General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Fizzie on January 01, 2024, 07:29:09 AM

Title: What made you Smile - 2024
Post by: Fizzie on January 01, 2024, 07:29:09 AM
Happy New Year, Swaggers! ;D

So what are the plans for trips, upgrades, new gear & so on for the year to come ???
Title: Re: What made you Smile - 2024
Post by: Hairs on January 01, 2024, 07:39:55 PM
No plans at this stage.
One day at a time ATM.
Although our club as a Camp weekend sorted for Australia Day weekend.
Free Camp, river, fingers crossed I can get there on the Thursday, before the great unwashed turn up ;)

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Post by: Spada on January 02, 2024, 06:34:48 AM
So what are the plans for trips, upgrades, new gear & so on for the year to come ???

Funny you should ask Fizzie  ;)
Our new caravan that we ordered in June will be ready to collect in 10 days, so real excited about that  ;D. It'll just be weekends for most of this year until we do a road trip to Tassie over the Xmas school holidays.
Post by: Foo on January 02, 2024, 06:47:14 AM
Nothing until I start to feel human again, just retired.  ;D

Post by: Fizzie on January 02, 2024, 07:43:04 AM
Our new caravan that we ordered in June will be ready to collect in 10 days, so real excited about that 

I thought you already had it, because you built the new shed for it ???
Post by: Fizzie on January 02, 2024, 07:44:57 AM
Nothing until I start to feel human again, just retired.  ;D

What ???

A week into retirement & you haven't yet hit the "How did I ever have enough time to go to work every day?" mark ??? ;D
Post by: Foo on January 02, 2024, 08:23:09 AM
What ???

A week into retirement & you haven't yet hit the "How did I ever have enough time to go to work every day?" mark ??? ;D

Nope, I'm totally burnt out.  :(

Post by: Bird on January 02, 2024, 09:12:09 AM
Quote from: Foo
Nope, I'm totally burnt out.  :(
wake up in a panic thinking you've slept in and should be on the road... lol
Post by: Spada on January 02, 2024, 11:20:14 AM
I thought you already had it, because you built the new shed for it ???

Nah, not yet. Built the new shed after we ordered it.
Post by: Hairs on January 04, 2024, 08:53:55 AM
Oh. The irony (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240103/76a485ba301e12d3ef59ce891013e7b1.jpg)

Post by: prodigyrf on January 08, 2024, 08:04:54 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/why-australia-is-having-a-wet-el-nino-weather-event/vi-AA1mBgC0 (https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/why-australia-is-having-a-wet-el-nino-weather-event/vi-AA1mBgC0)
I'm reminded of that Yogi Berra quote- "It’s tough to make predictions, especially about the future."

Here's a few more pearls of wisdom for our intellectual overlords and their hubris  :cup:
https://www.cbsnews.com/chicago/news/in-memory-20-great-yogi-berra-quotes/ (https://www.cbsnews.com/chicago/news/in-memory-20-great-yogi-berra-quotes/)
Post by: Hairs on January 09, 2024, 05:06:11 PM
Hmm :)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240109/7004e9f921ed69d512262d6b70ee9031.jpg)

Post by: Troopy_03 on January 10, 2024, 07:14:01 AM
Here's a few more pearls of wisdom for our intellectual overlords and their hubris  :cup:
https://www.cbsnews.com/chicago/news/in-memory-20-great-yogi-berra-quotes/ (https://www.cbsnews.com/chicago/news/in-memory-20-great-yogi-berra-quotes/)

That's like calling one of our league players an intellectual....  ::)
Post by: Foo on January 10, 2024, 08:17:41 AM
This.  :laugh: :laugh: :cup:

https://www.facebook.com/watch?v=676267384581958 (https://www.facebook.com/watch?v=676267384581958)

Post by: xcvator on January 10, 2024, 04:30:30 PM
This.  :laugh: :laugh: :cup:

https://www.facebook.com/watch?v=676267384581958 (https://www.facebook.com/watch?v=676267384581958)

Fake, they are not going 100mph, no tail enders (only the truck) and only 3 cop cars  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on January 11, 2024, 10:46:23 PM
Nurses, ER staff and ambos deserve more pay just for the Shit they have to put up with...
Post by: Foo on January 14, 2024, 10:19:31 AM
Fake, they are not going 100mph, no tail enders (only the truck) and only 3 cop cars  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

No idea of what ya talking about?  ??? The link isn't about speed.  :P

Post by: Foo on January 14, 2024, 10:24:04 AM
Got presented with this at the retirement partly yesterday.  8) That was out of my truck and snapped in June of last year and had done about 790000Klms. Hate to think of how many gear changes that works out to be.  :-\ :o

(https://www.patrol4x4.com/cdn-cgi/image/format=auto,onerror=redirect,width=1920,height=1920,fit=scale-down/https://www.patrol4x4.com/attachments/pxl_20240113_091839432-jpg.560140/)

Post by: Bird on January 14, 2024, 05:08:09 PM
Got presented with this at the retirement partly yesterday.  8) That was out of my truck and snapped in June of last year and had done abou. Hate to think of how many gear changes that works out to be.  :-\ :o

(https://www.patrol4x4.com/cdn-cgi/image/format=auto,onerror=redirect,width=1920,height=1920,fit=scale-down/https://www.patrol4x4.com/attachments/pxl_20240113_091839432-jpg.560140/)

790,000 Klms... so just run in?
Post by: Foo on January 15, 2024, 06:23:52 AM
 :laugh: Yeah, the one before this one was 980000Klms.

Post by: Fizzie on January 15, 2024, 06:54:40 AM
snapped in June of last year

That must have been exciting at the time! :o
Post by: Spada on January 15, 2024, 07:29:55 AM
Got presented with this at the retirement partly yesterday.  8) That was out of my truck and snapped in June of last year and had done about 790000Klms. Hate to think of how many gear changes that works out to be.  :-\ :o

Thats pretty cool Foo  :cup:
Post by: Spada on January 15, 2024, 08:11:23 AM
New smile on my face, after 6 months of waiting we finally got to fill the vacant space beside the shed  ;D
Post by: NZMarkb on January 15, 2024, 09:36:01 AM
New smile on my face, after 6 months of waiting we finally got to fill the vacant space beside the shed  ;D
Nice
More photo's and details  :D :D
Post by: Bird on January 15, 2024, 09:41:49 AM
thats one happy camper... Like the old shed in background on second photo...
Post by: Foo on January 15, 2024, 10:00:16 AM
That must have been exciting at the time! :o

Yeah, it was a WTF moment.  :laugh: I found a piece of 50mm ally angle and belted the crap out of it to fit the lever and then three hose clamps. It stayed like that for a week till a new lever was found.   ;D

Post by: Foo on January 15, 2024, 10:03:30 AM

Nice but it must be a bastard driving over those post every time you move it and put it back.  ;D :angel:

Post by: Spada on January 15, 2024, 11:58:47 AM
Like the old shed in background on second photo...

Cheers Bird, thats our backyard area with the firepit & pizza oven. I just about live up there  ;D
Post by: Spada on January 15, 2024, 12:08:07 PM
Nice
More photo's and details  :D :D

It's our retirement plan for once the daughter is responsible enough to take care of our house while we travel.

19' full composite construction, gasless interior, 600a lithium, 1060w solar, diesal heater & hot water, 260l water. 2.7t as delivered.
Full specs are here - https://www.zonerv.com.au/off-road-caravans/peregrine/ (https://www.zonerv.com.au/off-road-caravans/peregrine/)
Post by: Mace on January 15, 2024, 01:06:38 PM
It's our retirement plan for once the daughter is responsible enough to take care of our house while we travel.

Ours is 32, not there yet.....    ;D
Post by: Fizzie on January 16, 2024, 07:15:05 AM

Yay!

Just to help, you need http://www.myswag.org/index.php?board=58.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?board=58.0) ;D

& that "caravan port" is making me jealous! :'(
Post by: Rowlie on January 16, 2024, 07:26:20 AM
Ours is 32, not there yet.....    ;D

Many years ago we decided to do "the lap". We thought we would go when the 3 kids were all able to drive and capable of caring for themselves. We left them access to funds for food and "emergencies" such as breakdowns etc. After about 3 weeks we came into phone range and had a message to call home. We rang and received the devastating news that the dishwasher wasn't working and the dishes were piling up. After we got up off the floor we asked if they had considered the alternative only to be told "yeah we can use paper plates but what about the pots and pans". We then explained that the alternative we were thinking of was hand washing. Silence !! As it happens someone had flicked across the child lock.

We rang them when we were 24hrs from home - about a week earlier than anticipated. Our neighbours told us they were still mowing lawns at 10pm. It proved to be a life changing experience for them. Co operation, routine, self reliance etc. They only had one party which was early in the piece and decided they wouldn't have any more - too much work and cleaning up !!

Kenell
Post by: Foo on January 17, 2024, 07:26:30 AM
Many years ago we decided to do "the lap". We thought we would go when the 3 kids were all able to drive and capable of caring for themselves. We left them access to funds for food and "emergencies" such as breakdowns etc. After about 3 weeks we came into phone range and had a message to call home. We rang and received the devastating news that the dishwasher wasn't working and the dishes were piling up. After we got up off the floor we asked if they had considered the alternative only to be told "yeah we can use paper plates but what about the pots and pans". We then explained that the alternative we were thinking of was hand washing. Silence !! As it happens someone had flicked across the child lock.

We rang them when we were 24hrs from home - about a week earlier than anticipated. Our neighbours told us they were still mowing lawns at 10pm. It proved to be a life changing experience for them. Co operation, routine, self reliance etc. They only had one party which was early in the piece and decided they wouldn't have any more - too much work and cleaning up !!

Kenell

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:  :cup:

Post by: Fizzie on January 17, 2024, 07:44:28 AM
We're heading off in a few weeks, leaving Son 2 (22 y.o.) on his own, although his brother (28) will be down every couple of weekends.

He's done it before for 2-3 weeks, but this time is going to be ~3 months, so may be a shock to the system ::), especially when he realises the cost of buying ready-to-cook meals, rather than DIY! :o
Post by: GeoffA on January 17, 2024, 09:18:33 AM
We did the same years ago.

It's like kicking them out of home, without actually kicking them out... ;D

Post by: Bird on January 17, 2024, 09:26:31 AM
Made me smile.. That many modern cars dont come with any form of spare tyre... Not even a Shitty space saver...
WTF?
Post by: GeoffA on January 17, 2024, 10:29:24 AM
Made me smile.. That many modern cars dont come with any form of spare tyre... Not even a Shitty space saver...
WTF?

Most wouldn't know how to change them anyway....
Post by: Brij on January 17, 2024, 10:01:44 PM
We did the same years ago.

It's like kicking them out of home, without actually kicking them out... ;D

No. 2 son went for interview for apprenticeship in Melbourne when nearly 19. Had been working as a labourer after finishing VCE whilst trying to find apprenticeship.
At interview was asked how would Mum cope if he had to move to Melbourne. He said Mum always said they hsd to move out at 18, so he had already over stayed is tenancy.
He got the job, and moved to Melbourne, but Mr nearly independant still had to ring up Mum so she could order a pizza for him. She declined, and constructivly explained that he was probably capable of that task himself.

No. 3 son got a trainship in Melbourne when he was only 17 and moved in with No. 2 son.
No. 2 son rings up one evening all concerned because No. 3 son wasn't home yet, and wasn't answering his phone.
A couple of hours later No. 3 son wonders 8n with half eaten pizza.
Where had he been?
On way home from train went past a masage parlour, so went in for a massage after his "hard day" at school, then saw a pizza shop so got himself a pizza. Not a worry in the world.
Post by: Fizzie on January 18, 2024, 07:44:19 AM
WTF?

Well why would you need a spare ???

After all, in Europe, Japan & South Korea, you're only ever 5k away from a service place that can help you if you need it, so why bother carrying all that extra weight & bulk!  ::)
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2024, 09:35:57 AM
Quote from: Fizzie
Well why would you need a spare ???

After all, in Europe, Japan & South Korea, you're only ever 5k away from a service place that can help you if you need it, so why bother carrying all that extra weight & bulk!  ::)

Apparently your supposed to call NRMA/RACV etc to get tow trucked to a tyre place to change it now.
Post by: Hairs on January 18, 2024, 03:25:37 PM
Apparently your supposed to call NRMA/RACV etc to get tow trucked to a tyre place to change it now.
Ahahaha,
They can change their gender, but not a tyre?
What a wonderful world we live in.

Post by: Harbourmaster on January 18, 2024, 10:13:32 PM
But how often do you get a puncture these days ? We have a space saver in our Tiguan, 130k never been on the car. Can only recall 2 punctures in the last 10 odd years on my patrol. 1 at tunnel creek & one south of Coober Pedy. After the one at CP I threw out the split rims & fitted Maxxis Razor 811, over 60k no punctures & until we moved last September was living on unsealed roads. Also run TPMS
Post by: GeoffA on January 19, 2024, 05:36:46 AM
But how often do you get a puncture these days ? ...

Not often in the Patrol, but it happens pretty regularly in the others.

Probably 1 or 2 a year.....and it's always bloody Tek screws..... >:(
Post by: Fizzie on January 19, 2024, 07:29:15 AM
and it's always bloody Tek screws..... >:(

A number of years back now, we did them 3 times in 12 months :'( >:(
Post by: Bird on January 19, 2024, 08:43:10 AM
Quote from: Harbourmaster
But how often do you get a puncture these days ? We have a space saver in our Tiguan, 130k never been on the car. Can only recall 2 punctures in the last 10 odd years on my patrol. 1 at tunnel creek & one south of Coober Pedy. After the one at CP I threw out the split rims & fitted Maxxis Razor 811, over 60k no punctures & until we moved last September was living on unsealed roads. Also run TPMS
Murphys law.... But I do see several cars on the freeway a week parked up waiting for Mr support truck
Plus the stupid price of cars, they could at least give you a spare...

When the ex-mistake bought her ASX, we asked about a proper spare to replace the space saver... The new "Foam" kit for the spare to sit in inside the boot was over $1100 plus rim and tyre...
Post by: MattNQ on January 19, 2024, 02:41:13 PM
Not often in the Patrol, but it happens pretty regularly in the others.

Probably 1 or 2 a year.....and it's always bloody Tek screws..... >:(
Yeah I think my last few punctures i can recall were screws or nails

Haven't had any for a few years. I think the rules   about covering/securing loads must have made a difference.  Less buckets of screws swan diving off tradie ute's.

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

Post by: OldPaj on January 19, 2024, 06:51:27 PM
We're heading off in a few weeks, leaving Son 2 (22 y.o.) on his own, although his brother (28) will be down every couple of weekends.

He's done it before for 2-3 weeks, but this time is going to be ~3 months, so may be a shock to the system ::), especially when he realises the cost of buying ready-to-cook meals, rather than DIY! :o

We had the opposite, son aged 21 at the time, had always lived at home and his employer at the time offered him a position in charge of IT in the Paris office for 2 years. After discussing it with us, he grabbed the opportunity and the change when he came home, I would say was somewhat remarkable.

I will admit that we were somewhat worried about it, but it all worked out very well.
Post by: Fizzie on January 20, 2024, 07:53:06 AM
We had the opposite, son aged 21 at the time, had always lived at home and his employer at the time offered him a position in charge of IT in the Paris office for 2 years. After discussing it with us, he grabbed the opportunity and the change when he came home, I would say was somewhat remarkable.

I will admit that we were somewhat worried about it, but it all worked out very well.

BiL & his Mrs had similar - their 2 sons (early-mid-20s) both still lived at home, then, in the space of 6 weeks, they were offered jobs in Sydney & Melbourne, so went from 4 in the house to 2,pretty well overnight!
Post by: Foo on January 21, 2024, 07:18:10 AM
Days that end like this.  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ry--1eiWBzc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ry--1eiWBzc)

Post by: DandyD on January 22, 2024, 03:47:41 AM
Days that end like this.  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ry--1eiWBzc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ry--1eiWBzc)

Very nice!

I just gave you your first thumbs up.
Post by: Foo on January 22, 2024, 10:01:37 AM
Very nice!

I just gave you your first thumbs up.

Thank you.  :cheers:

Post by: Hairs on January 23, 2024, 06:10:26 PM
Just used this.
Why hasn't anyone told me about before?
:)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240123/115e5bf1a18acfc87d99324270a33eee.jpg)

Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 23, 2024, 07:11:42 PM
Just used this.
:)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240123/115e5bf1a18acfc87d99324270a33eee.jpg)

Jaycar sell it as well

https://www.jaycar.com.au/liquid-electrical-tape-thread-locker-black/p/NM2832?pos=1&queryId=c746065cc13c22046a5d66315ecff5c6 (https://www.jaycar.com.au/liquid-electrical-tape-thread-locker-black/p/NM2832?pos=1&queryId=c746065cc13c22046a5d66315ecff5c6)

We use it for our antenna connections

Post by: Bird on January 23, 2024, 07:18:28 PM
Just used this.

welcome to 6 yrs ago ;) lol
Post by: Hairs on January 23, 2024, 07:18:47 PM
Jaycar sell it as well

https://www.jaycar.com.au/liquid-electrical-tape-thread-locker-black/p/NM2832?pos=1&queryId=c746065cc13c22046a5d66315ecff5c6 (https://www.jaycar.com.au/liquid-electrical-tape-thread-locker-black/p/NM2832?pos=1&queryId=c746065cc13c22046a5d66315ecff5c6)

We use it for our antenna connections

Hmm, Unfortunately we don't have a Jaycar or an Outlet in the Clarence( we use too), our nearest is Coffs.
I'm a Jaycar account holder, I've bought a few things, 15lt brass monkey, a bag.
Posted, cause I was in no rush.

Post by: Bird on January 24, 2024, 04:35:48 PM
I knew about Silo Art... didnt know about water tanks too... truly awesome.

https://www.australiansiloarttrail.com/victorian-water-tower-art-locations (https://www.australiansiloarttrail.com/victorian-water-tower-art-locations)
Post by: Pottsy on January 24, 2024, 04:55:37 PM

https://www.australiansiloarttrail.com/victorian-water-tower-art-locations (https://www.australiansiloarttrail.com/victorian-water-tower-art-locations)

You can add country dunnies to that list as well
Post by: Hairs on January 24, 2024, 08:15:37 PM

About 5 years ago, our council put a tender out to reline our water tower, a steel structure.
The contractor lined it with an asbestos product.
So the thing had to be pulled down ay rate payers expenses, through the fires of 2019, residents incurred low water pressure.
A new tower was built, or is not higher enough to give any decent water pressure on the higher areas of town.
Council know this, so they are applying for a grant to install a pump.
And it is F@&kin leaking.

Sorry to highjack your post Bird, :(
So the state goverment commissioned an 'Artist' to paint it.
It doesn't depict anything to do with Lawrence, nobody knows who the Aboriginal kid is.

Hmm,

Post by: Bird on January 25, 2024, 09:28:29 AM
Quote from: Hairs
It doesn't depict anything to do with Lawrence, nobody knows who the Aboriginal kid is.
but its very PC... lolol

Post by: xcvator on January 25, 2024, 05:27:27 PM
WTFI is Lawrence ?
Post by: Fizzie on January 26, 2024, 07:54:33 AM
Happy what-is-currently-known-as Australia Day, everybody! ;D

& as a mate has recently included in his e-mail signature block:

I acknowledge, and pay my respects to,
the  British and European elders, past and present,
who introduced civil society and prosperity to Australia.

Post by: jclures on January 26, 2024, 09:46:30 AM
I like this.
https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/south-australia/freeling-farmer-harry-schuster-goes-viral-for-paddock-australia-day-art/news-story/a59a9569b90f97bde67966514ff0baef (https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/south-australia/freeling-farmer-harry-schuster-goes-viral-for-paddock-australia-day-art/news-story/a59a9569b90f97bde67966514ff0baef)
Post by: Bird on January 26, 2024, 11:17:56 AM
I like this.
https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/south-australia/freeling-farmer-harry-schuster-goes-viral-for-paddock-australia-day-art/news-story/a59a9569b90f97bde67966514ff0baef (https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/south-australia/freeling-farmer-harry-schuster-goes-viral-for-paddock-australia-day-art/news-story/a59a9569b90f97bde67966514ff0baef)
Thats awesome...
Post by: Hairs on January 28, 2024, 07:35:42 PM
Just got home from 3 nights camped on the Boyd River with members of our 4wd Club.
Christ to was hot, Saturday afternoon a gully Raker came through, which kinda spoiled our camp fire cook up.
Anyway, it was a cracker of 3 nights. :)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240128/a41b2817c4b9f71cb96ff717506f0a96.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240128/5b7fc58a6f452f5f43c2cc561c83e359.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240128/9a871c89a27f049912424c0ffff8eb7c.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on January 28, 2024, 07:36:41 PM
WTFI is Lawrence ?
Google is your friend

Post by: Fizzie on January 29, 2024, 08:06:04 AM
Just got home from 3 nights camped on the Boyd River with members of our 4wd Club.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240128/9a871c89a27f049912424c0ffff8eb7c.jpg)

Good on you for adding the accessory over the tent! :cup:

We just about always have one up on the van 8)
Post by: Fizzie on January 29, 2024, 08:10:06 AM
Not sure if it should be "Smile" (or Shake head in amazement ???) or "Funny Photos" >:D, but a bloke put these up on another forum.

(https://imgur.com/NZUAmCZ.jpg)

(https://i.imgur.com/ZJomll9.jpeg)

As he said, it's not the sort of car you expect to find on the Bribie Island Beach Access track! :o ::)

Although an Audi sports car with personalised plates says a lot! ::)
Post by: NZMarkb on January 29, 2024, 04:46:55 PM
I hope they towed him out to the beach and left him there for the tide to rise
Post by: Hairs on January 29, 2024, 05:07:24 PM
Good on you for adding the accessory over the tent! :cup:

We just about always have one up on the van 8)
Well, Thank you Sir.

I'm privileged & humbled to live in a country that is the best example of multiculturalism anywhere, It's the best country on earth and I'm proud of my heritage.
We don't need to change the date,
We need to change the hate.

Post by: Hairs on January 29, 2024, 05:10:38 PM
Not sure if it should be "Smile" (or Shake head in amazement ???) or "Funny Photos" >:D, but a bloke put these up on another forum.

(https://imgur.com/NZUAmCZ.jpg)

(https://i.imgur.com/ZJomll9.jpeg)

As he said, it's not the sort of car you expect to find on the Bribie Island Beach Access track! :o ::)

Although an Audi sports car with personalised plates says a lot! ::)
Needs an encouragement award for getting that far in. ;) 

Post by: Bird on January 30, 2024, 03:57:02 PM
Quote from: Hairs
Needs an encouragement award for getting that far in. ;) 
A rental would have made it all teh way
Post by: prodigyrf on January 30, 2024, 11:05:41 PM
Animal Justice MP Georgie Purcell on being photoshopped by Nine-

“I just don’t think this is something that happens to male politicians. They don’t have their bodies or outfits altered to meet beauty standards.”

They certainly don't in terms of beauty standards Georgie but-
https://www.echo.net.au/2023/07/john-howard-reminds-us-why-he-was-such-a-disaster/ (https://www.echo.net.au/2023/07/john-howard-reminds-us-why-he-was-such-a-disaster/)
Oh the patriarchy and all that misogyny eh Georgie? Or should we all agree on the principle and leave it strictly to the cartoonists?
Post by: xcvator on February 03, 2024, 10:58:35 PM
Going to the can and bottle recycle place, $24.50 back in cash  :cheers:
Post by: prodigyrf on February 04, 2024, 11:18:14 PM
Cue asking prices for rental properties in Qld to be well over market with a rider-
Lower offers may be accepted from high quality tenants
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/queensland-to-ban-rent-bidding-as-160m-in-relief-flows/ar-BB1hJuYd (https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/queensland-to-ban-rent-bidding-as-160m-in-relief-flows/ar-BB1hJuYd)
Welcome to dutch auctions and brush up your resumes' and essay writing skills renters  ::)
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 05, 2024, 08:07:32 AM
Going to the can and bottle recycle place, $24.50 back in cash  :cheers:

You only get 5c per container?  ;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on February 05, 2024, 08:29:01 AM
https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1154185925743093&ref=sharing (https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1154185925743093&ref=sharing)

Say's it all really! ;D ::)

Been censored but still slightly NSFW.
Post by: xcvator on February 05, 2024, 11:30:23 AM
You only get 5c per container?  ;D ;D
Didn't think that was too bad for a week  ;D :cheers:
Post by: Gandalf the White on February 07, 2024, 05:20:58 PM
Wait, what?
Post by: westvic on February 07, 2024, 08:45:16 PM
Wait, what?
Ping pong balls??
Post by: Hairs on February 12, 2024, 03:56:32 PM
This always makes me smile.
A day out, in the country that we get to be able to travel through, where many others can not(locked gates, it's a shame most will never see this country, but far too often it is vandalised :( )
As many Swaggers know, I am a member of the Grafton & Districts 4WD Club and have been for nearly 14 years, president for 3,  and we mow & Whipper Snip around some old cattleman huts and homesteads.
The last 3 months have seen some good rain, so we expected the grass had grown, which it had. Thanks to having a few more new members, it wasn't a big deal, you know the saying, many hands make light work.
In between showers of rain, we git the job done.
Lunch was spent on the river bank of the Nymboida River.
Days like this are good
:)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/e946650a0a8c9fa8d6cb2918522cd983.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/82b58551da5e1033f1a7cb7ff0a2c23e.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/f9302f0013d8423191a1ce6ee495746d.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/4ed0baf000652100ccfabe049f96d824.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/4463b4a7dfdea385f0868cca89a914a5.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/2ada11caeecea3608c6de8866d128b6f.jpg)

Post by: Gandalf the White on February 12, 2024, 08:37:17 PM
Hahaha
Post by: Fizzie on February 13, 2024, 06:58:03 AM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/e946650a0a8c9fa8d6cb2918522cd983.jpg)

By the tyre tracks, looks like there's been more than just your group there!

[(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240212/4ed0baf000652100ccfabe049f96d824.jpg)

Are you on a little bridge / weir, or just a log jammed across the creek?

Post by: Hairs on February 13, 2024, 07:41:49 AM
By the tyre tracks, looks like there's been more than just your group there!

Are you on a little bridge / weir, or just a log jammed across the creek?
It's become very popular over the couple of years. It is a free NPWS camp ground, you can camp right next to rhe River. As long as people leave it clean, it will remain a beautiful place.

Yes, that's a concrete causeway on the main road in.

Post by: Bad Scott on February 15, 2024, 07:48:04 PM
Got power, nbn, mobile services restored. Was posted as 17th for them. Stellar effort for all involved  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on February 15, 2024, 08:09:36 PM
Got power, nbn, mobile services restored. Was posted as 17th for them. Stellar effort for all involved  :cheers:
Awesome,

Post by: Harbourmaster on February 15, 2024, 11:27:53 PM
What no F/B 😂😂😂
Post by: Hairs on February 17, 2024, 12:23:53 PM
When you can hear a picture.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240217/b21f35813f16877656eb678ff5f8dcb1.jpg)

Post by: jk on February 17, 2024, 04:58:03 PM
All my life I've had a love affair with the Shaker Falcon, but sadly, I've never been in a position to own one !       Stupid Lotto Numbers  >:(
Post by: Hairs on February 17, 2024, 05:11:01 PM
All my life I've had a love affair with the Shaker Falcon, but sadly, I've never been in a position to own one !       Stupid Lotto Numbers  >:(
I did own a 69 XW, Fairmont, sold it because I needed house more.
Started life as a 3.6 6 pot column auto.
Sold it as a, 351 4V heads, Bullnose Toploader, 9" Lsd disc brake(from a 74 Landau).
Wonder what it would be worth now?
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240217/4e7a5bfc6d013780200bb1383d69e8df.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240217/f0ac946c7342b64c54043bb353228fa9.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on February 17, 2024, 05:14:23 PM
Sorry double post.
Post by: Fizzie on February 17, 2024, 05:25:54 PM
Wonder what it would be worth now?

Sorry double post.

Nah, you'd need the extra space for the 0000000000000000000 behind the $! :'(
Post by: Hairs on February 17, 2024, 06:15:40 PM
Nah, you'd need the extra space for the 0000000000000000000 behind the $! :'(
I was referring to the JB Camira.

I saw the other day, 74 XB ute, 250, three on the tree, matching numbers, rusty as, unregistered, $36K.

It's nuts what, we took for granted as a cheap car to get around in, what they are worth now.

Post by: Gandalf the White on February 19, 2024, 08:28:55 PM
Xx
Post by: westvic on February 19, 2024, 09:09:25 PM
Xx
:cup: :cup:
Post by: VKPrado on February 20, 2024, 09:26:29 AM
Yesterday my eldest passed his P plate test with flying colours. Today he takes himself and brother to school in the car he bought himself.  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2024, 09:59:48 AM
Yesterday my eldest passed his P plate test with flying colours. Today he takes himself and brother to school in the car he bought himself.  :cheers:
Nice work!
Post by: Fizzie on February 22, 2024, 09:09:12 AM
One that Son 2 spotted last night:

"Due to the sick & twisted nature of people in this group, I'm not leaving!"

;D :cup:

Post by: Hairs on February 25, 2024, 07:15:42 PM
This month marks 19 years, I've had this old Girl.
245000km, to 508000km's, from a stock gxl 91, 1HDT, to a great touring rig.
Owes me 57K, including the 21K purchase price.
She's taken us to St George(qld), Inskip, Broken Hill, Silverton & The Barrier Ranges, Flinders Ranges, Great Ocean Road, Mansfield & The Victorian High Country, Cameron's Corner Broken Hill and countless local 4wd trips.
That's 53 oil changes, 10lts at a time(530lt), Averaging 65700k's a set of tyres. Still the original injectors, Rear LSD, Gearbox. The Original factory Clutch was replaced at 480000km.
When you start going through the records I've  kept, it's makes ya think what owning a vehicle costs.
Wonder where she'll take us next trip. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240225/cc95621c1de595d617efbb7c9052f6f8.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240225/a0d4b7ba534477b7fd31dfeed6541663.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240225/3dc8e94b37828ce26f3f714ce22e9cdb.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240225/fceed2994b1b238d17de03c49701f348.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240225/7bca5902f5d531904ba69b9b6546cb13.jpg)

Post by: GeoffA on February 25, 2024, 07:50:25 PM
When you start going through the records I've  kept, it's makes ya think what owning a vehicle costs.

Nice work Jon.  :cup:

I've kept records for 24 years....there's no way I'll ever add them up....
Post by: xcvator on February 26, 2024, 07:13:39 AM
You're a pair of masochists  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on February 26, 2024, 02:39:52 PM
You're a pair of masochists  :cheers:
I use to watch my father, write everything down when he & mum owned a Trawler, then a taxi in Ballina, mid 70' to 82.
He bought two Taxis in Maclean, early 80's, He taught me to write it all down, especially fuel consumption. If you normally. And there was an increase in consumption, if could be a number things, Fuel filter clogged, Tyre Pressures, Air Cleaner due for replacement, Spark plugs old or needed to be resetting, old spark plug leads old. And everything I replace, maintainance, upgrades.
Even informing my insurance company of any mods, upgrades.
It's something I still do today

Post by: prodigyrf on March 01, 2024, 07:15:42 PM
Contrary to the doomsters there's apparently a shortage of plant food-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/markets/supermarket-shelves-depleted-of-soda-water-and-soft-drink-amid-low-supply-of-carbon-dioxide/ar-BB1j9dwz (https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/markets/supermarket-shelves-depleted-of-soda-water-and-soft-drink-amid-low-supply-of-carbon-dioxide/ar-BB1j9dwz)
Post by: Hairs on March 02, 2024, 09:09:14 AM
Booked our air tickets to go see Brooke in Perth, in May.
:)
It will be 12 months in May that she moved there. She left before Mothers Day last year.

Post by: Troopy_03 on March 02, 2024, 05:39:26 PM
Contrary to the doomsters there's apparently a shortage of plant food-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/markets/supermarket-shelves-depleted-of-soda-water-and-soft-drink-amid-low-supply-of-carbon-dioxide/ar-BB1j9dwz (https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/markets/supermarket-shelves-depleted-of-soda-water-and-soft-drink-amid-low-supply-of-carbon-dioxide/ar-BB1j9dwz)

Doesn't that support the "doomsters" though? there's a shortage of contained CO2, because it's all in the atmosphere..  ;D

I blame 5G for that too...  ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on March 05, 2024, 07:50:32 PM
4WD steering wheels rule OK  :cup:
https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/fully-autonomous-driving-is-dead-the-apple-car-story/ar-BB1jkon5  (https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/fully-autonomous-driving-is-dead-the-apple-car-story/ar-BB1jkon5)
Post by: Bird on March 14, 2024, 08:49:19 AM
There be some hours gettin that back to shiney new!!!!!!!!

We have just received the go ahead on this very special troopy, this old girl belonged to the late Malcolm Douglas and his family have decided to give it a bit of a birthday and bring it back to what it once was. Lots of work to come but we love it. Can’t wait to see this fresh again. (https://www.facebook.com/rustworx/posts/pfbid021rMdbhNj1c54mNB1s1fJ5t1ZQosZGkYdRUcBQRXopRsL4KAH3FPB38ktEYU2WVfdl)
Post by: GeoffA on March 14, 2024, 09:39:05 AM
4WD steering wheels rule OK  :cup:
https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/fully-autonomous-driving-is-dead-the-apple-car-story/ar-BB1jkon5  (https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/fully-autonomous-driving-is-dead-the-apple-car-story/ar-BB1jkon5)

Autonomous driving would be a dream come true to hackers....
Post by: lloydus67 on March 14, 2024, 06:30:30 PM
One for all you butting science buffs on the site

HELL EXPLAINED - BY A CHEMISTRY STUDENT

The following is an actual question given on a James Cook University Qld chemistry midterm exam paper, and an actual answer turned in by a student.   The answer by one student was so 'profound' that the professor shared it with colleagues, via the Internet, which is, of course, why we now have the pleasure of enjoying it as well.

Bonus Question: Is Hell exothermic (gives off heat) or endothermic (absorbs heat)? 

Most of the students wrote proofs of their beliefs using Boyle's Law (gas cools when it expands and heats when it is compressed) or some variant.

One student, however, wrote the following:     

First, we need to know how the mass of Hell is changing in time. So we need to know the rate at which souls are moving into Hell and the rate at which they are leaving, which is unlikely. I think that we can safely assume that once a soul gets to Hell, it will not leave. Therefore, no souls are leaving. As for how many souls are entering Hell, let's look at the different religions that exist in the world today.   

Most of these religions state that if you are not a member of their religion, you will go to Hell. Since there is more than one of these religions and since people do not belong to more than one religion, we can project that all souls go to Hell. With birth and death rates as they are, we can expect the number of souls in Hell to increase exponentially. Now, we look at the rate of change of the volume in Hell because Boyle's Law states that in order for the temperature and pressure in Hell to stay the same, the volume of Hell has to expand proportionately as souls are added.

This gives two possibilities:       

1. If Hell is expanding at a slower rate than the rate at which souls enter Hell, then the temperature and pressure in Hell will increase until all Hell breaks loose.     

2. If Hell is expanding at a rate faster than the increase of souls in Hell, then the temperature and pressure will drop until Hell freezes over.   

So which is it?   

If we accept the postulate given to me by Teresa during my Freshman year that, 'It will be a cold day in Hell before I sleep with you,' and take into account the fact that I slept with her last night, then number two must be true, and thus I am sure that Hell is exothermic and has already frozen over. The corollary of this theory is that since Hell has frozen over, it follows that it is not accepting any more souls and is therefore, extinct ... leaving only Heaven, thereby proving the existence of a divine being which explains why, last night, Teresa kept shouting 'Oh my God.'

THIS STUDENT RECEIVED AN A+

Post by: Hairs on March 16, 2024, 09:46:45 AM
Last night, We held our Presentation Night for the Lawrence Rodeo, held at the Maclean Show Ground, last year.
A total of $25000.00 was donated to varist groups & clubs that help us host this wonderful community Event.
Thank you to all those that get involved in this.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240315/b1535c7e1567966f08386dcb3c70ea40.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on March 16, 2024, 01:37:45 PM
& that's you, in the middle at the back ??? ;D
Post by: Hairs on March 16, 2024, 02:12:56 PM
Yep, The Brick wall.

Post by: Hairs on March 17, 2024, 04:13:05 PM
To ya all of Irish Blood,
Happy St Patrick's Day.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240317/0f0519951984cc711fabc36f1bcf2313.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on March 18, 2024, 02:23:10 PM
Just got this from a mate.

Reckon a few here may be able to tick quite a number of these boxes off!

I used to think I was pretty much just a regular person,  but I was born white into a two-parent household which now, whether I like it or not, makes me privileged, racist, and responsible for slavery.

I am a fiscal and moral conservative which, by today's standards, makes me a fascist because I plan, budget, and support myself.

I went to Grammar School and have always held a job. But I now find out that I am not here because I earned it, but because I was "advantaged."

I am heterosexual, which according to gay folks makes me homophobic.

I am not a Muslim, which now labels me as an infidel.

I am older than 70, making me a useless dinosaur who doesn't understand Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, or Snapchat.

I think, reason, and doubt most of what the ‘mainstream’ media tells me, making me a Right-wing conspiracy nut.

I am proud of my heritage and our inclusive culture, making me a xenophobe.

I believe in hard work, fair play, and fair reward according to each individual's merits, which today makes me an anti-socialist

I believe our system guarantees freedom of effort, not freedom of outcome or subsidies, which must make me a borderline sociopath.

I believe in the defense and protection of my nation for and by all citizens, making me a militant.

I am proud of our flag, what it stands for, and the many who died to let it fly, so I stand during our National Anthem - so I must be a radical.

Funny - it all took place over the last decade! If all this nonsense wasn't enough to deal with, now I don't even know which toilet to use...  and these days I gotta go more frequently!

Post by: xcvator on March 18, 2024, 04:43:17 PM
Just got this from a mate.

Reckon a few here may be able to tick quite a number of these boxes off!

I used to think I was pretty much just a regular person,  but I was born white into a two-parent household which now, whether I like it or not, makes me privileged, racist, and responsible for slavery.

I am a fiscal and moral conservative which, by today's standards, makes me a fascist because I plan, budget, and support myself.

I went to Grammar School and have always held a job. But I now find out that I am not here because I earned it, but because I was "advantaged."

I am heterosexual, which according to gay folks makes me homophobic.

I am not a Muslim, which now labels me as an infidel.

I am older than 70, making me a useless dinosaur who doesn't understand Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, or Snapchat.

I think, reason, and doubt most of what the ‘mainstream’ media tells me, making me a Right-wing conspiracy nut.

I am proud of my heritage and our inclusive culture, making me a xenophobe.

I believe in hard work, fair play, and fair reward according to each individual's merits, which today makes me an anti-socialist

I believe our system guarantees freedom of effort, not freedom of outcome or subsidies, which must make me a borderline sociopath.

I believe in the defense and protection of my nation for and by all citizens, making me a militant.

I am proud of our flag, what it stands for, and the many who died to let it fly, so I stand during our National Anthem - so I must be a radical.

Funny - it all took place over the last decade! If all this nonsense wasn't enough to deal with, now I don't even know which toilet to use...  and these days I gotta go more frequently!

Now I know what's wrong with me, there's only 1 point that doesn't fit me.
Post by: rags on March 18, 2024, 06:14:58 PM
 How do think I feel, although I didn’t go to a grammar school,  I am burdened with the knowledge that from both my maternal and paternal sides of the family we are descendant of 1st fleet convicts. I guess that makes me an invader.
Post by: Fizzie on March 19, 2024, 07:51:31 AM
Leafz has got 5 convicts in her past, with 2 in the First Fleet, but also a Marine Guard in that Fleet.

So she must both be opressed & an opressor!
Post by: Hairs on March 19, 2024, 06:09:09 PM
True story (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240319/c8b294941e35dde964e165caa74138e0.jpg)

Post by: prodigyrf on March 21, 2024, 05:44:12 PM
Excuse us Muggsy but we need to search you and were just wondering what alphabet soup diaspora you were identifying with today?  :police:
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/gender-diverse-choice-for-police-body-searches/ar-BB1kgg1P (https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/gender-diverse-choice-for-police-body-searches/ar-BB1kgg1P)
Post by: Bird on March 22, 2024, 01:14:27 PM
Great work by this dude

https://bigrigs.com.au/2024/03/20/truckie-turned-mnd-warrior-sets-off-on-final-leg-to-canberra/ (https://bigrigs.com.au/2024/03/20/truckie-turned-mnd-warrior-sets-off-on-final-leg-to-canberra/)

Truckie turned MND warrior sets off on final leg to Canberra
(https://bigrigs.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Warren-Acott-Mow-Down-MND-2-1024x768.jpg)

edit:
https://bigrigs.com.au/2024/03/22/truckie-with-mnd-gets-his-message-to-the-prime-minister/ (https://bigrigs.com.au/2024/03/22/truckie-with-mnd-gets-his-message-to-the-prime-minister/)
When Warren ‘Woz’ Acott set off 11 days ago on an ambitious 800km trip to Canberra, his goal was to get his message across to the people in power – and he’s done exactly that.

On Thursday, March 21, Acott – a truckie of over 40 years who had to give it up after being diagnosed with motor neurone disease (MND) – took to the lawns of Parliament House on his ride-on lawnmower.

The aim of the trip was to raise awareness for MND and push for it to be made a notifiable disease, which could go a long way in assisting with future research and in helping those suffering from the debilitating illness to find the help and services they need.

(https://www.mowdownmnd.com.au/mnd/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Mow-Down-MND-Map-02b.jpg)
Post by: OldPaj on March 22, 2024, 06:49:57 PM
Good to see, Tooleen is just up the road from my place.

The fact that the stickers cover the Greenfields logos on his "mower", to me, indicates that they may not be supporting the effort. For an Au company it is a bit disappointing.
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 22, 2024, 07:36:35 PM
Excuse us Muggsy but we need to search you and were just wondering what alphabet soup diaspora you were identifying with today?  :police:
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/gender-diverse-choice-for-police-body-searches/ar-BB1kgg1P (https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/gender-diverse-choice-for-police-body-searches/ar-BB1kgg1P)

And they have this clause to take all the fun out of it:
There are limited exceptions to when the choice would be overruled including if police believed it was made in bad faith or where it was not practicably feasible to accommodate.

Had me excited for a little while there...  >:D
Post by: Hairs on March 25, 2024, 04:47:14 PM
Shouted the 80 a set of Clutch & Brake pedal rubbers.
508700km's, she won't know
The wire is the mic wire for the Hands free through the stero,
Just installed it as well.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240325/89c4ff88d11d721474021045b324b340.jpg)

Post by: Bird on March 28, 2024, 09:52:44 AM
Judging by the amount of traffic on Eastlink with towball's dragging on the ground today there'd be less people at the F1 GP than camping this weekend

Edit:
Guy called radio
A poptop has lost its whole roof on the way to Phillip Island.... good start to the holiday
Post by: Wazza999 on March 29, 2024, 10:21:25 AM
Shouted the 80 a set of Clutch & Brake pedal rubbers.
508700km's, she won't know
The wire is the mic wire for the Hands free through the stero,
Just installed it as well.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240325/89c4ff88d11d721474021045b324b340.jpg)

I installed a new radio/cd player with hands free and Bluetooth streaming in the old Maverick a few years ago. It was the only electronic doodad in the vehicle until I added a Pertronix ignition.

Sent from my SM-A556E using Tapatalk

Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 06, 2024, 09:49:18 AM
Declan winning today in the Final for the U17 National Mens Netball champs being played in Brisbane. The Victorian team came back from being down by 10 and winning in extra time. Well done to the team coaches and supporters.

Post by: Hairs on April 06, 2024, 02:02:22 PM
Well done.
Good one.

Post by: Bird on April 06, 2024, 08:14:06 PM
Declan winning today in the Final for the U17 National Mens Netball champs being played in Brisbane. The Victorian team came back from being down by 10 and winning in extra time. Well done to the team coaches and supporters.

well done dude... might have a good coach too :)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 07, 2024, 08:42:52 AM

And to top it off, last night at the awards night, Declan was picked in the starting 7 by the Australian selectors. Woohoo

Post by: Hairs on April 07, 2024, 08:47:27 AM
Kicking goals, good stuff.

Post by: GeoffA on April 07, 2024, 08:50:24 AM
Kicking goals, good stuff.

Or shooting, perhaps??  ;D
Post by: Hairs on April 07, 2024, 08:51:49 AM

Or shooting, perhaps??  ;D
;)

Post by: GeoffA on April 07, 2024, 08:52:27 AM
And to top it off, last night at the awards night, Declan was picked in the starting 7 by the Australian selectors. Woohoo

Genetics??
Post by: Bird on April 09, 2024, 02:59:15 PM

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-04-09/man-renovates-lounge-room-to-fit-classic-holden-monaro/103608804 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-04-09/man-renovates-lounge-room-to-fit-classic-holden-monaro/103608804)
Post by: xcvator on April 09, 2024, 07:23:26 PM

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-04-09/man-renovates-lounge-room-to-fit-classic-holden-monaro/103608804 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2024-04-09/man-renovates-lounge-room-to-fit-classic-holden-monaro/103608804)

That man really has his priorities right  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on April 12, 2024, 11:55:31 AM
Would you give this a go?? Looks ... fun but painful!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbX6qaWINBk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbX6qaWINBk)
Post by: loanrangie on April 12, 2024, 01:19:51 PM

Anyone remember the TV series Vegas ? , he used to park his 55/56 thunderbird in his loungeroom.
Post by: Hairs on April 22, 2024, 05:42:33 PM
This made me smile.
Brought back a lot of great memories.
Having a clear Coke one was cool
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240422/3c2c2a667d285c8c3e50762ed504bc50.jpg)