Author Topic: Dodgy mods  (Read 90196 times)

Offline RainmanWA

Re: Dodgy mods
« Reply #75 on: March 07, 2012, 09:59:48 PM »
This video is a good one for those who find the normal run of the mill snorkel doesnt quite fit the bill, and the best thing is it could be available in kit form soon.

Small | Large

« Reply #76 on: March 07, 2012, 10:09:58 PM »
This video is a good one for those who find the normal run of the mill snorkel doesnt quite fit the bill, and the best thing is it could be available in kit form soon.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YwSFmztPqX4&feature=player_embedded#
THAT IS A PISSER !!!!

« Reply #77 on: March 07, 2012, 10:17:42 PM »
The most stupidest, impractical snorkel idea I have ever seen........wtf is he thinking?

Offline KevinD4D

« Reply #78 on: March 07, 2012, 10:52:28 PM »
Words fail me...
2011 Goldstream Wing III (SWMBO's choice) With quite a few mods towed by 2009 GXL D4D 120 Prado with many extras...

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #79 on: March 07, 2012, 10:58:16 PM »
soooo. if he runs the aircon he could get cold air induction too?
bet his ears pop every time he floors it
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

Offline below sea level

« Reply #80 on: March 08, 2012, 04:56:41 AM »
Words fail me...

My thoughts exactly.

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #81 on: March 08, 2012, 06:04:46 AM »
So much stuff wrong with that idea, where do you start? ??? ???
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline rotare

« Reply #82 on: March 08, 2012, 08:18:03 AM »
Quote - "If there's enough interest I'm thinking of putting together a few kits".....WTF?  does he really think anyone else would want that contraption in their own vehicle?  The cost of all the pipe, bends and fittings would probably cost twice what a normal snorkel kit costs anyway.

I hope he realises that the PVC pipe will either melt due to the underbonnet temps or very quickly go brittle and fatigue anyway.  What a waste of time!

stretch7702000

« Reply #83 on: March 08, 2012, 08:38:46 AM »
only in america

Offline terravista

« Reply #84 on: March 08, 2012, 09:02:07 AM »

I'm suprised he didn't add some chopped up air fresheners into the airbox and turn it into a chemical toilet, or stick two milk crates in the back seat to turn the Jeep into a double decker.
It's scary that these people think they rule the world.

« Reply #85 on: March 08, 2012, 09:11:24 AM »
Wow. That's impressive.

My first thought was "I wonder how that urinal seal will cope with the temperature of the engine right below it".

My second thought was "holy induction noise batman!!!"

I've seen some 4WDs and rally cars with the intake plumbed back into the cabin, usually just to behind the dash on the passenger side. Of course, this is in vehicles with no sound deadening, where the occupants wear helmets and earplugs. The ever-present risk (and why a lot of racing classes have banned the setup) is that a backfire from the motor ends up directly into the cabin of the car.

Still, for a guy who uses PVC instead of bending up some stainless tube, I guess you can't be too picky.

Full marks for innovation, I guess.

Offline MDSimpson

• 2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 Prado
Dodgy mods
« Reply #86 on: March 08, 2012, 10:41:10 AM »
It Goes well with his other idea for flotation devices on the side so he can float down the river.
What a nork..

2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 D4D Prado. Lets get out there...

Offline medion

• My Camper Buildup
« Reply #87 on: March 08, 2012, 12:01:04 PM »
Not to mention the restriction of the air going through all that pispe and bends would restrict air flow into the intake.

What a w******.
Dion
Jackaroo SWB
Oztrail Camper 7 buildup

« Reply #88 on: March 08, 2012, 01:23:47 PM »
what a wanker ???

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #89 on: March 08, 2012, 06:45:51 PM »
Let's get back to something real !

What is it with the weirdos that want to add bits of VW to their campers  ???

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #90 on: March 08, 2012, 07:51:11 PM »

Because having PVC pipe and 500 glued joins looks so much better than a safari snorkel. ??? ???

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

Offline Garry H

« Reply #91 on: March 08, 2012, 09:40:20 PM »
Because having PVC pipe and 500 glued joins looks so much better than a safari snorkel. ??? ???
and putting a snorkel on so you can cross deeper water and then holesawing a hole in the floorpan............
never mind stone damage underneath to the brittled pvc in time

back to the task in hand,
photo'ed this one on the way home from work the other night, steel frame flapping on the side (no doubt making more than 8' wide) nice and pedistrian freindly (not), qld rego, no lights working and towed by a feral that looked like all his wordly possesions was spread around the dual cab

« Reply #92 on: March 08, 2012, 10:15:51 PM »
That looks like a Sunwagon, Garry. It should have a couple of 'Towel rails' sloping down to stop the 'knees' from swinging out.
I re-built one and took it up the Birdsville Track and across the Savanah way in '86

« Reply #93 on: March 09, 2012, 03:28:06 AM »
Sorry no pic , but spotted on Old Susie Bread box with a home made snorkel . Had a chat it cost him $8 at Bummblings . Reckoned it workat  50mm white polly  plpe     :cheers:

« Reply #94 on: March 09, 2012, 02:00:49 PM »
That's timely Speewa.

Went for a drive at lunch time, and saw a 75-series ute. He had a snorkel that he'd made out of white PVC pipe too. Except it was the rectangular-section stuff that you use for downpipes on a house. The snorkel head was pop-riveted on. It was, um, "unique".

On the topic of snorkels, the Dodgiest Mod in Cairns I reckon is shared between two people - one a white 100-series, and one a silver/grey GU. Both have proper Safari snorkels. However, both people have decided to colour-code their snorkels. Such a good idea on paper, such a terrible outcome in real life.  People - leave your snorkels black!!!

Cheers!

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #95 on: March 12, 2012, 05:11:21 PM »

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #96 on: March 12, 2012, 05:51:48 PM »
That there is WotHahellizat! Not dodgy at all, but supremely cool!

http://www.robgray.com/graynomad/wothahellizat/index.php

That photo is of the older, Mk1 version. I liked the big back deck it had. Mk2 is considerably smaller, with no veranda :(.

Rob Gray's "Gray Nomad Chronicals" are worth a read too.

Cheers!

Offline Garry H

« Reply #97 on: March 13, 2012, 09:20:15 PM »
dodgy / unfortunate ?
either way photo'd these in Birdsville Oct 2010, fella didn't hang around long and he never ended up camping in the park where we were, apologies to who evers vehicle it is, as snuck these pics while he wasn't around..........
hope it isn't anyone from here

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #98 on: March 13, 2012, 09:55:50 PM »

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #99 on: March 14, 2012, 03:22:19 PM »
Saw this old Paj near work, a couple of good country mods.

That duct tape, gee its good stuff  ;D

Dont kno if its holding the bonnet shut, or the bar on!!
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 03:24:59 PM by Mace »