Author Topic: Care Packages to OUR Troops overseas this Christmas?  (Read 13933 times)

Offline Stozz

• The Driver, The Nav and The Dog
Re: Care Packages to OUR Troops overseas this Christmas?
« Reply #25 on: December 05, 2011, 07:13:30 PM »
Hi Amanda,

I checked with my local Post Office when I bought the boxes. They are the size they recommend and each one is just under 2kg (I weighted them very carefully as I added each treat!)  which means free postage for all of them - I've filled in all the Customs Declarations so it's just drop and go at the P.O.

I hope they get shared around and make the day of a few of the crew. I am sure the magazines will all do the rounds.

Before I made the boxes up we had baskets on the floor with all the goodies in them.  I caught our dog one morning at 4am gently lifting one of the dog chew-toys out of the basket.  Busted big time  :o.  I think he thought it was for him - amazing how they know.

Offline funnyfarm

« Reply #26 on: December 06, 2011, 06:26:55 PM »
Sent 3 off the other day. The kids wrote notes to them and wrote them a christmas card with a drawing. They love the idea of it and i love the idea and what my children are getting out of it  :cup:

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #27 on: December 07, 2011, 08:37:37 AM »
Stozz,

Nice work on the care packages! You can be content in knowing that you have cheered up the christmas of a fair few soldiers!

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline Boo Boo

« Reply #28 on: December 08, 2011, 03:13:19 PM »
Well yogi and I have now sent a total of 11 packages - 3 x EDD, 2 x female and 6 x male.

Hopefully the soldiers will find some joy and cheer being away from family.

Cheers Amanda

Offline welchygq

• "I came, I saw, I locked the hubs"
« Reply #29 on: December 17, 2011, 11:35:34 AM »
Small | Large

Offline ranger_ant

« Reply #30 on: December 25, 2011, 07:28:33 AM »
Hi Guys and Girls,

I know I'm a little bit late for this post, but there is a reason for that. I am a serving member of the Army, and have only just returned back from Afghanistan 3 days ago. I am one of the lucky ones that will spend xmas ith my family, but I have left alot of mates behind that will continue to do a great job over there.

I can tell you right now from personal experience that the care packages that we do recieve are welcomed with open arms. Although they come from a random stranger, I know that they put a smile on most peoples faces there, and we do enjoy recieving them.

I would like to say a big thank you on behalf of all deployed Members, and I wish you all a very merry xmas.

2010 Ford Ranger Dual Cab with all the bits
2009 Challenge Walk-in Deluxe

Offline Stozz

« Reply #31 on: December 25, 2011, 09:26:05 AM »
I am a serving member of the Army, and have only just returned back from Afghanistan 3 days ago. I am one of the lucky ones that will spend xmas ith my family, but I have left alot of mates behind that will continue to do a great job over there.

Merry Christmas ranger_ant and welcome home  :cheers:

Offline Boo Boo

« Reply #32 on: December 25, 2011, 04:47:47 PM »
Just thought I'd check the email and didn't really expect any messages.  There was an email that arrived today from a Captain in Afghanistan who received one of our packages to say thanks and that they were enjoying the items sent.

Amanda

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #33 on: December 25, 2011, 07:38:11 PM »
Ranger Ant

Welcome home Digger! Thank you for all you efforts both here and abroad. Enjoy the time at home with your family!

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline Stozz

How and where to send Care Packages to our Troops overseas for Christmas 2012
« Reply #34 on: October 27, 2012, 04:29:18 PM »
    How and where to send Care Packages to our Troops overseas for Christmas 2012

Hi everyone

Here are the details for 2012.  There are a few options noted below.

If you want to send your own package then it is free to post if you send in an Australia Post "BM" size box (it's about $2 to buy the box).

Supporting our troops at Christmas

EMAIL

Families and members of the public who would like to show their support to our troops serving overseas during the Christmas period can send a message to messagestothetroops@defence.gov.au

“Messages of support received at this email address are circulated widely amongst the Forces,” said Major Glyn Lofthouse from the Defence Community Organisation.

DONATE TO RSL  - THEY PREPARE CARE PACKAGES

“Sending an email is the fastest way of getting your message out there, but if you would like to send a care package the best thing to do is make a donation to the RSL Australian Forces Overseas Fund,” said Major Lofthouse.

Under this fund, the RSL prepares care packages that are dispatched twice each year to Defence, Australian Federal Police and other government agency personnel deployed on operations.

“The RSL Australian Forces Overseas Fund is supported through public donations, and the packages they prepare contain Anzac biscuits, peanuts, muesli bars, lollies, a letter of appreciation on behalf of all Australians, and RSL membership contact details,” explained Major Lofthouse.

“Importantly, these packs are professionally prepared and meet all Defence and host nation transport and import requirements.”

Donations to the RSL Australian Forces Overseas Fund can be made at www.rsl.org.au

Those who would prefer to help out personnel who have been seriously wounded or families who are suffering financially or socially after the death of a spouse or a parent can contact Soldier On or Legacy to make a donation.

Make your own Christmas care packages

From 22 October through until 07 December, Defence is operating a specific post office box address that anyone can use to post letters, cards and small care packages to overseas troops. Defence will fund the cost of mailing these items, up to a maximum weight of 2kg.

“If you’d like to send something to the troops using this PO box address, we ask that you ensure that the parcels are gender-neutral and addressed to ‘An Australian Defence Force Member’ rather than an individual person or unit,” said Major Lofthouse.

“This is so that we can distribute the packages fairly across our troops,” he explained.

Australian forces post office box details

Please address all parcels and letters to:

An Australian Defence Member
    AFPO 60
    Australian Defence Force  NSW  2890

Defence will fund the cost of mailing these items to a maximum weight of 2kg.

Important information

* For postal security reasons, senders will need to present a photographic identification
    * Parcels weighing up to a cubed weight of two kilograms (in a ‘BM’-sized Australia Post carton) are subsidised by Defence and can be sent free of charge.
    * For parcels exceeding this limit, the full cost will be paid by the sender.
    * Articles must be packed in durable packaging, which is suitably secured, to withstand a large volume of weight and handling. Due to the long transit time and varying climactic conditions throughout the supply chain, perishable food cannot be accepted.
    * Care package items most appreciated include uniquely Australian treats such as lollies, magazines, books and DVDs. Please note; some items such as alcohol, women’s magazines or other types of publications can cause offence in some locations and, as with all mail, is subject to border security. Senders should check the Australia Post website (www.auspost.com.au) to make sure they’re not sending anything that might cause problems.
    * Some items will not be sent, including cigarettes, alcohol, perfumery products and pornography. For more details, visit the Australia Post website and read their International Post Guide.
    * Due to strict care requirements, relating to both their diet and their training programs, Defence cannot accept care packages for Military Working Dogs or Explosive Detection Dogs. :-[
    * Packages containing perishable goods will not be sent.
    * Donations must be submitted to an Australia Post outlet by the cut-off date of 07 December.
    * Groups or organisations wishing to make bulk donations should contact 02 6266 7515 for further information
    [/list]
    « Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 10:41:57 AM by Stozz »

Offline Tom

« Reply #35 on: October 27, 2012, 06:20:36 PM »
    Greast post and work.I had never heard of this.
    Our family is in,now to work out what to send.
    We could do with some ideas as we are not up to date with what is wanted needed by the age group.
    Whats classed as perishable goods?
    Titch

Offline Patt31

• James and Patsyannes big aussie adventure
    « Reply #36 on: October 27, 2012, 10:46:53 PM »
    will see if I can get work to send it out in our next internal newsletter, got about 2,000 people in our brissie offices and 22,000 nationally :) alot of ex servicemen too

The troops do a fantastic job, will get a pack together and get it off. :)

Test driving early retirement - every chance we get :)

Toyota Landcruiser with extras, cape york hard floor camper trailer...

Offline Stozz

« Reply #37 on: October 27, 2012, 10:53:08 PM »
    Greast post and work.I had never heard of this.
    Our family is in,now to work out what to send.
    We could do with some ideas as we are not up to date with what is wanted needed by the age group.
    Whats classed as perishable goods?
    Titch

Hi Titch, if you go back to the start of this thread a few people posted some really helpful lists of what is suitable and what they like.  Please note that some things have changed from 2011 and now you can't send gender-specific packages or anything for the dogs.  But everything is gratefully received.  We received some great replies about 7 months later - when they got home, we assume.

We sent heaps of our camper trailer, fishing and 4wd mags and DVDs as well as lollies, lip balm, nuts, sultanas, cards, notebooks, soduko, recent newspaper headlines/articles/cuttings, toiletries etc.
    « Last Edit: October 27, 2012, 10:58:06 PM by Stozz »

Offline Tom

« Reply #38 on: October 28, 2012, 08:08:01 AM »
    Thanks mate,the fruitcake threw me ,
    cheers.
    Titch

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
    « Reply #39 on: October 29, 2012, 12:20:46 AM »
    Hi Swaggers,

I just want to say that this idea that you have is brilliant!! I am currently in Afghanistan myself as an Engineer, sorry I can't give details as to what I am doing, however, it doesn't matter what is in the parcel that you send, it is definately the thought that counts. I work in a small group of guys and we have recieved parcels before just addressed "To Australian Soldier' and we all enjoyed what was inside.

You may not recieve a reply from whoever gets the parcel, but be sure that you have at least made someone happy!! Like they say 'Any Mail Is Good Mail!!'

Thanks to those Swaggers that have supplied these parcels, hopefully we can make this a yearly event for all swaggers to send just one parcel!?

I will be home before Chrissy this year and I can't wait to see my family!! Thanks for all your time and effort!!

:cup: :cup: :cup:

:cheers: and I can't wait to have a beer!!

Offline Tom

« Reply #40 on: October 29, 2012, 05:30:58 AM »
    Stay safe mate :cheers:

« Reply #41 on: October 29, 2012, 06:10:21 AM »

« Reply #42 on: October 29, 2012, 06:35:51 AM »
    There was an article in yesterdays paper that said not to wrap anything in christmas paper due to cultural sensitivities. Also as mentioned above no parcels this year for dogs

Offline StrvnMrvn

« Reply #43 on: October 29, 2012, 03:12:33 PM »
    Hi Swaggers,

Thanks for the support. Looking forward to getting home and having a beer!!

Offline Tom

« Reply #44 on: October 29, 2012, 07:29:31 PM »
    I have linked this post  and copied some of it to the Australian Babeque Forum.http://www.aussiebbq.info/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=8058
    If anyone objects I am happy to delete it.
    Most was the Govt information
    Titch

Offline Stozz

« Reply #45 on: October 29, 2012, 08:14:38 PM »
    Spread the word and share the love. That's my view.  :cheers:

Offline Boo Boo

« Reply #46 on: October 30, 2012, 01:11:45 PM »
    Yogi and I sent numerous boxes last year and received replies from the various areas.  Last year we did send boxes to the EDD unit and received a great letter from the Unit with photos attached of the dogs.

Offline Tom

« Reply #47 on: October 31, 2012, 02:27:15 PM »
    Me the pest again.
    Would the troops want camping/4wd books that may be A year old?
    I have a few sources at work.
    Titch

Offline StrvnMrvn

« Reply #48 on: October 31, 2012, 03:51:01 PM »
    Hey guys,

Yeah send as many as you can!! We normally only get street machine or hot rob mags, which are pretty boring unless your a young soldier looking at spending all your money on cars!!

Offline Tom

« Reply #49 on: October 31, 2012, 03:57:18 PM »
    Cheers mate.
    Titch