Author Topic: Forum Performance Issues  (Read 100951 times)

Re: Forum Performance Issues
« Reply #125 on: September 26, 2012, 07:35:43 PM »
I'm suggesting a ratio of 1 cent per post in your post count, that should well and truly cover it.

I was also thinking this,
Jobs done.

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #126 on: September 26, 2012, 07:56:01 PM »
I'm quite happy to pay a nominal amount. I'd be loath to make it a cost per post, simply because it'd be too difficult to administrate.

I read several forums, as at this post there are about 120 people on MySwag but 5500 on another forum. MySwag is the only one that routinely gives a message like,

Connection Problems

Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

« Reply #127 on: September 26, 2012, 08:03:25 PM »

I think the post count was just a suggestion. It boils down to what members would be happy to donate to assist in the ongoing costs of the forum.

In time these performance issue will be a thing of the past.

« Reply #128 on: September 26, 2012, 08:09:04 PM »
I'm quite happy to pay a nominal amount. I'd be loath to make it a cost per post, simply because it'd be too difficult to administrate.

I read several forums, as at this post there are about 120 people on MySwag but 5500 on another forum. MySwag is the only one that routinely gives a message like,

Connection Problems

Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.

There's nothing to administer, yet. At present, it's a 1-off, voluntary contribution.
If you were to follow the 1c/post formula it would be $4.74..........I'd call that a very nominal amount........

Offline 73coupe

« Reply #129 on: September 26, 2012, 08:25:10 PM »
Having troubles donating, Paypal is saying it can not process this transaction at this time, would this be a problem with my account or Myswags account? Any ideas anyone?

« Reply #130 on: September 26, 2012, 08:31:23 PM »
Having troubles donating, Paypal is saying it can not process this transaction at this time, would this be a problem with my account or Myswags account? Any ideas anyone?
Mate I'd say its the myswag server.. It was working earlier

« Reply #131 on: September 26, 2012, 08:38:41 PM »

« Reply #132 on: September 26, 2012, 08:41:39 PM »

You're probably not donating enough coin 

Seriously, I'd say that it would be Pay Pal, the account being flooded.

Offline britts

« Reply #133 on: September 26, 2012, 08:51:58 PM »
I had no trouble just now ;D

« Reply #134 on: September 26, 2012, 09:07:38 PM »
I think the post count was just a suggestion. It boils down to what members would be happy to donate to assist in the ongoing costs of the forum.

In time these performance issue will be a thing of the past.

Agree sooner or later it will be sorted and it will be a non issue  :cheers:

Offline booga

« Reply #135 on: September 26, 2012, 09:13:50 PM »
Wow thats great news.

As I was one who offered a VPS I'm actually glad you went all out and gots da dedicated server, Aussie based as well.... server will be lightning fast really big step so congrats in order.

I'll be doin my bit by buying some stuffs and donating some coins.

PS: If you need a hand with anything BJ has my number  ;D
PSS: Do you mind letting me know who you got it through (the Server)
A philosophy of life: to "Relax, it's your Right as a Human Being", "Simplify your Life" and enjoy!

Offline sschmez

• sschmez's "Huts" photos on flickr
« Reply #136 on: September 26, 2012, 10:52:08 PM »
Done,

Thanx

Offline JU5T1N

« Reply #137 on: September 26, 2012, 11:40:24 PM »
Ok we now have PayPal account setup. Please click on the button below and it will take you to PayPal. I have set it at 1 unit = $1.00, Please adjust the unit numbers as you see fit.

Please also keep and eye on the Announcements Section -> Click Here
So does this mean purchases can be made via PayPal now? or just donations?

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)

« Reply #138 on: September 26, 2012, 11:47:15 PM »

Just donations Justin.  I've added a few dollars to the 'Aussie Server Trust' as I'm calling it.   ;D

« Reply #139 on: September 27, 2012, 12:07:28 AM »
I have just bought some merchandise and contributed a $10 into paypal.mso who wants a stubbie holder? Just PM me. I have 3 to give away
Wayne

« Reply #140 on: September 27, 2012, 12:11:18 AM »

« Reply #141 on: September 27, 2012, 06:20:56 AM »
done :cheers:

Offline JU5T1N

Forum Performance Issues
« Reply #142 on: September 27, 2012, 07:00:30 AM »

Just donations Justin.  I've added a few dollars to the 'Aussie Server Trust' as I'm calling it.   ;D

No worries, thought an updated  eBay price list to include their fee's might be a go. 2 birds 1 stone.
Getting to the bank for transfers is made harder when they only have little parking spots to fit the truck in, with my current work hours it's not easy. I've been trying now for around 4months will put my donation in tonight

Awesome news.....BTW are we going to tell ute???? LMAO

Sent to outer space and back via Tapatalk....now need a lay down

Nissan whore:

« Reply #143 on: September 27, 2012, 07:09:39 AM »
Done.  PayPal went through very quickly this morning. 

Now that we will be keeping everything in Australia, can we start using real aussie words.  I still don’t know what things like mean LMAO  and Tapatalk mean?    8)

Kevin

Offline JU5T1N

Forum Performance Issues
« Reply #144 on: September 27, 2012, 07:24:30 AM »
Now that we will be keeping everything in Australia, can we start using real aussie words.  I still don’t know what things like mean LMAO  and Tapatalk mean?    8)

Kevin
That's LMAO not LMFO. Pretty sure the smilies no an AU item either....we'd have twist top, stubby, 750, keg or an empty carton

Sent to outer space and back via Tapatalk....now need a lay down

Nissan whore:

« Reply #145 on: September 27, 2012, 08:08:37 AM »
Well I've put my money where my mouth is  :laugh: :laugh: :cheers:

Offline 73coupe

« Reply #146 on: September 27, 2012, 08:36:46 AM »
It's taken about 15 goes but finally got through! :D

« Reply #147 on: September 27, 2012, 09:54:44 AM »
Done and done. The least we can do to support the site. Good luck with the migration - it's certainly going to be a big job.

Many thanks for the on going work and effort you , Jill and everyone that has built this forum to the standard it is today.  :cup:
+1. Not too many other places where the members would have been begging the administrators to accept donations - I think that shows how much people value the work that goes into keeping the lights on. If everyone throws in a couple of bucks, we'll be at the target in no time.

Cheers!

« Reply #148 on: September 27, 2012, 10:03:31 AM »
Donation sent...

Jenko

« Reply #149 on: September 27, 2012, 10:22:19 AM »
Not too many other places where the members would have been begging the administrators to accept donations - I think that shows how much people value the work that goes into keeping the lights on. If everyone throws in a couple of bucks, we'll be at the target in no time.

Cheers!

So very Agreed Matto.  I haven't visited too many places (internet or not) where people beg someone to take their money ... okay ... except maybe Melbourne Cup Day.

What a Warm & Fuzzy bunch of people we all are!!  Well Done.   :-*  Where's the Group Hug Icon?