Author Topic: Getting an XR6 Turbo  (Read 9510 times)

Re: Getting an XR6 Turbo
« Reply #25 on: June 17, 2016, 08:51:43 AM »
It wouldn't have sold, that's why they didn't do it. They learnt that in the late 60's early 70's. Even the little import coupe/sports cars Ford sold over the years weren't successful, just a fad.

GMH milked it for a good while, but again, only a fad.

« Reply #26 on: June 17, 2016, 10:16:52 AM »
A mate is getting his V8 'stang today. I'm looking forward to seeing it as there have been some so so reviews about the finish.
p.s. He has a 2012 Nissan Z car with 20000k on the clock for sale if anyones interested.

« Reply #27 on: June 17, 2016, 10:27:50 AM »
A mate is getting his V8 'stang today. I'm looking forward to seeing it as there have been some so so reviews about the finish.
p.s. He has a 2012 Nissan Z car with 20000k on the clock for sale if anyones interested.

He'll be an excited boy today  ;D

« Reply #28 on: June 17, 2016, 04:06:55 PM »

I fanged the Eco boost model in the us last year and it was a pleasure to drive. Found it hard to think it was only a 2.3 turbo?  I could only imagine the V8 will be awesome, assuming it's the newer lighter V8 not that heavy pos they fitted to the BA XR8s ?

« Reply #29 on: June 17, 2016, 07:26:17 PM »
I fanged the Eco boost model in the us last year and it was a pleasure to drive. Found it hard to think it was only a 2.3 turbo?  I could only imagine the V8 will be awesome, assuming it's the newer lighter V8 not that heavy pos they fitted to the BA XR8s ?
[/quote
Mate reckons for around $12k he can get 500kw :o :o :o

« Reply #30 on: June 17, 2016, 07:34:50 PM »
Quote from: Steffo1
Mate reckons for around $12k he can get 500kw :o :o :o
You can probably get lots more than that if you really want... but how much stress you wanna put on a tiny motor?

« Reply #31 on: June 17, 2016, 10:14:57 PM »
I drove a clients BA XR6 turbo a couple of weeks ago. Has been modded to ~430rwkW. Dangerous to say the least, 60-70kph in second gear, plant it and the rears just light up!!!! Brown pants guaranteed if you aren't ready for it. I wasn't ready for it :'(

You will hae some fun with your new beast!!!!

« Reply #32 on: June 19, 2016, 10:32:22 AM »
Needs a couple of bushes replaced and going to service the tranny and do a coolant flush. Oils and brake fulid had been changed during the Rego check (missed shock bushes though!!)

The overall condition is excellent and it Drives great. Those German Goodyear F1s are brilliant tyres?
« Last Edit: June 19, 2016, 10:35:11 AM by achjimmy »

« Reply #33 on: June 19, 2016, 11:06:46 AM »
.....and going to service the tranny.......

Get quotes first Jim, and make sure you're sitting down when they tell you the price.
Not all will service the ZF.

« Reply #34 on: June 19, 2016, 12:53:20 PM »
Thanks Geoff yeah Sussed out two $500 with genuine oil going to swap out the heat exchanger before hand too. Just use a new ford replacement . Tell you what though I'd like to take the wacker who designed the 200s Tranny for a ride in the ford and show what a tranny should change like!

« Reply #35 on: June 19, 2016, 01:01:55 PM »
That's a very good price Jim.  :cup:
Are they fitting a new pan as well? The filter is built into the pan, and isn't removable.
We had a new Ford heat exchanger fitted to ours as well.

They're a lovely transmission, but expensive when service and/or repairs are needed.

« Reply #36 on: June 27, 2016, 03:47:04 PM »
Had the tranny serviced today. All good so far. Filter and oil replaced and the mechatronic plug as it had a slight leak (I thought it might be the seal) $545 Including swapping out the heat exchanger that I supplied . 

Offline petrolburner

« Reply #37 on: June 28, 2016, 09:43:07 PM »
Congrats.

I had an FG XR6 T manual in Octane orange BC (before children) loved it though it could get a bit exciting to drive in damp conditions :) :)
Mine used to flog out diff bushes every 10,000km, other than that it was a great car and towed a 1600kg ski boat like it wasn't there :)
Whatever you do do not go with cheap rubber!! 245 wide rubber is marginal on the Turbo IMO.

Following the XR Turbo I had an E series 2 Maloo in wildfire orange, bloody hell it could handle so well for a utility, handling between the Ford and the HSV was night and day :) Both evoke a childish grin when playing with the go go pedal but the Maloo allowed you to explore the depths of its performance with more confidence ....... tagged the limiter in it a few times :)

Its such a shame to see the big boofy Aussie V8's coming to the end of their life here in Australia :(

I would like to pick up one of the last SSV Wagons in a year or two for my wife to drive around in ...... fingers crossed she is agreeable :)
Complete Campsite Fraser XTE

2013 Nissan Patrol Y62 ST-L