Author Topic: An interesting read  (Read 15211 times)

Re: An interesting read
« Reply #25 on: December 21, 2017, 12:38:16 PM »
I work with some of the stupidest men I have ever met. I'm a machine operator in open cut mining, I haven't been to a single xmas party in the 8 years I have been there.

the stories that do the rounds every year are the same stupid guys being dicks, trying to start fights and harrassing their female colleagues. Everyone pays their own way and work has nothing to do with the organisation or finances.

I always say to the guys that i get along with, if they want to go to the pub and have a beer, no worries. But no way am i going to waste a night of my life with these people, if I don't have to.

Mate used to work in mining myself and they are definitely paid from the neck down
And then wondered after the downturn why no one else would hire them

« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2018, 02:50:38 PM »
Nutha interesting article on Country Shows.
http://www.theland.com.au/story/5171664/can-we-keep-our-country-shows-alive/?cs=4963

personally I love these shows... events like the wood chopping, chainsaw and animal judging..

« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2018, 03:44:27 PM »
As a kid we always went to the McLaren Flat show as dad was a judge in the preserves and jams section. Always a great couple of days with rides, livestock, side show alley, equestrian events etc.
Sadly it is no longer :'( :'(

« Reply #28 on: January 18, 2018, 04:15:48 PM »
I have to agree with the original article as agree the Xmas parties have turned boring due to the lack of funds the company now allocates per person, the fact it’s always mid-week (because it’s harder to play up Mid-week) and the fact we are expected to turn up the next morning at your normal time and the HR emails being sent weekly leading up to Xmas.

In saying that I’m probably part of the reason for these changes because when I started working 32 years ago the parties were basically a drinking/snogging fest. The company I worked for back then had about 500 employees in Brisbane with 75% of them under age 25. Always kicked off at 4pm Friday with copious amounts of beer/wine/spirits and at end of the night there were people passed out under tables, every dark corner had people hooking up, couple of girls flashing there tar tars and no one dared drive Saturday because everyone would have been over the limit.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2018, 04:46:48 PM by Beachman »

« Reply #29 on: January 18, 2018, 04:22:26 PM »
Lol.
Pissed, passed out, hooking up, and flashing ya tits but sensible enough not to drive, ha,ha!  :cup:

« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2018, 04:59:27 PM »
Our staff are allocated $50 for an Xmas function per staff member. But I attended 5 Work functions this year across the country this year and the only reason I got invited was they knew I always pay for the lot... apparently I have a big please explain awaiting  my return to work 😂 as the exec are not happy... 

« Reply #31 on: January 18, 2018, 06:06:24 PM »
Our staff are allocated $50 for an Xmas function per staff member. But I attended 5 Work functions this year across the country this year and the only reason I got invited was they knew I always pay for the lot... apparently I have a big please explain awaiting  my return to work 😂 as the exec are not happy... 
You coming away with us on the long week end ? please, please, this will be a work function, we'll work on getting you to pay  >:D >:D ;D

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2018, 09:09:40 PM »
Must be time for you, me and Bird to have lunch

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #33 on: January 18, 2018, 10:12:39 PM »
Must be time for you, me and Bird to have lunch

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Yep

« Reply #34 on: January 18, 2018, 10:14:27 PM »
You coming away with us on the long week end ? please, please, this will be a work function, we'll work on getting you to pay  >:D >:D ;D

Nope

« Reply #35 on: January 22, 2018, 07:09:39 PM »
so did ya get yelled at ???

« Reply #36 on: January 23, 2018, 08:54:13 AM »
so did ya get yelled at ???

Still on leave mate eating into some of the 30wks I got up my sleeve 😂

« Reply #37 on: January 23, 2018, 08:56:44 AM »
Damn!! thats some holiday!

« Reply #38 on: January 23, 2018, 09:11:32 AM »
Clever, by the time you get back they will have forgotten about it  :cup: :cup:

« Reply #39 on: January 23, 2018, 09:25:25 AM »

Take it at half pay & you can fit in another round next Chrissie, before they can catch you! >:D

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #40 on: January 23, 2018, 09:54:05 AM »
The only way this would ever hit the attention of your boss would be because someone in the accounts department with nothing better to do has realised there could be a double dip and it’s going to impact the exec getting maximum bonus😏🤔
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old

« Reply #41 on: January 23, 2018, 12:53:38 PM »
Hey Swannie, were you a soft touch or the senior man, company I worked for it was always the responsibility of the senior man or woman at the function to pay, no ifs, no buts, left the accountants no room to complain.  :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #42 on: January 23, 2018, 03:25:57 PM »
Listen up guys. I don't want to be a party pooper with the Chrissy knees-up and a couple of copies of yer hairy arses or twats in the out-tray of the copier... but 500 in full colour!!   ::)
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #43 on: January 23, 2018, 05:12:45 PM »
Hey Swannie, were you a soft touch or the senior man, company I worked for it was always the responsibility of the senior man or woman at the function to pay, no ifs, no buts, left the accountants no room to complain.  :cheers: :cheers:

Just a soft touch mate😂

Offline Apples69

« Reply #44 on: January 23, 2018, 05:19:04 PM »
Last Christmas party I put on a lady staff member broke a glass and received a small cut on her hand - all her own silly fault - 2 weeks off under workers comp
2011Trackabout Safari and 2016 Prado

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #45 on: January 23, 2018, 07:06:23 PM »
Place i work at is small , in the earlier days we never had a breakup party ..... but for the last 10 years or so weve had diffrent types going from the simple bbq to lunch at the pub .... but we all seem to prefer the bbq .... xmas breakup lunch starts at noon 23rd December and we dont officially reopen untill after new year . Might be simple and fairly cheap but the cash bonus is always good.

Marv

« Reply #46 on: January 23, 2018, 08:50:26 PM »
Last mob I worked for [a multinational], which was a few years back now, thru a BBQ in the allocated 30 minute lunch break.
Snags & bread [no butter, hamburgers or even a chop].
Salads, that the QC's had knocked out the day before.
and out of code soft drinks, at room temperature.
and I kid you not.

« Reply #47 on: January 23, 2018, 08:53:57 PM »
Last mob I worked for [a multinational], which was a few years back now, thru a BBQ in the allocated 30 minute lunch break.
Snags & bread [no butter, hamburgers or even a chop].
Salads, that the QC's had knocked out the day before.
and out of code soft drinks, at room temperature.
and I kid you not.
must have made you all feel appreciated... I thought thats what teh end of year party was about... thanks for a good year and the extra's you did during the year... :(

« Reply #48 on: December 02, 2019, 03:35:32 PM »
Quote from: Foo
What friggin company would put a Christmas/end of year party on a forking week day, dipchits??  ::) :o :P

Diggity Dig..

Ours this year...
After few years of small turnouts to the parties, due to Shit venues, the organisers arranging it within walking distance of their own flat on other side of town, nowhere near parking or public transport...

This year they are splurging...
Going BBQ in the carpark on a Wednesday... no tables, no chairs, paper plates... ahhhhh you feel valued.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #49 on: December 02, 2019, 04:41:53 PM »
Diggity Dig..

Ours this year...
After few years of small turnouts to the parties, due to Shit venues, the organisers arranging it within walking distance of their own flat on other side of town, nowhere near parking or public transport...

This year they are splurging...
Going BBQ in the carpark on a Wednesday... no tables, no chairs, paper plates... ahhhhh you feel valued.
I haven't been to one of my employers Xmas parties for at least 7 years... I've got no interest in going to watch a bunch of phucktards I don't like get pissed

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup