Author Topic: Engel or Waeco  (Read 18966 times)

Offline Muso

• The beatings will stop when morale improves
Re: Engel or Waeco
« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2012, 02:35:21 PM »
We have a 50L Waeco DZ (should be called tri-zone). Set on -10c and all zones work perfectly.
Also 12v solar power only with a 120 AGM.  Never had any problems, even on a cloudy day.
Cheers Glenn

Offline Humbolt

« Reply #26 on: January 10, 2012, 02:44:12 PM »
We run a 8yr old + CF-45 and it has never missed a beat. It is amazing how much you can fit in.
We use it as a two zone. Stuff down the bottom freezes while everything at the top stays nice a cold :)
Haven't even replaced the light globe :)
I think as others have said there is not much in it between all the reputable brands, will come down to price and throw ins!!

Offline Top.ender

• "I WONDER WHERE THIS TRACK GOES"
« Reply #27 on: January 10, 2012, 02:55:08 PM »

100 Series Diesel with lots of stuff
2014 Jayco Swan Outback

« Reply #28 on: January 10, 2012, 02:55:35 PM »
Don't forget the Evakool........... i'm loving mine.

Offline cewilson

• cewilson
« Reply #29 on: January 10, 2012, 07:18:44 PM »
I've got an 80 litre and a 32 litre Waeco's.  To be honest if I had my time again I'd get two forty litres, one as a freezer and one as a fridge.

As for brands - well whichever one works for you.  Any of the major brands now days are good and will do the job.  I think the current ARB fridge is probably the cream of the crop, but there really isn't much in it.

And I'll second that the 80 litre is power hungry.  I need to recharge everyday when it's in the car.

Chris
1998 Trak Shak
200tDi Defender
90 series Prado, gas/petrol

Offline Focus354

« Reply #30 on: April 27, 2014, 06:13:04 AM »
Just out of interest, how do the waeco's hold up in the weather. My mate has an 80l engel strapped Down on the tray of his cruiser permanently, and it has been through some hectic rain and even when the car is washed the fridge gets drowned but has never missed a beat. I'm looking to buy a 60 CFX but I do like the fact the Engels are bit tougher ?

Offline dlncooke

• 2014 Dmax LSU, Jayco Destiny & Oztent
« Reply #31 on: April 27, 2014, 06:33:25 AM »
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=16824.msg259559

few measurements etc to give you some more options

Hi we have 3 CFX Waeco fridges, this chart is a little out of date, but ok for a Ref.
our Waeco's are going great one in ute, one in camper trailer & one spare for cmaper tent.
For us they work perfectly and there are some good deals out there.

http://www.seabreeze-industries.com.au/products/Waeco-CFX-Range-Portable-Fridge-Freezers-147

2014 Dmax, LS-U setup for outback touring.

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #32 on: April 27, 2014, 09:18:33 AM »
Just out of interest, how do the waeco's hold up in the weather. My mate has an 80l engel strapped Down on the tray of his cruiser permanently, and it has been through some hectic rain and even when the car is washed the fridge gets drowned but has never missed a beat. I'm looking to buy a 60 CFX but I do like the fact the Engels are bit tougher ?

I've had both engel and waeco strapped in the back of the ute. I just made sure that the control panel was covered with some plastic under the insulating bag. Over the years both probably spent the equivalent of three years on the back of my work ute each running constantly,  rain hail or shine. No problems with either waeco cf50 and engel eclipse.  I personally prefer the engel as power usage is lower 2.3amps running. The waeco used more, around 4ish amps. I believe that the new waeco's are much better these days with variable speed compressors etc. So it really comes down to the deal you can get. Don't forget to have a look at the evakool range too.
Cheers john

« Reply #33 on: April 27, 2014, 03:34:48 PM »
Has anyone tried the plastic Engels? I haven't heard much about them but $$$ compare with Waeco.

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
Engel or Waeco
« Reply #34 on: April 27, 2014, 03:41:38 PM »
Has anyone tried the plastic Engels? I haven't heard much about them but $$$ compare with Waeco.
I have one and buying another. They have the same insides as the metal Engels. Same compressor the works. They don't have a temp readout either. I just bought an engel temp gauge which tells you the outside temp aswell for $35 and stuck it to the side.

I know quite a few people around that have the Eclipse (plastic) Engels and have had no problems with them.

Works like a charm!

Sent from my Ring-a-ding-a-ling
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #35 on: April 27, 2014, 03:46:43 PM »
it makes me laugh when people go..." Get a Waeco, we've had plenty of waecos over the years...."   Hello... If they are that good, you should have only bought the one :cheers:
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #36 on: April 27, 2014, 03:49:44 PM »

it makes me laugh when people go..." Get a Waeco, we've had plenty of waecos over the years...."   Hello... If they are that good, you should have only bought the one :cheers:
My waeco I have gave me problems all the time. But it was a gift so I didn't complain.

Look in any truck on the highway and a majority of them will have Engels.

Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #37 on: April 27, 2014, 04:21:49 PM »
I've got a few different fridges in my collection.
Some used for work and some for pleasure.

Engel 45 litre- great fridge that's in the back off the 200 and never gets turned off.

Eutectic  Autofridge 75 litre - my old man picked it up at an auction for $300. It rides on the back off my work ute in the summer and a beer fridge at home in the cooler months. Very happy with this one

EvaCool RF60- it come with the Trackabout and I must admit I was a little concerned about how it would go.  I was worried for nothing, it works brillantly.

Waeco CF40-  I purchased this one for our Prime Mover about 8 years ago. We have taken it away up north a couple of times camping and it has failed every time. It has been back to Waeco  6 times and is pharrrrked again and only working on 240v. Biggest POS I have ever purchased.

I have been kicking around the idea of getting another Evacool, RF47 for the Kenworth.
IMO they are a great fridge for the money and although I have no  proven data , it seems to use less power than the Engel when camping.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

« Reply #38 on: April 27, 2014, 04:31:02 PM »
Mmmm! Good thought as my 40 litre Engel is coming up to its 30th. I'm going to strip it down & use a rust primer on it in the near future & hopefully get another 30 years ;D

« Reply #39 on: April 27, 2014, 04:56:57 PM »

Some years ago l sold my steel Engal then upgraded to one of the 1st Eclipse ( plastis ) Engals . ran it for 12 months asa a chiller then got my 2nd unit  . When we go away 1 is the food fridge/freezer  the other is a dedicated beer fridge . Easy on the power set & forget ( not the beer fridge though ) Cannot fault them , though the cant take the full 2 slabs so when loading have to drink 2 cans so they don't get left behind  :cheers:
 l payed $699 & $799 respectively , great investment  :cheers:

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #40 on: April 27, 2014, 05:09:05 PM »
you must be stacking it wrong Speewa lol

Specifications
External Dimensions:   H483 x W636 x D366
Internal Dimensions:   H360 x W386 x D266
Net Weight:   22kg
Capacity:   38 Litre (50x375ml cans)
DC Power Consumption:   Variable from 0.5 - 2.75 AMPS
Power:   Built-in 240V AC/12V/24V DC
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #41 on: April 27, 2014, 06:00:22 PM »
EVAKOOL ...  ;D

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #42 on: April 27, 2014, 06:04:00 PM »

Specifications
Shhhh. Don't let his wife find out. It's a great excuse to down a couple.

Offline dirtpilot

« Reply #43 on: April 27, 2014, 06:23:26 PM »
Why not just buy another 40l fridge? Use one to freeze, one to refridge and on short trips leave one at home. I did this, i have to metal Engels. I would consider the Eclipse next time.

Offline axle

« Reply #44 on: April 27, 2014, 06:44:43 PM »
When everyone talks about the Evacools are they referring to the yellow esky type fridge models or the more Engel looking metal models?

Rays have them on special at the moment.

http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/camping/camp-fridges/fridges.aspx?id=1021966
2009 PK Ranger and 2011 Goldstream Storm RL

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #45 on: April 27, 2014, 06:46:40 PM »
Engle all day every day.

« Reply #46 on: April 27, 2014, 06:48:35 PM »

Specifications

Handeling all those cans brings on a thrust that could drown a camel , l stack it the best way known  :cheers: 

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #47 on: April 27, 2014, 06:49:14 PM »

Waeco CF40-  I purchased this one for our Prime Mover about 8 years ago. We have taken it away up north a couple of times camping and it has failed every time. It has been back to Waeco  6 times and is pharrrrked again and only working on 240v. Biggest POS I have ever purchased.

There's your answer

« Reply #48 on: April 27, 2014, 06:51:12 PM »
Why not just buy another 40l fridge? Use one to freeze, one to refridge and on short trips leave one at home. I did this, i have to metal Engels. I would consider the Eclipse next time.

Did you read reply 39 or what  ???                        cold  :cheers: :cup:

« Reply #49 on: April 27, 2014, 07:08:09 PM »
Jeeeze, you blokes and ya fridges.
Almost as bad as you blokes and ya d#cks.  >:D >:D >:D (refer advert.)