Author Topic: NRL 2014  (Read 45077 times)

NRL 2014
« on: March 31, 2014, 06:43:20 PM »
I'm not a huge fan of the NRL anymore.. but this really makes me feel for the young bloke + the kid who tackled him who apparently has taken it personally..

http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8822854
"Ch9 reporting that young Alex McKinnon has been told the shocking news that he will be a quadriplegic. Unfathomably sad... "

Words fail me.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 06:48:40 PM by Lost »

Re: NRL 2014
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2014, 06:50:20 PM »
i know the guys who tackled him would be feeling bad at the moment, but if you watch the footage you see Alex McKinnon tucks his head in the worst possible place at the worst possible moment, it's not the guys who were tackling him's fault IMHO. nobody likes to see someone get injured, but i didn't see any dirty play involved here that has caused this incident.....won't make the players who tackled him feel any better or help Alex walk again though, it's just a sad incident alround. one can only hope Alex has some kind of miraculous recovery over time, but things don't look good for him at the moment unfortunately.

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2014, 06:56:01 PM »
Quote from: Rumpig
i know the guys who tackled him would be feeling bad at the moment, but if you watch the footage you see Alex McKinnon tucks his head in the worst possible place at the worst possible moment, it's not the guys who were tackling him's fault IMHO. nobody likes to see someone get injured, but i didn't see any dirty play involved here that has caused this incident.....won't make the players who tackled him feel any better or help Alex walk again though, it's just a sad incident alround. one can only hope Alex has some kind of miraculous recovery over time, but things don't look good for him at the moment unfortunately.
agree
Just hate seeing a kid like this with so much life left to live just rooted.

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2014, 07:42:48 PM »
agree

Agree Lost, this is a total tragedy for young Alex. It was sickening to watch when it happened and from my observation it was totally accidental, and i guess the guys involved in the tackle will be feeling terrible as well.
Thoughts to Alex and his Family.

« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2014, 07:45:34 PM »
Absolutely shocking stuff. Such a tragedy. Out thoughts go out to him and the family.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2014, 08:30:20 PM »
agree
Agree..
Such young talent cut short..

Offline DropBearRacing

« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2014, 09:06:56 PM »
It's a terrible accident and as others have said, the was no dirty play or tactics just an awful combination of a physical sport, strong fit athletes, a competitive nature, head in wrong place at wrong time and gravity. You have to feel sorry for everyone involved. 
The Bear made me do it!!

Offline evans52

« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2014, 09:16:25 PM »
Not a fan either, but was awful to see. He tucked his head, but you got to feel for the Blokes that tackled him. They knew what had happened and were right there to do what could.

Offline DaveCQ

• Dave
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2014, 09:18:35 PM »
Terrible news.
I was playing in a game 20 odd years ago when one of our own players broke his neck. 6 weeks in traction in hospital, then walked out. No spinal damage. The Specialists from Brissie said it was the worst break that he had seen without any further damage. Absolute miracle.

It would have been great to see the same fortune sit with Alex. I am pretty well connected through footy circles, and by all accounts this guy is a very special person. He is unlike your traditional footballer.

If anyone can overcome this adversity, it will be Alex. I wish him and his family all the best.
Toyota D4D Prado 150
Trackabout Dakar Extenda -Sold
AOR Quantum Plus on order.

« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2014, 06:31:22 AM »
It's a terrible accident and as others have said, the was no dirty play or tactics just an awful combination of a physical sport, strong fit athletes, a competitive nature, head in wrong place at wrong time and gravity. You have to feel sorry for everyone involved.

exactly right.  this type of tackle happens 50 times a round and nothing happens.  it's just bad luck....

terrible shame....

« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2014, 06:35:28 AM »
Terrible situation, thoughts go out to all involved. Both my sons played juniors and them getting injured was always a concern. To see it happen is devastating.

« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2014, 06:47:12 AM »
Iam a fan, one of the best sporting spectacles is a tough game of league between two top teams as has been proven by orgin for years. Sadly this comes up in this game every now and then and you find your self at a loss for thoughts or words, the sickening feeling watching this is unexplainable. Inconsolable torture for the young man and his family, players etc. We can only hope and pray for him to have a better outcome than a full quadriplegic.

« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2014, 06:49:15 AM »
I find it interesting that only nine is reporting this as fact....

I hope its not just bull**** rumour, but then again I'd love it to be a bullShit story...

« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2014, 06:57:06 AM »

I find it interesting that only nine is reporting this as fact....

I hope its not just bull**** rumour, but then again I'd love it to be a bull**** story...
Matty Johns on TripleM this morning pretty credible story but agreed they were waiting for Drs statement. Suspect one of the footyshow reporters has grabbed a leak

« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2014, 07:00:26 AM »
Quote from: scarps
Suspect one of the footyshow reporters has grabbed a leak
Gee, some scoop to have your name against.. someone should kick the Shit out of that reporter...
I hate the media... That's another thing that'll change when I'm PM...

Offline ozbogwam

« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2014, 07:02:29 AM »
Be mindful that quadriplegic diagnosis can cover partial loss of feeling and movement not only total loss. From reports it seems this is what he is experiencing.

Awful outcome for him and his family

« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2014, 08:10:51 AM »
I saw the news on CH 7 this morning. Heartbreaking stuff.

Offline ScottT

• Random acts of kindness without expectations
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2014, 12:20:30 PM »
Very very sad indeed.

And my 13 year old will start his 7th season in a couple of weeks. I'll be watching the tackles closely

My thoughts are with Alex, his family and the Knights.

Wayne Bennett is feeling it 
2005 Toyota Prado 1KZ 120 Series
2008 Customline 12ft Deluxe Off Road

Offline prado2004

« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2014, 02:35:32 PM »
I agree its terrible, but this could happen to anyone in any sport really so its probably unfair to show too much scrutiny to NRL. AFL get more height than NRL so probably more likely, skateboarding and bmx it could easily happen also. It is just a freak accident. Feel so sorry for the family.
2012 4dr JK wrangler, 3.5" AEV lift, AEV mags, 35" muddies, front/rear arb bars, tjm sliders, pioneer platform and some other goodies
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=47825.0

Custom Camper with solar, gas hot water & fully self sufficient 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35159.0

« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2014, 06:28:26 PM »
I agree its terrible, but this could happen to anyone in any sport really so its probably unfair to show too much scrutiny to NRL. AFL get more height than NRL so probably more likely, skateboarding and bmx it could easily happen also. It is just a freak accident. Feel so sorry for the family.
Yes it can happen in anysport
I have seen some bad injuries in around 25years of experience as a trainer for a country rugby league club
very sad indeed  , One thing in his favour is his spinal cord is still intact  FINGERS CROSSED down the track he will get on his feet
Thinking of him & his family 

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #21 on: April 01, 2014, 07:04:05 PM »
Yep shocking stuff,  Wayne is feeling it we had him at work for a team gee up last year, after a horrible year, some of the best stuff came from him, and you could tell the care he had for his players from that.  Thoughts with all knights, family and those involved in the tackle

« Reply #22 on: April 02, 2014, 08:37:13 PM »
McLean seven weeks, the NRL is just as big a crock of #### as the AFL

Offline evans52

« Reply #23 on: April 02, 2014, 09:28:29 PM »
McLean seven weeks, the NRL is just as big a crock of #### as the AFL

I don't follow any Footy code any more it's all Shite, but I did see on TV tonight they questioned whether the injury sustained goes towards the suspension if found guilty. In the numerous highlights I've of seen of other similar tackles, which include throwing and literally shoving the player upside down, they appear more severe with or without injury. The Bloke involved in this one appears to have tucked his head in thus contributing to his situation (when compared to other spear/throw type tackles) Is there a comparable suspension for other similar tackles with no or less severe injuries sustained? I can't see the difference between this one and others I've seen where the Blokes get pummelled and get up walking away.

« Reply #24 on: April 02, 2014, 09:30:23 PM »
Quote from: evans52
I don't follow any Footy code any more it's all ****e, but I did see on TV tonight they questioned whether the injury sustained goes towards the suspension if found guilty.
... apparently yes it does now.