Author Topic: The firewood thread  (Read 234452 times)

Re: The firewood thread
« Reply #275 on: March 28, 2015, 12:25:41 PM »

Here my supply so far

that's the same pic from last year? Think you're tricking us;D

Offline slydar

« Reply #276 on: March 28, 2015, 12:50:52 PM »
bah - up in big timber country where the stepsons live they cut REAL firewood heaps:

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #277 on: March 28, 2015, 03:03:59 PM »
Doesn't feel like the same pic but I am back about the same spot. The majority is dry this time, hopefully it makes a difference

2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #278 on: March 28, 2015, 03:18:47 PM »
bah - up in big timber country where the stepsons live they cut REAL firewood heaps:

That would be nice but here in Victoria we are limited to no more than 2m3 per person per day.

Note: 1m3 is approximately a 1.8m (6') x 1.2m (4') trailer of split firewood neatly stacked to a height of 0.5m (20").

And a total of only 16m3 per household per financial year

« Reply #279 on: March 28, 2015, 03:47:01 PM »
Can supply uncut, unsplit ,& unloaded paddock dried to be taken away at the rate of 1 single axel traile load per Slab of VB cans .  :cheers:

« Reply #280 on: March 28, 2015, 03:54:01 PM »
Single axle float. Cheap rates.
Sent from .................

« Reply #281 on: March 28, 2015, 03:56:07 PM »
Single axle float. Cheap rates.
Sent from .................

listen laughing Boy you havnt read the T&Cs yet have you  :cheers:...............

« Reply #282 on: March 28, 2015, 04:16:55 PM »

Only aircon needed up here ...dont need axes and stuff.....More time for fishing ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #283 on: March 28, 2015, 04:19:31 PM »

Mexicans are the gatherers......Queenslanders are the hunters...... :angel:

The firewood thread
« Reply #284 on: March 28, 2015, 04:28:57 PM »

Mexicans are the gatherers......Queenslanders are the hunters...... :angel:
our guns and chainsaws are bigger down here;D
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 04:30:38 PM by scarpsD40 »

« Reply #285 on: March 28, 2015, 04:33:35 PM »
our guns and chainsaws are bigger down here;D

Bloody hell !!!!!! flipping knees are knocking.......lol....Only 2 states to be in.....QLD and pissed  ...heheheheh >:D

« Reply #286 on: March 28, 2015, 06:17:04 PM »
Got the manual splitter out today and cleaned up another bit of a pile. Still have a couple of tonnes to go. The best part, didnt even leave the driveway  ;D

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #287 on: March 29, 2015, 07:11:38 AM »
Benched and stacked the last little bit left over from the last Barmah trip last weekend. Think I need a bigger wood shed... Wonder if I know anyone who can make me some trusses.......
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #288 on: March 29, 2015, 07:45:04 AM »
l know a bloke that dose that sort of thing , as long as you can get him before  :cheers: :cheers: , after that hes useless  >:D

Offline slydar

« Reply #289 on: March 29, 2015, 10:10:53 AM »
That would be nice but here in Victoria we are limited to no more than 2m3 per person per day.

is that from the forests or yr own property? these are his neighbours own trees, he was going to sell them off (he had approval) but decided he wasn't going to get enough for them so kept them for himself and his mates although I believe another mate is in his ear to sell the chopped stuff. all the trees in the forest around where they live are protected, others are owned by forestry and I understand they have cameras placed here and there on the tracks to catch anyone taking fallen trees

I'd be interested to know how they would police that 18m3 rule in Victoria?

« Reply #290 on: March 29, 2015, 10:54:54 AM »
The rules only apply to the designated collection areas in Victoria.
Open slather on private property.

The rangers are out and about all the time round our way.

They are particularly hard on anything resembling a hollow log.

http://delwp.vic.gov.au/regions-and-locations/firewood

« Reply #291 on: March 29, 2015, 11:02:09 AM »

is that from the forests or yr own property? these are his neighbours own trees, he was going to sell them off (he had approval) but decided he wasn't going to get enough for them so kept them for himself and his mates although I believe another mate is in his ear to sell the chopped stuff. all the trees in the forest around where they live are protected, others are owned by forestry and I understand they have cameras placed here and there on the tracks to catch anyone taking fallen trees

I'd be interested to know how they would police that 18m3 rule in Victoria?
they have web cams placed near the collection areas and capture rego numbers and number if trips/size of trailer. Couple of guys lost their 4wd and trailer in court last year plus hefty fine.

« Reply #292 on: March 29, 2015, 01:56:13 PM »
l know of a supply of dry Yellow Box , ready to go , at standard bribe rates that is      >:D >:D    :cheers:

« Reply #293 on: March 29, 2015, 04:56:48 PM »
Emight have to take you up on that offer Jamie. My other supply has dried up.

« Reply #294 on: March 29, 2015, 04:59:13 PM »
Quote from: scarpsD40
Couple of guys lost their 4wd and trailer in court last year plus hefty fine.
good to see them go after hardened criminals...

« Reply #295 on: March 29, 2015, 05:05:28 PM »
Yep, soft targets. Don't worry about all the drug crazed idiots out there. The're alive and well. When you go to remand them in custody the magistrates let them go to continue the crime spree.

« Reply #296 on: March 29, 2015, 05:45:50 PM »
Quote from: Fuji
When you go to remand them in custody the magistrates let them go to continue the crime spree.
that's the bit that must Shit you as much as it does me...

« Reply #297 on: March 29, 2015, 05:52:20 PM »

good to see them go after hardened criminals...
in the main, most people I see up there are Mum & Dad family types.  The Hardcore Harvesters stand out like (you know what).
They have big 4wd utes towing tandem trailers with 4' cage sides and are usually loaded to the gunnels.
I saw one leaving as we were going in, as we we're heading out, they were on their way back in again.

« Reply #298 on: March 29, 2015, 06:00:11 PM »
Yep, soft targets.

SOFT TARGETS???
They are their only targets. That is their job.

A lot of country folk in small towns rely on their wood as their ONLY form of heating, some to heat water as well.
A lot of these people are getting on a tad, and need time to collect their wood, they certainly cannot afford to buy any.

So areas are allocated and trees felled for their convenience [amongst other reasons]

and along comes some upstart from the big smoke with all the gear and rapes the place.
amd why?
 to sell the wood to come city wannabee who has ducted heating anyway.

The more they lock up and confiscate  equipment the better.

Offline heath74

« Reply #299 on: March 29, 2015, 07:09:37 PM »
Had a good day today, got a nice load up in a 'designated' area maybe 0.8 m3 dry as bone. Split and stacked ready for the fire, which won't be far away now.