General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Kiwijohn on July 22, 2014, 09:19:49 PM

Title: Torch Envy
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 22, 2014, 09:19:49 PM
Was camping a couple of weekends ago and a friend had a Dolphin Led torch. I love my "old" dolphins as they take a pounding - have even tied one a couple of meters under water to the anchor when I used to dive - but this leaves them for dead.

Before I go out there and buy one what else is out there, some requirements
- needs to be able to hammer in a nail
- cheap (eg. $25 or so) - I generally leave one behind every year or so.
- light
- 100 lumens
- water proof or close to it
- floats

Don't get me wrong I have my small led torches that I use around the camp site but I also like to have an all purpose one to use when fishing, boating, spotting for wild life etc.

On a side note any negatives of the Led compared to the "old" ones?

John

Title: Re: Torch Envy
Post by: Aaron Schubert on July 23, 2014, 08:16:05 AM
Get one off eBay with the Cree LED's that uses 2 18650 batteries. They are rechargeable, and insanely bright, and about $25

Post by: speewa158 on July 23, 2014, 08:22:13 AM
l use a bike torch  LED & it takes 3 AAA batteries , slips vin the pocket easily ,nice & bright    :cheers:
Post by: Patr80l on July 23, 2014, 10:10:36 AM
Was camping a couple of weekends ago and a friend had a Dolphin Led torch. I love my "old" dolphins as they take a pounding - have even tied one a couple of meters under water to the anchor when I used to dive - but this leaves them for dead.

- light
- 100 lumens
- water proof or close to it

Don't get me wrong I have my small led torches that I use around the camp site but I also like to have an all purpose one to use when fishing, boating, spotting for wild life etc.

On a side note any negatives of the Led compared to the "old" ones?

John

Hammer torch??
http://www.magnamail.com.au/emergency-hammer.html?gclid=CNaThcCS2r8CFcQHvAodr0cABA (http://www.magnamail.com.au/emergency-hammer.html?gclid=CNaThcCS2r8CFcQHvAodr0cABA)

Jack of all trades, master of none.   
Post by: muzza01 on July 23, 2014, 10:26:28 AM
Bat torch. For sorting out noisy campers.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Flashlight-3-Mode-CREE-Q5-Baseball-Bat-Shape-LED-Security-Torch-Lamp-Light-smar-/291142258205?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item43c96e4e1d&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Flashlight-3-Mode-CREE-Q5-Baseball-Bat-Shape-LED-Security-Torch-Lamp-Light-smar-/291142258205?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item43c96e4e1d&_uhb=1)

(http://img.diytrade.com/cdimg/1996748/31292235/0/1355118914/Cree_LED_Baseball_Bat_Flashlight.jpg)
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 23, 2014, 07:38:02 PM
Bat torch. For sorting out noisy campers.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Flashlight-3-Mode-CREE-Q5-Baseball-Bat-Shape-LED-Security-Torch-Lamp-Light-smar-/291142258205?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item43c96e4e1d&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Flashlight-3-Mode-CREE-Q5-Baseball-Bat-Shape-LED-Security-Torch-Lamp-Light-smar-/291142258205?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item43c96e4e1d&_uhb=1)

(http://img.diytrade.com/cdimg/1996748/31292235/0/1355118914/Cree_LED_Baseball_Bat_Flashlight.jpg)

Does it count as a weapon if the police search your car?
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 23, 2014, 07:43:44 PM
Get one off eBay with the Cree LED's that uses 2 18650 batteries. They are rechargeable, and insanely bright, and about $25

Aaron - can you post a link, have searched Cree led on eBay and get a lot of results
Post by: Steffo1 on July 23, 2014, 07:52:38 PM
I 've got several older Dolphin torches & they're more than enough for my uses. I mean, really, how far do you need to see with a torch, not counting "Bragging Rights"?
Post by: marvellous_matt on July 23, 2014, 08:09:23 PM
I have not had a hand torch in quite a while, there is a old mag light by the back door but that for banging burglars on the head not putting the bins out. I cant think of any job that is easier doing it one handed, except for shining a light in hard to reach underbonnet places, and a dolphin is usually a bit big for that anyway

I was working somewhere that sold LED Lenser (a brand name, expensive though good Quality) so I have a number of these, I did purchase a number of these style for my sister and her partner
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1800LM-Zoomable-CREE-XM-L-XML-T6-LED-18650-HeadLamp-Torch-HeadLight-Rechargeable-/131161675509?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item1e89d856f5&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1800LM-Zoomable-CREE-XM-L-XML-T6-LED-18650-HeadLamp-Torch-HeadLight-Rechargeable-/131161675509?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item1e89d856f5&_uhb=1) and we were all impressed at the quality and performance. Its always a bit of a gamble getting things sight unseen from OS, however most people have pretty good stories. Usually through ebay the Chinese sellers will go a fair way to keep their 100% feedback rating(in my experience) You could look at LED lenser products in your local shops (lots of tool stores nowdays) however they will be 4 to 5 time the price for similar ebay bargains.

I think you will find that the light from a CREE led is very different to what you have had from a dolphin torch. To my way of thinking it is a bit like cleaning your Glasses (or sunglasses) when they have unknowing become grotty and being surprised that everything is easy to see again.

I think that taking a small gamble of $20 or so on any of the ebay torches or head torches will give you an idea about if they are the right thing for you. Be sure to let us know how you go.

Post by: Kiwijohn on July 23, 2014, 08:32:08 PM
I 've got several older Dolphin torches & they're more than enough for my uses. I mean, really, how far do you need to see with a torch, not counting "Bragging Rights"?
Agree - the old dolphins are great and will still have a couple of these lying around. We were using his for spotting wildlife in the trees around and I couldn't believe the distance it got - had the thought that it might be good to use when trying to spot all the tinnies sitting in the channel at night with no lights but that's for another forum.
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 23, 2014, 08:43:01 PM
I have not had a hand torch in quite a while, there is a old mag light by the back door but that for banging burglars on the head not putting the bins out. I cant think of any job that is easier doing it one handed, except for shining a light in hard to reach underbonnet places, and a dolphin is usually a bit big for that anyway

I was working somewhere that sold LED Lenser (a brand name, expensive though good Quality) so I have a number of these, I did purchase a number of these style for my sister and her partner
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1800LM-Zoomable-CREE-XM-L-XML-T6-LED-18650-HeadLamp-Torch-HeadLight-Rechargeable-/131161675509?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item1e89d856f5&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1800LM-Zoomable-CREE-XM-L-XML-T6-LED-18650-HeadLamp-Torch-HeadLight-Rechargeable-/131161675509?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item1e89d856f5&_uhb=1) and we were all impressed at the quality and performance. Its always a bit of a gamble getting things sight unseen from OS, however most people have pretty good stories. Usually through ebay the Chinese sellers will go a fair way to keep their 100% feedback rating(in my experience) You could look at LED lenser products in your local shops (lots of tool stores nowdays) however they will be 4 to 5 time the price for similar ebay bargains.

I think you will find that the light from a CREE led is very different to what you have had from a dolphin torch. To my way of thinking it is a bit like cleaning your Glasses (or sunglasses) when they have unknowing become grotty and being surprised that everything is easy to see again.

I think that taking a small gamble of $20 or so on any of the ebay torches or head torches will give you an idea about if they are the right thing for you. Be sure to let us know how you go.

They look like a great headlamp - might have to get one when one of mine gives out.

I see the Dolphins use luxeon LEDs, how do these compare to CREE?

Post by: Kiwijohn on July 23, 2014, 08:44:30 PM
Just added new requirement - floats.

When fishing they always seem to end up in the water :)
Post by: Jakster1 on July 23, 2014, 08:58:03 PM
Cool! I didnt even know that dolphin LED torches existed until now and I think I will go out and get one to replace my old dolphin.
I mainly use my rechargeable LED Lensor torches as they are insanely bright but are also dimmable and have adjustable beam ($$$)
But I have a soft spot for the dolphins and still have one that getS used on occasion.
They're big, easy to spot or find in the dark, can take a fair beating and don't mind getting wet. Good for camping and boating!
On a side note I find LED head torches the best for wildlife spotting as it reflects the critters eyes straight back at your face which you don't get with the handhelds.
Makes spotting too easy
Post by: achjimmy on July 23, 2014, 09:27:06 PM

Com on Steffo . I dream of one of these, just can't justify it.

Post by: MrEMan on July 23, 2014, 09:43:51 PM
Won't be any good as a hammer but ticks all the other boxes.
2000 Lumen
AAA Battery
500 meter range
Shock Resistant
Free delivery
NOT ebay
$7.11 US
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Aluminum-Zoomable-tactical-LED-Flashlight-1X-CREE-XM-L-T6-LED-5-switch-modes/1787472814.html (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Aluminum-Zoomable-tactical-LED-Flashlight-1X-CREE-XM-L-T6-LED-5-switch-modes/1787472814.html)
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on July 23, 2014, 09:53:45 PM
i have a few different ones, we do a bit of mountain bike riding at night around here and the best one I have is my nite light ( www.nitelights.com.au (http://www.nitelights.com.au) ).
Extremely bright
3 different settings
Great for those night time shots where you need to light up a tree or something in the background.

(http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/cc353/woolgoolgaoffroad/IMG_1446.jpg) (http://s527.photobucket.com/user/woolgoolgaoffroad/media/IMG_1446.jpg.html)
Post by: Landyline on July 23, 2014, 10:15:42 PM
You might also be able to buy LED replacement bulbs for your existing Dolphin torches.
Post by: chisel on July 23, 2014, 10:25:51 PM

Well I dunno about the other requirements but you can often get 2D or 3D LED maglites on sale for around $30.  They will hammer the nail in and come back for more.
Post by: paceman on July 24, 2014, 08:36:41 AM
You might also be able to buy LED replacement bulbs for your existing Dolphin torches.

here's a xenon bulb replacement:

http://www.bunnings.com.au/energizer-6v-xenon-torch-globe-_p4410258 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/energizer-6v-xenon-torch-globe-_p4410258)

i guess when a brand new led dolphin torch costs $23, maybe not worth the hassle?

http://www.bunnings.com.au/eveready-6v-waterproof-led-dolphin-torch_p4410450 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/eveready-6v-waterproof-led-dolphin-torch_p4410450)
Post by: Beachman on July 24, 2014, 09:02:41 AM
I might look into a new dolphin LED as I like the waterproof part especially when in the boat.

I have a couple of small LED’s from Hong Kong and I love them as they are super bright, but seeing they are so small I can never remember which pocket I left them in. 

This was best of both worlds as for $23 is a cheap reliable torch. 
Post by: nab on July 24, 2014, 12:16:01 PM
Hard to beat the LED Dolphin torches, $23 at the green shed is hard to beat!
Post by: Aaron Schubert on July 24, 2014, 07:43:06 PM
I found one on eBay - a Cree XML T6. Mine has two batteries, and is seriously bright.

Something like this - http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/High-quality-2000-Lm-CREE-XML-T6-LED-Zoom-Flashlight-2x18650-Battery-Car-Charger-/321413369922?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item4ad5bad042&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/High-quality-2000-Lm-CREE-XML-T6-LED-Zoom-Flashlight-2x18650-Battery-Car-Charger-/321413369922?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Lamps_Torches&hash=item4ad5bad042&_uhb=1)

Post by: Kiwijohn on July 24, 2014, 07:52:34 PM
here's a xenon bulb replacement:

http://www.bunnings.com.au/energizer-6v-xenon-torch-globe-_p4410258 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/energizer-6v-xenon-torch-globe-_p4410258)

i guess when a brand new led dolphin torch costs $23, maybe not worth the hassle?

http://www.bunnings.com.au/eveready-6v-waterproof-led-dolphin-torch_p4410450 (http://www.bunnings.com.au/eveready-6v-waterproof-led-dolphin-torch_p4410450)

Paceman - these are the standard bulbs not LED, I couldn't find a LED replacement
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 24, 2014, 07:55:03 PM
i have a few different ones, we do a bit of mountain bike riding at night around here and the best one I have is my nite light ( www.nitelights.com.au (http://www.nitelights.com.au) ).
Extremely bright
3 different settings
Great for those night time shots where you need to light up a tree or something in the background.

(http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/cc353/woolgoolgaoffroad/IMG_1446.jpg) (http://s527.photobucket.com/user/woolgoolgaoffroad/media/IMG_1446.jpg.html)

Looks like a great light but a bit out of my price range, I would be scared to let the kids have it
Post by: Hoyks on July 24, 2014, 08:02:34 PM
I got a LED bulb for my 16 year old re-chargeable Dolphin at BigW.

It would be about as bright as the standard Xeon bulb, but lasts for days on the battery.
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 24, 2014, 08:04:10 PM
Won't be any good as a hammer but ticks all the other boxes.
2000 Lumen
AAA Battery
500 meter range
Shock Resistant
Free delivery
NOT ebay
$7.11 US
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Aluminum-Zoomable-tactical-LED-Flashlight-1X-CREE-XM-L-T6-LED-5-switch-modes/1787472814.html (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Aluminum-Zoomable-tactical-LED-Flashlight-1X-CREE-XM-L-T6-LED-5-switch-modes/1787472814.html)

Just brought 3, will still buy the dolphin as these are a bit small to replace that but they will work as the torch that is left next to the bed, in the chair, in the car and if I lose a couple who cares
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 24, 2014, 08:05:51 PM
I got a LED bulb for my 16 year old re-chargeable Dolphin at BigW.

It would be about as bright as the standard Xeon bulb, but lasts for days on the battery.

Thanks Hoyks - will go there tomorrow, one across road from work
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 24, 2014, 08:28:15 PM
Was looking for bulbs and found this

http://www.biasboating.com.au/Duracell_Explorer_Torch_p/7042.htm (http://www.biasboating.com.au/Duracell_Explorer_Torch_p/7042.htm)

Some competition.
Post by: fuji on July 25, 2014, 04:16:09 PM
Com on Steffo . I dream of one of these, just can't justify it.

Bought several Led Lensers off COTD and saved a fortune.
Post by: MrEMan on July 25, 2014, 11:54:10 PM

Bought several Led Lensers off COTD and saved a fortune.

Have you been a member of COTD for a while and did you get the email?
http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2014/07/an-open-letter-to-catch-of-the-day-we-are-never-ever-ever-getting-back-together/ (http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2014/07/an-open-letter-to-catch-of-the-day-we-are-never-ever-ever-getting-back-together/)
Post by: johnyd on July 26, 2014, 12:17:18 AM
If you look to the Ebay torches the Cree XML or XML2 led based ones as these are the brightest in the <$50 range (AFAIK). 

Don't believe the Lumens ratings they give, they are often highly inflated. 

One XML is a maximum of 1000L.  If the torch doesn't have adequate power or heat dissipation it won't reach the maximum.

Another thing is that ANSI Lumens is a standard that is measured from the actual torch so will be lower as it a measure of the actual output with the configuration and through the lens and such.

Post by: Wortho on July 26, 2014, 12:38:45 PM
Recently purchased a Sunwayman D40A Neutral white and was blown away how bright this torch is for the size.
980 real Lumens (Not Chinese Lumens) and takes ordinary AA's. Picked mine up for $55 delivered when on special.

Review here.
http://budgetlightforum.com/node/22186 (http://budgetlightforum.com/node/22186)

Brighter than my Car headlights  ;D

Post by: paceman on July 26, 2014, 03:40:57 PM
Recently purchased a Sunwayman D40A Neutral white and was blown away how bright this torch is for the size.
980 real Lumens (Not Chinese Lumens) and takes ordinary AA's. Picked mine up for $55 delivered when on special.

Review here.
http://budgetlightforum.com/node/22186 (http://budgetlightforum.com/node/22186)

Brighter than my Car headlights  ;D

looks good.  did you get it from the link in the review?
Post by: Rumpig on July 26, 2014, 05:22:11 PM
i recently upgraded from my old 4 X D sized battery powered Maglight to a new Aldi special LED after many years of toying with the idea of changing the bulb in my Maglight (just never got around to it and the cost of new Aldi torch was much the same, so went that route instead). After finally getting a new torch i then get an email for Your 4X4 tv show telling me i won one of these on their show http://www.oppositelock.com.au/catalogue/lightforce/tactical-torch-3-x-c-cell-led-232x32mm-f (http://www.oppositelock.com.au/catalogue/lightforce/tactical-torch-3-x-c-cell-led-232x32mm-f)  8) 8)
Post by: Wortho on July 27, 2014, 10:47:26 AM
looks good.  did you get it from the link in the review?
I got it from here https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/141010 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/141010)

I use Eneloop rechargeable AA's and they work really well in torches as they hold their charge for ages. Currently on special at DSE.
https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/154335 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/154335)

Post by: 2003gxl on July 30, 2014, 07:19:19 PM
Just seen in the Masters catalogue starting 2moro they have the Dolphin Led Torch c/w a battery on special for $19.98 if anyone is interested in one.
Post by: Kiwijohn on July 30, 2014, 07:46:19 PM
Thanks 2003gxl
Post by: Beachman on August 01, 2014, 06:15:19 PM
I bought one of the Dolphin LED torches and was a little disappointed with the brightness.  It’s okay on the brightness scale, but nowhere near as bright as my little $10 jobbies from Hong Kong. But the upside is the big 6v battery lasts for ages.

But still good for in the boat and camping seeing it’s waterproof.
Post by: Landyline on August 01, 2014, 07:35:44 PM
I bought a Dolphin mini recently.  The one that takes 2xD batteries.  It's not the brightest torch going but I certainly won't lose or break it.
It lives in the camper.
Generally on camping trips we will misplace or lose the little LED torches.  Can never find them when you need them.
Post by: kylarama on August 02, 2014, 08:40:37 AM
I went camping with the boys last weekend and the wife and kids have managed to relocate my Aldi led and fleet of dolphin torches.
Stopped past bunnings on the way to pick up a led dolphin and spotted a 3D led Maglite.  Now I only grabbed it cause I've always wanted a big Maglite since I was a kid, not because of brightness or practicality.

Masters were across the road and they had it on their website for $38 and Bunnings were $37. Went to the counter and asked bunnings to beat their own price by %10 or masters would. 
Post by: D4D on May 08, 2015, 05:12:33 PM
Thanks not a torch... This is a torch :)

https://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/nitecore-heavy-duty-torches-45857/product/nitecore-tm26-led-4000-lumens-torch-343645/ (https://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/nitecore-heavy-duty-torches-45857/product/nitecore-tm26-led-4000-lumens-torch-343645/)

(https://static.catchoftheday.com.au/images/product/0001/1623/54f4f7bb139ea089565473_w306h250.jpg)
Post by: jk on May 08, 2015, 05:19:12 PM
That's a price tag  :o
Post by: dales133 on May 08, 2015, 05:30:21 PM
Those aldi aluminium 3 D size battery touches are good value for 20 bucks, I got 2 or them last time round.not light but tough, waterproof....we'll on land anyway ;) and adjustable from flood to spot.
Basicly a security guard mag light copy
Post by: kiva on May 08, 2015, 09:42:05 PM
That's not a torch... This is a torch :)

https://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/nitecore-heavy-duty-torches-45857/product/nitecore-tm26-led-4000-lumens-torch-343645/ (https://www.catchoftheday.com.au/event/nitecore-heavy-duty-torches-45857/product/nitecore-tm26-led-4000-lumens-torch-343645/)

(https://static.catchoftheday.com.au/images/product/0001/1623/54f4f7bb139ea089565473_w306h250.jpg)

I have one of these. Unbelievably bright on the highest setting, like a car headlight on high beam.

Got mine from http://www.liteshop.com.au/content/nitecore-tm26-tiny-monster-led-torch (http://www.liteshop.com.au/content/nitecore-tm26-tiny-monster-led-torch).
Post by: Pete_R on May 08, 2015, 10:32:03 PM
Thanks not a torch... This is a torch :)

Or for less than half the price you can get this heavy duty torch with a longer range & for batteries, wait until Dick Smith have Eneloops on special again
http://www.liteshop.com.au/content/fenix-tk41-8xaa-lumen-led-torch (http://www.liteshop.com.au/content/fenix-tk41-8xaa-lumen-led-torch)
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2016, 12:37:33 PM
I have one of these. Unbelievably bright on the highest setting, like a car headlight on high beam.

Got mine from http://www.liteshop.com.au/content/nitecore-tm26-tiny-monster-led-torch (http://www.liteshop.com.au/content/nitecore-tm26-tiny-monster-led-torch).
Like.. but don't believe people pay $500 for a torch!
Post by: tryagain on July 11, 2016, 01:53:21 PM
I went through the process of looking for a cheapish but good value and bright LED torch a few months back, after much research I bought one of these
http://www.banggood.com/NITEFIGHTER-F30B-CREE-XM-L2-2000LM-5modes-LED-Flashlight-18650-p-971780.html (http://www.banggood.com/NITEFIGHTER-F30B-CREE-XM-L2-2000LM-5modes-LED-Flashlight-18650-p-971780.html)
Some reviews from some torch collectors here and the discount code for banggood
 http://budgetlightforum.com/node/38224 (http://budgetlightforum.com/node/38224)
You will need to get 18650 batterie(s) and a charger but you will likely need batteries for whatever torch you buy. I got this charger.
https://www.fasttech.com/products/0/10002304/2563900-authentic-xtar-mc1-pius-single-slot-li-ion (https://www.fasttech.com/products/0/10002304/2563900-authentic-xtar-mc1-pius-single-slot-li-ion)
And just about everyone said not to cheap out on batteries so I got these with batteries.
https://www.fasttech.com/products/0/10002357/1170700-authentic-samsung-icr18650-26f-18650-3-7v-2600mah (https://www.fasttech.com/products/0/10002357/1170700-authentic-samsung-icr18650-26f-18650-3-7v-2600mah)
Most eBay listings etc are for "Chinese lumens" which isn't based on any sort of reality so can be hard to actually compare but this one seems to be a genuine 800-900 lumens and nice quality, especially for the price.
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2016, 01:54:20 PM
Quote from: tryagain
Most eBay listings etc are for "Chinese lumens" which isn't based on any sort of reality
AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!! I think they use Rumens instead...
Post by: Joff on July 11, 2016, 02:52:49 PM
Those aldi aluminium 3 D size battery touches are good value for 20 bucks, I got 2 or them last time round.not light but tough, waterproof....we'll on land anyway ;) and adjustable from flood to spot.
Basicly a security guard mag light copy

Shit!!  I bought one of them ages ago... I never even took it out of the blister pack I don't think. Must go find it and try it out  ???
Post by: dales133 on July 11, 2016, 03:01:21 PM
I did the same thing until one day i finaly did.
Awsum for what they cost
Post by: prodigyrf on July 11, 2016, 03:21:51 PM
Search 'waterproof cree led torch' and it's like standing in front of the supermart milk fridge-
http://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.Xwaterproof+cree+led+torch.TRS0&_nkw=waterproof+cree+led+torch&_sacat=0 (http://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.Xwaterproof+cree+led+torch.TRS0&_nkw=waterproof+cree+led+torch&_sacat=0)

Dolphin lanterns? Sheesh and the kids reckon I live in the past!
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2016, 03:49:52 PM
http://www.reactual.com/outdoor-equipment-2/power-sources/best-18650-batteries-2016.html (http://www.reactual.com/outdoor-equipment-2/power-sources/best-18650-batteries-2016.html)

https://www.amazon.com/LG-18650-3000mAh-Rechargeable-Batteries/dp/B014A8CJUQ?ie=UTF8&tag=reactual-20 (https://www.amazon.com/LG-18650-3000mAh-Rechargeable-Batteries/dp/B014A8CJUQ?ie=UTF8&tag=reactual-20)  - not bad for a 4 pack.
http://www.torchworld.com.au/catalog/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=88_105 (http://www.torchworld.com.au/catalog/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=88_105)
https://www.brightnite.com.au/batteries/18650 (https://www.brightnite.com.au/batteries/18650)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 11, 2016, 07:11:30 PM
The "Dorcy" brand products include LED bulbs to replace ordinary bulbs.
They come in various ratings for 2x D, 3x D, and 6V Lantern type torches.
Also suitable for AA, & C type battery torches.
Claimed 10 Year life or 100,000hrs. as well as low power requirement.
Dorcy also make waterproof torches for divers, have done for years.
Post by: V8ute on July 12, 2016, 11:26:26 AM
There's no substitute for quality, just been to the cape, we were spotting crocs from seisa beach on red island with my x21 led lensar. Not sure of distance but it would be more than 500m.
V8ute
Post by: tryagain on July 12, 2016, 04:19:38 PM
and if you want to take it to ridiculous levels

! No longer available (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vgNh3fLxJc#)
Post by: fergy on July 12, 2016, 06:13:44 PM
can I get these in 52"
Post by: Fizzie on July 13, 2016, 08:49:03 AM
Love to know what his battery life was?  >:D
Post by: tryagain on July 13, 2016, 11:13:52 AM
I am considering the Convoy L6 (http://www.gearbest.com/led-flashlights/pp_360866.html) as my next torch purchase, Its an amazing torch for ?$75 with a real 3800LM output. I don't think you will find better value for money. Here is a review of it.

! No longer available (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ms0F2tRhJqA&feature=youtu.be#)

But then also a part of me says I could make a water cooled 36000LM (half of the one in the other video so keep it a more practical size) smaller than a dolphin torch that has 10 times the power for about the same money and use two 18v cordless batteries that I already have set up in series to power it. I do have time to think about it as there are multiple things above it in the to buy list first, although I do have a birthday coming up.

Post by: Bird on July 13, 2016, 11:17:48 AM
But then also a part of me says I could make a water cooled 36000LM (half of the one in the other video so keep it a more practical size) smaller than a dolphin torch that has 10 times the power for about the same money and use two 18v cordless batteries that I already have set up in series to power it. I do have time to think about it as there are multiple things above it in the to buy list first, although I do have a birthday coming up.
Do it!
Post by: tryagain on July 13, 2016, 11:20:27 AM
Love to know what his battery life was?  >:D

Some rough calculations gives me about 5 mins with the 8 LEDs and about 4 mins with the 11 LEDs
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2016, 11:25:44 AM
Some rough calculations gives me about 5 mins with the 8 LEDs and about 4 mins with the 7 LEDs
you need 8
Post by: Joff on July 13, 2016, 11:40:44 AM
Some rough calculations gives me about 5 mins with the 8 LEDs and about 4 mins with the 7 LEDs

why is it more time with more LEDs  ???
Post by: tryagain on July 13, 2016, 11:47:17 AM
why is it more time with more LEDs  ???
Just corrected it, it was supposed to be 11 not 7 when he added to extra 3 on
Post by: dales133 on July 13, 2016, 11:56:53 AM
Just got this off ebay...http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/142030408096

They have some nice 3 cree led chipset replacements for the D size maglights producing over 1000lm
Post by: Joff on July 13, 2016, 12:20:39 PM
Just corrected it, it was supposed to be 11 not 7 when he added to extra 3 on

ok. that makes more sense  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2016, 12:23:43 PM
I am considering the Convoy L6 (http://www.gearbest.com/led-flashlights/pp_360866.html) as my next torch purchase, Its an amazing torch for ?$75 with a real 3800LM output. I don't think you will find better value for money. Here is a review of it.

http://budgetlightforum.com/node/43503 (http://budgetlightforum.com/node/43503)
http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?419516-Review-Convoy-L6-(XHP-70-2x26650) (http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?419516-Review-Convoy-L6-(XHP-70-2x26650))

actually all the reviews rave about it..

Convoy L6 3,800 lumen Cree XHP70 1A and 3C
Emitter type : N2 3A 5000K,
Include Batteries : Pair of Keeppower 5200ma 26650s,
Include Charger : Nitecore D2 Digital Charger

$107 delivered to Melbourne with batteries and charger.

from http://asflashlights.com/ (http://asflashlights.com/)
Post by: tryagain on July 13, 2016, 01:07:07 PM
Do it!

Seriously thinking about it, I have 18 items I'd need (http://www.ebay.com.au/cln/neverpayretail101/torch-components/314674359019) sitting in my eBay cart totaling $75.44, but I need to convince myself it would actually be useful as opposed to just because I could.

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?419516-Review-Convoy-L6-(XHP-70-2x26650) (http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?419516-Review-Convoy-L6-(XHP-70-2x26650))

Some good beamshots in the CPF review and I have looked at some but not all of the 57 :o pages in the BLF thread.

Post by: Bird on July 13, 2016, 01:12:42 PM
...but I need to convince myself it would actually be useful as opposed to just because I could.
No you don't.. DO IT!
If my eyes and soldering skills were better I'd love to do this sorta Shit :(

Some good beamshots in the CPF review and I have looked at some but not all of the 57 :o pages in the BLF thread.
I like that place cause a lot of light designers/builders post up there, and answer questions directly..

as I said fer 107 you couldn't go wrong.
Post by: tryagain on July 13, 2016, 01:33:51 PM
Just got this off ebay...http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/142030408096 (http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/142030408096)

They have some nice 3 cree led chipset replacements for the D size maglights producing over 1000lm

It starts out with a 140lm upgrade, next it's a $25 800lm ish torch, then before long you are deciding whether to buy a 3800lm torch of build a 36000lm monster.

I bought a 1000lm drop in for my 3D mag light a few years back and while it was a massive improvement I think I would have been better off buying a purpose made LED torch for the money.

No you don't.. DO IT!

What I need to do is get back outside and finish off my current project/fridge slide instead of dreaming about a new one.

Post by: dales133 on July 13, 2016, 01:39:42 PM
It starts out with a 140lm upgrade, next it's a $25 800lm ish torch, then before long you are deciding whether to buy a 3800lm torch of build a 36000lm monster.

I bought a 1000lm drop in for my 3D mag light a few years back and while it was a massive improvement I think I would have been better off buying a purpose made LED torch for the money.

What I need to do is get back outside and finish off my current project/fridge slide instead of dreaming about a new one.
I hear you.
My mini maglights been in my backpack traveling asia many times plus everywheee else for me so its got some sentimental value.
That and it needed a new lense and bulb anyway.
And yes ive got more unfinnished projects on the go than i care to mention
Post by: eventyr on July 31, 2016, 09:44:47 PM
I'm looking for 4 torches (wife, I and 2 rug rats) ideally with vertical charging mount which can cope with a bit of shaking, but I can't figure out for the world of me what I should be searching for on eBay...

Any help would be appreciated!! :)
Post by: prodigyrf on August 01, 2016, 02:02:45 AM
Well I like trying to keep everything to AAs and AAAs so howsabout waterproof jobs-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/3W-Diving-Flashlight-2000LM-CREE-Q5-LED-Waterproof-AA-Torch-Underwater-Lamp-LO1G-/381696415965?hash=item58dee118dd:g:Px4AAOSwl2pXgDxo (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/3W-Diving-Flashlight-2000LM-CREE-Q5-LED-Waterproof-AA-Torch-Underwater-Lamp-LO1G-/381696415965?hash=item58dee118dd:g:Px4AAOSwl2pXgDxo)
and then you want Panasonic Eneloops that are rechargeable and won't die sitting idle for long periods-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/8x-Panasonic-Eneloop-Pro-rechargeable-AA-battery-pack-MADE-IN-JAPAN-/221718614032?hash=item339f759010:g:m~sAAOSwv0tVDpSO (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/8x-Panasonic-Eneloop-Pro-rechargeable-AA-battery-pack-MADE-IN-JAPAN-/221718614032?hash=item339f759010:g:m~sAAOSwv0tVDpSO)
or you can get standard Eneloops with a wall charger-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Panasonic-Eneloop-AA-AAA-NiMH-CHARGER-AUST-PLUG-4-x-AA-Batteries-Eneloop-NEW-/152183300841?hash=item236ed4e2e9:g:dLkAAOSwOVpXcKqm (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Panasonic-Eneloop-AA-AAA-NiMH-CHARGER-AUST-PLUG-4-x-AA-Batteries-Eneloop-NEW-/152183300841?hash=item236ed4e2e9:g:dLkAAOSwOVpXcKqm)
but a 240V plus 12V charger that handles all your batteries (and even charges alkalines a few times) would be even handier-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Battery-Charger-Suits-D-C-AA-AAA-9V-Car-Adapter-/151666974913?hash=item23500e60c1:m:mJ2rSK_UGs9D3DsKV2biBFA (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Battery-Charger-Suits-D-C-AA-AAA-9V-Car-Adapter-/151666974913?hash=item23500e60c1:m:mJ2rSK_UGs9D3DsKV2biBFA)

Post by: eventyr on August 01, 2016, 08:56:10 AM
Yep but you need to take the batteries out to charge them, it would be awesome if I could find a 12V wall charger/torch mount ... I'm not sure if I'm being particularly clear which is why I'm probably struggling to find one! Sorry!  >:( :D
Post by: prodigyrf on August 01, 2016, 10:59:46 AM
I see what you're saying but then you have to ask yourself why doesn't the marketplace have what you particularly want? My answer would be because households, particularly with kids, use AA/AAA batteries a lot and with LED torches now you may only need to charge them once or twice a year anyway. So you either use alkalines (and not bloody Duracell coppertops that leak) or rechargeables and that means pre-charged like Eneloops since they wont self-discharge when not in use. You also have a spare set on hand ready to go unlike fixed batteries. When you think about it even our tradey cordless power tools have removable batteries and we usually get the torch with them but unlike those Eneloops you need to be using the batteries regularly or they'll die.
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2016, 03:50:29 PM
Quote from: The Oracle

Still think this is great value
Post by: tryagain on August 01, 2016, 04:34:50 PM
Yep but you need to take the batteries out to charge them, it would be awesome if I could find a 12V wall charger/torch mount ... I'm not sure if I'm being particularly clear which is why I'm probably struggling to find one! Sorry!  >:( :D

I haven't seen a wall charger/torch with the new LED tech, The only ones I have seen are from years and years ago with incandescent type bulbs, my guess would be the reason you can't find them is they probably dont exist. With kids, depending on age I would be wary about getting them too bright torches as mine have a tendency to shine them into their own and others eyes and modern led's are very bright, not sure if it does any permanent damage but can't be good.

The waterproof ones prodigyf linked won't be anywhere near their listed 2000LM but will still be very bright compared to old style torches. What are you wanting to use them for and how much are you looking to spend? as that will play into what would best suit. Eneloops are great batteries but the other side to the coin of what prodigyf said and the path I took was that if I were going to have to buy new batteries for the torch I would want to get ones to make it as bright as it can be, if you already had a good charger and batteries it would probably be a different proposition but if I have to buy new for the torch I may as well get the ones that will make it the brightest.

You won't get a better buy than the L6 but that site is in US dollars, looks like they are drop shipping from banggood and would be cheaper to buy from there, would be about $120 shipped but still a great buy.
Seriously tempted.
Post by: eventyr on August 01, 2016, 07:58:31 PM
thanks tryagain and prodigyf! I guess there might be a opening for a new product! I was hoping for an integrated charger holster that I could mount by the camper trailer door and the kids would pick it out when they take it to go exploring or to the toilet during the night. They could have standard batteries inside.

Anyway, will look for some standard torchs with good mounts and standard AA or AAA batteries - will then have a separate charger :)
Post by: Bird on August 01, 2016, 08:00:57 PM
Dolphin torches have mounts.
Post by: tryagain on August 01, 2016, 09:40:57 PM
thanks tryagain and prodigyf! I guess there might be a opening for a new product! I was hoping for an integrated charger holster that I could mount by the camper trailer door and the kids would pick it out when they take it to go exploring or to the toilet during the night. They could have standard batteries inside.

Anyway, will look for some standard torchs with good mounts and standard AA or AAA batteries - will then have a separate charger :)

This might almost fit the bill of what you are after, can take either type of battery, has a mount and looks like it charges in the torch without having to remove batterie(s). Depending on how old your kids are you would want them to be careful with it though, it won't be 2500lm but it will be bright.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CREE-XM-L-T6-USB-LED-Zoomable-2500Lm-18650-Rechargeable-Battery-Flashlight-Torch-/181616001600?hash=item2a49284240:g:0XsAAOSwL7VWhQga (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CREE-XM-L-T6-USB-LED-Zoomable-2500Lm-18650-Rechargeable-Battery-Flashlight-Torch-/181616001600?hash=item2a49284240:g:0XsAAOSwL7VWhQga)
Post by: fergy on August 01, 2016, 11:57:05 PM

Ordered one last night
Now the wait
Post by: prodigyrf on August 02, 2016, 10:34:53 AM
If you're going for 18650 lithium battery gear just be aware of what the vapers have to understand-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qObiMLf8WsY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qObiMLf8WsY)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTzEHsJVZhA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTzEHsJVZhA)

Post by: tryagain on August 02, 2016, 02:25:37 PM
If you're going for 18650 lithium battery gear just be aware of what the vapers have to understand-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qObiMLf8WsY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qObiMLf8WsY)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTzEHsJVZhA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTzEHsJVZhA)

good post, yes this is important
Post by: Bird on August 02, 2016, 02:30:16 PM
Ordered one last night
Now the wait
be interested to find out what your thoughts are
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 02, 2016, 07:12:34 PM
Ordered one last night
Now the wait
I did too.
If you check out the contents of the torch kit, there's a cartridge for using 3AAA batteries instead of the 18650.
It's also explained in the Ad.
Post by: eventyr on August 02, 2016, 09:05:50 PM

Yep important to understand. I fly remote control helicopters with some very large LiPOs ... you want dangerous batteries, try a large LiPo!
Post by: prodigyrf on August 02, 2016, 10:57:49 PM
I did too.
If you check out the contents of the torch kit, there's a cartridge for using 3AAA batteries instead of the 18650.
It's also explained in the Ad.

That's why I use Eneloops and bricks and mortar chargers and vape gear as the Asian fleabay stuff is too risky.

A case in point-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/151748968465?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/151748968465?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)
while a Fluke one from the lad's electrical wholesaler is $77 incl GST or perhaps the DIYer might go a Yankee Greenlee with Bunnings behind it-
https://www.bunnings.com.au/greenlee-50-1000v-voltage-detector-includes-ac-battery_p4420380 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/greenlee-50-1000v-voltage-detector-includes-ac-battery_p4420380)

tempting to think you might Fluke it cheap-
 http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Fluke-1AC-C-II-VoltAlert-Non-Contact-AC-Detector-Pen-AC-Volt-Stick-AU-Seller-/161025194014?hash=item257dd9781e:g:XCMAAOSw4UtWSGKg (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Fluke-1AC-C-II-VoltAlert-Non-Contact-AC-Detector-Pen-AC-Volt-Stick-AU-Seller-/161025194014?hash=item257dd9781e:g:XCMAAOSw4UtWSGKg)

Your life, house, camper, family, etc, - your choice ;)
Post by: tryagain on August 04, 2016, 10:38:37 AM
For those interested in the Convoy L6 https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/260028 (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/260028)
Post by: eventyr on August 08, 2016, 09:46:31 AM
This might almost fit the bill of what you are after, can take either type of battery, has a mount and looks like it charges in the torch without having to remove batterie(s). Depending on how old your kids are you would want them to be careful with it though, it won't be 2500lm but it will be bright.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CREE-XM-L-T6-USB-LED-Zoomable-2500Lm-18650-Rechargeable-Battery-Flashlight-Torch-/181616001600?hash=item2a49284240:g:0XsAAOSwL7VWhQga (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CREE-XM-L-T6-USB-LED-Zoomable-2500Lm-18650-Rechargeable-Battery-Flashlight-Torch-/181616001600?hash=item2a49284240:g:0XsAAOSwL7VWhQga)

I bought one to test it ... if it fits the bill I'll buy another 2 or 3 :) Will let you know how it goes when it arrives!
Post by: Andy_Q on August 08, 2016, 01:00:34 PM
Kogan are advertising a torch with a stand that also might suit you.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160808/0267831d0a1be0e276804dcc1f7a000b.png)

Post by: eventyr on August 09, 2016, 12:21:08 AM
Kogan are advertising a torch with a stand that also might suit you.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160808/0267831d0a1be0e276804dcc1f7a000b.png)

good one! I'll need to find a 12->6V dc transformer though.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 09, 2016, 08:54:17 AM
Picked up the torch yesterday from the P.O.
It's a true tactical torch, in that it's either off or on.
There's no extra functions to get caught out by.
The Black Anodising on the outside isn't that flash either, it's starting to show marks already.
Not sure how they measured the light output, must be theoretical.
Not Theatrical either, just the max. possible output of the LED, at max volts, as calculated on paper.
At Max. intensity it does throw a nice shape like a castle though.
Post by: prodigyrf on August 09, 2016, 10:15:01 AM
That's not fair. You've gotta keep pressing the button half a dozen times to scroll through all the useless bloody wink, half wink, SOS, etc features to get the damn thing to switch on normally, just like the rest of us. Where's your sense of community and social responsibility man?
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2016, 10:38:11 AM
Quote from: Cruiser 105Tvan
The Black Anodising on the outside isn't that flash either, it's starting to show marks already.
Not sure how they measured the light output, must be theoretical.
Not Theatrical either, just the max. possible output of the LED, at max volts, as calculated on paper.
At Max. intensity it does throw a nice shape like a castle though.
so how do you rate it out of 10?

"There's no extra functions to get caught out by."
that's a win in my book.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 09, 2016, 11:16:32 AM
It's better output than the 3D cell Maglight I purchased at Bunnings on Special.
Maybe 6/10.  But I only have the Maglight to compare it to.
Better focus on the Maglight too, not as easy to change it when set, unlike the new torch.
Better fit & finish on the Maglight. Nearly same price ($29.29AU) as the Maglight (about $35.00AU) as well.
This is the item:

Comes in a Plastic container with Cig charger, Mains charger, USB cord for charging from USB outlet (also used to connect torch to mains charger), a clamp for when you want to use it as a pushie headlight, and a cage for 3 AAA batteries to replace the 18650.
Plastic box is definitely not up to Tupperware or Systema standard either.

But they do say, "You get what you pay for."
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2016, 11:23:25 AM
It's better output than the 3D cell Maglight I purchased at Bunnings on Special.
Maybe 6/10.  But I only have the Maglight to compare it to.
Better focus on the Maglight too, not as easy to change it when set, unlike the new torch.
Better fit & finish on the Maglight. Nearly same price ($29.29AU) as the Maglight (about $35.00AU) as well.
This is the item:

Comes in a Plastic container with Cig charger, Mains charger, USB cord for charging from USB outlet (also used to connect torch to mains charger), a clamp for when you want to use it as a pushie headlight, and a cage for 3 AAA batteries to replace the 18650.
Plastic box is definitely not up to Tupperware or Systema standard either.

But they do say, "You get what you pay for."
I'd say that's a cheap Chinese knockoff of the real thing..
the 'real thing' is 100.. not 30 :)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 09, 2016, 11:31:46 AM
It's Branded ALETO N1 as well.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2016, 11:38:49 AM
Quote from: To Slow To Save

$140 shipped now :(
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 09, 2016, 11:51:55 AM
Totally different torch Bruce.
The one I purchased was from the Link Tryagain put up.
It's only similarity to the Convoy L6, "May be" the diode and battery.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2016, 11:54:19 AM
Totally different torch Bruce.
The one I purchased was from the Link Tryagain put up.
It's only similarity to the Convoy L6, "May be" the diode and battery.
Carry on... going thru coffee withdrawals.. :'(
Post by: fergy on August 22, 2016, 02:00:59 PM
got the convoyL6 in the mail box today
purchased through Adventure Sport Flashlights
communication was excellent so here is a plug   asflashlights.com
was well packaged in 2 bags just to be sure I expect
and got the charger but is a yankee plug but here is the awesomeness
I planned on installing in the truck and the charger accepts 12V input
so hooked it up and started charging the batteries
but of course having 2 sets of batteries I threw the uncharged as shipped batteries in and
this thing is bright!!!!! on un charged batteries cant wait for the others to charge and give it a go tonight
build quality is excellent and feels really good in the hand
buttons are good to use
and that's about where im at
Fergy
ps if a group buy happens maybe keen for another
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2016, 02:27:04 PM
Quote from: fergy
purchased through Adventure Sport Flashlights

yea that's where I was looking 

"Backordered. Next shipment arrives approx 9/2"
Post by: fergy on August 22, 2016, 05:15:46 PM
yes Bird it was your link cheers for that :cup:
Post by: tryagain on August 22, 2016, 07:20:21 PM
yea that's where I was looking 

"Backordered. Next shipment arrives approx 9/2"

I am almost certain they are just drop shipping through bangood and adding there bit ontop.
Torch http://www.banggood.com/Convoy-L6-CREE-XHP70-3800LM-Super-Bright-Long-Range-LED-Flashlight-p-1055875.html (http://www.banggood.com/Convoy-L6-CREE-XHP70-3800LM-Super-Bright-Long-Range-LED-Flashlight-p-1055875.html)
Charger http://www.banggood.com/NITECORE-Digicharger-D2-LCD-Display-Universal-Smart-Charger-p-928156.html (http://www.banggood.com/NITECORE-Digicharger-D2-LCD-Display-Universal-Smart-Charger-p-928156.html)
And Batteries http://www.banggood.com/26650-KeepPower-4500mAh-Protected-Rechargeable-Li-ion-Battery-p-918313.html (http://www.banggood.com/26650-KeepPower-4500mAh-Protected-Rechargeable-Li-ion-Battery-p-918313.html)
And use code 0B41CF and it comes to $75USD/$98AUD as opposed to $104USD/$136
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2016, 07:36:49 PM
I am almost certain they are just drop shipping through bangood and adding there bit ontop.
Torch http://www.banggood.com/Convoy-L6-CREE-XHP70-3800LM-Super-Bright-Long-Range-LED-Flashlight-p-1055875.html (http://www.banggood.com/Convoy-L6-CREE-XHP70-3800LM-Super-Bright-Long-Range-LED-Flashlight-p-1055875.html)
Charger http://www.banggood.com/NITECORE-Digicharger-D2-LCD-Display-Universal-Smart-Charger-p-928156.html (http://www.banggood.com/NITECORE-Digicharger-D2-LCD-Display-Universal-Smart-Charger-p-928156.html)
And Batteries http://www.banggood.com/26650-KeepPower-4500mAh-Protected-Rechargeable-Li-ion-Battery-p-918313.html (http://www.banggood.com/26650-KeepPower-4500mAh-Protected-Rechargeable-Li-ion-Battery-p-918313.html)
And use code 0B41CF and it comes to $75USD/$98AUD as opposed to $104USD/$136
go look at the forum on previous page
even th alliedexpress link by the dude who designed it

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Convoy-L6-flashlight-XHP70-led-inside/330416_32659785735.html (http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Convoy-L6-flashlight-XHP70-led-inside/330416_32659785735.html)
$91.00
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2016, 07:57:58 PM
yes Bird it was your link cheers for that :cup:
What is the tactial ring for?
Post by: tryagain on August 22, 2016, 08:01:43 PM
go look at the forum on previous page
even th alliedexpress link by the dude who designed it

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Convoy-L6-flashlight-XHP70-led-inside/330416_32659785735.html (http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Convoy-L6-flashlight-XHP70-led-inside/330416_32659785735.html)
$91.00

I don't follow what you are getting at?
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2016, 08:04:09 PM
I don't follow what you are getting at?
drop ship would be from allied..
torch designer dude mentions the banggood dude came up with the batteries.. but could be doing both... it is chinlee
Post by: tryagain on August 22, 2016, 09:01:18 PM
drop ship would be from allied..
torch designer dude mentions the banggood dude came up with the batteries.. but could be doing both... it is chinlee
When you first posted the link Ally didn't sell the batteries so I thought it's probably bangood, and then another time when I looked Banggood had a delay on the batteries and so did Adventure and ATM banggood are out of stock on the to L6 as are adventure, that's what lead me to believe it's banggood. The Aliexpress store is the designers owns ally store though where he retails his stuff.
Post by: Bird on August 22, 2016, 10:34:25 PM
They all seem to be having issues with batteries... and the length of them  66-7xmm for the one size... ????
Post by: fergy on August 23, 2016, 10:11:10 AM
mine got shipped from Hollister MC 65672
Post by: Bird on August 23, 2016, 10:19:14 AM
Post by: paceman on August 23, 2016, 10:37:40 AM

can be used in conjunction with weapons, or causing damage when you hit someone, i think... ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tactical_light
Post by: tryagain on August 24, 2016, 08:09:25 AM
Not dropped shipped then by the looks of it.
Post by: fergy on August 24, 2016, 11:33:53 AM
well I fully charged the batteries at work and then took it home
put it up on the book shelf so the little man could not get to it
well that does not stop the SWMBO having a sticky beak
she now has a white spot, may have learnt a lesson probably not
waited till dark and took it out the back
and this thing is bright
its like hand held daylight
could only use for about 30 seconds before people started turning on there outdoor lights
they must have seen the trees light up
bet there was few doors double checked to make sure that they where locked last night

still up for another
fergy
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2016, 11:34:56 AM
well I fully charged the batteries at work and then took it home
put it up on the book shelf so the little man could not get to it
well that does not stop the SWMBO having a sticky beak
she now has a white spot, may have learnt a lesson probably not
waited till dark and took it out the back
and this thing is bright
its like hand held daylight
could only use for about 30 seconds before people started turning on there outdoor lights
they must have seen the trees light up
bet there was few doors double checked to make sure that they where locked last night

still up for another
fergy
Post by: fergy on August 24, 2016, 04:47:42 PM
ok
before
(http://i723.photobucket.com/albums/ww236/danielferg/IMG_28961_zpsx6wzgsvk.jpg) (http://s723.photobucket.com/user/danielferg/media/IMG_28961_zpsx6wzgsvk.jpg.html)

got to go ;D ;D
Post by: tryagain on August 24, 2016, 07:19:21 PM
After ?
(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/White.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/White.jpg.html)
Post by: fergy on August 24, 2016, 10:06:04 PM
Pretty much
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 24, 2016, 11:27:25 PM
TOO MUCH GLARE to see what 's in the picture Fergy.
Post by: Pog on August 24, 2016, 11:38:48 PM
I 'lost'my original Led Lenser H7R.2 Headlamp last year - I loved that headlamp! :'( :'( :'(

Anyway, it gave me a good excuse to purchase a new Led Lenser H14R.2 earlier this year.  :cup: :cup:

http://www.ledlenser.com.au/products/led-lenser/headlamps/h14r.2-rechargeable-headlamp-box/c-25/c-85/p-1214 (http://www.ledlenser.com.au/products/led-lenser/headlamps/h14r.2-rechargeable-headlamp-box/c-25/c-85/p-1214)

The 14.2 is an awesome light, however the battery pack is a bit heavy, however the light output is insane.

Turns out that I never did loose the 7.2, as I found it this Easter under the mattress in the Camper Trailer. Charged it up, & it still works a treat.  ;D
Post by: tryagain on September 08, 2016, 11:24:30 AM
I am considering the Convoy L6 as my next torch purchase, Its an amazing torch for ?$75 with a real 3800LM output. I don't think you will find better value for money.

Do it!

Well just ordered all the components to make an approx 36,000LM Torch, decided to go this route as I think if I went with the convoy I'd still want to try this as well. Ended up getting the components to do it a bit differently from the one in the vid so as to be able to dim/adjust the output as I think an all or nothing would really limit it's usability. My hope/plan is to be able to house it all in an old dolphin MK2 torch for something a bit differant, I will have to modify it a fair bit as it will be a very tight fit (if it does). Now the wait for 13 packages/50 odd components to start arriving in the mail in a few weeks time.
Post by: Bird on September 08, 2016, 12:26:10 PM
Well just ordered all the components to make an approx 36,000LM Torch, decided to go this route as I think if I went with the convoy I'd still want to try this as well. Ended up getting the components to do it a bit differently from the one in the vid so as to be able to dim/adjust the output as I think an all or nothing would really limit it's usability. My hope/plan is to be able to house it all in an old dolphin MK2 torch for something a bit differant, I will have to modify it a fair bit as it will be a very tight fit (if it does). Now the wait for 13 packages/50 odd components to start arriving in the mail in a few weeks time.
a sleeper torch... Cant wait!
Post by: Fizzie on October 06, 2016, 09:37:02 AM
I bought one to test it ... if it fits the bill I'll buy another 2 or 3 :) Will let you know how it goes when it arrives!

So how did the torch go - I assume it's actually arrived by now!  ;D
Post by: kylarama on October 06, 2016, 10:41:53 AM
Expensive and lengthy cooking method.

Half a dozen $200 torches and a turkey.

https://youtu.be/goWuvXz1qC4

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on October 06, 2016, 12:05:02 PM
Wonder how many batteries they went through  ???  ::)

& I reckon the turkey would have probably gone off before they finished cooking it!  :-X
Post by: kylarama on October 06, 2016, 12:27:54 PM
I was channel surfing last night and came across it on tv.  Apparently it took just under 5 hours to cook and batteries needed changing every 15-20 minutes.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Post by: GBC on October 06, 2016, 12:54:17 PM
Anybody on here have the Ryobi HID torch? A few of us use them on the boats for coming in at night. Basically just a 35w hid headlight. Mine's a couple of years old now and works a treat. Not the sort of thing you go bushwalking with though, just pointing it at the ground and looking at it will result in seeing stars for a while.
https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-one-18v-xenon-spotlight-skin-only_p6210342 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/ryobi-one-18v-xenon-spotlight-skin-only_p6210342)
Post by: eventyr on October 06, 2016, 01:22:11 PM

So how did the torch go - I assume it's actually arrived by now!  ;D
yeah sorry. 'Twas Shit ... ok maybe that is a bit hash ...Button fell off after 3 days and wrist strap broke almost immediately. It is bright and does come with two batteries and a adaptor for standard AAAs. The mount is for a bike handlebar and isn't quite what I was after

Post by: tryagain on October 07, 2016, 06:06:23 PM
yeah sorry. 'Twas Shit ... ok maybe that is a bit hash ...Button fell off after 3 days and wrist strap broke almost immediately. It is bright and does come with two batteries and a adaptor for standard AAAs. The mount is for a bike handlebar and isn't quite what I was after

Just to clarify for those reading this as there has been a bit of confusion. This is in regards to the cheap eBay torch not the Convoy L6.
Post by: Fizzie on October 08, 2016, 08:37:30 AM
Oooops - sorry, yes, should have clarified that I was asking about this one: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CREE-XM-L-T6-USB-LED-Zoomable-2500Lm-18650-Rechargeable-Battery-Flashlight-Torch-/181616001600?hash=item2a49284240:g:0XsAAOSwL7VWhQga (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CREE-XM-L-T6-USB-LED-Zoomable-2500Lm-18650-Rechargeable-Battery-Flashlight-Torch-/181616001600?hash=item2a49284240:g:0XsAAOSwL7VWhQga) that Eventyr was getting to see how it went.

Pity that it's apparently not much chop as I had my eye on a couple of them.
Post by: Bird on November 24, 2016, 10:22:15 AM
hows it going...
Post by: tryagain on November 24, 2016, 11:05:39 AM
hows it going...

Slowly, had a couple of packages that didn't arrive from China in the snail mail, the eBay one was refunded and I rebought and just got those on Monday but the actual Led's I bought through Aliexpress so had to wait 60 days for them not to show, then claim a refund and purchase again so they were sent last week, hopefully, they will get here quickly. With the led drivers I got on Monday it should allow me to get a fair bit more done in the meantime.

To say it's all going to be a tight fit is an understatement. I also realised when I got my hands on a torch that it's switch wouldn't work so then had to get another switch but with the current I am looking at I also needed to get some MOSFETs to do the switching.

Still to sort out how many 18650's I will use, I have thought if I run it at 12v it would mean I could use it of a car battery as well if I wanted, some quick calculations, however, tell me at full power it would be drawing about 35amp at 12v  :o
(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/IMG_20161124_103611050.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/IMG_20161124_103611050.jpg.html)
(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/IMG_20161124_103659040.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/IMG_20161124_103659040.jpg.html)
Post by: Bird on March 22, 2017, 07:38:57 PM
Slowly, had a couple of packages that didn't arrive from China in the snail mail, the eBay one was refunded and I rebought and just got those on Monday but the actual Led's I bought through Aliexpress so had to wait 60 days for them not to show, then claim a refund and purchase again so they were sent last week, hopefully, they will get here quickly. With the led drivers I got on Monday it should allow me to get a fair bit more done in the meantime.

To say it's all going to be a tight fit is an understatement. I also realised when I got my hands on a torch that it's switch wouldn't work so then had to get another switch but with the current I am looking at I also needed to get some MOSFETs to do the switching.

Still to sort out how many 18650's I will use, I have thought if I run it at 12v it would mean I could use it of a car battery as well if I wanted, some quick calculations, however, tell me at full power it would be drawing about 35amp at 12v  :o
(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/IMG_20161124_103611050.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/IMG_20161124_103611050.jpg.html)
(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/IMG_20161124_103659040.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/IMG_20161124_103659040.jpg.html)
:D finished ? :D
Post by: tryagain on March 22, 2017, 09:41:26 PM
Not much progress unfortunately, ideally need a high current power supply to test it as I assemble it but don't want to spend big dollars so that is the current speed hump, I think a server power supply is the most likely contender, also need to get my hands on some 18650s
Post by: tryagain on March 23, 2017, 12:47:29 AM
Just ordered a server power supply to modify and 6x 18650's so should be able get it all happening shortly.
Post by: Fizzie on April 27, 2017, 07:20:32 AM
Just looking at the latest SuperCrap cattledog & saw this: http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/Product/Calibre-LED-Spotlight-Cree-Rechargeable/404861 (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/Product/Calibre-LED-Spotlight-Cree-Rechargeable/404861)

Pretty decent write-ups on it so thought I'd give it a go. Went through to checkout & found that I had a $10 credit there so only $29! :D

Definitely not going to get here before I go away tmw morning for the photo weekend though :'(
Post by: Bird on February 06, 2018, 08:03:29 AM
Just ordered a server power supply to modify and 6x 18650's so should be able get it all happening shortly.
and ??? ;D
Post by: corndog on February 06, 2018, 09:44:08 AM
I picked up 2 torches at Bunnings off the throw out table, I think they were around $9 each. They are usb charging  with internal batteries but for $9 who cares. Charged them up, put one in the camper, one in the car. Must be near 2 years now. Have recharged one twice and one only once. Still holding there charge like new. Best buy ever for a torch.
https://www.bunnings.com.au/eiger-lighthouse-6w-cree-led-multifunction-spotlight_p4410609 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/eiger-lighthouse-6w-cree-led-multifunction-spotlight_p4410609)
Post by: tryagain on February 06, 2018, 10:53:27 AM
and ??? ;D

:o That was almost a year ago, Had a bit of a hiccup with the 18650's in that I accidentally left the low voltage alarm on the battery pack I had made and went away and came back to a stuffed battery pack, that and a couple of other issues meant I got the jack of it, Having said that I got the box with all the bits down a week or two ago with the intention to have another crack at it before the end of the month and Uni starting back.
Post by: Bird on February 06, 2018, 12:38:52 PM
:o That was almost a year ago, Had a bit of a hiccup with the 18650's in that I accidentally left the low voltage alarm on the battery pack I had made and went away and came back to a stuffed battery pack, that and a couple of other issues meant I got the jack of it, Having said that I got the box with all the bits down a week or two ago with the intention to have another crack at it before the end of the month and Uni starting back.

... and those 18650s arent cheap.. I've got 3 head torches I bought and 2 normal torches that take them :'( then theres teh charger :'(
Post by: tryagain on February 06, 2018, 12:58:26 PM
... and those 18650s arent cheap.. I've got 3 head torches I bought and 2 normal torches that take them :'( then theres teh charger :'(

Yep and pretty much stuffed 6 of them so was about a $50 mistake from memory, My original plan was to hopefully rescue some out of faulty power tool batteries but haven't come across any yet. I should be able to use the power supply to get it working but not sure it's fused so need to wire one in there somewhere as it's capable of about 70A
Post by: tryagain on August 06, 2018, 03:34:59 PM
and ??? ;D

And... found a Victa 40v 4ah battery on the clearance shelf at Bunnings with a charger for $20 (would normally be $250ish) So grabbed that and harvested 20 18650 high-drain cells from it  ;D

Means I am able to run more batteries at a higher voltage that has helped overcome some of the other issues as well. All working now, just have to fit it all into a very confined space, hopefully, I'll soon stop seeing stars from testing it.
Post by: Bird on August 06, 2018, 04:12:21 PM
And... found a Victa 40v 4ah battery on the clearance shelf at Bunnings with a charger for $20 (would normally be $250ish) So grabbed that and harvested 20 18650 high-drain cells from it  ;D

Means I am able to run more batteries at a higher voltage that has helped overcome some of the other issues as well. All working now, just have to fit it all into a very confined space, hopefully, I'll soon stop seeing stars from testing it.
was actually looking at this thread earlier today LOL!
Post by: tryagain on August 09, 2018, 03:33:04 PM
Only took about two years from idea to conception, but think it's safe to say I now would have the brightest dolphin torch in the world.

Still waiting for the epoxy glue to set on a few bits but here are some pics, I haven't fully got it together in the 1st one due to waiting for glue to dry, should get some action shots in the next few days.
Post by: Pottsy on August 09, 2018, 04:28:55 PM
Only took about two years from idea to conception, but think it's safe to say I now would have the brightest dolphin torch in the world.

Still waiting for the epoxy glue to set on a few bits but here are some pics, I haven't fully got it together in the 1st one due to waiting for glue to dry, should get some action shots in the next few days.

Wow, is that two copper coated flux capacitors on the top?

Great build.  :D
Post by: tryagain on August 09, 2018, 05:39:05 PM
Wow, is that two copper coated flux capacitors on the top?

Great build.  :D

They are inductors, they are part of the constant current drivers for the LEDs. I'll probably do a run through video of it in the next week or so explaining it all.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2018, 06:14:29 PM
They are inductors, they are part of the constant current drivers for the LEDs. I'll probably do a run through video of it in the next week or so explaining it all.
I'll send you my dolphin...
Post by: austastar on August 09, 2018, 06:24:59 PM

I'll probably do a run through video of it in the next week or so explaining it all.

     Yes please!

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: glenm64 on August 09, 2018, 06:47:40 PM
Thought lasers were banned?🤣

Post by: Fizzie on August 10, 2018, 08:40:55 AM
& is it still water-proof & float ??? >:D
Post by: tryagain on August 10, 2018, 08:55:10 AM
& is it still water-proof & float ??? >:D

As it weighs 1.5 kg and has multiple ventilation holes I think it's safe to say it would sink like a brick.
Post by: Bird on August 10, 2018, 08:57:53 AM
We shall name it the bugatti veyron torch... goes ****in hard for short periods before running out of juice or the plastic melts :D :D :D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 10, 2018, 10:44:00 AM
Run for 5 mins., and then need a recharge, does it?
Post by: tryagain on August 10, 2018, 12:23:47 PM
Run for 5 mins., and then need a recharge, does it?

The battery pack(s) are about 70Wh each (now have 2), torch uses about 400W so should use get about 10 mins on full out of each one, full is pretty much for giggles though.

We shall name it the bugatti veyron torch... goes ****in hard for short periods before running out of juice or the plastic melts :D :D :D

Took it for a quick test on the local school oval last night, before the fuse blew, I think the one of the MOSFET's on one of the trigger switches has shorted to ground, PITA having to try and pull find where the short is.
Post by: Bird on August 10, 2018, 12:50:46 PM
Took it for a quick test on the local school oval last night, before the fuse blew

happy with it before fuse went?
Post by: tryagain on August 11, 2018, 10:51:20 AM
happy with it before fuse went?

Yeah, still room for improvement though, it put out heaps of light but is really broad, a bit more focused would be better, ie the ground in front of you is brighter than full sun so is quite glary and reflecting some of that forwards to create a bit of a hot spot and more throw would be better, might try using the reflector off of a few halogen downlights to see if that makes much of a difference, or maybe a honeycomb grid like they use on a camera flash to see if I can focus it a bit more. The electrickery side is all pulled apart trying to sort out some gremlins with that at the moment, think I need to replace the MOSFET (https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=15A+400W+MOS+FET+Trigger+Switch&_sacat=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&_sop=15) but can't find them locally so might have to wait on a slow boat from China.
Post by: Bird on December 16, 2019, 07:32:18 PM
So... hows that going ;)
Post by: tryagain on December 16, 2019, 10:19:31 PM
Well, I haven't touched it in quite a while, the main issue was the pump was causing Cavitation which was then causing a air lock in the cooling setup, a little pwm speed controller would be ideal but no real room in the dolphin case, a smaller pump is another option, might get it out and have a play with it over the break
Post by: Bigfish on December 17, 2019, 07:53:05 AM

A dolphin that sinks?  We will call it the P76.

Interesting torch, thats for sure.  :cheers:
Post by: noel_w on December 17, 2019, 09:20:57 AM
Just bought one of these for the lad.
https://nitecore.com.au/nitecore-mh25gt (https://nitecore.com.au/nitecore-mh25gt)
He may be going travelling around Europe next year and wanted a good torch with multiple charging/battery options. Has a 18650 battery with USB charging but can also run off 2 x CR123 batteries.
Has four brightness levels

1000 Lumen - Turbo
300 Lumen - High
110 Lumen - Mid
50 Lumen - Low
Waterproof in accordance with IPX-8, two-meter submersible.

He also goes shooting and camping so will be useful for that too.
Santa may have also dropped another under the tree for us as well.
See how it fares..