Author Topic: The firewood thread  (Read 236745 times)

Re: The firewood thread
« Reply #400 on: May 24, 2015, 08:22:05 PM »
I have 5 chains for my Husky, no sharpening as I plod along the season, just replace.
At the end I drop them off around the corner to my "sharpener', with a slab.
Then I'm ready for another season.

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #401 on: May 24, 2015, 08:27:00 PM »
Just purchased a Timberline  sharpener from the states, will be interesting just how much better and longer the chains will last. Report to follow once it arrives.

Just had a look at these, very interested to see now well this works.

2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #402 on: May 24, 2015, 09:06:32 PM »
I have 5 chains for my Husky, no sharpening as I plod along the season, just replace.
At the end I drop them off around the corner to my "sharpener', with a slab.
Then I'm ready for another season.

I have 2 chains and an electric sharpener. I usually sharpen with the electric twice then send the chain into the local saw sharpener and get them to do it.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #403 on: May 30, 2015, 05:35:05 PM »
Farking chainsaws!!! :'( >:( >:( >:(

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #404 on: May 30, 2015, 05:47:01 PM »

Doesn't sound good....
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #405 on: May 30, 2015, 06:52:16 PM »
Dirty fuel?? Last fuel that went in was your fuel. Started first go and ran till I turned it off. I topped it with my fuel and wouldnt start again ??? Emptied that fuel and put some of good Scotts in and left it. Finally started after about 50 pulls. So hopefully it was bad fuel (mine). Time for a service.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #406 on: May 30, 2015, 08:30:48 PM »
Sounds like the brand mate  >:D

How old is your fuel? It hasn't gone stale has it?
The following users thanked this post: fuji

« Reply #407 on: May 31, 2015, 04:28:58 PM »
Sounds like the brand mate  >:D

How old is your fuel? It hasn't gone stale has it?

What? had the saw 6 months maybe? So is that too long for fuel?

« Reply #408 on: May 31, 2015, 04:34:34 PM »
My saw will fire with old fuel in it no probs.

What fuel are you using? How are you mixing it?

Bring it around next time you're over my way.

« Reply #409 on: May 31, 2015, 04:50:12 PM »
Did you shake the saw first Fuj to mix the oil back into the fuel it can settle after sitting for awhile
My Dad has the same problem with his wipper snipper told him a hundred times give it a shake first
Or did you flood it Sthils can flood easy

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #410 on: May 31, 2015, 05:56:01 PM »
What? had the saw 6 months maybe? So is that too long for fuel?

Fuel can go stale, though like D4D I've never had troubles but know some that have.

« Reply #411 on: May 31, 2015, 06:54:39 PM »
Did you shake the saw first Fuj to mix the oil back into the fuel it can settle after sitting for awhile
My Dad has the same problem with his wipper snipper told him a hundred times give it a shake first
Or did you flood it Sthils can flood easy

Yep, certainly did. But not a hundred times ;D

« Reply #412 on: May 31, 2015, 07:01:22 PM »
ahh that's where it went wront. 101 ways to start a chainsaw >:D

« Reply #413 on: May 31, 2015, 07:31:17 PM »

Time to go somewhere and learn how to use it mate!

« Reply #414 on: May 31, 2015, 07:43:03 PM »
A question for you firewood afficinadoes, being a city slicker and not have a wood burning fire in the house for heating so being a little inexperienced with different spieces I bought some 20kg bags of yellow box from Bunnings to take camping. Well didn't it burn Shit, no real coals for cooking and not much heat. Is yellow box more suited for combustion type burning. What type of wood should I be looking at for an open fire.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #415 on: May 31, 2015, 07:49:24 PM »
The yellow box we are burning atm leaves awesome coal. We had not put wood on the fire before leaving for work one day with then intention of cleaning it out and relighting when I got home from work. The coal hadn't burnt out and I ended up scooping out some ash and chucking in some wood and it took off again!

Red gum does burn good in a camp fire though.

« Reply #416 on: May 31, 2015, 08:25:33 PM »
The yellow box we are burning atm leaves awesome coal. We had not put wood on the fire before leaving for work one day with then intention of cleaning it out and relighting when I got home from work. The coal hadn't burnt out and I ended up scooping out some ash and chucking in some wood and it took off again!

Red gum does burn good in a camp fire though.

What he said about the yellow box. Its awesome wood.
Cant beat the redgum for a fire though. Just look at the Tocumwal weekend thread photos.
Rather than buy it at Bunnings, find a wood  merchant andbuy a bag.

Offline cheif carlos

« Reply #417 on: June 02, 2015, 06:26:14 AM »
I bet your yellow box is not yellow box they are just saying that it is. Only person who knows is the purchasing manager and the bloke bagging it!

I know that yellow box is hard to come in our area by as we had a permit to harvest it for fence posts in a state forest and the pickings are slim through it being done 40 years ago and this is over our fence not driving into forest (also we where only allowed to take enough to do half of the fence)
Need to get the backside into gear and get out camping

« Reply #418 on: June 02, 2015, 07:54:23 AM »

I know that yellow box is hard to come in our area by (also we where only allowed to take enough to do half of the fence)
top half or bottom?

Beat you to it lino;D

« Reply #419 on: June 02, 2015, 08:11:41 AM »
top half or bottom?

Beat you to it lino;D

« Reply #420 on: June 02, 2015, 07:25:01 PM »
I have just cranked the fire place up tonight for the first time this year...my choice of firewood is a bit different to all of yours though, i use the hardwood timber i remove from old Queenslander houses as we do reno work on them. Timber doesn't get any drier then atleast 50 year old floor joists and studs etc to chuck in the fireplace  8) 8)

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #421 on: June 02, 2015, 07:37:30 PM »
I have just cranked the fire place up tonight for the first time this year...my choice of firewood is a bit different to all of yours though, i use the hardwood timber i remove from old Queenslander houses as we do reno work on them. Timber doesn't get any drier then atleast 50 year old floor joists and studs etc to chuck in the fireplace  8) 8)

Out house was built in the 50s and the studs/rafters/joists are so hard I reckon if the house caught fire they would still stand!! To cut them you would need an angle grinder!!!

Bet there are heaps of fires lit all over Vic tonight (Fuji's will be glowing red/white by now  ;D )

« Reply #422 on: June 02, 2015, 09:28:15 PM »
Low and slow with the fan ;D

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #423 on: June 03, 2015, 05:03:23 PM »
I use any wood i can scrounge, generally lucky and get old hard wood fences with red gum posts but anything i can cut the right size will go in the coonara.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #424 on: June 04, 2015, 06:30:43 PM »
Damn cold!!!!