Matson
DownUnder
Gasmate
Companion
BushBoy
Aldi, the wonder fridge
Techni Ice
Kings

Author Topic: What Fridge do you use Poll.  (Read 265637 times)

Offline aocc

Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #100 on: April 22, 2010, 04:04:07 PM »
I have a 55ltr Fridgemate A Hardy version of the Eva-coo. Great unit I been in 49+ temps and still have Ice cold beer. can`t ask for more than that ;D
Andrew

Offline Blackdog

« Reply #101 on: April 25, 2010, 10:14:56 AM »
Hi gang, I have a Waeco 50L works great, HOWEVER,  Waeco owners just check your lighter plug on your 12V lead.  Quick story, no cold beer??? (checked fuses , all good) pulled the plug apart and found that "positive" wire was sitting on top of the "negative" wire and through the vibration of travel it wore through the heatshrink and insulation (bad design??), "not happy Jane". Bought better plug and all fine now. Cheers

Life's short
Death's eternal

Offline ziggy

« Reply #102 on: April 29, 2010, 02:21:18 PM »
Just came back from a weekend away with my old Evalcool .

Highly impressed. Ran for 3 nights and 2 days , and tried to turn it down to 1/4 on its dial, and the milk and OJ froze, but the best part, I get back and put the 100AH gel battery (commander) on to charge and it still read 12.8 V, and I would believe it as it only took 2 hours @ 11 A to start turning down the amps to 8 A and was full 10 hrs later

Offline maca76

« Reply #103 on: May 06, 2010, 06:22:12 PM »
35 litre finch fridge, 3 way, made by electrolux had it for 10 years and still going strong
 :)

« Reply #104 on: May 06, 2010, 07:15:32 PM »
Maca, added Electrolux as an option rather than Finch.

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #105 on: May 06, 2010, 07:24:44 PM »
I was in a camping store in Tamworth the other day and I noticed that Evakool is making a different fridge these days.  They have some that look like Waecos.

« Reply #106 on: May 07, 2010, 08:40:19 PM »
The Swan has a RM360 2 way. which works a treat on gas or 240v.
My beer & drink Fridge, frozen meat/frozen vegies storage while camping is a 15+ year old Chescold 50lt 3 way, 2 years ago I had the thermostat and jet replaced, Works like a new one. Also have a Finch 33lt, that we use for day trips, works great on 12v. We also have a 72lt plastic Big Chilli ice box, Freeze down 5x 4lt ice cream container of water to make block ice and they'll last well over a week.
We're pretty well sorted after a few years of trial and error.

Offline sellit99

« Reply #107 on: May 08, 2010, 02:37:15 PM »
Weaco

Offline RWS

« Reply #108 on: May 08, 2010, 08:16:26 PM »
Engeeel!

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
« Reply #109 on: May 10, 2010, 03:10:48 PM »
currently running 2 engels brought the first one in 1988 still running strong and true(29 litres) . brought the second one one year ago (39litres) ,and that runs in the back of the Patrol 24/7 (nice to have a frothy brown water after work ,oh yeah keeps my salad nice too ha ha) also run a 10.5volt cutoff switch, batteries last for quite a while now  :cheers:
nrnr62

Offline poppasmurf

« Reply #110 on: May 25, 2010, 06:57:53 PM »
We have been using a couple of old esky's for years with home made ice. Apart from soggy food after a couple of days they work ok. Currently researching 12V fridge options to go in the CUB when it arrives, this thread is very helpful, except I wasn't aware of the amount of available options. ???

Cheers poppasmurf AKA Shane
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

Offline ozi-2-d-bone

« Reply #111 on: June 05, 2010, 05:30:20 PM »
cant go wrong with a ice buckets I reckon

Offline Juggs

« Reply #112 on: June 12, 2010, 01:32:11 PM »
nothing better then being at a non powered bush camp ground on a stinking hot day
sitting under your awning looking around at everyone sweating their backsides off and pulling out a few paddlepop ice blocks for the kids and yourself :)

waeco 60l as fridge and waeco 50l as freezer for longer trips

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #113 on: June 14, 2010, 09:48:07 PM »
Engel 40 Litre.
As good as, if not better than the fridge at home.
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Offline ozi-2-d-bone

« Reply #114 on: June 25, 2010, 10:18:35 AM »
I have a Waeco as it runs like a dream
Problem is when the stuff up they cost a fortune to fix

Offline xmasbaby67

« Reply #115 on: June 25, 2010, 01:18:40 PM »
We have a 60L Primus 2 way..... can you add that to the list please.

Also use and esky for cold beverages!!! :cheers:
2009 12ft CUSTOMLINE towed by 2005 VX Prado

Offline trackaboutlover

« Reply #116 on: June 25, 2010, 03:40:12 PM »
I was in a camping store in Tamworth the other day and I noticed that Evakool is making a different fridge these days.  They have some that look like Waecos.

yeah i saw them at the camping show up here.
they look almost an exact copy i think they are called a travelmate.
i love my lifted n locked 105
the boss loves her trackabout palace
we both love it outside

Offline karrathaprado2

« Reply #117 on: June 25, 2010, 04:07:51 PM »
EvaKool all the way
Camprite TL8s arrived safe and sound!

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
« Reply #118 on: July 01, 2010, 07:51:29 PM »
70 litre Eva Kool Fridge Mate
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #119 on: July 02, 2010, 12:12:53 PM »
ARB plastic fantastic that was a freebie with the bullbar, mounted on a false floor in the rear of the cab

Offline rabmail

« Reply #120 on: July 11, 2010, 08:58:42 AM »

I have two of the Yellow 70 litre Evakool's

Dick
in Phuket

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #121 on: July 11, 2010, 09:26:45 AM »
G'day Dick.  I was there for a few weeks in November.  What a bloody awesome place.  Have a Tiger for me.
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline DeBe

« Reply #122 on: July 11, 2010, 09:09:25 PM »
Hi, Use 3 Waecos CF40, CDF40, CR80.  Daryl

Offline farmer6

« Reply #123 on: July 13, 2010, 09:11:12 AM »
We have a 60 lt Trailblazer that we got about 15 years ago to do an around Aust trip that we never ended up going on. Its been a fantastic fridge and mainly sits on the deck keeping the coke at the right temp to add to the Bundy. Now we will have a 60 lt engel in the new camper as it will fit into the kitchen better and we are finding with the kids we are loking for some more fridge and freezer capacity.
2006 100 series landcruiser wagon

2010 Jimboomba Camper

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #124 on: July 23, 2010, 09:55:51 AM »
80lt Waeco used as intended ,fridge and freezer, ice for the scotch and Gin and tonic and icecream in the middle of nowhere + a 15lt Engle for the amber fluid.