Author Topic: The tightarse thread  (Read 29041 times)

Offline Humbolt

Re: The tightarse thread
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2011, 09:18:40 PM »
When i was 14, we used a Nutra-Grain packet for a head gasket on a 69 model KX125.
C'mon, I was 14.............
Also makes me think about the guys who drive the streets and cut the electrical cords off anything in the street that is waiting for the 'hard rubbish collection'

« Reply #26 on: February 10, 2011, 06:19:42 AM »
Now its not tightarse thats recycling  there is a differance to it all . If your out roadside shopping in the long green ile  thats putting to good use things that have been offered to you . Thats not tightarse as its costing you to drive around ,   but of your on foot , differant story .

« Reply #27 on: February 10, 2011, 09:43:53 AM »
My mum wins this competition hands down!!!

Every year for birthdays and christmas we get presents that she pulls out of her cupboard or acquires.  Some examples:

- She was a school teacher and one of her students gave her a potpourri thing - she then gave that to my wife for christmas (it still had the little card on it to my mum)
- My wife also recevied an address book - with addresses already in it
- My sister in law recevied one of those toilitries bags you get on airlines (Malaysian)
- My sister received a print (picture) and it was so ugly she gave it back, so the next year she framed it and gave it to my brother.
- She gave my brother and sister in law one towel (for the both of them)
- She gave my sister in laws mother two hand towels which had peg markings on them (out of the cupboard, washed, then wrapped)
- She gave my son a book - straight out of her bookcase

I could write a book about her tightarse ways!!!

Offline torsion

« Reply #28 on: February 10, 2011, 11:54:16 AM »
Tight arse's or Scab's?
What I just read 80% was scab related.

One day they will make a drug to cure you Tight arse's - you have a disease....   

Offline Flemo

« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2011, 12:12:38 PM »
My father inlaw has a garage full of stuff from the now defunct WA Salvage he bought about 5 years ago. Does not use any of it just bought it because it was cheap the tight old prick. For example tents, camping chairs, garden chairs etc. "I bought 4 fold out camp chairs from WA Salvage for $3.95 each". But you dont go camping mate! "yea but for that price I had to buy them". Actually he is a nightmare combination of hoarder and tightarse....

« Reply #30 on: February 10, 2011, 01:05:04 PM »

I'm a member of the Cheap Skates Club.

Thousands of great ways to save money, recycle things, re-gift (like that mum up there), make better use of time and did I mention save money?  Nothing more fulfilling than making your own washing powder or removing nasty household chemicals from your life.

« Reply #31 on: February 10, 2011, 02:12:43 PM »
If you need any more info on this Google 'Tight Arses' There is heaps of stuff  8)

Offline garbage

« Reply #32 on: February 10, 2011, 02:29:56 PM »
If you need any more info on this Google 'Tight Arses' There is heaps of stuff  8)

Not sure that's something I should do while I'm at work :D

Offline Humbolt

« Reply #33 on: February 10, 2011, 02:47:08 PM »
Not sure that's something I should do while I'm at work :D

GOLD!! :cup:

« Reply #34 on: February 10, 2011, 06:50:41 PM »
I would readly  join Tightarse but its costing way to much for me  .  :cheers:

« Reply #35 on: February 10, 2011, 07:26:07 PM »
When i was 14, we used a Nutra-Grain packet for a head gasket on a 69 model KX125.
C'mon, I was 14.............

Hey, I was in my twenty's(Late 80's) and used a cereal box cardboard plenty of times on my IT 465 81 model.
I can still be as tight as a fish's bum at times

Offline Crimso

« Reply #36 on: February 10, 2011, 07:44:31 PM »
Hey thanks folks, I'm picking up some good ideas here. :cup:
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/19406-2/Burrum+Camp.jpg

« Reply #37 on: February 10, 2011, 07:58:26 PM »
Hey, I was in my twenty's(Late 80's) and used a cereal box cardboard plenty of times on my IT 465 81 model.
I can still be as tight as a fish's bum at times

Hairs, you realy realy should not make ANY reference to "Fish's Bum" - besides you spelt it wrong!!!!!

« Reply #38 on: February 10, 2011, 08:03:54 PM »
Hairs, you realy realy should not make ANY reference to "Fish's Bum" - besides you spelt it wrong!!!!!

hahahhahahhaha

« Reply #39 on: February 10, 2011, 08:04:57 PM »

Here's some brownie points for me, And it's still tight, oops. :D
Did I say that

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #40 on: February 10, 2011, 10:14:27 PM »
My father inlaw has a garage full of stuff from the now defunct WA Salvage he bought about 5 years ago. Does not use any of it just bought it because it was cheap the tight old prick. For example tents, camping chairs, garden chairs etc. "I bought 4 fold out camp chairs from WA Salvage for $3.95 each". But you dont go camping mate! "yea but for that price I had to buy them". Actually he is a nightmare combination of hoarder and tightarse....

that's 'cos he's a yorkshireman. they're like that over there...
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

Offline POD

• Just get out there!
« Reply #41 on: February 11, 2011, 11:26:40 AM »
OK...

I knew a guy who knew a guy...

Who, when he wanted window tinting for his car was so shocked at the price that he decided to go to the newsagent, buy some dark cellophane and sticky-taped it to his car windows!!!

"Never trust an internet quote." - Thomas Jefferson

Offline medion

• My Camper Buildup
« Reply #42 on: February 11, 2011, 11:53:13 AM »
Speaking of tight arses, my wife once recieved a butter dish with the butter still in it for Xmas :(
Dion
Jackaroo SWB
Oztrail Camper 7 buildup

jackosaurus

« Reply #43 on: February 15, 2011, 11:01:19 PM »
!
« Last Edit: August 12, 2015, 10:52:35 PM by jackosaurus »

Offline prlamb

« Reply #44 on: February 16, 2011, 04:36:06 AM »
Years ago A friend worked in WA at a mine site and stayed at a camp for the days they were there, he always tells me of the guy to cheap to buy pegs.

Story goes something like this, there are 2 types of people that worked at these places, 1. people who were saving for something big (an investment to get out of doing what they were doing like saving for a business), 2. those who were saving for there next days off (save up while at work then blow it all on there days off)

old mate was the number 1 type, he owned 2 sets of clothes, both sets consisted of a singlet and a pair of stubbies (shorts). The first set was his work set which he would wear for a week straight, the second set is what he would wear after work around the camp. come washing day he would wash both sets and wear his towl around camp, to dry them he would lay them over a small  shrub outside his room, he wouldnt use the clothes line caus he was to tight to buy pegs. LOL

Another story of tight ass is, a guy i knew went to the philipines all the time for a holiday as it was so cheap to go there and cheap whilst you were there, at the shops in the philipines after doing your grocery shopping, there would be peasents selling plastic shopping bags for 2 cents so as to get an income. he would take his own plastic shopping bags with him from Australia so he didnt have to buy them. Unbelievable!!!!!
« Last Edit: February 16, 2011, 11:29:41 PM by prlamb »

« Reply #45 on: February 17, 2011, 08:08:01 PM »
When we lived in Armidale [NSW], I worked with a lady who never used any form of heating in the winter, she issued blankets for anyone silly enough to visit. She & her husband used to travel to their parents places in Inverell [suitably warmed] every weekend & returned home with bags & bags of oranges etc [whatever they were given by their parents] which was all that they ate for the next week.

However, they did pay off their house in just over 3 years...

« Reply #46 on: February 17, 2011, 08:10:53 PM »
Hem, 
I wouldn't call that "living".

Offline morgue

« Reply #47 on: February 18, 2011, 07:50:47 PM »
When i was working for the flying rat, we had a bloke, who will remain nameless, use to come into work 1 hour before shift start and have a shower, then have a shower after shift...just for kicks he use to after shift walk around the terminal and go through the bins for aluminimum cans...this bloke holds the record for O/T  ...8 weeks straight of 7 day double shifts, slept in his car,before the supervisor found out, made 140k in one year and still took showers and went through the bins...married 3 times..says something!

« Reply #48 on: February 18, 2011, 08:21:46 PM »
Morgue, given the sleeping in car and showering at work I recon the Missus might've already turfed him.

Offline KevRM

« Reply #49 on: February 18, 2011, 09:35:43 PM »
Not wrong, turfed is an understatement,  ???
KEV & RUTH