Author Topic: Remote Control Cars  (Read 105950 times)

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
Re: Remote Control Cars
« Reply #75 on: October 27, 2013, 06:58:29 AM »

What did you get for your son?

just a $100 HPC cheapie. He is only 5 and it will let me know if he is interested enough to invest more.........

Cheers, Craig

Offline gnatsum69

« Reply #76 on: October 28, 2013, 05:03:37 PM »
hey guys if anyone is still keen on something for them selves of their kids this isn't bad on a forum site I use a lot.  I have around 50 rc cars most of them are old school Tamiya, frog, hornet, madcap, box, boomerang, super hornet, grass hopper etc etc.  these are all in display case.  The ones I use are all losi,  losi mini 8ight and mini lst2, 8ight t 2.0 brushless, losi xxl brushless and so on

Marschy

« Reply #77 on: October 28, 2013, 05:19:54 PM »
hey guys if anyone is still keen on something for them selves of their kids this isn't bad on a forum site I use a lot.  I have around 50 rc cars most of them are old school Tamiya, frog, hornet, madcap, box, boomerang, super hornet, grass hopper etc etc.  these are all in display case.  The ones I use are all losi,  losi mini 8ight and mini lst2, 8ight t 2.0 brushless, losi xxl brushless and so on
Post up a picture of your display cabinet gnatsum69.

I've seen it, and let me tell you, its freakin' awesome.

Cheers, Marschy

Offline froggy

« Reply #78 on: October 29, 2013, 06:27:57 AM »

well bugger you lot, you all cost me way too much money.

After reading through all this, I have now done something that I have wanted to do for years, I have just ordered an Axial SCX10 Rubicon Jeep. Have been tossing up between this or the Wraith and decided to go this way as there appear to be more upgrade parts readily available.

I have also picked up a cheapie for the boy to see if he is interested at all before forking out for a better one for him. At least parts for an SCX10 is cheaper than a 200  ;D

this will be my next rc vehicle, would love to find a 200 series body for one, but I think I'll just have to settle for a tundra

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #79 on: October 29, 2013, 09:02:51 AM »
this will be my next rc vehicle, would love to find a 200 series body for one, but I think I'll just have to settle for a tundra

yeah I have had no luck findiung a 200 body either. Would love the body and then build a mock up Kimberly for it to tow  8)
Cheers, Craig

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #80 on: October 29, 2013, 09:04:59 AM »
has anyone ever seen a remote controlled Amarok?  That's what I'm looking for at the moment...
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #81 on: October 29, 2013, 08:24:31 PM »
Bought my son a Traxxas Stampede 4x4 VXL for his birthday tomorrow.  Also grabbed second Lipo battery and a 12V DC charger.  He's saved for more than a year so I paid the balance.

Guys at OZ RC http://stores.ebay.com.au/OZ-RC-MODELS threw in a Lipo carry bag http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Redback-Racing-Large-Lipo-Battery-Carrying-and-Storage-Bag-OZ-RC-Models-/400500035843?pt=AU_Toys_Hobbies_Radio_Controlled_Vehicles&hash=item5d3fa99103  Didn't know such a bag existed.

Think there will be a bit of fun happening this weekend.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #82 on: October 29, 2013, 09:37:20 PM »
This thread should be BANNED ...right now ...

Jet ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #83 on: October 29, 2013, 09:50:21 PM »
well bugger you lot, you all cost me way too much money.

After reading through all this, I have now done something that I have wanted to do for years, I have just ordered an Axial SCX10 Rubicon Jeep. Have been tossing up between this or the Wraith and decided to go this way as there appear to be more upgrade parts readily available.

I have also picked up a cheapie for the boy to see if he is interested at all before forking out for a better one for him. At least parts for an SCX10 is cheaper than a 200  ;D

where from how much  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline gec

• 5.7 V8 Powered GQ Patrol
« Reply #84 on: October 30, 2013, 12:59:57 AM »
Here is one place that sells them, they are in WA but will ship Australia wide.

http://onetencrawlers.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=25&products_id=251
Ex Western Patrol Club Member, growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional.

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #85 on: October 30, 2013, 02:40:19 AM »
Axial make some great trucks.

I have the Wraith and the SCX10 Landrover. I have replaced the motor in the Rover for a 55 turn hi torque motor.

I prefer the Rover as it is more to scale.i am in the process of building a dedicated track in the old vegie garden.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #86 on: October 30, 2013, 06:39:05 AM »
Ok spent an hour last night searching the net,

looking for confirmation of advice online,

Axial SXC10 - more suited to direct rock crawling (slower more to scale)

Traxxas summit - bit more of an allrounder can do a bit of everything and a bit larger in size.

So based on this the Summit would be a good start out RC truck for the teenagers with taking it camping in mind ..Yes /No

Ta Jet ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #87 on: October 30, 2013, 08:07:24 AM »
I've got a Hyper 7.
http://rchobbies.com.au/store/images/hyper7.JPG
Had it for about 7 years, has sat in the shed for the last 4.5 years. After reading this thread I got the urge to pull it out & see if it would go.
This nitro was stored without any after-run put in it & was fully expecting it to be siezed. Well bugger me if after fitting a fresh air filter, changing batteries & charging the glow starter it ran & drove on 4.5y.o stale nitro.  It than siezed a steering servo(good metal geared HI-TECH) which I changed out & with fresh nitro, is running & driving as good as it did 4.5 years ago. Haven't even needed to tune it.
The last drive last week saw it spit a lhf drive shaft, so at the moment it's awaiting repair.
MAkes me wonder why I ever put it away in the shed all that time ago.
Below is a Hummer 9.6v I got for the boy when he was 2ish.(Alright, I got it for me.)
This thing copped a flogging, including the boy siting on it & me driving him around. Eventually it had a catastrophic front end failure & had to be reitired.

Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #88 on: October 30, 2013, 12:58:53 PM »

Traxxas summit - bit more of an allrounder can do a bit of everything and a bit larger in size.

So based on this the Summit would be a good start out RC truck for the teenagers with taking it camping in mind ..Yes /No

Ta Jet ;D ;D

I was also tossing between SCX10 and the Summit. There are a few videos on youtube that compare the solid axles of the axials to the independant of the summit. Type in Wraith vs Summit and see how many come up. Basically what I got out of it all is that the Axials were a good base for crawling, and there were others that were great for high speed. The Summit was sort of half way between. A jack of all and master of none type of thing if that makes sense. It was the upright springs/shocks of the solid axle jobbies that made it more suitable for crawling and less stable at higher speeds......bit like the real things actually. I had a mate that had the Summit, and after going through the online stuff, some of the issues he used to have with it rang true.

Anyway, because I was more interested in crawling and the scale look, that was what swayed me to the SCX10.........I am yet to drive it though to confirm all my worldly, unexperienced theories though  ;D

I will give you some details of where I got the Wrangler when I get home and check  ??? It was through an ebay store based in Brissy and was $500. I will get the store details for you this arvo. Work PC does not like ebay  ;D
« Last Edit: October 30, 2013, 01:01:49 PM by cm4x4nut »
Cheers, Craig

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #89 on: October 30, 2013, 04:45:24 PM »

Ta Jet ;D ;D

Rock Crawlers seem to be appreciated to the older crowd. Where as the faster ones the can go fast and jump seem to attract the younger crowd.

My kid hates the crawler, but loves the fast one. The same with a mates kids. They don't see the attraction to the crawler. To slow they reckon.

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #90 on: October 31, 2013, 08:18:26 AM »
The wrangler came from;

Mild to Wild RC at Arana Hills Qld

I can not recomend them yet as I have not had any real dealings with them. I am going to phone them today to find out about batteries and chargers, so I will let you know what I think of their customer service.
Cheers, Craig

« Reply #91 on: October 31, 2013, 08:24:20 AM »
My kid hates the crawler, but loves the fast one. The same with a mates kids. They don't see the attraction to the crawler. To slow they reckon.

I agree with the kids on that one  ;D

Shane.

« Reply #92 on: October 31, 2013, 10:32:40 AM »
My son was really excited to get his Traxxas Stampede 4x4 VXL last night for his birthday.  Set the speed control to learner which is half speed to run it in and gave it a blast this morning.  Wow.  It is quick.  Can't wait to give it a go at full throttle.  And that's with just a 2 cell Lipo.  A 3 cell will give it a speed of 100kph plus.  Our back yard is just not big enough.  Will take it to Gordon Country tomorrow as the battery charger works off 12VDC as well.  Look out campers.

« Reply #93 on: October 31, 2013, 10:46:35 AM »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fY15NyDG3Jg

Doesn't right, (should be a nitro car ;D ) but holy crap it's fast.

Shane.

Offline Danr

« Reply #94 on: October 31, 2013, 12:37:19 PM »
Where do I get that tundra from I want it!!

And yes I think this thread should be closed can see it costing me money!!   

Offline ewoksta

« Reply #95 on: October 31, 2013, 01:11:57 PM »
Reading through all of these posts, I reckon I will pull my old RC 10 graphite out of the shed and see if it still runs. Fried the battery connector last time I used it so will have to do some repairs prior. I remember it was fast 20 odd years ago when I bought it. Probably a learners car now with the speeds you guys are talking about!!

Andrew
07 Dual Cab Navara
2012 Central Coast camper "Show Special"

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #96 on: October 31, 2013, 03:06:04 PM »
The wrangler came from;

Mild to Wild RC at Arana Hills Qld

I can not recomend them yet as I have not had any real dealings with them. I am going to phone them today to find out about batteries and chargers, so I will let you know what I think of their customer service.

Well, happy with the service that I got from them. They also chased down battery dimensions looking for additional batteries for the boys truck......even though it was not one of theirs and bought from someone else.

It seamed like no bull advice I got from them, even down the path of asking what I wanted to do with the truck and if there were any future mods planned so we could accomodate it now rather than spending the coin twice.

Based on the little dealing I have had, I could recomend this mob
Cheers, Craig

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #97 on: October 31, 2013, 04:08:35 PM »
I have the axial sc10 ute version for my 12 year old.  First foray into decent rc cars.  Spent plenty in the past just to see them destroyed or fail.  Had the axial for 6 months boy loves it , especially camping

Have had a couple of screws come loose but spare parts keep it running. Have a few friends come over with fast cars, interesting that the kids like each others cars, but the speed thing convinced me to trial the rock crawler with the boy first, control vs damage

I might get to play with the crawler occasionally as well, and its silver like my ute, so has the relationship between what dad drives and what the crawler does
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #98 on: October 31, 2013, 05:41:36 PM »
Well, happy with the service that I got from them. They also chased down battery dimensions looking for additional batteries for the boys truck......even though it was not one of theirs and bought from someone else.

It seamed like no bull advice I got from them, even down the path of asking what I wanted to do with the truck and if there were any future mods planned so we could accomodate it now rather than spending the coin twice.

Based on the little dealing I have had, I could recomend this mob

Mild to Wild are great. I have brought a total of 4 trucks of them. They seem cheaper than places like Hobyrama just down the road from Bunnings in Stafford.

I have had custom,work done by them. It took a few ,months, but that was,waiting for parts.

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

« Reply #99 on: October 31, 2013, 08:22:15 PM »
As the Stampede is too fast for my son, I was looking at one of these, any thoughts?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/171159398177