Author Topic: Chainsaw box using space case. Job Finished.  (Read 19449 times)

Offline Jasman

Re: Chainsaw box using space case. Job Finished.
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2014, 08:26:14 PM »
Out of interest do you guys store your saws dry or wet?

« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2014, 08:28:52 PM »
Wet

Offline CBRK

« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2014, 09:24:48 PM »
Out of interest do you guys store your saws dry or wet?

We have around 20 saws and we only keep the ones in our trucks fueled and oiled. Those on our spares shelf get drained of fuel, it prevents gumming up of the fuel delivery system. We keep them oiled regardless. When we need them they have to work, any issues off for a service for some tuning.

Manufacturers seem to change there advice from time to time.

Best advice is check your manual, it should tell you either way.

Chris

Sent from my GT-P5210 using Tapatalk

Toyota Prado (96) - 90 Series & Skamper Kamper Ranger Offroad

Mitsubishi Outlander

Offline gumboot

« Reply #28 on: April 17, 2014, 11:20:43 PM »
Stored with bar oil but drained of fuel.
Robert
2007 D4D GXL Prado
"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."

theins

Re: Chainsaw box using space case. Any thoughts?
« Reply #29 on: April 18, 2014, 10:06:09 AM »
An lcool user had them. But notice local Bunnings has the same size for $150. It won't fit anything bigger than a miniboss though.

Perfect. Got a miniboss.
Thanks,
Thomas

Offline Swaggie

« Reply #30 on: April 18, 2014, 01:55:35 PM »
Typically I carry the saw full of fuel/bar oil and another 2 full Primus 1L fuel bottles, 1 premix and 1 bar oil. I haven't yet run out of fuel/oil on a trip, however if it is an early in the year trip after tracks are open, I'll carry spare unmixed fuel and 2-stroke blend just in case. As for other bits, tools for the saw, hand file/guide, stump vice, PPE, spare chain and bar, hard bristle brush, rag. The saw will leak bar oil so put a towel down in the case before you put the saw in.

Hi mate

Yes your right it depends on the time of year, wind etc, one trip last year we copped 8 trees across the tracks in about 10kms of low 4wdriving, last one was the biggest and used the fuel, lucky there were no more downed trees as we would have had to back if we couldn't go around , depends also if your in areas that doesn't see a higher flow of traffic.

« Reply #31 on: May 06, 2014, 07:08:05 AM »
This is not how to trim a tree branch :)

Q-Ball flies high in Hemlock. Small | Large

« Reply #32 on: May 06, 2014, 07:11:18 AM »

Q-Ball flies high in Hemlock.
another great reminder about chainsaw and ladder safety. Thnx for sharing. Hope the guy was ok.

« Reply #33 on: May 06, 2014, 07:15:20 AM »
Yup, never use a saw on a ladder or over your shoulders and undercut the branch so it drops straight down.

« Reply #34 on: May 06, 2014, 07:52:59 AM »

Wow can't see that ending well.  My eBay pole saw was the best $90 I ever spent as I dint like ladders to start with.

« Reply #35 on: May 06, 2014, 11:11:04 AM »
My eBay pole saw was the best $90 I ever spent as I dint like ladders to start with.
Which one did you get Jimmy?

I've just picked up the Ryobi pole saw, because it goes with all the other ONE+ gear I have. I've only just had a quick play with it (you know, to make sure I didn't get sold a dud 8) ), but so far I'm very impressed. Certainly easier than climbing a tree, or using a manual pole saw (I'm rather lazy).

One of these babies:

Currently being tempted by the $99 Masters chainsaw still...

« Reply #36 on: May 06, 2014, 11:30:52 AM »
Wow can't see that ending well.  My eBay pole saw was the best $90 I ever spent as I dint like ladders to start with.
The Top 10 Worst Attempts at Cutting Down a Tree Small | Large
30 second mark... hows ya undies.

Chainsaw box using space case. Job Finished.
« Reply #37 on: May 06, 2014, 11:45:06 AM »
Which one did you get Jimmy?

I've just picked up the Ryobi pole saw, because it goes with all the other ONE+ gear I have. I've only just had a quick play with it (you know, to make sure I didn't get sold a dud 8) ), but so far I'm very impressed. Certainly easier than climbing a tree, or using a manual pole saw (I'm rather lazy).

Currently being tempted by the $99 Masters chainsaw still...

I got similar to this one, got motor chainsaw head. Hedger head and 4 poles for $95 wanted it for one tree done about 6 so far and all good. Typical Chinese quality but if your patient, careful and tighten a few things up its great.

« Last Edit: May 06, 2014, 11:56:15 AM by achjimmy »

« Reply #39 on: May 06, 2014, 01:12:58 PM »

« Reply #40 on: May 06, 2014, 02:27:27 PM »
I got similar to this one, got motor chainsaw head. Hedger head and 4 poles for $95 wanted it for one tree done about 6 so far and all good. Typical Chinese quality but if your patient, careful and tighten a few things up its great.
That's great buying - all that for $95.

I know appearances aren't everything, but that motor and control section look absolutely identical to my Echo weedeater.

D4D - can you angle that chainsaw head at all? Is the combi system a solid shaft drive? Looks like a great way to get a bunch of tools at an incremental investment.

« Reply #41 on: May 06, 2014, 02:50:23 PM »
Stihl combi would be my choice but I wanted to prove to my self that the hedger is any good . The agr did that as well as providing a pole saw and 4 extensions  Going forward my next tool is likely to be a kombi but it is an investment even with the great special at the time the equivalent in a Stijl package was well over $1k and I only have a few more trees to do  and then the pole saw will be redundant

« Reply #42 on: May 06, 2014, 03:16:30 PM »
Yup, never use a saw on a ladder or over your shoulders and undercut the branch so it drops straight down.

Gee I wouldn't get much work done then

« Reply #43 on: May 06, 2014, 03:17:03 PM »
D4D - can you angle that chainsaw head at all? Is the combi system a solid shaft drive? Looks like a great way to get a bunch of tools at an incremental investment.

Nope you can't angle the head and I haven't had a need to. Yep it is a solid shaft drive. I sold my Honda brushcutter to speewa and replaced it with the Stihl. I've been adding tools as required. I have the brushcutter, hedge trimmer, pole saw and extension.

« Reply #44 on: July 07, 2016, 12:20:51 PM »
Anyone with the Sthil hard case had the handle just pull out??? Mine did long ago, and had to use it on weekend and realised what a awkward bitch it is to move without a handle... Also talkin to couple of mates, theirs have too :(

So looking for a better solution - something like the Husky box where you can store the oils, files, tools and everything all in 1... Be interested to see if the Sthil fits in there.

Interesting read
https://www.chainsawjournal.com/husqvarna-powerbox-carrying-chainsaw-case/

Interesting fuel carry solution
« Last Edit: July 07, 2016, 12:24:49 PM by Bird »

Offline seenthelight

« Reply #45 on: July 07, 2016, 06:06:35 PM »
So looking for a better solution - something like the Husky box where you can store the oils, files, tools and everything all in 1... Be interested to see if the Sthil fits in there.

I have a stihl 026 and a stihl 180 both fit in this carry case (not at same time).
I find it a lot better to pack in the car as it is easy to store items on and around it.
Geoff

« Reply #46 on: July 07, 2016, 06:13:58 PM »
I have the same square box, a black Echo version, works really well. It keeps all the saw gear (fluids, sharpening, cleaning, wedges) in one place.

You still need something else to carry your PPE, you do wear PPE don't you... :)

« Reply #47 on: July 07, 2016, 09:03:33 PM »
I sthil   ;D use my space case. Although for less demanding trips I now have a demo Ryobi one 18v chainsaw care of a bunnings manager who wrote it down to $50  :cheers:

« Reply #48 on: March 03, 2017, 10:19:16 AM »
Quote from: achjimmy
Still gotta get a stump vice, new file and some gloves. But there is space left for them. Pretty happy with the result using a bit of plywood and some carpet. The foam blocks hold it snug. So far worked perfect, it was in the car all day and not a wiff of fuel till I opened it.

Cost

Space case $100
Foam nicks
200mm of the end of a bit of plywood I had $10
Carpet nicks
Screws $3
how is this setup holding up?
The divider in the spacecase, is that just sitting in place? I gotta work out a better system for my stuff

« Reply #49 on: March 03, 2017, 08:32:33 PM »
Yeah it's all good Bruce. The lid on the pre mix fuel can swelled and I had to replace it. It's done more miles than use . I reckon it's been a great decision. I came close to buying one of those e go saws at the masters clean up and moving on the mini boss but thought this hasn't failed me yet so why change?