Author Topic: Wind gaurd  (Read 10788 times)

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
Re: Wind gaurd
« Reply #25 on: March 15, 2013, 04:31:01 PM »
Top idea, doing this mod this weekend to be ready for Easter. Only problem was I couldn't find this thread on my phone, when I was at Bunnings and purchased 30mm instead of 25mm. DOH!!!
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Wind gaurd
« Reply #26 on: March 16, 2013, 03:25:28 PM »
Bit of feedback on the wind guards. We got to try them out a week and a bit ago, and they work well at blocking all the wind.

The only problem is that I couldn't open up the big burner more than about half. Over that, and the burner simply couldn't draw enough air, and the flame would detach from the burner and go all floaty. So the solution might be to open up the big holes a bit more, to let a bit more oxygen in.

That said, with the flame being more focused and the wind not affecting the flame as much, we found that half-speed on the gas with the guards was giving us about the same result as we would get previously with the burners on full woot the guards. So they definitely work.

I don't always Tapatalk, but when I do, I make sure to misspell everything.

Offline gutters

• "When logic fails, force prevails"
    • Overland Australia
« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2013, 04:24:17 PM »

Thanks for sharing Spada I'm going to knock up 3 for our stove to help combat the breeze on the beach over Easter.

I'm going to have heaps of strapping left over so if anyone in SE QLD wants a couple of meters let me know.
Blog - https://overlandaustralia.blogspot.com.au/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/OverlandAustralia/
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVhF6CXHhJEquGz55gtsXWQ
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/australiaoverland/

« Reply #28 on: March 17, 2013, 07:19:57 AM »
Bit of feedback on the wind guards. We got to try them out a week and a bit ago, and they work well at blocking all the wind.

The only problem is that I couldn't open up the big burner more than about half. Over that, and the burner simply couldn't draw enough air, and the flame would detach from the burner and go all floaty. So the solution might be to open up the big holes a bit more, to let a bit more oxygen in.

Havn't had that problem myself, but understand the issue.

Maybe making the rings a little bit bigger might help ?

I guess the effectiveness is going to vary depending on the type of stove.

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #29 on: April 02, 2013, 05:01:48 PM »
Used our wind guards over the Easter weekend.

They worked a treat at stopping the wind, however as Matto has posted, we had problems when using our frypan which covered the entire surface area of the rings, not enough oxygen getting in to burn the gas. Easily solved by not centring the frypan.

Great mod.
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Wind gaurd
« Reply #30 on: April 02, 2013, 07:20:16 PM »
What a great idea. I'm going to knock up three for my new camper as well.

I've also got a larger, gal, folding shield made by Hillbilly. It's really heavy, will outlast religion but is better around a fire than on a stove.

Offline Bjs58

« Reply #31 on: April 02, 2013, 10:10:23 PM »
Just had to jump on board and say :  TOP IDEA  :cup:

Ditto ( had to do the same as well)
2009 Hyundai Sante Fe Elite
Track and Tow Pack

2007 Jayco Flamingo

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #32 on: April 03, 2013, 11:46:13 AM »
I'm going to have heaps of strapping left over so if anyone in SE QLD wants a couple of meters let me know.

Me! Me! I'll swing by your place sometime and give you a few bucks to offset the cost of the roll. A mate at Glasshouse will be keen too.

Great idea Spada.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

Offline gutters

• "When logic fails, force prevails"
    • Overland Australia
« Reply #33 on: April 03, 2013, 01:05:21 PM »
Me! Me! I'll swing by your place sometime and give you a few bucks to offset the cost of the roll. A mate at Glasshouse will be keen too.

Let me know when your down this way so I make sure I have it with me, its currently sleeping over at my father in laws place... Mmmmmm I wonder how much is still left ;D
Blog - https://overlandaustralia.blogspot.com.au/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/OverlandAustralia/
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVhF6CXHhJEquGz55gtsXWQ
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/australiaoverland/

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #34 on: April 03, 2013, 03:07:44 PM »
Just got off the phone with a mate who is a builder and he has some of the hoop iron for me. Saved me buying a whole roll.
Will add it to my camper this week before we go to the Flinders Rangers :cup:
Crispy

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Offline hargs

« Reply #35 on: May 11, 2013, 11:22:16 PM »
Our 2 gaurds live and travel  on our stove, there is not many camps were there is NO breeze. Even if there is a slight puff it seems that it increases that boil time on the kettle !!!

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk 2

Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #36 on: May 12, 2013, 09:43:55 AM »

A mod in the spirit of camping... I.e. the best things in life are SIMPLE!  :cup:
« Last Edit: May 13, 2013, 09:37:25 AM by B&B »

Offline Noughts

• Happy Days
Wind gaurd
« Reply #37 on: May 12, 2013, 06:44:03 PM »
Bloody brilliant might pinch that one

03 Nissan Navara and 2012 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #38 on: June 10, 2014, 05:54:16 PM »
Me too. Great idea.  Have been out both Sunday and Monday and had strong winds which gave my burner a hard time in boiling the water for the coffee.
Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com