Author Topic: 60 series values  (Read 3658 times)

60 series values
« on: August 08, 2019, 07:30:03 PM »
Just came across the price of some 60 series cruisers, when did they become so pricey  :o seems like they are just about worth more than 80 series cruisers now, especially those with the 12HT

Re: 60 series values
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2019, 07:31:49 PM »
Just came across the price of some 60 series cruisers, when did they become so pricey  :o seems like they are just about worth more than 80 series cruisers now, especially those with the 12HT
the price of bog must have skyrocketed adn they are trying to get their money back....

and no they arent WORTH more than 80's just clowns trying to GET more than an 80..  be rare to find a 60 that isnt a pile of rust on the lawn

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2019, 07:51:12 PM »
Yes great motor the 12HT heaps more grunt than a 1HZ and miles better on fuel, but the 60 series was so hard to keep rust out of, My mate Dave has one but its just a 2H it mite be worth 4 to 6grand if lucky

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2019, 08:35:30 PM »
the price of bog must have skyrocketed adn they are trying to get their money back....  ......be rare to find a 60 that isnt a pile of rust on the lawn

Maybe a part of the reason that their prices seem to be appreciating, not so many reasonable examples left

and no they arent WORTH more than 80's just clowns trying to GET more than an 80.. 

tis true that the value of something is what it sells for, not what it's advertised for. Their trajectory seems to be up though and '80s are still going down, comparing similarish condition and km's seems to at least put the 60 in a comparable price range to the 80.

Offline BC66

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2019, 10:26:40 PM »
I’ve owned 2 x 60 series
They are like trucks to drive, old trucks!

The following users thanked this post: loanrangie

« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2019, 08:03:49 AM »
My mate had one chopped at Mal Frasers in Pomona 25 years ago it was an unreel 4wd 12HT ally tray back cost 6 grand back then painted, I see it costs 21 grand now

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2019, 01:24:19 PM »
Only yota shape i like, boxy like a 4wd should be.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline Jon Burrell - Tentworld

• Tentworld - Shop Online or In-Store
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2019, 01:29:52 PM »
They've been featuring in a few TV series lately looking great.  There are a few in Narcos, and some other TV shows I've seen lately.  Even made me think I wanted one for a brief moment.  But then I remembered I'm not a mechanic, and I dont like working on cars in the evening.
Happy Camping! 

Browse our range, and shop online at:
https://www.tentworld.com.au/
Find your local Tentworld Camping Store at: 
https://www.tentworld.com.au/camping-stores

« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2019, 02:03:28 PM »
12HTs are daft money, but that's also because they bolt in to 40 series....

If you think 60s are bad, look at the prices on 40s... Late BJ42s are proper daft, as are HJ47 Ute's. Even project HJ45s are strong. Petrols? Not so much(yet) but I think if someone did a restomod on them they would be even stronger as donor cars for that.

« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2019, 07:20:26 PM »
12Hts are so dear to do up with genuine parts, mate spent 10grand on his donk and they use to give troubles around 350 to 400, 000ks I did not like them that much, prefur a 1HZ even thought not as good on power and fuel economy, just a simple motor, the old 1HZ,   
« Last Edit: August 09, 2019, 07:43:50 PM by Craig Tomkinson »

« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2019, 12:56:04 PM »
12HTs are daft money, but that's also because they bolt in to 40 series....

If you think 60s are bad, look at the prices on 40s... Late BJ42s are proper daft, as are HJ47 Ute's. Even project HJ45s are strong. Petrols? Not so much(yet) but I think if someone did a restomod on them they would be even stronger as donor cars for that.

Makes me wonder what my old cruiser would go for, not that its for sale

« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2019, 02:55:32 PM »
12Hts are so dear to do up with genuine parts, mate spent 10grand on his donk and they use to give troubles around 350 to 400, 000ks I did not like them that much, prefur a 1HZ even thought not as good on power and fuel economy, just a simple motor, the old 1HZ,

Hopefully, one day, I'll be able to give you a drive of my (Your Dad's) old 'tilly and I reckon you might change your mind about the 1HZ power. :D

« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2019, 08:12:10 AM »
I was talking standard no turbo 1HZ great old motors, Hope she goes well for you,  I read somewhere this mob tested the 1HZ blokes after they were bored out, buy cutting them up and they do not have enough meat left in the bloke to handle being turboed afterwards
« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 08:15:07 AM by Craig Tomkinson »

« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2019, 08:41:58 AM »
Makes me wonder what my old cruiser would go for, not that its for sale

The fully restored ones go for a fortune here, and several fortunes state side, but they have had a lot of work go into them.
Some advertise their unrestored/basterdised examples here for stupid money, especially when you can see comparable ones for a fraction of the price.
My guess for a reasonable condition, original unit like yours would be about 15k

« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2019, 09:59:59 AM »
The fully restored ones go for a fortune here, and several fortunes state side, but they have had a lot of work go into them.
Some advertise their unrestored/basterdised examples here for stupid money, especially when you can see comparable ones for a fraction of the price.
My guess for a reasonable condition, original unit like yours would be about 15k
hows 180,000us$ go..
https://www.fj.co/detail/1978-Land-Cruiser-FJ43_394

The perfect balance between classic and modern.
from $160,000.... ****in drug money
« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 10:01:33 AM by Bird »

« Reply #15 on: August 14, 2019, 10:59:39 AM »
hows 180,000us$ go..
https://www.fj.co/detail/1978-Land-Cruiser-FJ43_394

The perfect balance between classic and modern.
from $160,000.... ****in drug money

You’re spending too much on your drugs 😂😂😂