Matson
DownUnder
Gasmate
Companion
BushBoy
Aldi, the wonder fridge
Techni Ice
Kings

Author Topic: What Fridge do you use Poll.  (Read 265642 times)

Offline DX grunt

Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #175 on: January 22, 2011, 09:10:22 AM »
Just graduated from an esky to a 95lt EVAKOOL.

Ummed and arred about going a big one, but because we live out in the sticks with not much variety, we go to the city for most of our shopping and I hate eating warm salad.

Anyway, I have to fill the back of my Patrol Ute's pod up - remembering to leave enough room for the double bed.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/95L-EVAKOOL-FRIDGEMATE-PORTABLE-CAMPING-FRIDGE-FREEZER-/250751423417?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Food_Storage&hash=item3a61f313b9

If you read the link, keep scrolling down.  I dealt with them direct.  Lotsa goodies.  Next item I want is a 120w solar panel.

Take care out there.

DX grunt
« Last Edit: January 22, 2011, 09:31:18 AM by DX grunt »
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Offline Smokey2.8

« Reply #176 on: January 22, 2011, 10:35:28 PM »
Started life out in a seven year old Engel 39L.
Went great for many number of years (and noisy). Cooling ability was starting to lessen, and found a buyer willing to revive it.

Then moved onto a 'family' fridge Explorer DC85.
Bloody huge and with fridge / freezer is great for the mrs and kids. If your wondering it does with mods fits into the rear of the GU rear draws and cargo barrier - just.

Then needed a smaller fridge fo boys weekends etc and scored a great price on ARB 47L.
Awesome fridge, does everything and more with next to no current draw.

Can't have to many fridges, and they work great in the shed keeping the beer cold!!
1998 GU PATROL 2.8 

Never underestimate the mighty 2.8!

« Reply #177 on: February 04, 2011, 12:10:42 PM »
Hi guys. I have only read the 1st and 12th pages but I have a 60L Matson. Basically a Waeco knock off with a different compressor.

« Reply #178 on: February 04, 2011, 02:33:15 PM »
Hi guys. I have only read the 1st and 12th pages but I have a 60L Matson. Basically a Waeco knock off with a different compressor.

Matson added to Poll choices, waiting on your vote.

Offline maca76

« Reply #179 on: February 04, 2011, 07:29:42 PM »
Just picked up our EvaKool travel mate 60lt from Austrack campers, using it as my beer fridge until we go camping again. This fridge will join the old finch fridge on longer trips. Also picked up a wireless thermometer thingy awesome.

Just have to get out there now and use it

Ryan

Offline beigewagon

« Reply #180 on: February 18, 2011, 06:56:11 PM »

Engel 40lt. Has its own power socket in the back of the Subie, running on the Aux battery. Also have a temp gauge set up to read in the front of the cab, so I can monitor the fridge temp. Learnt the hard way that offroding can bump the plug out of the socket, and things are not so 'cool' when you get to camp.

Beigewagon.
Flat four, not flat footed

« Reply #181 on: February 18, 2011, 07:15:46 PM »
Have a 60l Trailblazer for about, don't know how many years now, well over 15years, using it a permanent freezer at present.  As we still need a fridge/freezer we just bought one of the ARB 47l ones.  Ticked all the boxes for us when compared to the others

swagger1

« Reply #182 on: February 19, 2011, 01:47:57 AM »
Second vehicle with eskie...what can i say?  ;D

« Reply #183 on: March 01, 2011, 08:09:19 PM »
Hi , I've had a 80ltr Trailblazer since 1989 , bloody good fridge. I have just last week purschased a Waeco 40 ltr fridge so that I can access my beer with more ease while doing the 2011 cape trip in June/July. Cheers duggie

« Reply #184 on: March 19, 2011, 05:41:23 PM »
2 x 40 ltr Engels. One is 2001 vintage and the newest one is 6 months old. Almost better then what you put in them, not even a blown fuse. ;D

Variflex

« Reply #185 on: March 19, 2011, 05:47:14 PM »
I currently have an engel but its now time to upgrade and it looks like the new fridge will be the evakool due to the dimensions I can't fit the engel into my camper where as the evakool is a little shorter

Offline zed

« Reply #186 on: March 21, 2011, 06:46:21 PM »
Woo Hoo, Picked up my new 47L ARB fridge this arvo  :cheers:
03 Pajero and 07 Trackabout Safari

« Reply #187 on: March 21, 2011, 06:48:41 PM »
Woo Hoo, Picked up my new 47L ARB fridge this arvo  :cheers:

You won't be sorry.  We've had a brilliant run out of ours so far.

Offline zed

« Reply #188 on: March 22, 2011, 06:43:26 AM »
After doing some searching and reading some positive comments about them including yours Gunna. :cheers:
the size was also a winning factor, the outside demensions where just right with good interial size.
Thanks to Active4x4 in beresfield for smashing all the arb shops with price too. :cup:
03 Pajero and 07 Trackabout Safari

« Reply #189 on: March 22, 2011, 08:16:36 AM »
We now have a Waeco 35l to sit alongside the Engel 40l on our longer trips.
So now Bill cant talk crap about either brand  :'(
Thank goodness they still make Toyotas  ;D
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline two+four

« Reply #190 on: March 22, 2011, 05:33:29 PM »
A 60 litre Engel user, usually in the back of the car on a platnium drop slide. If all six of us go away for just the weekend we usually only use an eski as we need the space in the car.
2008 V6 GXL Prado slightly modified. WA made Tuart Camper

Offline bobro

« Reply #191 on: March 23, 2011, 05:32:45 PM »
 :worthles: :worthles: :worthles: :worthles: without fridgemate

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #192 on: March 26, 2011, 11:20:44 AM »
We use a second hand bar fridge from ebay $30 ha ha ha!! Works for us at present but no 12v option >:(

Offline carinya

• Nothing $30 million wouldn't fix
« Reply #193 on: April 13, 2011, 10:06:39 AM »
We got a 40 l Dometic ( chescold/ electrolux) 3 way  ages ago before we even had a camper, put 6mm wire through the old ute and the Camry, and thought we did real well.   This thing pulls 10A so a trickle feed system will probably not be any good.  Runs off the battery while travelling, put in a relay in case we forget the switch at lunch, and it's a real good insulator so put in on the gas if we are somewhere for more than a day or so.
MK Triton Dual Cab.
Cheap gal trailer with some stuff added.

Offline Adds

• The Bush Beckons
« Reply #194 on: April 13, 2011, 05:19:21 PM »
put me down for an engle 60l combo  :cup:

"O what a feeling"

« Reply #195 on: April 19, 2011, 09:36:29 AM »
40lt Engel in back of patrol 60lt chescold 3 way fridge freezer in camp trailer

Racer

« Reply #196 on: April 19, 2011, 11:58:43 AM »
After doing some searching and reading some positive comments about them including yours Gunna. :cheers:
the size was also a winning factor, the outside demensions where just right with good interial size.
Thanks to Active4x4 in beresfield for smashing all the arb shops with price too. :cup:

How much did Active charge you Zed?

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #197 on: April 25, 2011, 09:50:18 PM »
Just got back from 4 days away with the new Evacool 60ltr.  Love it, ran off the battery for 4 days (cool down south in Vic) I didn't turn it off the lowest possible setting and it kept the internals between -3 and +1 degree.  I threw the battery on charge when I got home and it has bugger all usage(120amp\hr) .  Happy little vegemite am I.
SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.

Offline Jason 70

« Reply #198 on: April 25, 2011, 10:43:40 PM »
Just graduated from an esky to a 95lt EVAKOOL Fridgemate. It is great.

Offline Gaz the Photog

• "Have camera, will travel!"
« Reply #199 on: April 26, 2011, 03:59:28 PM »
The wife and I just bought a 70lt 3way PRIMUS fridge, and its an absolute gem... nothings better than a cold beer (Very Cold Beer) on a hot campers day! :cup: :cheers: