we could be heading back East (hopefully) by then so will keep it in mind if we do.

Post by: Mace on February 23, 2012, 06:50:33 PM
Good on ya Mace. Top idea, and sounds like a top place too.

Unfortunately, we're not in, due to our excessive Western location, but we could be heading back East (hopefully) by then so will keep it in mind if we do.

Ill put you down as a "possible"  ;D ;D

Now, where's Redback, Thought he'd have replied by now ???

Post by: Black Diamond on February 23, 2012, 07:01:04 PM
Great idea Al, sounds like it will be a brilliant family weekend and what a great spot :cheers:
Title: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 3-6 (Cup Weekend)
Post by: BigJules on February 23, 2012, 07:10:43 PM
I'm going to try and come down with my family for this. Can I ask why November and not sooner?
Post by: Mace on February 23, 2012, 07:12:45 PM
I'm going to try and come down with my family for this. Can I ask why November and not sooner?

The locals hibernate until October, I know, Im an expat!   ;D ;D

Post by: GU Rich on February 23, 2012, 07:19:02 PM

Its generally a 4 day weekend down here that weekend Jules, It's also the weekend the tracks reopen after winter so if some want to go exploring they can!

The locals hibernate until October, I know, Im an expat!   ;D ;D

Hibernate, whats that meen Mace  8)

Title: Re: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
Post by: singo-26 on February 23, 2012, 07:22:42 PM
I've pencilled the date into the diary.hopefully everything comes together and we can make the trip down.

Post by: BigJules on February 23, 2012, 07:24:41 PM
Sounds good. We'll all have to meet somewhere else in the mean time.
Post by: D4D on February 23, 2012, 07:27:23 PM
As I have enough notice, I reckon I could almost make this one :)
Post by: Black Diamond on February 23, 2012, 07:32:26 PM
Might have to pull the spit out for this one  :cheers:
Post by: BigJules on February 23, 2012, 08:14:45 PM
Might have to pull the spit out for this one  :cheers:

Bring your good looking mate too  ;D
Post by: Mace on February 23, 2012, 08:15:03 PM
Hibernate, whats that meen Mace  8)

Dont come out after dark!!   ;D

Post by: cruza driver on February 23, 2012, 08:28:36 PM
Yep I'm very interested Mace, I never get sick of that area  8) So pencil us in at this stage
Post by: Black Diamond on February 23, 2012, 08:30:23 PM
Bring your good looking mate too  ;D
:D he's always around big fella like a shadow :cheers:
Post by: outback jack on February 23, 2012, 08:40:06 PM
mace, if I'm still alive i will be there  :cheers:

be great to catch up again  :cheers:

(not sure what happened but your pics came up as question marks)

just checked and pics there now  :cheers:

Post by: brickiematt on February 23, 2012, 09:20:50 PM
Great idea Mace. The missus and i were reading with some envy all the reports from the Sandy Creek mob, and being newish to the forum, would love to be able to meet some fellow Myswaggers. Cup weekend is always a camping weekend for us, so it looks like we know where we'll be this year! ;D

Post by: xcvator on February 23, 2012, 09:27:13 PM
If I can change my accommodation setup before then I think swmbo and I can be there ???
Post by: Mace on February 23, 2012, 09:48:04 PM
If I can change my accommodation setup before then I think swmbo and I can be there ???

Not shure wat you mean, but if you need "higher quality" accomodation, there are a number of very close by  accomodation sources that could offer an alternative.  PM me if you have special requirements.

From the interest so far, we are close to doing something on this date.  Ive told the Recreation Reserve Booking Officer I'd get back to her in two weeks to confirm a booking.  The interest so far is beyond my expectations.

I know its a long way out, but if youd like to come and experience a bit of Wombat Hills (Tolmie in 1880) hospitality, post up, no obligation.

Post by: Swannie on February 23, 2012, 09:56:00 PM
Mace count me in... Will be one of the first "shake down trips" in the new Swan OB..
Looking forward to plenty of you guys showing me how to use the thing  ;D
 And hearing a yarn or two

Post by: Mace on February 23, 2012, 10:15:23 PM
A question has been asked by PM, can we bring our canine freind..

This question I'd thought about answering later, I thought Id leave it to the attendees to decide.

IMO (in my opinion) I have no problems with our canine freinds atending. I realise that many mutts are extended family members  and go everywhere all the time (as our K-dog does)

So, I have no problems at this stage with our canine freinds attanding as long as they are sociable, adjusted to other hounds, dont bark at 6AM and are appropriately registered.

If anyone has a dislike of canine's being around, let me know by PM.  We can think about how we  adress that situation down the track (ie, caniane free camp area, or canine defined area)

This is a side issue at this stage, as Ive said in PM's, if youre interested, we'll work around the details closer 2 the date.

Mace
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 24, 2012, 06:56:20 AM
Put me down as a possible

Post by: xcvator on February 24, 2012, 07:31:51 AM
Not shure wat you mean, but if you need "higher quality" accomodation, there are a number of very close by  accomodation sources that could offer an alternative.  PM me if you have special requirements.

From the interest so far, we are close to doing something on this date.  Ive told the Recreation Reserve Booking Officer I'd get back to her in two weeks to confirm a booking.  The interest so far is beyond my expectations.

I know its a long way out, but if youd like to come and experience a bit of Wombat Hills (Tolmie in 1880) hospitality, post up, no obligation.

Hi Mace just refer to my sig line :angel:
Post by: mrdenn1s on February 24, 2012, 08:07:53 AM
Mace, registering interest

I need to meet some myswaggers!
Post by: Swannie on February 25, 2012, 09:49:44 AM
Hey Mace, Talking to the Bro about this weekend, mate unfortunately he has a camper but has just bought a Caravan  :-[ :-[

Is he able to attend this event??

Post by: Mace on February 25, 2012, 10:25:19 AM
Access no problem for vans, we can hide him in a corner somewhere

(http://serve.mysmiley.net/happy/happy0071.gif) (http://www.celebrityfashionarchive.com)

Post by: Swannie on February 25, 2012, 10:28:51 AM
Access no problem, we can hide him in a corner somewhere ;D ;D.

Mate, he actually has a tru blu.. but the missus wants it gone.. he left with a tear or two in his eyes ;D

Post by: Mace on February 25, 2012, 10:31:02 AM
Hi Mace just refer to my sig line :angel:

8), I can be pretty non observant sometimes!

Understood now!

Post by: Crisp Image on February 27, 2012, 10:04:56 AM
I finish night shift on the Friday Morning and then off till Wednesday.
I think I would be interested in a trip there.

Crisp Image
Post by: cruza driver on February 27, 2012, 03:43:41 PM
Here is a Photo I took at Easter earlier this year of the climb to Powers Lookout just out of Tolmie.

(http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa110/cruzadriver/Easter%20at%20Strinybark/467.jpg)
I wont post a pic of the view as its something that you have to see for yourself  8) but you get the idea  ;D

(http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa110/cruzadriver/Easter%20at%20Strinybark/450.jpg)
Post by: GOLDIE on February 27, 2012, 05:39:50 PM
Hey Mace, \
This trip sounds fantastic!!! I have had nod of approval from the wife, but I would have to see what work is like at that point of the year as that crazy time.
Put me down as a maybe
Post by: Mace on February 27, 2012, 10:57:52 PM
Good stuff goldie.

I reckon we have about reached critical mass here!  There are a few swaggers who I reckon havnt seen this thread yet who I think will   jump at it when they see it! They may be away, indisposed, or just offline.  We nearly have 20 potential participants, which was my bottom line  for hiring the local Recreation Reserve when posting this up.

Hope you can make it, the locals and I will make it a trip to remember. 2 me, thats what its about, giving swaggers a great escape,  meeting the locals and having a good time.

Mace

Post by: Mace on March 02, 2012, 05:01:30 PM
Thought id just bump this up for the weekend.

Ive attached a couple of pics of Dandongadale Falls and Lake Cobbler (which feeds the falls).  Ive put this destination down as a potential day trip (high clearance 2wd standard) on one of the days. Bear in mind tho, that it will be early after the seasonal road closures end, but should be acheivable as most likely others will have had a few days to open it up for us!!   ;D
Post by: GU Rich on March 02, 2012, 05:16:40 PM
I have been there plenty of times Mace its a great spot!

PM sent
Post by: BigJules on March 02, 2012, 06:15:27 PM
I'll make it a sub topic if you like Mace. This is a great looking trip.
Post by: Mace on March 02, 2012, 06:19:52 PM
I'll make it a sub topic if you like Mace. This is a great looking trip.

Ok by me.   :cheers:
Post by: OffRoadDave on March 03, 2012, 12:51:38 PM
Starting to wonder if there'll be any roads left up there with all the rain getting round, DSE still hasn't finished it all from 18 months ago
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 03, 2012, 12:59:03 PM
Starting to wonder if there'll be any roads left up there with all the rain getting round, DSE still hasn't finished it all from 18 months ago

I was thinking the same after seeing some of the totals in the last couple of days and there is more on the way, lucky we got up there a couple of weekends ago, imagine if we were up there this weekend

Post by: Black Diamond on March 03, 2012, 04:20:08 PM
I was thinking the same after seeing some of the totals in the last couple of days and there is more on the way, lucky we got up there a couple of weekends ago, imagine if we were up there this weekend

It's certainly not letting up.

Bd
Post by: Mace on March 03, 2012, 04:22:54 PM
It's certainly not letting up.

Bd

King Basin Road down to Pineapple Flat would be fun right now!!

Al.
Post by: Black Diamond on March 03, 2012, 04:48:24 PM
King Basin Road down to Pineapple Flat would be fun right now!!

Al.
Your not wrong, the king would be a nice negotiation ;D
Post by: Fivid on March 03, 2012, 06:02:54 PM
Hi Mace, please put us down as possibles.  We live on the wrong side of the river so don't get any long weekend but if our Simpson trip doesn't go on I will have plenty of leave up my sleeve...  If OK we will have 2 x dogs with us.  They have a great temperament, very docile, get along with people well and love going camping!

Post by: maurerless on March 03, 2012, 06:34:02 PM
Well, but us down as a very definte possible maybe.

This is a good opportunity to get to meet a few swaggers in person. Who knows, we may build it in to part of a bigger trip, but maybe not.

Rutherglen seems like an interesting diversion on the way there, on the way back, or maybe as a day trip...

Tony
Post by: Mace on March 03, 2012, 06:38:51 PM
The Rutherglen/Chiltern/Beechworth/Yackendandah quartet are a great touring set for those interested in early australian history and good robust reds/muscats/ports.  Close to Fivid too!

Post by: Fivid on March 03, 2012, 07:01:19 PM
The Rutherglen/Chiltern/Beechworth/Yackendandah quartet are a great touring set for those interested in early australian history and good robust reds/muscats/ports.  Close to Fivid too!

Only 6Km from our front door to Morris' cellar door!  Lovely Port!!!  And Gehrigs who are close by make a nice white port if anyone is partial to that.

And yes, the whole area is full of lots of history of which I know bugger all but am slowly picking up bits and pieces.  I remember when I was a kid learning a bit about the Chinese burning towers near Beechworth but have not been and found them since we moved back here.  Currently the Buckland Valley is the main focus in my historical learnings.  Not much left to see but locating the old mines, talking to people from the area, reading up on the past is really interesting - it isn't just a great camping / hunting / 4wding place!

Post by: Bigsteve on March 04, 2012, 04:56:11 PM
My first post, and what a way to start and meet up with some like minded campers. Count us in, CT, 2 adults 2 kids.

Looking forward to putting some faces to the posts I've been following the last few months.

Post by: Mace on March 04, 2012, 05:05:00 PM
Welcome BigSteve,

Very impressive first post I reckon ;D

Al.
Post by: Marjen4WD on March 05, 2012, 03:51:07 PM
 :4x4: Sounds like a great fun few days, look forward to November
Marion & Jen
Post by: pacs on March 05, 2012, 03:53:28 PM
dam its awhile to wait for this one.. I'm def down for it though and looking forward to it  :cheers:
add me plus one tin lid to the list Mace  :cheers:
and another tin lid and the better half as a maybe just to be safe ;D
Post by: Mace on March 05, 2012, 05:25:23 PM
No worries Pacs,

Look forward to meeting you and catching up with Marion & Jen again.

Recreation Reserve Committee has us booked in.  Ive told them we will need a good supply of firewood.
Post by: flamingo on March 06, 2012, 06:50:27 PM
Gday Al, Put me on the list at this stage i cant see no reason not to be there!  PS you will remind us as it gets closer wont you??  :cheers: Phil
Post by: Mace on March 06, 2012, 07:05:04 PM
No Worries Phil, Will do.

I had planned to let the thread die down a bit and do a bit of preparatory work (like put together a guide and mud maps  for participants) over winter.

No doubt itll keep bouncing back up tho!

Post by: outback jack on March 06, 2012, 07:18:44 PM
hey mace, plenty of interest in this one mate  :cheers:

i better get on the blower to the "big fella" so he's a starter  :cheers:

maybe even invite speewa, as long as he stays off the piss  :cheers:
Post by: Silvo on March 06, 2012, 08:35:34 PM
Put us down as a ? too.

Silvo, Mrs Silvo, Little Miss Silvo and an unknown sex little Silvo will be attending.
Post by: Laith on March 06, 2012, 09:06:18 PM
Put us down as possibles for this one please.

Will have to wait till I'm a bit closer to see if it can happen.
Post by: kiwimark on March 11, 2012, 12:03:14 PM
Sounds like a great weekend away. It has my interest so I will have to get my partner to make sure that she is off that weekend. We will be watching for further info.
Post by: shell and shane on March 11, 2012, 01:44:47 PM
Hi just wondering how we put our name down for this weekend away thanks sounds great there would be 2 adults and two kids
Post by: Mace on March 11, 2012, 05:50:47 PM
Done and Done.

:cheers: Al.
Post by: GeoffA on March 11, 2012, 06:29:31 PM
How HUGE is this gunna be??............. :cup:
Post by: Mace on March 11, 2012, 09:39:31 PM
How HUGE is this gunna be??............. :cup:

This is a good question, one that has been raised in several  PM's to me.

When I first thought about organising this weekend, I reckoned that 30 vehicles would be a good number. Well, here we are, 7 months out, and we are nearly at that total, although some are (?).

As I have said in reply to PM's, the reserve can easily cater for 50 or 60 ct's.  The annual Tolmie Sports, held in February each year (126th this year) attracts between 1200 and 1500 people with ease.

What does become an issue for me tho, is making sure everyone gets a great experience out of the weekend.  Some may wish to just come and prop, talk to fellow swaggers around the camp and do the local kelly tour.  Others may want to do something each day. 

Its getting to the point where it may be better if we run, say for instance, two groups over two days around the kelly sites.  The group not seeing these sites on the day concerned would go for a 4wd tour to some of the other  sites mentioned.

Big numbers do change the experience tho, especially at night, where it becomes more difficult to experience the group campfire.

I am loathe to put a limit on numbers, so, at the moment, Ill let things  run their natural course numbers wise until we get to 40.  Once at 40, we'll put up a reserve list.  The complete list will be revisited in late July/August when people will be asked to comfirm their ability to attend and indicate numbers.

Also,  if there are a few swaggers out there who reckon that they will be attending, know the general area,  and are willing to to  become day trip leaders for a  day (and then do the kelly sites tour themselves on an alternate day) give me a PM. If we get a few fellow swaggers who can do this, I can then concentrate on guiding 2 kelly tour days instead of one if need be.

Ive started working on the "self guided" itinerary and infomation booklet for the weekend, but it will be a while away yet!

Thanx to all posting up so far, especially the newcomers.

:cheers:  Al.
Post by: Dennis_G on March 12, 2012, 07:37:40 AM
G'day Fellow Swaggers, I missed out on the last High Country Trip, I wont miss out on this ONE. Please put me down, self, SWSID (she who stays indoors) & son. Dennis_G
Post by: BigJules on March 12, 2012, 08:26:13 AM
The level of interest is fantastic, and rightly so. These events are always fun, meeting new folks, going to new places and being shown around by locals who know the good spots.

As always, there will be a number who express their interest but are unable to make it at the time. The important thing is to have enough firewood to maintain a couple of huge fires so that we don't end up with a single circle of chairs that resembles the Large Hadron Collider.  8)
Post by: flanders on March 12, 2012, 02:24:01 PM
G'day Mace, we are new to my swag and CT'ing and would love to come along and meet some fellow campers.  Please put us down if there's enough room!  (2 Adults, 2 kids)
Post by: arel on March 13, 2012, 02:21:44 PM
could you put me down. Went on High Country outing a few weeks ago. First time on Myswag outing, great trip,great bunch of people. will bring my wife instead of my mate this time.
Post by: outback jack on March 13, 2012, 07:26:12 PM
could you put me down. Went on High Country outing a few weeks ago. First time on Myswag outing, great trip,great bunch of people. will bring my wife instead of my mate this time.

Yeah rod, leave jacko at home  ;D  :cheers:
Post by: gonfishen on March 14, 2012, 05:22:28 PM
Please put me down as going, it sounds like a great family long weekend.
Post by: Mace on March 14, 2012, 05:39:06 PM
Please put me down as going, it sounds like a great family long weekend.

Done, list now updated - see first post.

From your tag line, do you like black powder?  Kelly history is littered with black powder weapons. Im currently trying to arrange for those attending to get 2 see some on this weekend.

Post by: Fivid on March 14, 2012, 05:55:50 PM
Hi Al,

you can take the question mark away from beside our name. 

Post by: gonfishen on March 14, 2012, 06:43:01 PM
Done, list now updated - see first post.

From your tag line, do you like black powder?  Kelly history is littered with black powder weapons. Im currently trying to arrange for those attending to get 2 see some on this weekend.

Providing there is a flash and a bang i dont care what makes it, it looks like it could be a fun weekend]
Post by: disco95 on March 16, 2012, 06:28:19 PM
Mace, count me in, well some has look after swannie ob. Looking forward to meet you all.

Post by: GG on March 17, 2012, 06:43:10 PM
I'm in too...and if you would like some entertainment in the hall, I can provide the P.A. and a few tunes...musos can bring their instruments and joind the jam.  ;D
Post by: Mace on March 17, 2012, 06:47:12 PM
I'm in too...and if you would like some entertainment in the hall, I can provide the P.A. and a few tunes...musos can bring their instruments and joind the jam.  ;D

GG, you are a legend.  Saw your background  introductory post and thought "how do we get this bloke  to turn up"

I will PM you.

Edit: Apologies, i never look at genders!!  ;D
Post by: GG on March 17, 2012, 06:53:04 PM
Just a small query...are we running gennies or is there power for us?
Post by: Mace on March 17, 2012, 06:57:08 PM
Power there, but not around campsites.

I was thinking that we would have a "generator time zone" at certain periods of the afternoon & mornining 4 those that needed a boost.

Post by: GG on March 17, 2012, 07:22:38 PM
Thanks for that...I run a CPAP machine for my sleep apnoea through the night, so the batteries will need a bit of a top up through the day.  :cheers:
Post by: adrianv on March 19, 2012, 01:10:44 PM
Gday Mace this sounds like a great weekend would love to bring the family down and meet some fellow swaggers.

Post by: hookedon4wding on March 21, 2012, 02:01:39 PM
Somehow missed this thread.

Pop me down as a possible/hopeful (will depend on the better half's work schedule).

Cheers, Sam.
Post by: fuji on March 21, 2012, 04:26:25 PM
Sounds gr8 pencil us in at this stage for the weekend only. Subjuct to work roster (road toll issues)
Donuts :police:
Post by: Mandrake on March 21, 2012, 06:48:05 PM
Maybe I should bring a few extra Solar Kits for those who are in need of CPAP power ??

I'll have a little think about it and see what stock I have at the time ...

Post by: Mace on March 21, 2012, 07:54:03 PM
Maybe I should bring a few extra Solar Kits for those who are in need of CPAP power ??

I'll have a little think about it and see what stock I have at the time ...

Watever you bring, one less will go back!  I will have saved up enough bikkies by then.

Post by: Crisp Image on March 21, 2012, 09:12:08 PM
Watever you bring, one less will go back!  I will have saved up enough bikkies by then.

Well if you can pay in bikkies can I pay with Cupcakes?
Crisp Image
Post by: GG on March 22, 2012, 03:55:09 PM
Well if you can pay in bikkies can I pay with Cupcakes?
Crisp Image

And I shall sing for my supper...er...solar!  :cheers:
Post by: Redback on March 22, 2012, 05:00:01 PM
Hey Al, put us down as a possible, Kerry and I, also Ness has asked as well, she has 2 dogs though.

Post by: Black Diamond on March 22, 2012, 07:00:09 PM
Hey Al, put us down as a possible, Kerry and I, also Ness has asked as well, she has 2 dogs though.

would be good to catch up for another beer Baz, the more the merrier :cheers:

John
Post by: Mandrake on March 24, 2012, 07:59:27 AM
Looks like I might have to bring the shop and the till !! LOL
 :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Swannie on March 24, 2012, 09:12:14 AM
Looks like I might have to bring the shop and the till !! LOL
 :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Mandrake, I think to save you the effort and heartache of carrying all those solar kits you should make a "ned kelly" special offer for a few of us who need to buy before we go  ;D

PS Although I have never met you... I hear your a great bloke !  ;D
Post by: Mandrake on March 24, 2012, 09:43:13 AM

Flattery disount of 15% applies ... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: GeoffA on March 24, 2012, 10:09:04 AM

Nice work........... ;D
Post by: graham on March 25, 2012, 11:38:32 AM
Mace can i come pls,pls,pls, i,ll be good i promise. nah thats no good,i cannot lie to you Mace, but can i come anyway pls  cheers Graham
Post by: outback jack on March 25, 2012, 11:58:56 AM
Mace can i come pls,pls,pls, i,ll be good i promise. nah thats no good,i cannot lie to you Mace, but can i come anyway pls  cheers Graham

mace, i "PROMISE" i'll look after graham  >:D  :cheers:
Post by: Mace on March 25, 2012, 04:22:32 PM

hmmmm, oh, ok!

Will you be with Jack or travelling/camping independantly?  Ive put you down as a seperate entity, if your with OBJ let me know.

Just back from a field trip to Glenrowan for lunch with SHMBO and the dog.  Quick visit to the Greta Cemetery to confirm family grave locations (all unmarked except the Lloyds).  Two red roses recently placed upon Ellen Kellys plot, someone out there still cares. Stop off to photo the Kelly homestead site at 11 Mile, last time thru grass was so high couldnt see the surrounds.

Post by: Laith on March 26, 2012, 08:00:49 AM
Put us down as possibles for this one please.

Will have to wait till I'm a bit closer to see if it can happen.

Can't make it after all.

Enjoy yourselves
Post by: graham on March 28, 2012, 04:23:24 PM
G,day Al throw us in as a seperarate unit thanks , might have to bring the kids along,maybe even the hound cheers Graham
Post by: hen on March 30, 2012, 07:40:41 PM
Hi, could you put us down as possibles please.  2 adults, thanks Hen
Post by: Mace on March 30, 2012, 07:55:41 PM
Hi, could you put us down as possibles please.  2 adults, thanks Hen

Done, you would get the "longest traveller" award ATM.

(http://s1148.photobucket.com/albums/o578/amaso57/?action-view&current=DSCF0142.jpg)
Post by: graham on April 02, 2012, 06:57:18 PM
Mace i hope there is going to be a bit of commentry along the way absolutly brilliant last time cheers graham
Post by: Mace on April 02, 2012, 10:30:49 PM
Mace i hope there is going to be a bit of commentry along the way absolutly brilliant last time cheers graham

I mite have a few tales for around the campfire!  ;D  Perhaps Barklys mate mite also put in an appearance, even tho we are a fair way from Lovicks Hut.

Im usually pretty quiet you know.  Looking at getting a hand held PA to save my voice.

Im working on a couple of special events at the moment. Saturday nite should be a good one.

Here are some more pics of the grounds.

Post by: Mace on April 02, 2012, 11:02:14 PM
And a few more.
Post by: pacs on April 03, 2012, 12:37:56 AM
Hey Mace have you got anyone to help with preparations the week leading up to the gathering? I was thinking if you need any help I could be down a few days earlier to help out if needed..?
Post by: Mace on April 03, 2012, 09:15:47 AM
Thanx for the offer.  Hopefully there wont be much to do, wood, water, etc will be provided by the Grounds Committee.  I will need help to put the Myswag Flag up the "Guess the Height of the Pole" pole that is currently still standing next to the wood chop arena.  Fitting the Flag will mean dropping the pole to the ground and then re-raising it.  ;D  Memo to self! Order Flag!!.

I plan to get up there on the Friday morning, however, if anyone wants to arrive earlier that will be fine.

Post by: pacs on April 03, 2012, 10:04:10 AM
no worries mate offer stands should things change and you require any help  :cheers:
Post by: Swannie on April 03, 2012, 07:40:18 PM
Hey Mace, I get the feeling you are a Ned Kelly fan ;D
I thought you might appreciate these paintings that sit proudly in our lounge room

Post by: Mace on April 03, 2012, 08:56:46 PM
Hey Mace, I get the feeling you are a Ned Kelly fan ;D

They are great images.

We have had a Ned Kelly Mailbox for over 15 years, moved from our last home in Mansfield to our present home in Benalla. 

I wouldnt say I am a "fan" of Ned, but the story of his life and his responses to social issues of  the time are fascinating.  I am more a fan of local history, wherever we visit.  I have a library full of books from our travells, all specific to various areas and its history.  Its amazing how social history keeps replicating itself. Ned nowerdays would have started out as a Car Thief!

Its been said that if Ned was born 20 or so years later he would have won a VC at Gallipoli.  Different times and different circumstances lead to different outcomes. 

Its amazing how now Kelly descendants are unseen elements of the local community.  Neds great great (maybe another great) nephew is the recent past Mayor of the Rural city of Wangaratta. 40 years ago (within my lifetime), that still would have been unlikely. 

This is how Ill be approaching the weekend.  Trying to outline the background of what happened where, and why.  As ive said, its fascinating stuff.  There is no right or wrong now, the families involved have moved on.

Post by: Stan Bryant on April 09, 2012, 09:52:53 AM
Count us in,,, Stan & Robyn,, plus misty & Bell our 2 canine kids,,
looking forward to meeting some other swaggers.
cheers Stan
Post by: tugger on April 09, 2012, 04:32:15 PM
Count us in as well -  2 adults, 3 kids and who knows maybe a dog or 2.  Sounds like fun.
Cheers, Malcolm and Sandy
Post by: graham on April 09, 2012, 06:01:08 PM
Mace did you realise how big this juggernaut was going to be . i cannot wait ,infact i may just have to go earlier  Al this is a great thing you are doing lemme know if you need a hand cheers  Graham
Post by: jadamo76 on April 09, 2012, 09:11:53 PM
Hi there Mace

Can you add us as well?  2 adults

Looks like we will be buying our first Camper Trailer. Hoping to pick it up around August / September (me thinks get a deposit in soon!) and looks like it is going to be an Aussie Jays big red.

This could be one of the first trips we get to do so would love the idea of having a bunch of different camper trailers around to get some ideas on different things for us newbies!!
Post by: poppasmurf on April 11, 2012, 08:47:56 PM
Mace count me in and SWMBO as well. It's been too long since I have frequented the forum so it will be nice to meet some of you lot. :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Cheers Shane
Post by: nisnav on April 14, 2012, 09:24:25 PM
Sounds like a fantastic weekend.

If there is still space put us down x2 adults and x2 kids,

We could only stay Friday till Monday as I'm in work on the Tuesday

Cheers Graham

Post by: poppasmurf on April 15, 2012, 03:45:20 PM
Just got home from a Sunday drive, thought we would go have a look at the facilities /area, this looks to be a fantastic spot for a gathering. Nice people at the pub as well. I also like the look of the footy oval with nice open area for me to set up my  telescope for anyone interested in a bit of star gazing during the nights.

Cheers Shane
Post by: Mace on April 16, 2012, 10:31:05 AM
Back on board, Easter and an extra week off. Not long enough.  Failed to see even 1 Myswag sticker during 1000km plus af traveling to and around Omeo and then down the coast.

List now updated:  44 so far including 8 possibles.

Poppasmurf,  stargazing would be a great addition. The old concrete cricket pitch in the middle (site of my first class fifth class debut at age 12 - I can reinact the glance to fine leg for my first 4 for those interested) would give a great base.

The cut off for the 2 day trips will be 50 vehicles I reckon. 25 vehicles a day will take some coordinating, but doable.  The main issue will be parking at a couple of the sites, especially Powers Lookout, which will be busy even without us. People numbers in vehicles isnt an issue for me , the more the better, but high vehicle numbers on the road turns a 5 minute stop into a 15 minute one whilst waiting for all to arrive and disembark.

I cant see any reason to limit attendee numbers for the camping experience, but bear in mind that if you are higher than 50 on the list, you mightnt get to go on a guided tour thru the sites on the two days proposed.  That said, if on the day, if people have spare seats in their vehicles, others in the "plus 50" category could travel in those by invitiation on a first on the list first in basis.

Post by: poppasmurf on April 16, 2012, 01:09:45 PM
I will definately take my baby traveller telescope but the logistics of taking the big banger(avatar pic) with power for computerised mount and cameras for viewing on laptop might be a bit much but I will see how I go.

Cheers Shane
Post by: Crisp Image on April 16, 2012, 09:37:33 PM
for anyone interested in a bit of star gazing during the nights.

Little image #1' eyes lit up at reading this!
Crisp Image
Post by: poppasmurf on April 17, 2012, 04:51:19 PM
Hi Crisp Image, that's is what I wanted to hear.....another astro-enthusiast, looking forward to the trip.

Cheers Shane
Post by: maurerless on April 17, 2012, 05:47:30 PM
I'm not an astro enthusiast, but more an astro enthusiast wannabe.  ;D

I bought a $&*%# telescope and never figured out how to set it up properly so I could track with the earth's rotation.  ??? ??? If there's a half a chance at getting some instructions - even half baked ones, I'm in!  :laugh:

Tony
Post by: poppasmurf on April 18, 2012, 08:38:28 AM
Hi Tony, #^^% telescopes are the number one reason a lot of people don't keep going with the hobby. I will definatey be able to give you some basic instruction on set up so bring it along. I personally prefer the astrophotography side of the hobby and only occasionally do visual for pleasure, but the big scope is a bit much to continually setup with my bad back and power needed to run it and everything else( which is why I built a permanant observatory for it).
It sounds like we will have plenty to talk over when we meet.

Cheers Shane
Post by: hutchie62 on April 18, 2012, 04:25:11 PM
Hi Mace, can you put us down as well.  :cheers: Hutchie
Post by: Mace on April 18, 2012, 06:28:56 PM
but the big scope is a bit much to continually setup with my bad back and power needed to run it and everything else
Cheers Shane

Im shure that plenty of swagpower, an appropriate storage area and 240v on site could be provided for the big mamma if it meant it could operate for a couple of nights.  PM me if you want to discuss.

Post by: Kris on April 18, 2012, 07:16:10 PM
Might just add our name to the list.  At this stage should be right to go, just depends on what's happening around the time (bloody farms!).  Looks like it's gonna be BIG!  We're pretty good at going with the flow, and won't be upset if we miss out on somethings.

Look forward to some  :cheers:    Kris
Post by: maurerless on April 18, 2012, 08:09:38 PM
Hi Tony, #^^% telescopes are the number one reason a lot of people don't keep going with the hobby. I will definatey be able to give you some basic instruction on set up so bring it along. I personally prefer the astrophotography side of the hobby and only occasionally do visual for pleasure, but the big scope is a bit much to continually setup with my bad back and power needed to run it and everything else( which is why I built a permanant observatory for it).
It sounds like we will have plenty to talk over when we meet.

Cheers Shane

Got to check out the moon phase too I guess

Tony
Post by: speewa158 on April 18, 2012, 09:07:40 PM
Mystree & Myself are up for this as base camp sitters  :cheers:
Post by: Mace on April 18, 2012, 09:35:44 PM

http://www.myswag.org/downloads/Mace/Tolmie%20Sports%20Ground.tif (http://www.myswag.org/downloads/Mace/Tolmie%20Sports%20Ground.tif)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 18, 2012, 10:44:13 PM

Mental note, take lock for fridge while away from camp   >:D >:D

Post by: speewa158 on April 19, 2012, 06:00:05 AM
hey mace, plenty of interest in this one mate  :cheers:

i better get on the blower to the "big fella" so he's a starter  :cheers:

maybe even invite speewa, as long as he stays off the piss  :cheers:
is the kettle blacker than the pot   :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on April 19, 2012, 06:01:33 AM
Mental note, take lock for fridge while away from camp   >:D >:D

but harsh ,,,,, bring extra anyway  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on April 19, 2012, 06:53:13 AM

.......been wondering when you were gunna put your hand up........ :cup:

Looking forward to some more :cheers:
Post by: poppasmurf on April 19, 2012, 08:36:51 AM
Glad to see you're going to make it Speewa, it's been a long time since we have seen you mate.

Cheers Shane
Post by: poppasmurf on April 19, 2012, 09:28:13 AM
Tony, moon phase will be waning gibbous at that time, so some spectacular views of the moon will be available without too much light (hopefully) for viewing planets and deep sky objects.

Mace I have been thinking that maybe we should have a bit of a poll to see how many would prefer to look through an eye piece( only one at a time but more personal) or via a camera hooked up to laptop so more can see at the one time( not as personal a view)? This would perhaps sway me to remove the big scope from the observatory to bring along; and see if I can borrow another camera for viewing fainter objects on the laptop(mine is good for planets/moon only).
If I end up bringing the big girl then 240V would be better as I will need to power the mount, 2x cameras, and 2 laptops. And I will definately need somewhere safe to lock up and keep dry from moisture after viewings as it is quite a few thousand dollars of equipment. Will also need help with lifting as its quite heavy.

If you want more info you can PM me and we can work out a time for you to visit me to see what is needed or get my phone number to discuss it.

Cheers Shane
Post by: Mace on April 19, 2012, 11:55:14 AM
Wow, the things swaggers will do to help out and make an event special.

Poppasmurf has agreed to bring his big 8inch telescope with all the goodies, laptops, etc, so groups can view easily off the screen.  We will work out secure storage and power for this unit, a bit of muscle power will be needed to assist with moving it from to and from storage and setup.

I will bring along a smaller 4 inch scope for eyepiece viewing - good for the moon and planets, but a bit small for deep space stuff.

If any others would like to bring along  their own smaller  telescopes im shure Shane will be able to give a few tips on setup and use.

Once again, thanx Shane.   :cup:
Post by: Swannie on April 19, 2012, 12:09:53 PM
You blokes are brilliant... My sons are so pumped about the possibility of seeing a proper telescope!!!

Post by: poppasmurf on April 19, 2012, 02:52:06 PM
I am quite happy (actually excited better desribes it) to do this as it is an obsession of mine that I love sharing with others. I only have a couple of NON negotiable rules: Pease do not touch equipment(unless asked to do so) and absolutely NO insect repellent in the area of the scope, the problem with repellants is that if it gets on the mirror it eats the special reflective coatings and destroys the mirror.
Post by: xcvator on April 19, 2012, 03:30:50 PM
You blokes are brilliant... My sons are so pumped about the possibility of seeing a proper telescope!!!

So am I  :laugh:
Post by: Jason B on April 19, 2012, 09:02:56 PM
Mace

This looks like a rippa of a trip. The missus and I discussed it today and we have a few commitements but if we can make the time and there is still room when we know what wwe are doing we will be there for sure.
Post by: poppasmurf on April 20, 2012, 12:18:39 AM
I've had a thought Mace......no it didn't hurt (before anyone asks LOL), I can also bring a full aperture solar filter that will fit your 4" scope for safe viewing of the sun if interested.

Cheers Shane
Post by: maurerless on April 20, 2012, 11:12:02 PM
Now THAT would be cool, especially if things like flares can be seen...
Post by: poppasmurf on May 02, 2012, 03:16:04 PM
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/38537-1/Thebit0006-waveletCS2dimens.jpg)

If I got this right, I always have trouble linking to pics, the picture shows roughly what image scale will be seen through the scope for viewing nights.

Cheers Shane
Post by: disco95 on May 02, 2012, 05:09:29 PM
I think I can see Apollo 11 and Neil Armstrong, or is that a Hollywood studio. 8) :cheers:
Post by: poppasmurf on May 03, 2012, 09:55:21 AM
Sorry guys n gals, after some further investigation I have found that I had mis-identified the crater, therefore the dimension should actually be 124km not 60km.
Post by: Kman on May 20, 2012, 07:55:59 PM
This is only around the corner from me, and I drive through glenrowan all the time.....maccas coffee....but haven't had a real look through here since I was a kid......I may be there but moving into new house and will have a 2 month old at that time I believe.....so at this stage tentative. Great 4wding around this area.
Post by: graham on May 23, 2012, 06:16:15 PM
G,day poppa i was reading your post and you mentioned 240v power. i do not  know if you are supplying your own , but if you are not ,i will have my little honda 1.0 (8-900 watts) . you are more than welcome to use it.  cheers Graham
Post by: poppasmurf on May 23, 2012, 10:02:35 PM
Thanks for the offer Graham. I have a inverter/generator but not game to try with the expensive mount, in fact I only got it a few weeks ago so have not even tried it out yet. I am assured by Mace that we will have access to 240V so we should be right, once again thanks for the offer.

Cheers Shane
Post by: mrdenn1s on June 11, 2012, 10:52:06 AM
Very excited about this trip. The kia has been fixed after the great tree crushing incident of 2012. CT about to get repaired (canvas stitching repair and anderson charge not working for some reason).

I offer myself and my family's company, a guitar for tunes on request and perhaps some firewood for the communal supply.

For the record, where does one get a myswag sticker from?

Looking forward to meeting you all and shouting mace a beer for his efforts
Post by: speewa158 on June 11, 2012, 11:11:36 AM
Glad to see you're going to make it Speewa, it's been a long time since we have seen you mate.

Cheers Shane
Might see you at Mitchels Crossing as well :cheers:
Post by: Mace on June 11, 2012, 11:13:34 AM
Good Stuff!

The Kia looked nice and shiny in the last few pics.

GG has also offered to entertain us, so any muso's are more than welcome to bring their weapon of choice.  ;D

Will be firing a few threads up in a few weeks with more info, stay tuned.

Stickers:

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=18651.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=18651.0)

Post by: Niley on June 12, 2012, 06:55:28 PM
Hi Mace and GU Rich,

Looking at travelling to the hi country with a few cockroaches at xmas. Can you shed some light on where we should go. Your Kelly country swaggers meet sounds great, however were booked for Yogi's Fraser Fiasco, plus its closer to home.
To go south is it feasible to get to the high country through Kosciusko NP into Vic and then tack east to the coast so we can head north. Any advise will be welcome. I will start looking at some maps etc but you guys should be able to jump on this with the right info.

Many thanks

Niley
Post by: Bird on June 13, 2012, 02:55:55 PM
Quote from: poppasmurf
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/38537-1/Thebit0006-waveletCS2dimens.jpg)

Is that a photo of something growing on D4D's unused shanty town?

If there is some dirt left, I'd like to add my name to the list.
Post by: Mace on June 13, 2012, 04:48:03 PM

If there is some dirt left, I'd like to add my name to the list.

Still plenty of room.

The Navara 4wd club were looking for a place to stay on the same weekend.  They have been informed that Myswaggers will fill the place to capacity.  space wasnt really the issue, but the toilets and showers will be at capacity for our group.
Post by: Kangaron on June 13, 2012, 07:15:54 PM
HHMMMMM.

Will try and twist the bosses arm for this, a very busy time for us/

The current publican of the Tolmie Hotel and I were constables together at South Melbourne in the mid 70"s.
We used to share a car to work when possible, mine an LJ Torana and him a Lancia.
Both liked a beer back then, I still do and it appears he has upped his enthusiasm.

I havn't seen rotten Ronnie since about 78, a get together could be interesting.

On a few weeks off as we speak Mace, will get back to you once I get back to work.
Post by: Mace on June 14, 2012, 09:22:14 AM

mine an LJ Torana and him a Lancia.
Both liked a beer back then, I still do and it appears he has upped his enthusiasm.

Ronnie in a Lancia, I cant imagine that!!

From what I kno, he doesnt drink whilst on duty.  Off duty mite be different.
Post by: linmac on June 16, 2012, 11:42:03 AM
Look's like a good trip and a good chance to meet some Swaggers I'll talk to the bride and hopefully we will come alone  ;D
Post by: fuji on June 18, 2012, 03:28:10 PM
Ronnie in a Lancia, I cant imagine that!!

From what I kno, he doesnt drink whilst on duty.  Off duty mite be different.

I must be the only copper in town that hardly touches a drop.
 :police:
Post by: BigJules on June 18, 2012, 03:31:51 PM

I must be the only copper in town that hardly touches a drop.
 :police:

Occupational hazard. Was the same in the Army.
Post by: swanny on July 12, 2012, 01:24:12 PM
G'Day Mace,

is it still possible to attend this event or have i missed my chance, i ask,  as i have just had to cancel our Sept trip out to Uluru, (my Little girl is to unwell to travel at this time) and replan for a trip (Murray River) over Oct/Nov, all going well with my little girl.

My wife and i have looked at the High Country for some time, and when we read this, we both though that we could tie this into the end of our proposed trip along the Murray River, and enjoy looking thru kelly country with urself and others.

If u still have room available, we woud likely arrive a day or 2 early to set up and have a look around, and then enjoy meeting a few of the swaggers, and attend the tours etc u have out lined.

Anyway mate let me know ur thoughts, i understand totally if room prevents us attending, as i have left it very late to express my interest.

Regards Swanny
Post by: Bigsteve on July 12, 2012, 09:11:17 PM
Hi Mace,

Looking forward to this trip and meeting some fellow swaggers. After bragging about this to a friend of ours they want to tag along. 2 adults, 2 kids & tent.

I see there is quite a number on the list already, is there any room left?

S
Post by: Mace on July 12, 2012, 09:55:28 PM
No worries Guys, come on down/up!

still plenty of room, will have to start thinking smart about the day tours soon tho.

Cheers, Al.
Post by: Bigsteve on July 12, 2012, 10:32:12 PM
Thanks Mace.  :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on July 27, 2012, 08:06:33 PM
Only 97 sleeps to go  :cheers:
Post by: poppasmurf on July 27, 2012, 10:19:32 PM
So I'm not the only one counting. LOL
Post by: xcvator on August 12, 2012, 12:05:26 AM
yippee 83 sleeps to go yahoo  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: philnyvette on August 19, 2012, 08:34:04 AM
Hi Mace, have been looking at the site for a while. The weekend looks awsome, just wondering if there is some room left to come alonng and meet some swaggers.
 :cheers: Phil
Post by: Mace on August 19, 2012, 10:39:38 AM
Welcome Crew.

Room wont be a problem, come along and have some fun.
Post by: Maho on August 28, 2012, 02:49:50 PM
Hey Guys,

Is there still any room left? We are new to the camper trailer scene and this sounds like a great way to meet people, and I reckon the kids would love it!

Post by: Mace on August 28, 2012, 04:40:34 PM
Youre in Maho, by the skin of your teeth!   ;D

As from this Friday onwards I am going to Cap the numbers.  A reserve list will be started, if you are on the reserve list you will have to wait for someone to pull out of the main list to get  a start.

We are currently awaiting approval from Mr  :police: for our Saturday nights entertainment.  An application from the Mansfield Colonial Reinactment Society has gone in for approval.

The MCRS is a local group of Colonial Tragics who spend a lot of time preserving our local history.
They have agreed pending approval to come along and give us a bit of entertainment an spend some time with us swaggers.  They dress up in period "traps"  costumes and display their hardwares, black powder rifles & pistols, all under controlled conditions.  Their knowledge of kelly history is pretty good too!

Stay Tuned.
Post by: xcvator on August 28, 2012, 08:07:21 PM
Ah, Mace, I can see it now. Some poor little bunny is going to hop out onto the oval,"Poppasmurf is going to spot it in his scope,1 of the traps  will blast it for resisting arrest just like in the old days and all that will be left is the ears and tail and the smell of black powder  :D Sounds like fun  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Swannie on August 28, 2012, 08:39:15 PM

As from this Friday onwards I am going to Cap the numbers.  A reserve list will be started, if you are on the reserve list you will have to wait for someone to pull out of the main list to get  a start.

We are currently awaiting approval from Mr  :police: for our Saturday nights entertainment.  An application from the Mansfield Colonial Reinactment Society has gone in for approval.

The MCRS is a local group of Colonial Tragics who spend a lot of time preserving our local history.
They have agreed pending approval to come along and give us a bit of entertainment an spend some time with us swaggers.  They dress up in period "traps"  costumes and display their hardwares, black powder rifles & pistols, all under controlled conditions.  Their knowledge of kelly history is pretty good too!

Stay Tuned.

Sounds great Mace. 66 sleeps to go  ;D
Post by: poppasmurf on August 28, 2012, 10:12:58 PM
Now that would be a sight, the scope strapped to a black powder rifle rofl.
Post by: Maho on August 29, 2012, 07:58:01 PM

Cheers Mace  :cheers:

Sounds like it could be a great weekend..
Post by: GOLDIE on August 31, 2012, 06:13:35 AM
Mace you can remove the ? From my name as we will be coming. I just wish it would hurry up and get hear
Post by: kiwimark on August 31, 2012, 03:41:24 PM
Mace, Myself (kiwimark) and partner Glenda will be there. How many sleeps to go?
Post by: Mace on August 31, 2012, 04:21:53 PM
I make it 63 until the Friday Night!  ;D  Than must mean 9 weeks, that sounds a lot closer.

I am hanging out for the Stubbly Holder design concept to come thru at the moment!!

Stay Tuned.
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2012, 04:36:31 PM
Im just waiting for this fella behind skippy to come back.
(http://blog.hotelreservations.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/kangaroos-in-the-australian-outback1.jpg)
Post by: Crisp Image on September 01, 2012, 06:31:48 PM
According to my phone it is only 62 days to go!
Post by: xcvator on September 03, 2012, 10:18:31 PM
According to my phone it is only 62 days to go!

Yeah but you have trouble counting don't you especially minutes (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-devil02.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: mattz on September 15, 2012, 09:50:38 PM
Hey mace.
If there is any room left we would love to come.
If not whack us on the reserve list.

Go hawks!!!!!  :D
Post by: Mace on September 15, 2012, 11:25:17 PM
Youre in at No.12 Mattz, another matt  (Brickiematt?) had to pull out.

How many stubbly holders do youse want!  ;D
Post by: mattz on September 15, 2012, 11:37:08 PM
Thanks mate.
Put me down for a couple of stubbie holders......you can never have enough. :cheers:

Go hawks!!!!!  :D
Post by: Bigsteve on September 16, 2012, 07:55:01 AM
Hi Mace,

Our plus 1 has pulled out so it's just us now. Noticed we're on the list twice 21 & 52. Can remove the 52.

S
Post by: poppasmurf on September 16, 2012, 04:01:40 PM
Sorry guys been away for a bit, Grandmothers funeral in NZ, did I miss some news? Are we getting stubbie holders made for the camp or are you talking about the normal Swagger stubbie holders? If they are trip ones Mace put me down for 2 if they normal Swagger holders leave me out thanks mate, already got my Swagger holders.

By the way mate we still need to work out our little prize.

Cheers Shane
Post by: maurerless on September 18, 2012, 03:47:22 PM
You don't know how much it pains me to say this, but... I gotta pull out  :'( :'( :'(

Besides some other reasons (which you may see elsewhere on the forum) I've had a change in my employment which makes it difficult to get the time I need.  >:(

Hope you all have a great time. {sigh}

Tony

Post by: Crisp Image on September 22, 2012, 10:17:21 AM
Only 41 days to go!
Post by: Swannie on September 22, 2012, 02:18:53 PM
Only 41 days to go!

Woo hoooooo

Whose going up on he Friday?

Post by: Mace on September 22, 2012, 04:41:01 PM
Ill be there Friday Morning at the latest, maybe thursday afternoon.

I think Graeme was talking about going up early for one.
Post by: Swannie on September 22, 2012, 05:19:58 PM
Ill be there Friday Morning at the latest, maybe thursday afternoon.

I think Graeme was talking about going up early for one.
[/quote

No worries mace.Im thinking will be up there around 1pm on Friday.

Post by: Black Diamond on September 22, 2012, 06:27:55 PM
At this stage I will be up on Friday evening with Mattz, and hopefully with a new camper trailer since the Jayco has gone :cheers:
Post by: Crisp Image on September 22, 2012, 06:33:27 PM
Planning to be there sometime between sun up and sun down on Friday. Depending if we send the kids to school that day.
Post by: hutchie62 on September 23, 2012, 12:27:38 AM
Will be up there friday mid morning, can't wait.

:cheers: Hutchie
Post by: Mandrake on September 23, 2012, 07:02:05 AM
Depending on weather Mandrake and the Solar Shop should be there on Thursday or Friday to setup ... LOL .

Mandrake
Post by: GeoffA on September 23, 2012, 07:27:16 AM
If we don't pick up a decent job at work, we could be there on the Monday before the long weekend.........
Post by: Swannie on September 23, 2012, 07:42:51 AM
If we don't pick up a decent job at work, we could be there on the Monday before the long weekend.........

Geez Geoff. Can I ask that you mow my site, set up the campfire, ensure all sites are level and free from rocks  :D
Post by: GeoffA on September 23, 2012, 08:24:52 AM
Geez Geoff. Can I ask that you mow my site, set up the campfire, ensure all sites are level and free from rocks  :D

Hey Greg,

I know I carry a fair bit of gear in the Coota, but a mower.........???

That sort of thing is best left to a professional..... ;D

Geoff

Post by: Brett B on September 23, 2012, 09:22:53 AM
Im still going I think
I should be right by then
Post by: hutchie62 on September 23, 2012, 10:06:26 AM
Hey Greg,

I know I carry a fair bit of gear in the Coota, but a mower.........???

That sort of thing is best left to a professional..... ;D

Is Speewa the man?
Post by: GeoffA on September 23, 2012, 10:42:49 AM
Is Speewa the man?

.....he most definitely is "The Man".......... ;D ;D
Post by: xcvator on September 24, 2012, 09:48:54 PM
Not tellin when I'm getting there, I want to sneak in when the grogs not guarded  >:D >:D :cheers:
Post by: pacs on September 28, 2012, 11:39:06 AM
Not tellin when I'm getting there, I want to sneak in when the grogs not guarded  >:D >:D :cheers:

mate Speewa is never far from his fridge you don't stand a chance
Post by: GOLDIE on September 28, 2012, 06:57:44 PM
I'll be aiming to leave Thursday after work.ill crash somewhere on the the way down ( about 4 - 5 from sydney ) and then aim to get there about lunch on Friday. Any one else leaving from Sydney?
Post by: BigJules on September 30, 2012, 06:53:44 PM
Yep, have the same plan. Leave Thursday, not sure about return trip to Sydney, Sunday night or Monday.
Post by: Mace on October 01, 2012, 09:34:17 PM
We have another attendee, he will post up his details soon:-)
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on October 01, 2012, 09:54:23 PM
Hey guys - We're filming Season 2 of 4WD Touring Australia, and I'm going to be in the High Country this November. I've been chatting to Mace about catching up with the MySwag crew while you are all in 'Kelly Country' to do some filming.

I figured I better pop my head in here and check if that's alright!

It'll be me, Craig, Marco and the film crew. After we hang out with you guys for a few days, we'll be heading east, deeper into the high country to explore a few old favourites and some new places.

Thanks! - I hope to meet all of you guys finally in one of the finest places on the planet.

Carlisle

We have another attendee, he will post up his details soon:-)
Post by: xcvator on October 01, 2012, 10:00:42 PM
You'll be welcome mate, just remember to kick the door  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 01, 2012, 11:00:27 PM
I can't get away from this mob..........first the Cape Trip, and now Kelly Country.............. ;D ;D ;D

Post by: NatGav on October 01, 2012, 11:23:19 PM
Hey guys sounds amazing we are due in bright for the hot rod run on the 8th so this might work for us. Any further development on bring our fur kids?

Sent from my HTC Velocity 4G using Tapatalk 2

Post by: NatGav on October 01, 2012, 11:36:46 PM
Oh and is there any room... Well done Mace on organising a wicked event

Post by: speewa158 on October 02, 2012, 04:13:27 AM
I can't get away from this mob..........first the Cape Trip, and now Kelly Country.............. ;D ;D ;D

There stalkers , though its nice to have friends around isnt it  >:D
Post by: Crisp Image on October 02, 2012, 08:15:23 AM
How exciting and only 31 days to go!!!! ;D ;D
Crisp Image
Post by: Brett B on October 03, 2012, 10:27:42 AM
Ok Guys dont know if l have missed something in other posts
But where in Tolmie is the sports ground or what road is it on
Post by: Mace on October 03, 2012, 02:45:01 PM
Map on first page.

Just of the Mansfield / Whitfield Road.  If you get to the Tolmie Tavern you have gone too far!  :cheers:

It is well signposted.
Post by: Crisp Image on October 03, 2012, 02:46:51 PM
Map on first page.

Just of the Mansfield / Whitfield Road.  If you get to the Tolmie Tavern you have gone too far!  :cheers:
If Speewa gets to the Tavern then he just might stay there!
Post by: BigJules on October 03, 2012, 02:57:29 PM
For those of you who know the area well, if coming from the north would you turn off at Wangaratta or Benalla and go via Mansfield?
Post by: Mace on October 03, 2012, 03:10:02 PM
Turn off at Wangaratta and come up via Whitfield. Its a bit of a climb, but bitumen all the way
Post by: Brett B on October 03, 2012, 04:30:33 PM
Thanks Guys
The old ticker should be right by then
Just having a bit of trouble with the Meds
Post by: Brett B on October 03, 2012, 04:37:10 PM
Hey guys - We're filming Season 2 of 4WD Touring Australia, and I'm going to be in the High Country this November. I've been chatting to Mace about catching up with the MySwag crew while you are all in 'Kelly Country' to do some filming.

I figured I better pop my head in here and check if that's alright!

It'll be me, Craig, Marco and the film crew. After we hang out with you guys for a few days, we'll be heading east, deeper into the high country to explore a few old favourites and some new places.

Thanks! - I hope to meet all of you guys finally in one of the finest places on the planet.

Carlisle

Be good to see you Guys up there
Brett B
Post by: xcvator on October 03, 2012, 05:09:47 PM
Thanks Guys
I'll bring my puffer for you  ;D ;D
Post by: Marschy on October 03, 2012, 05:13:14 PM
Thanks Guys

Don't forget your nitro glycerine.
Post by: GG on October 05, 2012, 05:12:29 PM
Hi everyone. Is it too late to add one more family of three? I've managed to talk my brother Barry and his wife and youngest into coming with me. They have a trailer camper and 4wd.
Post by: Mace on October 06, 2012, 03:43:06 PM
Not a problem.

Unfortunately JasonB from Bathurst has had to pull out,  to be replaced by a couple of new swaggers  in a mopar? powered Ford Mainline who are starting on their adventures. Welcome NatGav:-) .

What's your brothers nickname?

Al.
Post by: NatGav on October 06, 2012, 05:38:02 PM
That's right mace, it's a little different but we are giving it a go... Jasonb we will make you proud mate.. Can't wait to meet everyone... Not long now

Post by: speewa158 on October 06, 2012, 06:32:32 PM
If Speewa gets to the Tavern then he just might stay there!
l will have you know there are some taverns that have chucked me out at or about clousing time  so l might be a bit late at camp  :cheers:
Post by: mattz on October 06, 2012, 06:48:47 PM
l will have you know there are some taverns that have chucked me out at or about clousing time  so l might be a bit late at camp  :cheers:
More likely you had drunk them dry and they had nothing else to serve so they closed up.
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2012, 04:54:08 PM
Ummmmmmmm Maybe >:D :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 08, 2012, 07:38:23 PM
Geeze this is coming around quick...

Anything for the kids to do while there? Bring their pushies??
Footy? totem tennis? netball? basketball? kite flyin'...?? :)
Post by: Mace on October 08, 2012, 09:18:26 PM

Anything for the kids to do while there? Bring their pushies??
Footy? totem tennis? netball? basketball? kite flyin'...?? :)

Plenty of space for bikes.  Football goal posts long removed from the oval.  Concrete cricket pitch still there, Im sure we can leave some space on the oval for a game.  There are tennis courts next door, and a playground for the small ones.  Frizbee's welcome.  Tiddlywinks will be a bit hard in the grass.
Post by: Black Diamond on October 08, 2012, 09:24:02 PM
Plenty of space for bikes.  Football goal posts long removed from the oval.  Concrete cricket pitch still there, Im sure we can leave some space on the oval for a game.  There are tennis courts next door, and a playground for the small ones.  Frizbee's welcome.  Tiddlywinks will be a bit hard in the grass.
Basketball courts?
Post by: Mace on October 09, 2012, 08:14:02 AM

No BB courts  :'(
Post by: Malcur on October 09, 2012, 08:25:49 AM
Hi Mace,

Is there room for one more camper (2 adults)? A bit late in acceptances but we have been busy lately.

Mal
Post by: Mace on October 09, 2012, 08:36:13 AM
There was a gap at No.20.  A few are still (?).  Youre in!

Post by: Crisp Image on October 09, 2012, 08:53:58 AM
With only 24 days to go we are looking forward to this weekend.
Mace Do we pay camping feed at the venue of before?
Crisp Image
Post by: Mace on October 09, 2012, 10:47:26 AM
The Camp fees of $5 per head (adults) are paid at the ground.  There are envelopes and deposit box.  Its all via an honesty system. Im going to get it cleared each night as there will be quite a few $$ in it.

The only other cost I will be "encouraging" is a $5 per vehicle donation towards the Mansfield Colonial Reinactment Society as a good will gesture for their performance on Saturday Night. The "Helmet" will be passed around for this.

Post by: fuji on October 09, 2012, 11:34:50 AM
Mace
If there is a spot for us please give to someone else. Can't guarantee we will be there. My back has gone again. However I will attempt to get there for one day so that I can meet some fellow swaggers. I also have to bring up the raffle prize for the Big Bwana Jules. Maybe the Sunday real early. :cheers:
Wayne
Post by: Mace on October 09, 2012, 12:32:23 PM
No worries Pal.
Post by: Mace on October 13, 2012, 09:40:27 PM
Im starting to get exited about this!!!  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 14, 2012, 04:21:39 AM
Thats a fact  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 14, 2012, 05:58:54 AM
Yep.... :cheers:
Post by: Crisp Image on October 14, 2012, 09:10:40 AM
At this time in 3 weeks we shall be enjoying a great weekend of fun. Looking forward to meeting my friends in person form the forum.
Crisp Image
Post by: Bird on October 14, 2012, 09:54:09 AM
any rough ideas on how many kids are coming?
boys/girls and rough ages of kids...

I'll divvy up for some glow thingys (http://www.ilumn8.com.au/) for night time. They are also handy for tracking kids in the dark  :cup: :cup:
I gotta order some for the 4wd club, so will sort something out.
Post by: poppasmurf on October 14, 2012, 10:59:14 AM
Getting very excited indeed. Even better I will be pain free as of
monday when a troublesome tooth is removed, I was concerned it would be longer and interfere with this gathering. Well
i guess
i had better get out to the obs and organise the scope breakdown and pack it up for everyone to enjoy.

Cheers Shane
Post by: Brett B on October 14, 2012, 06:53:56 PM
Im still going even if I have to escape
Post by: BigJules on October 14, 2012, 07:24:51 PM
Can't wait for this trip. Not sure if any of my family will be coming though, unless I can find a rental camper.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 14, 2012, 07:37:33 PM
Can't wait for this trip. Not sure if any of my family will be coming though, unless I can find a rental camper.

Speewa should have some spare space >:D

Post by: Mace on October 14, 2012, 07:42:55 PM

I' reckon we will be able to find some floor space somewhere for the family, as long as you can bring some bedding.
Post by: Black Diamond on October 14, 2012, 08:57:13 PM
More than happy to bring the Swag along if needed for anyone Julian, just give us a bell :cheers:

John
Post by: NatGav on October 15, 2012, 01:34:38 AM
We are super excited, getting to pack up the camper for the first time. Any ideas how many fur kids? Can't wait to meet everyone, chat around the fire place and visit some great Victorian historic locations. We have two fur babies who can't wait...
Post by: Fivid on October 15, 2012, 06:26:53 AM
We are super excited, getting to pack up the camper for the first time. Any ideas how many fur kids? Can't wait to meet everyone, chat around the fire place and visit some great Victorian historic locations. We have two fur babies who can't wait...

We have two furry kids coming with us also...

Post by: poppasmurf on October 15, 2012, 07:26:57 AM
Myself and SWMBO are leaving ALL kids at home to fend for themselves ;D. Hope to get up there either late Thursday afternonn or early Friday morning.
WooHoo only 3 weeks to go.

Cheers Shane
Post by: pacs on October 15, 2012, 07:42:35 AM
We have two furry kids coming with us also...

yours are so well behavied Dave it will set an example for the ones without fur ;D
Post by: NatGav on October 15, 2012, 07:45:21 AM
Hey dave, that is great. What sort of dogs are they? Glad to have fur kids around
Post by: Marjen4WD on October 15, 2012, 08:56:06 AM
 ??? Unfortunately we are unable to attend this weekend due to a double booked weekend.
Post by: Fivid on October 15, 2012, 12:54:28 PM
Hey dave, that is great. What sort of dogs are they? Glad to have fur kids around

A couple of shepherds...

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DSC0118.jpg)

Post by: Swannie on October 15, 2012, 01:57:10 PM
Geez they look hungry!! Will they eat my miniature poodle? :)
Post by: Crisp Image on October 15, 2012, 02:43:12 PM
Geez they look hungry!! Will they eat my miniature poodle? :)
Your miniature poodle will kill them. When they choke on it trying to eat it ;D
Crisp Image
Post by: xcvator on October 15, 2012, 07:41:16 PM
Your miniature poodle will kill them. When they choke on it trying to eat it ;D
Crisp Image
Don't get too cheeky CP my hound is coming too  :angel:
Post by: NatGav on October 15, 2012, 07:49:53 PM
Oh dave, so so cute. Can't wait to meet them.. We have a bulldog and golden.. I'm sure they will be great friends.
Post by: NatGav on October 15, 2012, 08:20:05 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/10/15/vuzujeby.jpg)
Here are my two.... Can't wait

Post by: Fivid on October 15, 2012, 08:31:17 PM
Oh dave, so so cute. Can't wait to meet them.. We have a bulldog and golden.. I'm sure they will be great friends.

They get along with every other dog they have met.  Took them to puppy school, started when they were only 8 weeks old or so and have met many dogs both bigger and smaller since then, always with good results.

Post by: NatGav on October 15, 2012, 08:35:46 PM
Yep our two are great, the bulldog is two and loves every dog, the golden is 6 and is more interested in people and pats but is cool to hang with the dogs... They look like will be heaps of fun... Can't wait... So wrapped there are more fur kids coming...

Post by: speewa158 on October 16, 2012, 05:56:16 AM
With all there animals coming we could knock up an Ark if it looks like rain  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 16, 2012, 07:58:32 AM
With all there animals coming we could knock up an Ark if it looks like rain  :cheers:

Don't mention the 'R' word..........
Post by: NatGav on October 16, 2012, 08:18:47 AM
There will be an abundance of beautiful weather, sunshine, mild nights and wonderful times to be had by all....

Post by: poppasmurf on October 16, 2012, 08:25:27 AM
If there's nort we could always sacrifice Speewa to the weather gods. ;D
Post by: Bird on October 16, 2012, 08:54:01 AM
someone contact the local hire joints for some gazebos!
Post by: Mace on October 16, 2012, 02:21:41 PM
The current 28 day Forecast for NE Vic indicates a  Low (<25%)  probability of rain for Nov 2 and 3 and a Nil probability for rain on Nov 4-6.

If it gets very wet we can hire the hall.
Post by: Kris on October 16, 2012, 03:42:58 PM
My local tennis club has 2 marquees available for hire if required.  Can't remember the price, but can find out.
Post by: Mace on October 16, 2012, 03:47:12 PM
My local tennis club has 2 marquees available for hire if required.  Can't remember the price, but can find out.

Cool, we can review need next week!
Post by: GOLDIE on October 17, 2012, 05:30:16 PM
Sorry guys,  to my disappointment I have to pull out of this weekend as just to busy at work. Have a great time and enjoy a few for me
Post by: Mace on October 18, 2012, 03:25:10 PM
No worries Goldie, we will think of you, and the others who cant make it.

In exactly 14 days time I plan to have the CT set up at Tolmie by about now, and be enjoying my first  :cheers:
Post by: hookedon4wding on October 19, 2012, 07:47:01 AM
Sorry Mace but going to have to pull the pin too. We're arriving back from Tassie on the 1st after 2 weeks camping down there so will be spending Cup Weekend unpacking and mowing lawns I'd suggest  :'(.

All the best with what should be a great trip.

Cheers, Sam.
Post by: speewa158 on October 19, 2012, 07:57:59 AM
Dont worry about the " R " word all great catchups have a bit For instance Whroo 25MM in 30 Mins  , National at Wilmington 25m over the weekend , Mitchela Cressing scattered showers over the 1st night . Global warming will do the trick , hanging out for the weekend  :cheers:
Post by: Mace on October 19, 2012, 08:05:30 AM
. We're arriving back from Tassie on the 1st after 2 weeks camping

Will have a  :cheers: for you sam.

Will forgive you once we see the pics and gopro.
Post by: poppasmurf on October 19, 2012, 08:31:22 AM
Hi Al, has the list on the first page been updated? Just interested in how many we still have comeing and if any still ?.
 I will pull down the scope in preparation in the next couple of days as I dont see me being able to get and use it before hand anyway.

Cheers Shane
Post by: Mace on October 19, 2012, 08:39:56 AM
Gday Shane,

List on First Page is correct, but a few have not confirmed or been active for a while.

Here it is again, I anticipate somewhere between 40 & 50 vehicles.

THOSE INTERESTED SO FAR:

1.   GU Rich
2.   Off Road Dave
3.   GeoffA
4.   Mandrake
5.   BrettB
6.   Black Diamond
7.   Big Jules
8.   Singo-26  (?)
9.   D4D
10. cruza driver
11. Mace!!
12. Mattz
13. xcavator
14. swannie OB
15. GG Patrol  (?)
16. mrdenn1s
17. Crisp Image
18. Swanne
19. Fivid
20. Malcur
21. BigSteve
22. Pacs
23. paulmac
24. philnyvette
25. Silvo (?)
26. Kiwimark
27. Shell and Shane
28. Dennis_g
29. Flanders
30. Arel
31. Gonefishen
32. NatGav
33. GG (muso extroidinairre).
34. Adrianv
35. Lost
36. Kman (?)
37. Redback (?)
38. graham
39. hen
40. Stan Bryant
41. Tugger
42. Jadamo76
43. Nisnav
44. Poppasmurf
45. Hutchie
46. Kris
47. Speewa
48. linmac
Post by: pacs on October 19, 2012, 08:50:16 AM
You can lock me Mace i'm 99% sure of attendance
plan is to head down thursday night or Friday morning at this stage :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on October 19, 2012, 12:29:18 PM
Hey Mace, you're not on the list, changed your mind ?  ;D
Post by: GG on October 22, 2012, 08:07:20 PM
It's official that brother Barry, Sis-in-law Claire and their youngest, Chevy are attending with me in their own camper.  :laugh:
I will be arriving on Thursday arvo sometime. They will come up after work on Friday.
Is it possible to have them set up next to me...unusual request, I know. 'Normal' families would camp at opposite ends of the site!  :D
They don't know what they're in for yet, and I need to keep an eye on them in case Speewa leads them astray!!!  :-*
Looking forward to the shindig on Saturday night...and drinking with the campfire crew...it's been tooooooo long!  :cup:
Post by: Black Diamond on October 22, 2012, 08:30:27 PM
Getting close now ;D
Just a quick question Alski, for those of us who rely on the suns rays to keep the beer cold are most sites hit by a good dose of sun or are they mostly shaded?

:cheers: John

Ps sorry al just realised I should have posted this in the other thread.
Post by: Mace on October 22, 2012, 08:44:35 PM

Is it possible to have them set up next to me...unusual request, I know. 'Normal' families would camp at opposite ends of the site!  :D

If you get there on Thursday you can have the pick of the sites, and claim some space for later arrivals.  If you still want a direct power connect for your CPAC machinr you will have to camp on the "oval" somewhere close to the new Meeting Room, which we will have use off.

Getting close now ;D
Just a quick question Alski, for those of us who rely on the suns rays to keep the beer cold are most sites hit by a good dose of sun or are they mostly shaded?

No worries, there are spaces in the canopy to get access to the sun, or you can camp on the "oval" for no canopy overhead.
Post by: Mandrake on October 22, 2012, 08:50:06 PM
There may well be plenty of Solar Power available for those that have need !!
Always assuming that Mace has done his genaflects to the Sun God Rah !!
Mandrake
Post by: Crisp Image on October 23, 2012, 09:32:06 AM
only 10 days to go. let the countdown begin! :cup:
Post by: poppasmurf on October 23, 2012, 12:54:39 PM
Well fellow Swaggers, I have broken down the scope for everyone to enjoy, took me 3 hours. It was actually a bit of an eye opener, I didn't realise how much cabling I had run between the scope and warm/cool room of the observatory, nor how much stuff there is once it's all broken down to individual pieces.
All is good and ready to pack in car, I will definately need some helping hands to move it from storage to set up on the oval each night,  most likely Saturday and Sunday nights we will have some views for everyone, maybe Monday night as well.
I really cant wait for this weekend to arrive, like a kid waiting for Xmas.lol.

Cheers Shane
Post by: xcvator on October 23, 2012, 03:12:46 PM
counting, counting, counting,counting, counting, counting  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 23, 2012, 04:38:15 PM
 :cheers:Cooling , Cooling , Cooling  :cheers:
Post by: Barry G on October 23, 2012, 08:05:25 PM
At the risk of jinxing myself, any room for another IF I have my new 'toy' by then?
Post by: Black Diamond on October 23, 2012, 09:02:12 PM
The weather seems to be shaping up alright, heatwave next week :cheers:

Post by: Brett B on October 24, 2012, 05:21:12 AM
Im still going at this stage  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 24, 2012, 05:29:50 AM
Im still going at this stage  :cheers:

....keep digging, Brett....... ;D
Post by: Fivid on October 24, 2012, 05:55:53 AM

Might be an appropriate time for the seasonal change of preferred drinks.  Put the port away until next year and start on the beer or bourbon for the warmer months.

Post by: GeoffA on October 24, 2012, 06:08:51 AM
Might be an appropriate time for the seasonal change of preferred drinks.  Put the port away until next year and start on the beer or bourbon for the warmer months.

....did we change???
Post by: GeoffA on October 24, 2012, 06:11:26 AM
.......... heatwave next week.........

:cup:........lots of watts and amps for the essentials........... ;D ;D
Post by: pacs on October 24, 2012, 06:57:35 AM
Fivid we can always pass the flagon around while having a beer :) we did this last weekend while camping with the fishing club up home

Tappin n fumbling my phone
Post by: Mace on October 24, 2012, 09:06:58 AM
At the risk of jinxing myself, any room for another IF I have my new 'toy' by then?

Yep.
Post by: Bird on October 24, 2012, 09:18:40 AM

28 sunny all weekened would be  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Paul Mac on October 24, 2012, 01:14:34 PM
I know it's late notice, is there room for 2 adults and one fur kid ? We would be in the Bolwell Edge camper.

If we can join up we would probably arrive Thursday.

Post by: Mace on October 24, 2012, 01:25:48 PM
I know it's late notice, is there room for 2 adults and one fur kid ? We would be in the Bolwell Edge camper.

If we can join up we would probably arrive Thursday.

A couple of free spots, your in.  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 24, 2012, 01:26:36 PM
Quote from: Paul Mac
your just doing that to show off..  ;)

is there going to be any actual space between people? Seems quite a few now...

and who is #36 on the list??? ;)
Post by: Paul Mac on October 24, 2012, 02:35:39 PM
Thanks for the acceptance. We should be there on the Thursday arvo.

Naw Lost, not showing off........lol But I'll let ya have a squiz at her when you get there.... :-*

Post by: Bird on October 24, 2012, 02:52:36 PM
Thanks for the acceptance. We should be there on the Thursday arvo.

Naw Lost, not showing off........lol But I'll let ya have a squiz at her when you get there.... :-*

Would I fit inside:(
Post by: Paul Mac on October 24, 2012, 02:56:37 PM
Not if you've put on 400lbs since i last saw you.......... ;D
Post by: Kris on October 24, 2012, 03:42:41 PM
If anyone's interested, and travelling through Wang on Sat am, the Oxley Bush Market is on 9am-3pm.  Usually a good market if you're into that sort of thing.  http://oxley.vic.au/events/bushmarket (http://oxley.vic.au/events/bushmarket).   :cheers: Kris
Post by: NatGav on October 25, 2012, 07:42:49 AM
Kris, I'd be up for that.... Sounds great... Weather is looking sunny.... 26 Thursday, 21 Friday and 19 Saturday.... Very excited

Post by: Barry G on October 25, 2012, 03:41:36 PM

Oops!

Forgot the young bloke is on camp the following week - much to do at home that weekend.

Post by: Paul Mac on October 26, 2012, 10:22:06 AM
Hi Mace, you can remove the ( ? ) from my name as we will be there.

Post by: Crisp Image on October 26, 2012, 10:42:57 AM
Only 10 9 8 7 Days to go.
Looking forward to it!
Post by: Bird on October 26, 2012, 10:45:52 AM
looking forward to it looking like this

(http://use-it.unginfo.oslo.no/WP/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/park.jpg)
Post by: Paul Mac on October 26, 2012, 11:10:36 AM
I hope your right Bruce...........I just wont hold my breath

Post by: Bird on October 26, 2012, 11:15:02 AM
I hope your right Bruce...........I just wont hold my breath

yea, not much chance of finding a field full of scantily clad lonely women is it :(
Post by: Paul Mac on October 26, 2012, 11:17:39 AM
There was a field ? :angel:
Post by: BigJules on October 26, 2012, 12:54:56 PM
I am planning to leave Sydney on Thursday evening and either grab a cheap room at The Riverina in Holbrook, or maybe chuck a swag out somewhere. I have a spare seat if anyone would like to come too.
Post by: Jason B on October 26, 2012, 08:03:45 PM
I am planning to leave Sydney on Thursday evening and either grab a cheap room at The Riverina in Holbrook, or maybe chuck a swag out somewhere. I have a spare seat if anyone would like to come too.

Are you going by yourself Jules?
Post by: GG on October 26, 2012, 09:24:23 PM
Thanks Mace for the offer of power for my 'Darth Vader' night act. I have it operating off my batteries now, so it's all sweet! Cheers. GG
Post by: fuji on October 27, 2012, 09:38:05 AM

Just swag it in the park next to the sub! P.S. Lost now has your raffle prize in case I don't make it up there.
What's happening on the Saturday as I might make it a day trip. Like leave at 0600.
Wayne
Post by: Black Diamond on October 27, 2012, 09:41:40 AM
Thanks Mace for the offer of power for my 'Darth Vader' night act. I have it operating off my batteries now, so it's all sweet! Cheers. GG
sounds interesting :)
Post by: BigJules on October 27, 2012, 01:30:41 PM
Jas, looks like I'm stagging it again.
Post by: Brett B on October 27, 2012, 04:27:35 PM
Guys its with much regret I dont think I will be going on this one? there will be more
As you know Ive been a bit crook and wont be going anywhere for a while
I was looking forward to catching up with you all but I think I will be flat out staying well
Plus its a long way back in an ambo if some thing goes wrong
Cheers Guys keep up the good work

ps can you hang on to my stickers and stubbie holder for awhile untill some $ come in
Post by: Swannie on October 27, 2012, 04:52:38 PM
Guys its with much regret I dont think I will be going on this one? there will be more
I was looking forward to catching up with you all but I think I will be flat out staying well

ps can you hang on to my stickers and stubbie holder for awhile untill some $ come in

Hey Brett take care. If you want mate, I can bring the stuff back and out to you when it suits.
Post by: GeoffA on October 27, 2012, 04:53:13 PM
Sorry to read that, Brett.

I was looking forward to chatting with you again. Hope things improve for you real soon.
We'll catch up at the next one  :cheers:

Best wishes, mate.

Geoff

Post by: speewa158 on October 27, 2012, 04:55:43 PM
Bett B  Miss the & catch the rest at home . Then you can bounce back for others  :cheers:
Post by: Mace on October 27, 2012, 05:28:55 PM
Concentrate on getting well BB.

We will have an extra  :cheers: for you.

Swannie can deliver gear and have a quiet one with you.

Post by: pacs on October 27, 2012, 05:40:28 PM
Keep on marching Brett you'll get there mate look forward to catching up when you're on track

Tappin n fumbling my phone
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 27, 2012, 05:46:26 PM
I have a double booking for the weekend, just trying to work out where to go, unfortunately the high country is winning at the moment

Post by: Brett B on October 27, 2012, 06:06:36 PM
Hey Brett take care. If you want mate, I can bring the stuff back and out to you when it suits.

Thanks Swannie sounds like a plan
I will PM you with some details  :cup:
 :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: to all you guys and girls thanks
Post by: Black Diamond on October 27, 2012, 06:08:20 PM
I have a double booking for the weekend, just trying to work out where to go, unfortunately the high country is winning at the moment

well tolmie is in the vicinity ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 27, 2012, 06:12:22 PM
well tolmie is in the vicinity ;D

Might be a bit of a day trip >:D

Post by: NatGav on October 28, 2012, 07:12:30 AM
Sorry to hear Brett that you won't make it, but your health is the most important thing. Gav and I will try to pop over to see ya soon... Take care mate.

Post by: Maho on October 28, 2012, 07:20:07 PM
Guys,

I'm sorry to say that we won't be making it up next weekend  :'(

I hope the suns out and the beers cold for you

Maho
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2012, 09:46:05 AM
Weather forecast is :(
Post by: BigJules on October 29, 2012, 10:13:44 AM
If it is raining we'll just have to get in our 4wbies and go for a drive. Rain=no dust :)

Post by: Mace on October 29, 2012, 10:33:23 AM
Weather forecast is :(

Nearest Weather station is Edi Upper, near Whitfield:

http://www.weatherzone.com.au/vic/north-east/tolmie (http://www.weatherzone.com.au/vic/north-east/tolmie)

Thursday:  clearing showers, 19
Friday:       sunny, 22
Saturday:  mostly sunny 23 (High channce of rain, but only < 5mm)
Sunday:    mostly sunny 24

Remember, you will be in North East Victoria, not south of the Ranges, Melbourne.  ;D

Benalla is forcast to be 30 degrees on Sunday.

The supposed cool change/wet weather last friday/sat. with snow down to 1400m was a non event.

Another good link is "Strathbogie" on the attached clickable map.

http://www.bom.gov.au/vic/forecasts/map7day.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/vic/forecasts/map7day.shtml)

I think we will have more issues with smoke fron fuel reduction burns limiting the stargazing. Forests Vic are due to lite up a few FRB's this week.

Post by: BigJules on October 29, 2012, 10:51:05 AM
Can we have fires? Much of NSW had a total fire ban last week, and it was pretty dry down your way too.
Post by: Mace on October 29, 2012, 10:53:49 AM
Fires are allowed in the fire pits provided, and we will also have a bonfire area.  Vic Fire restrictions have not yet been introduced, they usually come in sometime in December.
Post by: Fivid on October 29, 2012, 12:32:06 PM
An interesting article in our local paper over the weekend, The Border Mail, regarding the re-burial and funeral arrangements for Ned.  I scanned to article but photobucket is down at present.  http://www.bordermail.com.au/story/424925/neds-coming-home/ (http://www.bordermail.com.au/story/424925/neds-coming-home/) is a link to the article.  It appears the local paper doesn't know how to spell the word gaol either...  I know that most people go with the american spelling but the name of the place should be spelt the correct way

Post by: Mace on October 29, 2012, 12:39:51 PM
A long time coming Dave, whatever opinions people hold of Ned, he deserves a proper burial.

One of our tour visits will be to the Greta Cemetary, where many of Neds contemporaries (Freinds, family  and relatives)  are interred.
Post by: Crisp Image on October 31, 2012, 05:43:01 PM
Just for the geocachers among us there is a cache at the sports ground
http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_details.aspx?guid=bc68a9dd-9352-4030-b7fb-d4c150f32270 (http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_details.aspx?guid=bc68a9dd-9352-4030-b7fb-d4c150f32270)
and another just up the road at the watering hole.
Crisp Image
Post by: bunyip on November 01, 2012, 10:03:03 AM
I am soooooooo jealous of you all.

Cannot wait for the annual meet next year to meet some of you.

Post by: BigJules on November 01, 2012, 10:13:07 AM
I am soooooooo jealous of you all.

Cannot wait for the annual meet next year to meet some of you.

I've got a spare seat mate, and a swag if you need one. Pick you up on the M7 tomorrow morning.
Post by: bunyip on November 01, 2012, 10:37:05 AM
I've got a spare seat mate, and a swag if you need one. Pick you up on the M7 tomorrow morning.

Oh how I wish  :D Something tells me LB might not be too impressed.

To console myself I am going to go and play around Newnes on Sunday. Trying to talk my parents into a second hand Paj for their next car, show them what you can see when you can get properly off road.

Post by: Bird on November 01, 2012, 10:42:54 AM
the weather here at home is SIHT! Has been all day and night..

windy enough to blow a dog off a chain and pissin down... :(
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 01, 2012, 10:47:24 AM
the weather here at home is SIHT! Has been all day and night..

windy enough to blow a dog off a chain and pissin down... :(

Nothing wrong with the weather Lost, we are pouring a concrete slab today as I speak its not raining this minute  :'(

Post by: Bird on November 01, 2012, 10:50:25 AM
Quote from: GGPatrol
Nothing wrong with the weather Lost, we are pouring a concrete slab today as I speak its not raining this minute  :'(

Bring extra pegs, poles, tarps, ropes - make that chains
Dont think I'll bother with the kids bikes, might take one of these
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/82/LandYacht.jpg)
Post by: Mace on November 01, 2012, 11:02:38 AM
Short showers just after 9:00AM.

No wind, overcast, high cloud.

Worst of it over up here.  BOM Yarrawonga Radar clear back to Swan Hill.

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR491.loop.shtml#skip (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDR491.loop.shtml#skip)
Post by: xcvator on November 01, 2012, 11:39:08 AM
Think positive Lost the tail wind will save heaps on fuel  :laugh:
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2012, 12:20:30 PM
Think positive Lost the tail wind will save heaps on fuel  :laugh:
wont even need the engine running!
Post by: Brett B on November 01, 2012, 06:38:49 PM
Have fun boys and girls
Send me some pics when u can
 :cup:  :cheers:
Post by: Fivid on November 01, 2012, 06:43:24 PM
We are all packed ready to leave, just have the last camera battery on charge.  Finish work at 2:30 tomorrow arvo, home by 3pm, on the road by 3:05 and in Tolmie around 4:30 hopefully.

Post by: Crisp Image on November 01, 2012, 06:45:50 PM
just have the last camera battery on charge.
Me too got 2 cameras as Little image #2 asked if she could take one of mine.
Just finishing the food and then clothes. Hopefully be away by 0900 arrive a little after lunch time.
Post by: Malcur on November 01, 2012, 06:59:47 PM
We left this morning and made it to Albury. Currently sitting in out camper on the banks of Lake Hume, with a howling gale blowing outside. The weather can only get better from here.

Mal
Post by: Fivid on November 01, 2012, 07:11:21 PM
We left this morning and made it to Albury. Currently sitting in out camper on the banks of Lake Hume, with a howling gale blowing outside. The weather can only get better from here.

Mal

WE are about 40 min downstream from you and the wind just died down in the past 5 min.  Has been windy all day.

Post by: achjimmy on November 01, 2012, 10:55:11 PM
Have fun guys, sure the weather will be fine and you havegoodweekend and travel safe.
Post by: fuji on November 02, 2012, 04:58:59 AM

Mate I missed out on the stubble holder so I will hold onto it real tightly for you. Take care.
Wayne
Post by: camlisa on November 02, 2012, 06:03:44 AM
Sounds like a great long weekend very jealous. Wish it was a bit closer to Gold Coast, cup day should be a national holiday. Great itinary well organised would love to take wife to Kelly country .Have a great weekend hope sky is blue and beer is cold.
Post by: GeoffA on November 02, 2012, 06:05:23 AM
.........Have a great weekend hope sky is blue and beer is cold.........

We should be on the road soon..........if beer is cold, sky colour is irrelevant........... ;D ;D
Post by: Swannie on November 02, 2012, 06:05:57 AM
We should be on the road soon..........if beer is cold, sky colour is irrelevant........... ;D ;D
Take care on the roads mate, see you up there.

Post by: Kris on November 02, 2012, 06:33:13 AM
Looking out the window here in the King Valley, and it is a beautiful clear, still, sunny day!  The weather will be fine.  Maybe a light sprinkle early Sun, but I doubt there's much in it.  Sunday's forcase 26deg  8)

I am 1/2 packed, so hope to be on the road around lunch, to arrive for a late lunch ('cause it's sooooo far to go  :P). 

See you all soon  ;D  :cheers:  Kris
Post by: NatGav on November 02, 2012, 07:53:16 AM
I can't wait to get out from kinglake its misty, raining and crappy..... Should be there in time for Avo wine and cheese platter

Post by: Bird on November 02, 2012, 11:52:57 AM
its Shit at home, just finished packing and on the way 10
Post by: fuji on November 03, 2012, 05:09:21 PM
Well I have just returned from the hills. Everyone's having a ball and the weathers great. Credit to Mace for organising a great spot and get together. Wish I could have stayed.
Wayne
Post by: Jason B on November 03, 2012, 05:46:13 PM
Someone post up some pics please this is killing me!
Post by: D4D on November 03, 2012, 05:49:33 PM

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/About/General/2012/8/2/1343880495956/Ned-Kelly-006.jpg)
Post by: fuji on November 03, 2012, 06:13:18 PM
Someone post up some pics please this is killing me!

Problem is that there is no reception in Tolmie so you may  have to wait till next week. I forgot my camera so I will try to post some iPhone pics tomorrow.
Wayne
Post by: Jason B on November 03, 2012, 06:55:58 PM

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/About/General/2012/8/2/1343880495956/Ned-Kelly-006.jpg)

Lol.......l :cheers:
Post by: mattz on November 04, 2012, 01:35:36 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/04/du2ydequ.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/04/bu9e7u4y.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/04/yseba7uq.jpg)
Post by: D4D on November 04, 2012, 02:22:35 PM
What a planker!
Post by: making tracks on November 04, 2012, 02:36:51 PM
Looks like where in for some amazing/amusing photos and write ups if these three photos are to go by.

Now to get myself another drink to dull the pain of not being able to attend  :'(

Always next year  ;D
Post by: Fivid on November 04, 2012, 02:56:32 PM
We have just returned home, no four day weekend for us being north of the border  :'(

Weather was great, location brilliant and the MySwaggers were all fantastic people.  There were still some we didn't get to meet...  All the more reason to be going on more of these types of trips.

We set up camp in a location that would give us morning sun and arvo shade...  Worked well for us and in the five years we have had the camper and with all the use it gets it was a nice change not to be packing up today in the rain!
(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DVZ0100.jpg)

We took our two furry kids, they were happy to be friends with anyone, even Speewa!
(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DVZ0096.jpg)

Saturday we went for a bit of a drive.  Big Jules saw too much bitumen on the way south, wanted some dirt.  We found him some dirt and a little mud.  Unfortunately he volunteered to go tail end Charlie and ended up with lots of dust as well.  We made our way via some back roads and a nice little track to Tomahawk Hut
(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DVZ0106.jpg)

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DVZ0108.jpg)

After a stretch of the legs we went up No 3 Rd and stopped for a photo opportunity along the way at a place GU Rich showed us on the 10 huts trip earlier in the year...  Fantastic Views.

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/EastwardViewPanorama.jpg)

Also a good place for a group pic.
(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DVZ0128.jpg)
(anyone who wants to know where this place is: Lat 37;3;18.3120   Long 146;25;29.3279  at an altitude of 1,548m.)

That evening we had a lamb roast cooked in the Cobb but while it was cooking Mace had organised some entertainment.  One of the locals came and gave us a bit of a talk about Ned Keely and his version of how a few things happened to do with Ned growing up, trouble with the law, etc and being hanged.  It was interesting to hear and he scared the crap out of us when he fired off an old rifle unexpectedly.  It was a .057 I think so packs a large amount of powder  with a noise to match!

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DVZ0172.jpg)

He had a replica of the Kelly's head armour which he allowed people to try on...  A few people had a turn.

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/_DVZ0188.jpg)

On the way home today we passed Power's Lookout.  Harry Power was supposedly the bushranger that taught Ned Kelly the ways of the bush and the art of being a bush ranger...  Anyway, great views and it is easy to understand why such a place would be helpful in seeing who was coming.

(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w78/FandD/PowersLookoutPanorama.jpg)

I'm sure there will be lots more to read and see as people return home over the next few days and post their pics, etc.  Thanks to Mace for organising such a great weekend.

Post by: flamingo on November 05, 2012, 05:56:30 PM
I'm with you Making Tracks real peed of I couldn't get there!  There better be heaps of pics!!!  :cheers: Phil
Post by: brickiematt on November 05, 2012, 07:11:02 PM
I'm with you Making Tracks real peed of I couldn't get there!  There better be heaps of pics!!!  :cheers: Phil

(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-signs009.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: fuji on November 05, 2012, 07:51:46 PM
Yes that's me in the photo as well. Took the 76 and got it absolutely filthy. 2+ hours to clean it. Had fun though. ;D

Post by: NatGav on November 06, 2012, 06:58:53 AM
Just got to eildon, after an amazing myswag Kelly camp. Meet some wicked people, a big thanks to mace and loved every second... All the kids were great, all the dogs were great and everyone relaxed and enjoyed their camping... Big hello to big Jules, mace, nisnav, Adrian, big steve, speewa... And everyone else I meet

Post by: Swannie on November 06, 2012, 08:37:24 AM
Got in late last night guys, great weekend by all and we all had a great time. I think the kids and dogs are exhausted!!
PS Flamingo/ Brett B I have your stubby holders so we need to catch up.

Post by: poppasmurf on November 06, 2012, 11:27:24 AM
Hi everyone, unfortunately this weekend has come to an end. If I get this right a few more pics to enjoy
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42242-1/DSCF1473+_640x480_.JPG)
test image to see if I am doing this right. Should be NATGAV's awesome tow rig
Post by: poppasmurf on November 06, 2012, 12:01:50 PM
COOL, worked first try so here are a few more.

Couple of furry friends havin a ball
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42246-1/DSCF1475+_640x480_.JPG)

Looking towards community hall
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42264-1/DSCF1482+_640x480_.JPG)

Gotta love that ute :cup:
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42272-1/DSCF1484+_640x480_.JPG)

Black Diamond......well,..........just being Black Diamond
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42284-1/DSCF1491+_640x480_.JPG)

And again
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42286-1/DSCF1493+_640x480_.JPG)

A not so graceful dismount  :cheers: >:D
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42288-1/DSCF1494+_640x480_.JPG)

Mace introducing a local Kelly historian
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42290-1/DSCF1495+_640x480_.JPG)

Saturday's Kelly tour leaving camp
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42292-1/DSCF1500+_640x480_.JPG)

Howqua Hut on Monday mornings little excursion to the huts in the area. A huge thanks goes out to Lost and others for taking a rookie in a soft roader on such a fun day. And even better The Terra did it EASY.
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42306-1/DSCF1507+_640x480_.JPG)

Just our vehicles at Howqua hut to prove the Terra was there even if it is half hiding
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42312-1/DSCF1510+_640x480_.JPG)

A few of the travellers at Howqua Hut
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42314-1/DSCF1511+_640x480_.JPG)

Craig's Hut
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42318-1/DSCF1513+_640x480_.JPG)

one of the many gorgeous views from Craig's Hut
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42328-1/DSCF1518+_640x480_.JPG)

Thanks Mace for organising such a great and successful event. Pity I couldn't hold up my end of the entertainment, the telescope decided it didnt want to work so we all missed out on some night views of the planets and other deep sky wonders. :'(
Can't wait for the next time Tracey and I can get away with the Swaggers, we have made a lot of new lifelong friends. Yes Speewa even you mate. :cheers:

Cheers all Shane
Post by: Crisp Image on November 06, 2012, 12:39:41 PM
Home now and the camper is away. Will sort out pictures later this afternoon and post up.
Thanks Mace for a top weekend! :-)
Post by: GG on November 06, 2012, 01:16:52 PM
Had a wonderful weekend with a great crowd. Thanks everyone for not throwing anything at me on Saturday night. Hope these pics whet the appetite of those who didn't make it...
Post by: GG on November 06, 2012, 01:29:17 PM
BTW...thanks to Mace for putting heart and soul into this weekend. Much appreciated.  :cup:  :cheers:
Post by: Kris on November 06, 2012, 01:39:38 PM
Had a fantastic weekend.  Thanks to Mace for outstanding organisation!  :cup:  We had lovely weather (for most of it), great company, Saturday night entertainment (well done GG- I still can't believe you could talk the next morning).  It was great meeting everyone, even if I didn't get to all.  Thanks to all the fur kids' owners, as they were so patient 'lending' their puppies to the kids for their training school, and the "Dog Show" Sunday night.  Also thanks to Nat for 'donating' the doggy treats for Saturday's training session!!

These are Lachie's (5yo) photos:
'Fergus' in training
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42501-2/102_8294.JPG)

'Zac' having a well earned break
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42505-2/102_8302.JPG)

Sunday pm training
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42508-2/102_8315.JPG)

And mine:
Half the camp
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42511-2/IMG_8950.JPG)

Saturday cricket (it did get more participants)
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42514-2/IMG_8959.JPG)

The dog show about to begin. Others will have better ones of this event
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/42517-2/IMG_8980.JPG)

Now, I'd better go unpack the camper and car.   :cheers: Kris
Post by: GG on November 06, 2012, 01:57:38 PM
Don't forget to find Moe and give him a wash Kris! :-)
Post by: bearnbaz on November 06, 2012, 02:10:19 PM
Just a quick one to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who attended this weekend - it was our first time out with you and we had an absolute blast! :D Alan, you're a legend to have organized such a brilliant weekend! Don't think we've ever met so many friendly, accepting people in one place. Thanks also to the guys we went out with on Sundays leisure drive - another first for us, & although I found it nerve-wracking at times, I can't wait to do it again. Hope we can catch up with you all again in the near future (work commitments permitting) Cheers, Claire
Post by: Crisp Image on November 06, 2012, 02:47:13 PM
OK so I have had some time to go through a few photos of the W/E
First on is of the man who made it all happen. Well done Mace. Every thing was spot on.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/Mace.jpg)

Then I think I should add the Group photo. I will have to arrange a full resolution copy placed on a server for all to get hold of.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/GroupPhoto.jpg)

So now I will place my story behind my photos.
Started off on Saturday morning with the breakfast of champions
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/BEBreakfast.jpg)
We headed in to Mansfield to attend the market. A big market it was too. We spent our fortunes there and then came back to camp.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/Camppano.jpg)
After lunch we went to the Tolmie pub and then on to the Kelly Tree
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/Kellytree.jpg)
We also went Geocaching which took us to the site of Kelly's Hut. While there is no hut there any more I did find a steel relic of some sort just near by. I could imagine a hut being sited in this area. It was right next to a small running creek.
We completed the day watching the Story that was well told back at camp.(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2415.jpg)
As Well as Carlisle from 4WD Touring watching on.

On Sunday we set off with Mace on the First Tour of Kelly Country. We went to The Kelly Tree, Benella, 11 mile Creek, Greta, and then powers Look out.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/Tour1.jpg)
The group at the Kelly Tree
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/Speewagoinghome.jpg)
Speewa trying to break Kelly out!
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/EllenKellyshouse.jpg)
Ellen Kelly's House remains.

On Sunday Lost guided a tour of a couple of huts for the lesser experienced 4WDrivers. Some the others who had more experience also came along for the ride. We went to Craig's Hut via Monument Track and then on to Kings Hut and Pineapple Flat before returning home
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/Groupatcraigs.jpg)
Us at Craig's Hut
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/CraigsHut.jpg)
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/CraigsHut2.jpg)
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/CraigsHut3.jpg)
(Couldn't decide which one to post. Sorry)
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/SpeewaMonumenttrk.jpg)
Speewa on Monument Track
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/KingsHut.jpg)
King's Hut
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/KingRiver.jpg)
Crossing the King at Pineapple Flat.

The Evenings were spent at camp relaxing with a few drinks and some good coffee provided by master OTTO.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/OTTOgoescamping.jpg)
Master OTTO goes camping!

As I get more photos sorted I will post more up for you all to see (and for those who could not attend drool over) but for now I think that is enough.

Once again a great weekend was had and I really enjoyed meeting everyone (including Speewa but we won't tell any one that).
Well done to every one for making us feel welcome and a great tour of the Kelly Country by Mace.

Crispy

Post by: Mace on November 06, 2012, 02:56:54 PM
Some great pics so far.

Dont expect any from me.  I took about 4 on Friday, and that was it.

Post by: POD on November 06, 2012, 03:26:27 PM
I'm SO disappointed. I though Mace was some kind of Demi-God but in that picture he looks like a regular human person..........

Well sort of!
Post by: Mandrake on November 06, 2012, 03:26:51 PM
3 of my photos from the trip to Craigs Hut ...

Can only say this was a spectacular weekend plus -

Mace you did a fantastic job -  :cup: :cup: :cup:

Kids , Dogs and Adults all had a great time ...

Mandrake

Rock and View out the back of Craigs ...
Craigs Hut
Delatite River at the start of the Circuit Track ..
Post by: Paul Mac on November 06, 2012, 03:48:02 PM
Arrived home safely to thunder, lightening and a down pour.

This was our first Swag outing and I can only reiterate what a fantastic job Mace did with his planning and organisation of the whole weekend. It was thoroughly enjoyable and never a dull moment. To everyone that attended...........what a great bunch you all are. All the kids there had a ball and the fur kids had a great time.

The down side of the weekend is......................... if this is the benchmark set by Mace its going to be very hard indeed to exceed it or get anywhere near it next camp.

Personally I want to thank everyone who attended for making Annie and I feel welcome and part of the group.

Post by: Black Diamond on November 06, 2012, 04:27:53 PM
Thanks Alan for a great weekend full of memories. Was great to catch up again with yourself and some old and new faces :cheers:
You must be exhausted mate, big effort :cup:
Cheers John and family
Post by: poppasmurf on November 06, 2012, 04:37:23 PM
Hey Black Diamond(or should I let everyone in on your NEW name >:D), it appears you are a hit with the photographers mate.
Perhaps I might keep that one to myself or you might bring up a certain telescope incident ;D

Cant wait for the rest of your pics Crisp
Cheers Shane
Post by: GeoffA on November 06, 2012, 04:54:16 PM
A great weekend was had by all.
Top venue....top organisation....top company.... :cheers:

Thanks Mace. Top stuff... :cup: :cup:
Post by: Black Diamond on November 06, 2012, 05:15:19 PM
Hey Black Diamond(or should I let everyone in on your NEW name >:D), it appears you are a hit with the photographers mate.
Perhaps I might keep that one to myself or you might bring up a certain telescope incident ;D

Cant wait for the rest of your pics Crisp
Cheers Shane
;D was great to meet you in person Shane, maybe next time you can fire up that telescope  >:D  as far as the new name goes, Greg wasn't complaining ;D

:cheers: john
Post by: speewa158 on November 06, 2012, 05:19:26 PM
We had the BESTBESTBESTBESTBEST TIME Many Thanks for all the behind the senes work done for all of us by Mace . The weather was perfect , the Swaggers new & old faces just made the trip all the more special . All the trips were really informative & fun as some haddnt been out to play in low range till then . Sometimes terrifing but in the safety net of friends all good . Got up this morning to a gale force wind & trying hard to rain a quick pack & ambled off home to clean up the act . Our road trips showed us around the area through the mountains & flatter grazing farmlands . lf only l could work out where/why  my fridge was leeking cans as there seem to be a distint lack of in the morning . Special thanks to the nimble Black Diamond for his gynmistic display on the black stump apperatis .
Extra special thanks to all the New Swaggers that ventered out to Tolmie & joined us having fun .  :cup: :cheers:
YHTBT ( You Really Had To Be There )  ;D :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: adrianv on November 06, 2012, 05:22:47 PM
Hi All, as others have already said, thanks for a great weekend! Great to meet everyone and we look forward to another catchup. A big thanks to Mace for organising such good weekend. A special thanks to our 'neighbours' tips and dips!  :cheers:

Kate & Adrian
Post by: Swannie on November 06, 2012, 05:33:57 PM
;D was great to meet you in person Shane, maybe next time you can fire up that telescope  >:D  as far as the new name goes, Greg wasn't complaining ;D

:cheers: john

All I gotta say is what a great bunch of blokes you two are :).. I could have spent weeks there chatting, drinking and chilling with you

Great to finally meet the famous BD, Poppa Smurf, Lost, Gav, Nick (Flanders) and Kiwi Mark. It was also good to catch up with the other riff raff who I'd met ( you know who you are :) )

PS Coco has slept for about 24 hrs.. she is worn out !!!!
Post by: gonfishen on November 06, 2012, 05:36:43 PM
Well done Mace  :cup: a great long weekend and it was very interesting putting a face to the forum handles, thanks for a great time to all those who attended   8) 8) 8)
Post by: poppasmurf on November 06, 2012, 06:37:24 PM
I know how coco feels Greg, I feel like I could sleep for a week. We will have to try get the crew up to Buckland Valley for some more drinks and a bit of 4wd'ing and a bit of fishin'. Although drinking with you bunch can get a bit messy even if it is lots of fun.
Your comment about meeting some of the forum legends like yourself, BD, Lost, Mace, Big Jules,  etc  is so true. :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: nisnav on November 06, 2012, 08:22:20 PM
We got home yesterday after a fantastic weekend.

Mace,,, Thanks a million you put a huge effort in to organise this trip and it really showed,

I think you should buy a bus and paint Ned Kelly tours on the side you would make a million !!!

Thanks also to all the other Swaggers we met and made us welcome, it was great to put names to faces and then try and learn real names all in one ;D  hope to meet you all again soon,

Don't forget to keep us updated on your big trip Nat and Gav

Thanks Everyone
Graham, Candie, Harvey and Murray

Some pics:-

Our little Ned
on the tour at Benalla cemetery
The Kelly gang in Glenrowan
Us at Powers Look out
Future TV star Swaggers

Post by: xcvator on November 06, 2012, 08:47:15 PM
For all you people that couldn't/didn't go SUFFER coz Mace put on the best week end  :cup: :cup: :cup: and you can leave my mate Speewa alone too as there was something  even more prickly than him there, and here's the pic to prove it
(http://i975.photobucket.com/albums/ae237/wacazac/Kelly%20Country%202012/IMGP1350.jpg)

(http://i975.photobucket.com/albums/ae237/wacazac/Kelly%20Country%202012/IMGP1351.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on November 07, 2012, 12:14:15 AM
For all you people that couldn't/didn't go SUFFER coz Mace put on the best week end  :cup: :cup: :cup: and you can leave my mate Speewa alone too as there was something  even more prickly than him there, and here's the pic to prove it
Silly Old Bugger :cheers:
Post by: Brett B on November 07, 2012, 06:31:37 AM
 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'
May be the next one
Post by: Malcur on November 07, 2012, 06:36:55 AM
We arrived back in Sydney Tuesday evening after a great weekend. The Kelly Country Tour was excellent and we learnt a lot about the exploits of our most famous bushranger. We visited Craig's Hut on the Sunday.

A big thank you to Mace for all the organising. It was a super effort and very much appreciated. It was great to meet old friends again and put more names to faces.

Mal  :cup: :cheers: :cup:
Post by: Bird on November 07, 2012, 09:31:56 AM
NOBODY MENTIONED THE WINNER OF BOTH THE SOLAR PANELS IN THE RAFFLE!!!

Thanks to Mace for a huge effort.

Thanks to Mandrake for the Solar :) :) :)

Thanks to those that came for a run up the huts, it was a good day, and great weather.

Still havent unpacked.. :)
Post by: Black Diamond on November 07, 2012, 09:41:35 AM
NOBODY MENTIONED THE WINNER OF BOTH THE SOLAR PANELS IN THE RAFFLE!!!
:cheers: ;D somehow I ended up with one ???......... Thanks big fella you are very kind and I owe you several :cheers:

Good to catch up for a few drinks too mate your always good value.

BD :cheers:
Post by: Bird on November 07, 2012, 09:45:27 AM
Quote from: Black Diamond
:cheers: ;D somehow I ended up with one ???......... Thanks big fella you are very kind and I owe you several :cheers:

Good to catch up for a few drinks too mate your always good value.

Tis kewl.. :)
Was good to catch up, and put names to faces for about 3mins, then forget them again....

I liked Speewas idea of a name plaque on the tent.. then you know whose tent it is, but not the person again...
Post by: Black Diamond on November 07, 2012, 09:57:03 AM
Tis kewl.. :)
Was good to catch up, and put names to faces for about 3mins, then forget them again....

I liked Speewas idea of a name plaque on the tent.. then you know whose tent it is, but not the person
I needed one of those plaques on Sunday night or should I say early Monday morning. It's quiet hard to find the right tent in the dark after a big night on the turps  ??? ???  I found that out when I accidentally snuggled up with Big Steve only to find out he was camped next to us ;D
At least now I know why they call him "Big Steve" :D

:cheers: BD
Post by: kiwimark on November 07, 2012, 02:19:17 PM
Thanks again to Mace for a great weekend. It was good to meet everyone there and both Glenda and I enjoyed ourselves. The Kelly tour was indeed a highlight and Mace you have to be thanked for that. Tolmie is a place we will be back to, if only to relax and destress. On the way home we had lunch at the Tolmie pub and saw a Kookaburra being hand fed Porterhouse steak. The meals there are HUGE.
Post by: Mace on November 07, 2012, 02:51:09 PM
Great shot Mark,

Ronnie ODwyer  is a Character and a great Cook. Robyn makes everyone welcome @ front of house. Kooka is a real bonus. And yes, the meals there are huge, a few of us retreating there on Monday night.  Thanks for the company Jamie & fi, Barry & Claire & Chevvy & Hutchie (who I tried to get lost by taking the long cut home!!

Post by: poppasmurf on November 07, 2012, 05:20:49 PM
You deserved the win Bruce, after paying out of your own pocket for all the glow copters and glow sticks for the kids.
John now that I have heard you climbed into the wrong tent and discover big steve a few comments on the Monday drive make sense now, LOL.
After doing that trip I went out today and got me a uhf radio to install ;D

Cheers Shane
Post by: Black Diamond on November 07, 2012, 06:49:25 PM
You deserved the win Bruce, after paying out of your own pocket for all the glow copters and glow sticks for the kids.
John now that I have heard you climbed into the wrong tent and discover big steve a few comments on the Monday drive make sense now, LOL.
After doing that trip I went out today and got me a uhf radio to install ;D

Cheers Shane
Thats the stuff Shane, before you know it you will be driving an 80 series  :cup:  :cup:

:cheers: John
Post by: NatGav on November 07, 2012, 07:01:26 PM
Just updated our blog, which includes the Kelly camp...
Www.wherethebloodyhellarewe.com
Happy reading... Loved every second of it

Title: Re: Re: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
Post by: Bigsteve on November 07, 2012, 07:29:09 PM
:o
Post by: Bigsteve on November 07, 2012, 07:32:45 PM
I needed one of those plaques on Sunday night or should I say early Monday morning. It's quiet hard to find the right tent in the dark after a big night on the turps  ??? ???  I found that out when I accidentally snuggled up with Big Steve only to find out he was camped next to us ;D
At least now I know why they call him "Big Steve" :D

Secrets out.  Going to have to sweet talk an admin to change my name now.

Good to meet you BD, next time I'll leave SWMBO at home.

O0>:D
S
Post by: Black Diamond on November 07, 2012, 07:46:14 PM
Secrets out.  Going to have to sweet talk an admin to change my name now.

Good to meet you BD, next time I'll leave SWMBO at home.

O0>:D
S
;D likewise big fella, was great to be your neighbour for a few nights. Hopefully will see you for a few shandy's next week :cheers:

John
Post by: Bigsteve on November 07, 2012, 10:43:25 PM
;D likewise big fella, was great to be your neighbour for a few nights. Hopefully will see you for a few shandy's next week :cheers:

Sure will. But it will take something a bit stronger fo me to share my camper with you again  ;D

Thanks Mace for hosting a great weekend and we enjoyed meeting some new swaggers. A few more pics from the weekend, maybe some double ups but sure you won't mind.

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42350-1/MansfieldProcession1.JPG)
Mansfield Procession
(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42344-1/ManfieldProcession2.JPG)

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42348-2/MansfieldMarket.JPG)
Mansfield street market. Some decent wines and cheese was purchased

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42353-2/Ned.JPG)
Ned

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42357-1/NedCamp1.JPG)
Kelly Camp. What more could you want?

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42355-1/NedCamp2.JPG)
Plenty of room for the kids

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42359-1/NedDogShow.JPG)
Evening entertainment

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42365-2/NedsHelmet.JPG)
A good looking bloke... and one in a helmet

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42362-2/NedGraveTour.JPG)
Grave tour

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42367-1/NedTour1.JPG)

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/42369-1/NedTour2.JPG)

S
Post by: flanders on November 08, 2012, 12:55:53 PM
Some pics of the great weekend
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2012, 01:40:13 PM
Some bloke had problems gettin round this corner and up the hill... even more problems than the Terracan that just idled through without as much as a fart....

Give it the berries Herb...  (Note: the self adjusting spotties)....
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/1.jpg)

Yay, we are over the log...
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/2.jpg)

Hmmm.... which line..
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/3.jpg)

Im a man, I'll go to the right..
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/4.jpg)

Yes darling the engine is supposed to be running at this stage
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/5.jpg)

No, I dont know why the engine isnt running.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/6.jpg)

I thought I'd get a beer out of teh Engel.. leave me alone.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/7.jpg)
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2012, 01:44:00 PM
Hmmm.....
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/8.jpg)

Come on baby.. start
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/9.jpg)

Damn, stalled again.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/10.jpg)

Ahhhh.. the little stick... needs moving.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/11.jpg)

This time fer sure...
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/12.jpg)

Damn, stalled again... bEEp bEEp.... COME ON MOVE YA OL' PHART! Ahhhh peerz orf...
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/13.jpg)

Yay, we are moving.. hope theres no cameras around
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/14-1.jpg)

Angry Pills.. lots o gas required..
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/15.jpg)

Phew, that was close... nearly spilt me icewater on the rocks.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/16.jpg)
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2012, 01:46:24 PM
Preparing for Take off.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/18.jpg)

Runway Frank Uniform Charlie Kilo.... Captain Angry Pills.... AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/19.jpg)

Abort!!!
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/20.jpg)

GO again!
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/21.jpg)

Hope the wife didnt notice....
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/Speewa/22.jpg)
Post by: Paul Mac on November 08, 2012, 01:50:49 PM
Wifey is too busy navigating to notice Lost......lol :laugh:
Post by: Mace on November 08, 2012, 01:52:06 PM
How can he see where he's going with those cross eyed spots?

some people should never be let out of the flat lands!
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2012, 04:04:31 PM
Wifey is too busy navigating to notice Lost......lol :laugh:
at least he mops up where hes been... :)
Post by: GeoffA on November 08, 2012, 04:11:38 PM
at least he mops up where hes been... :)

.......that's the Sweepa........ ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on November 08, 2012, 05:52:44 PM
Gotta love the self adjusting spotties, are they out of the same factory as your sun chasing panels??

Post by: Fivid on November 08, 2012, 06:27:21 PM
Just had a good laugh at the last few posts.  So easy to add a few smart comments to a few pics and tell a great story!

Post by: Crisp Image on November 08, 2012, 06:46:27 PM
How can he see where he's going with those cross eyed spots?

some people should never be let out of the flat lands!
As Speewa pointed out on the day the spotties are for 4WD drifting.

Lost, Did you get any photos of me getting up there?
Post by: speewa158 on November 08, 2012, 07:07:49 PM

Why Is Everybody So Crule To Me  ??? ??? ??? ???

SWOMBO has a habit of rotating the map so North is a movable  feast ,,,,its not my fault ,,, the dog ate the map ,, my truss didnt bacome back from the drycleaner ,,, there was an earth quake ,, my beer was shaken not sturred ,, lt wasnt my fault ,,,,,,, l may have ,, possibly ,,,,, missed a gear ,,,   , or not . m

l have no comemt to make at this time  ::) ::) ::)                                                                         :-X
Post by: Black Diamond on November 08, 2012, 07:18:04 PM

Why Is Everybody So Crule To Me  ??? ??? ??? ???

SWOMBO has a habit of rotating the map so North is a movable  feast ,,,,its not my fault ,,, the dog ate the map ,, my truss didnt bacome back from the drycleaner ,,, there was an earth quake ,, my beer was shaken not sturred ,, lt wasnt my fault ,,,,,,, l may have ,, possibly ,,,,, missed a gear ,,,   , or not . m

l have no comemt to make at this time  ::) ::) ::)                                                                         :-X
Just the answer I expected from you Jamie :D

Post by: speewa158 on November 08, 2012, 07:21:07 PM
Just the answer I expected from you Jamie :D

So when did you come out  ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: speewa158 on November 08, 2012, 07:25:55 PM
Who was the BOZO that stuffed the gear change in the river at Pinapple Flat  ??? & nearly drowned the whole fam damily  ??? ???
No Names No Pack Drill ,,,,, his idenity is lost     >:D
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2012, 08:03:41 PM
Quote from: Crisp Image
Lost, Did you get any photos of me getting up there?

will look tomorrow, they on the work laptop...

took the camera in to Mr Nagami (http://www.nagamicamera.com.au/) today for a service, clean and figure out my battery situation.
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2012, 08:05:15 PM
Quote from: speewa158
Who was the BOZO that stuffed the gear change in the river at Pinapple Flat  ??? & nearly drowned the whole fam damily  ??? ???
No Names No Pack Drill ,,,,, his idenity is lost     >:D

Got any photo proof? (http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/hand-gestures/fingers-in-the-ears-smiley-emoticon.gif)(http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/hand-gestures/fingers-in-the-ears-smiley-emoticon.gif)(http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/hand-gestures/fingers-in-the-ears-smiley-emoticon.gif)
Post by: JBJ21 on November 08, 2012, 09:20:22 PM
Sounds like a great weekend really enjoying the pics would have liked to attend but we had our weekend booked at lake fyans. Promised the girls a fishing weekend :).
Post by: Griswold on November 09, 2012, 02:25:02 PM

Just like to thankyou all for the invite to this event, it was a last minute decisiond to join and didnt regret it..We met a bunch of wonderful people and look forward to the next one. Special thanks to Geoff and Swannie who made us welcome and last but not least, Mace for the well organised event and particlary for the Kelly day tour, really enjoyed it..Take Care everyone..
Post by: Swannie on November 09, 2012, 02:38:25 PM

Just like to thankyou all for the invite to this event, it was a last minute decisiond to join and didnt regret it..We met a bunch of wonderful people and look forward to the next one. Special thanks to Geoff and Swannie who made us welcome and last but not least, Mace for the well organised event and particlary for the Kelly day tour, really enjoyed it..Take Care everyone..

Glad you came along too mate. Great catching up and hope we can do it again someday.

Post by: hutchie62 on November 09, 2012, 03:54:24 PM
Well what a great time. Thanks to Al for organising a great weekend it was very much enjoyed by everyone. It was great to catch up with the old faces and good to see a lot of new faces. Now Mr Speewa next time I ask you to use a motor bike for traction don't hesitate. I found the scratch on the car where the pr#ck hit me going up monument after it was washed.

Post by: Swannie on November 09, 2012, 03:56:05 PM
Well what a great time. Thanks to Al for organising a great weekend it was very much enjoyed by everyone. It was great to catch up with the old faces and good to see a lot of new faces. Now Mr Speewa next time I ask you to use a motor bike for traction don't hesitate. I found the scratch on the car where the pr#ck hit me going up monument after it was washed.

I Knew it... We should have had a closer look when we got up to Craigs, while they were up there!!!
Post by: Black Diamond on November 09, 2012, 04:48:50 PM

Shit mate hope it's not too bad, will it buff out or too deep?
Gee that bottle of jack went missing pretty Quickly the other night ;D especially after the all the VB/Bundy/Vodka.

Post by: GeoffA on November 09, 2012, 05:37:09 PM
..............I found the scratch on the car where the pr#ck hit me going up monument...........

Bugger. I'd be very >:( >:( too......
Post by: mattz on November 09, 2012, 06:58:55 PM
Mace.....thanks heaps for organising a wonderful weekend.
The Kelly tour was fantastic.....the passion you have for this is obvious.  The facts,dates,names and stories that you rattle off(without notes) is unbelievable.......I have trouble remembering my own name at times.
It was great to catch up with those I'd met before and everyone that we met during the weekend are great people too.
In fact I don't think we've met a swagger we wouldn't go away with again.

BD......now I know why big Steve was calling you little John.
Post by: Black Diamond on November 09, 2012, 07:11:36 PM
Mace.....thanks heaps for organising a wonderful weekend.
The Kelly tour was fantastic.....the passion you have for this is obvious.  The facts,dates,names and stories that you rattle off(without notes) is unbelievable.......I have trouble remembering my own name at times.
It was great to catch up with those I'd met before and everyone that we met during the weekend are great people too.
In fact I don't think we've met a swagger we wouldn't go away with again.

BD......now I know why big Steve was calling you little John.
In comparison! Now get back in the closet Mattski!

Post by: Jason B on November 09, 2012, 07:20:24 PM
I'm not ever camping with you lot!. You all talk to much. What happened to the rule "what happens on tour stays on tour"......lol

Post by: poppasmurf on November 09, 2012, 07:38:30 PM
Hey swan is what was the name of that band we talked about? I must have had too much to drink and can't remember.
Post by: poppasmurf on November 09, 2012, 07:41:07 PM
Sorry swannie must have speewa disease tonight. Tryin to type on my phone at work lol
Post by: Black Diamond on November 09, 2012, 07:58:52 PM
I'm not ever camping with you lot!. You all talk to much. What happened to the rule "what happens on tour stays on tour"......lol

LOLOL Make sure u make the next trip, beer on the house :cheers: sh1t I've had too many VB :cheers:

Post by: Crisp Image on November 09, 2012, 08:01:23 PM
will look tomorrow, they on the work laptop...

took the camera in to Mr Nagami (http://www.nagamicamera.com.au/) today for a service, clean and figure out my battery situation.

I use Camera Clinic (http://www.cameraclinic.com.au/index.php/en/) in Collingwood for my camera repairs
Post by: Swannie on November 09, 2012, 09:05:27 PM
Hey swan is what was the name of that band we talked about? I must have had too much to drink and can't remember.

Shane the band is Airbourne. Get on youtube and check them out live at Wacken. Similar style to AC/DC.
Post by: Jason B on November 09, 2012, 09:22:38 PM
LOLOL Make sure u make the next trip, beer on the house :cheers: sh1t I've had too many VB :cheers:

;D  :cheers:
Post by: poppasmurf on November 09, 2012, 09:33:07 PM
Thanks mate will look it up
Post by: speewa158 on November 10, 2012, 05:52:39 AM

Black Diomond your a champ  :cup: :cheers:on the house W E   are in on that  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on November 10, 2012, 07:18:23 AM
Shane the band is Airbourne. Get on youtube and check them out live at Wacken. Similar style to AC/DC.
I've seen them live and got a couple of their albums they are awesome :cheers:

Post by: Swannie on November 10, 2012, 07:21:07 AM
I've seen them live and got a couple of their albums they are awesome :cheers:

Yep seen them at the hi if bar. 36 Marshall amps loudest gig I have ever been to and I've been to plenty

Post by: mcm72 on November 10, 2012, 07:45:48 AM
hi ,  sounds like it was a GREAT trip , pitty i could not make it along from QLD

was there a list of Raffle winners ?
how much was raised for the RFDS ?

MM
Post by: xcvator on November 10, 2012, 09:58:39 AM

Where and when  ??? I'll be there  ;D wacko free beer  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Brett B on November 10, 2012, 10:12:34 AM
Hey Johno
You been up to your old tricks again mate
looks like I missed a good one
Probly a good thing I stayed home you guys would have killed me  :cup:
Post by: Bird on November 10, 2012, 03:24:33 PM
I use Camera Clinic (http://www.cameraclinic.com.au/index.php/en/) in Collingwood for my camera repairs
yea few mates use em, but too hard to get to and expensive compared.
Post by: Black Diamond on November 10, 2012, 03:32:36 PM
Hey Johno
You been up to your old tricks again mate
looks like I missed a good one
Probly a good thing I stayed home you guys would have killed me  :cup:
;D you know me to well Bretto, look forward to a catch up mate :cheers:

John
Post by: Black Diamond on November 10, 2012, 03:38:07 PM
hi ,  sounds like it was a GREAT trip , pitty i could not make it along from QLD

was there a list of Raffle winners ?
how much was raised for the RFDS ?

MM
Major Prize Winners were:

2 solar Panels from Mandrake - Lost (one given to BD)
1 Light Sabre - my wife!!  Cant remember who won the other one.
Set of Mallee Trax from BJ - Gone Fishen (also won the Ned Kelly Figurine)
2 Adult Msgwag T Shirts - GeoffA
2 Childrens T Shirts - Black Diamond
Various other winners of  bottles of Wine, Security Cables,  Solar Caps, etc.

The other  "major" prize of a toy wooden train donated by Speewa was won by PaulMac.  The train promised to the residents of Tolmie in 1885 finally arrived, only 127 years late.

Total raised should approach $850.

A good result.

(copy and pasted from mace's post)

Post by: Bird on November 10, 2012, 03:42:39 PM
Quote from: Black Diamond
lost won 2 solar panels (rigged his daughters was pullin the tix out of the hat ;D ) maybe a few others can add :cheers
hey I just bought her a bike, she owed me...
Post by: hutchie62 on November 11, 2012, 09:14:48 AM
**** mate hope it's not too bad, will it buff out or too deep?

Na it wont buff out, only about 50ml, just another battle scar  >:(
Post by: hutchie62 on November 11, 2012, 09:17:21 AM
I Knew it... We should have had a closer look when we got up to Craigs, while they were up there!!!

We should have had a better look but probably still would not have seen it.
Post by: GG on November 11, 2012, 04:24:03 PM
Got the nanny cackle goin strong reading the posts from my temp home in Bentleigh East...you're all a little crazy...welcome to my extended family!
Post by: Black Diamond on November 11, 2012, 04:46:49 PM
Got the nanny cackle goin strong reading the posts from my temp home in Bentleigh East...you're all a little crazy...welcome to my extended family!
God helpya, Speewa Is your family ;D

Post by: speewa158 on November 11, 2012, 05:48:04 PM
Now B D  dont go there ,,, family is family ,,,,,  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on November 11, 2012, 06:07:18 PM
;D ;D ;D the love is mutual :cheers: as long as you shout :cheers:

Post by: GeoffA on November 11, 2012, 06:08:53 PM
;D ;D ;D the love is mutual :cheers: as long as you shout :cheers:

...so it's conditional love.....??
Post by: Black Diamond on November 11, 2012, 06:18:22 PM

...so it's conditional love.....??
If there is beer involved everyone is in You know that Geoff ;D :cheers:
John  >:D
Post by: Crisp Image on November 11, 2012, 06:48:27 PM
God helpya, Speewa Is your family ;D

Yuo can choose you friends but you are stuck with family :cheers:
Post by: GG on November 11, 2012, 10:26:21 PM
Guess its my shout...
Post by: GG on November 11, 2012, 10:28:34 PM
Guess its my shout...
Post by: GG on November 11, 2012, 10:30:42 PM
Guess its my shout...
Oh...I already said that didn't I?
Post by: speewa158 on November 12, 2012, 05:38:37 AM
& GG sits by a campfire watching as before a huge cloud of dust tramp thirsty SWaggers ,   Did somebody say its your shout  ??? :cup:
Post by: xcvator on November 12, 2012, 07:09:33 AM
C'mon guys be nice, you'll have to wait till GG's got a bigger camper, the current one can't carry enough beer for all the family (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-eatdrink005.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-eatdrink005.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)  (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-eatdrink005.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: GG on November 12, 2012, 09:06:35 AM
A roof rack might do the trick...and I could 86 the music gear and swap for a couple of beer filled evakools! :-)
Post by: poppasmurf on November 14, 2012, 10:25:04 AM
Any more pics people? Crispy you took heaps didnt you?

Shane
Post by: Brett B on November 14, 2012, 07:08:25 PM
Got in late last night guys, great weekend by all and we all had a great time. I think the kids and dogs are exhausted!!
PS Flamingo/ Brett B I have your stubby holders so we need to catch up.
Thanks mate will send pm so we can cutch up
Post by: Mace on November 14, 2012, 07:39:50 PM
cutch up

Are you a kiwi??

Your Stubby holders are on me.

Oh yearh more pics please!!
Post by: Brett B on November 14, 2012, 07:46:36 PM
Must be the drugs there realy good
Thanks Mace
Wont be long I will be on the road again  :cup:
Post by: Brett B on November 14, 2012, 07:48:13 PM
Im as aussie as they come just ask BD  :cheers:
Post by: Carlisle Rogers on November 14, 2012, 07:49:21 PM
Hey guys,

I'm doing a story in the next issue on the Kelly Country trip and I'm after a few good pics from Tolmie and the Ned Kelly sites.

I was pretty wasted on cold and flu medicine for much of the weekend, so didn't get as many shots as I would have liked!

Get in touch at: carlisle  at  4wdtouring.com.au

Thanks! - Carlisle
Post by: Brett B on November 16, 2012, 01:38:07 PM
Are you a kiwi??

Your Stubby holders are on me.

Oh yearh more pics please!!

Thanks Mace
Swannie come over today for a cuppa and a chat and drop the stubby holders off
Thanks Greg
Wont be long I will be back out there and will have to fill some of your stubby holders with cans
Every thing seems to be going ok
Cheers Guys
Post by: Black Diamond on November 24, 2012, 04:07:35 PM
Im as aussie as they come just ask BD  :cheers:
certainly are mate and a great drinking buddy :cheers:

There was certainly an abundance of camera's, there must be a few swaggers hiding some pics and Vidz  :police:
Post by: poppasmurf on November 25, 2012, 06:42:37 AM
Yeah lets see some more pics people.
Post by: Crisp Image on November 25, 2012, 04:03:53 PM
Yeah lets see some more pics people.

Alright alright hold your horses or Ned just might get them.
Here are a few more photos from my collection.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/CarsatKellyTree.jpg)
A Rodeo in the lead? Never thought I would see that.
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/Groupatcraigs.jpg)
The Monday Group at Craigs Hut
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_9365.jpg)
A nice spot for lunch
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2491.jpg)
The Sunday Kelly Country tour group
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2472.jpg)
Joe's Grave at Benella
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2453.jpg)
Someone is always watching
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2450.jpg)
At the police shooting site
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2443.jpg)
Says it all
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2434.jpg)
Lost looking a little lost in thought
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2404.jpg)
Is this art??
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2391.jpg)
Cannon in Mansfield
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2389.jpg)
They fired this a few times while we were in Mansfield. It really goes off with a bang!

That is about all from me now. I am sure there are many more photos around
Crispy

Post by: poppasmurf on November 25, 2012, 07:17:33 PM
Nice pics crispy. Thanks. Would have been nice to see some of the terra on Mondays drive up the hill just to prove I got it there. Lol, guess people will have to take my word for it.
Post by: Bird on November 25, 2012, 07:42:48 PM
(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2434.jpg)
Lost looking a little lost in thought

(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2404.jpg)
Is this art??

I have 2 man crushes
Post by: Crisp Image on November 25, 2012, 08:02:52 PM
Nice pics crispy. Thanks. Would have been nice to see some of the terra on Mondays drive up the hill just to prove I got it there. Lol, guess people will have to take my word for it.
Didn't see a thing! >:D
Post by: speewa158 on November 26, 2012, 06:15:23 AM

(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/My%20Swag%20Trips/_MG_2443.jpg)
Says it al
You took my best profile there  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on November 26, 2012, 06:50:37 AM
You took my best profile there  :cup: :cheers:

Don't be so hard on yourself...........that's OUR job....... ;D ;D
Post by: Crisp Image on December 13, 2012, 01:48:26 PM
Hey Mace,
After the great weekend we have done some more research and believe we have located the real Kelly tree.
It took some time trawling through documents and cross referencing photos but we recon this is it.
Some may question its authenticity but you can take it frm me this is the real deal.
So here it is.

(http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii306/crispimage/KellyTree.jpg)
"The Real Kelly Tree"

Kind regards
Crispy
Post by: Mace on December 13, 2012, 01:56:14 PM

I like that - even better enlarged.

Neds armour looks a bit medieval.

A strange coincidence, I had not 3 minutes ago forwarded your Kellys Hut GPS Coords onto another interested party.

Post by: Bird on December 13, 2012, 03:23:27 PM
On our way there, we saw this bloke on his way up the Murray as we came down the hill with a fair wack of pace on ourselves, and he had done the same thing.. and low and behold, its a GU with Alloys, which he had fitted that day!

Turns out hes a bloke from my old club! Nobody else had stopped to my surprise and disappointment....

We unhooked his trailer and moved it as he had already arranged a towy and wanted to try and lock it up for him, The towy was to take it to I think Patrol-a-Part for repairs that night (the boys were going to work back to fix it for him, so  :cup: to them) so he could still have his long weekend.

(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/wheel1.jpg)

Wheel studs, gawn.. Disc knackered and backing plate. Rim Ovaled out too.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/wheel2.jpg)

Where the arrow is, is sorta where his wheel went as it was airborne... 100kph + pile of dirt (worked as a ramp) out of shot on right side = MAYDAY.. He found his wheel on the other side of the paddock apparently. He also stopped just before that gully..  Could hav been real nasty.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/wheel3.jpg)
Post by: Bunyip on December 13, 2012, 03:59:50 PM
My cruiser did a similar thing as I was going around a roundabout. Very unpleasant experience, repairer thinks I must have disturbed someone who was trying to steal the wheel.

Post by: Black Diamond on December 23, 2012, 10:12:11 AM
On our way there, we saw this bloke on his way up the Murray as we came down the hill with a fair wack of pace on ourselves, and he had done the same thing.. and low and behold, its a GU with Alloys, which he had fitted that day!

Turns out hes a bloke from my old club! Nobody else had stopped to my surprise and disappointment....

We unhooked his trailer and moved it as he had already arranged a towy and wanted to try and lock it up for him, The towy was to take it to I think Patrol-a-Part for repairs that night (the boys were going to work back to fix it for him, so  :cup: to them) so he could still have his long weekend.

Wheel studs, gawn.. Disc knackered and backing plate. Rim Ovaled out too.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/wheel2.jpg)

Where the arrow is, is sorta where his wheel went as it was airborne... 100kph + pile of dirt (worked as a ramp) out of shot on right side = MAYDAY.. He found his wheel on the other side of the paddock apparently. He also stopped just before that gully..  Could hav been real nasty.
(http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd234/cremo1/wheel3.jpg)
Wouldnt wish that upon anyone but all too common unfortunately. Poor bugger that's shocking and good on you for stopping Bruce :cup:

Post by: GeoffA on December 24, 2012, 09:07:41 AM

......Unbrako...... ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on December 24, 2012, 08:07:53 PM
 No Mate Brako  >:D
Post by: Black Diamond on January 16, 2013, 04:15:06 PM
Anyone hear the news today? Apparently Ned will be buried next to his mother. We visited her grave from memory and we probably stood on the plot destined for him. Correct me if I'm wrong Al maybe I'm getting my wires all mixed up, must be all the beer :cheers: ;D
Post by: Bird on January 16, 2013, 07:11:55 PM
Anyone hear the news today? Apparently Ned will be buried next to his mother. We visited her grave from memory and we probably stood on the plot destined for him. Correct me if I'm wrong Al maybe I'm getting my wires all mixed up, must be all the beer :cheers: ;D
I think theres photos of it here too
Post by: Mace on January 16, 2013, 09:39:31 PM

Spot on BD.

From what "Ive been Told" and as relayed to swaggers, the double grave plot recently prepared (we stood next to it)  is the anticipated resting place for EK.

There is to be a Public Memorial Service for Ned this Friday @ Wangaratta, followed by a family interment on Sunday. I think I will stay away, as much as I would like a look - It will be a Media Circus.

Post by: flanders on January 17, 2013, 08:14:37 AM
The kids saw this on TV last night and were most excited because this was where Mr Mace took us and showed us! :cup:  You were spot on with your theory mate, you said it may be the place most likely :cheers:
Post by: Mace on January 17, 2013, 08:41:48 AM
Great that the kids took it all in.

It will be  great releif for the Kelly Family to be able to return ALL of  Neds remains to his home country. I hear a rumour that there is some further big news forthcoming (possibly after the weekend)  on a missing peice of his anatomy.

I hope the rumour is correct.
Post by: Bird on January 17, 2013, 08:44:02 AM
Great that the kids took it all in.

It will be  great releif for the Kelly Family to be able to return ALL of  Neds remains to his home country. I hear a rumour that there is some further big news forthcoming (possibly after the weekend)  on a missing peice of his anatomy.

I hope the rumour is correct.
:shock:
(http://bellydanceforums.net/attachments/video/5162d1327016014-indian-pole-dancing-cod-piece.jpg)
Post by: BigJules on January 17, 2013, 08:44:23 AM
Here is a podcast of reknown historian Geoffrey Blainey talking on Sydney ABC702 about Kelly history.
http://www.abc.net.au/local/audio/2013/01/16/3670925.htm?site=sydney (http://www.abc.net.au/local/audio/2013/01/16/3670925.htm?site=sydney)
Post by: Mace on January 18, 2013, 03:58:45 PM
I went. 

Very Respectful Service, no Media Scrum. 

If I go unexpectedly soon, I want a 300C Hearse too.

http://www.bordermail.com.au/story/1243600/ned-kelly-funeral-most-significant-historical-day/?cs=53 (http://www.bordermail.com.au/story/1243600/ned-kelly-funeral-most-significant-historical-day/?cs=53)

Hopefully Sunday will go just as smooth.
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2013, 04:11:59 PM
I went. 

Very Respectful Service, no Media Scrum. 

If I go unexpectedly soon, I want a 300C Hearse too.

http://www.bordermail.com.au/story/1243600/ned-kelly-funeral-most-significant-historical-day/?cs=53 (http://www.bordermail.com.au/story/1243600/ned-kelly-funeral-most-significant-historical-day/?cs=53)

Hopefully Sunday will go just as smooth.
don't see you in the photo mate ...

The photo looks very "normal" not Shit loads of people.
Post by: Bird on January 23, 2014, 01:04:03 PM
So when is part 2 ???
Post by: Mace on January 23, 2014, 01:34:32 PM
So when is part 2 ???

Don't feel that I have to be there, feel free to go without me.  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on January 23, 2014, 01:37:57 PM
Quote from: Mace
Don't feel that I have to be there, feel free to go without me.  :cheers:
Your the tour guide... ;)

June long weekend... maybe
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2015, 09:53:54 AM
Looking for anyone one who was on the original weekend that may have the track file for the route we took for the Kelly Trip.. Hoping someone has it :)
Post by: Tim - Stratford on August 31, 2015, 12:16:31 PM
If you find one Bruce, flick it my way too please!

...or we might have to arrange another one so I can go....

Tim
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2015, 12:22:44 PM

Tim
That's the plan.. October after Bathurst weekend..

I've PMessaged Mace, but he hasn't been seen since May :( Hope hes ok
Post by: Crisp Image on August 31, 2015, 02:19:00 PM
Looking for anyone one who was on the original weekend that may have the track file for the route we took for the Kelly Trip.. Hoping someone has it :)
We just followed the leader on that trip. Don't remember if I turned on ozi at all.
Crispy
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2015, 03:26:51 PM
We just followed the leader on that trip. Don't remember if I turned on ozi at all.
Crispy
Same here :(
Post by: Crisp Image on August 31, 2015, 04:34:36 PM
Just looking at google maps I can get to most of the places. The only one I am missing is the old homestead. I have found everything else.

Sent using fat fingers on the iPad thingy
Post by: Bird on August 31, 2015, 08:41:27 PM
kewl... sort out a trip plan then :)
and pick a weekend in October...
Post by: Crisp Image on September 01, 2015, 08:24:48 AM
kewl... sort out a trip plan then :)
and pick a weekend in October...
I could take you places but without the intimate knowledge of the subject it would be a waste of time.
Besides October might not be too good for me. I have the Melb Cup W/E off so planning might have to start for that.
Post by: Bird on November 27, 2015, 02:30:33 PM
Quote from: Tim - Stratford

Is this any use to you?

Anyway, the proposed itenerary for our Sunday and Monday Tours:

MORNING:  Depart Tolmie by 8:30 AM at the latest.

Stringbark Creek:  View Police Camp & Shootings site. Lonigan, Scanlon & Kennedy murdered here.

Travel to Benalla

Benalla:   Visit Old Court House and Bootmakers Shop (both intimately connected to Ned)
                 Visit Benalla Cemetery - grave  site of Joe Byrne, Old Tom Lloyd and Jane Quinn (Neds
                Aunt), Martin Cherry, Sambo, Dr Nicholson &  other  contempory figures. 
                Quick visit if time permits to Kelly display at local Costume and Pioneer Museum.

Travel to Greta West:  Travel thru lands previously held in Kilfeera Station holding of Robert
               McBean  to view    Kelly Selection & Homestead site (viewed from road adjacent).

Travel to Glenrowan:  Hopefully there by 1:30 PM.  Extended stay for lunch and viewing of Seige
               Site Historic  Precinct.  Plenty of time to purchase memorabilia of the day and visit private
               museums (2) which are  quite cheap to enter.   We have arranged a group booking for
               one at their coach rate, which is $3.50 a   head.  The other is   only   $2 a head entry. 

MID AFTERNOON

Travel to Greta:  Greta Cemetary.  Grave sites of Ellen Kelly & Children. Grave of Maggie Skillion,
               Neds sister. Gravesite of Dan Kelly and Steve Hart.
              Also graves of young Tom Lloyd - Maggies partner (unofficial 5th member of the gang)
              and other Lloyd family members.

Travel to Powers Lookout via Whitfield.  View where Ned was inducted into the arts of bushranging and highway robbery by the last of the "Highwaymen" - Harry Power.  Overlooking the King Valley and Glenmore Run, the property owned by Neds Grandfather and Uncles, the Quinns.

RETURN TO TOLMIE: 

Anticipated return time 5:30 PM.

Housekeeping (who goes on what day) will be finalised closer to the event.  I realise some people may only be attending for the Saturday/Sunday, not the Monday/Tuesday long break.  Those persons will have first crack at the Sunday Tour.

These are good resources  for other sites:

http://www.thekellytrail.com/nedkelly/ (http://www.thekellytrail.com/nedkelly/)

http://www.nedkellytouringroute.com.au/home/Beechworth/ (http://www.nedkellytouringroute.com.au/home/Beechworth/)