Author Topic: Wind gaurd  (Read 10787 times)

Offline hargs

Wind gaurd
« on: February 28, 2013, 08:32:36 AM »
Camping at Wee Jasper on the weeekend, it was quite windy and the new stove struggled abit. The chopping boards kept blowing over....
Has anyone got a good wind gaurd..one of those folding types, and where did you get it ? please. Not keen on the small expensive alu. type.

thanks in advance. :angel:
Life is to short not to...............

Re: Wind gaurd
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2013, 09:28:05 AM »
I made some up out of some roof bracing strap. Its a metal strap about that about  1mm thick and 30mm wide and has lots of holes in it (readily available from hardware shops).

Form it into a circle to fit on the cook top around the burner. The concept is that it seals the space between top of the cook top and the bottom of the frypan. The holes that are in it allow ventilation for the flame, but are not big enough to affected by the wind.

Takes up no extra room as they live on the stove.

I'll try and remember to put up a pic when I get home from work.

Offline hargs

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2013, 09:29:40 AM »
now thats an unexpected solution........!!! love to see photos ..thanks

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2013, 09:41:07 AM »
like this?

Offline hargs

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2013, 10:14:32 AM »
Thats nice too, bit big for want a need, I have a back gaurd on my stove ...glass, but could put a 3 side one around the front ..did you buy or make that one ?

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2013, 10:15:26 AM »
Quote from: hargs
Thats nice too, bit big for want a need, I have a back gaurd on my stove ...glass, but could put a 3 side one around the front ..did you buy or make that one ?
Got it when I had the stove built and installed by Kiwi.
I think Tru Blu sell them.

its good cause you can turn it to which ever way the wind is coming from, which was PERFECT at Silverton

« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2013, 10:30:47 AM »
http://www.2daloo.com/gasguards.html

We got one of the 4 panel guards, works a treat, the edges are rolled so no sharp bits, full length hinges and easy to clean. 

« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2013, 01:59:16 PM »
Home from work now, here are some (poor quality) piks of what I use.

Simple, dirt cheep, effective.............

Get some of this..........

Use it to make some of these..................

Put them on here.........

Now put the kettle on and enjoy the breeze. :cup:

« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2013, 02:52:17 PM »
Excellent idea Spada.  I have some of that strapping in the shed and will make a couple on the weekend.  Thanks mate  :cup:

Offline Taz64

• Just because you can, doesn't mean you should
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2013, 03:35:58 PM »
Spada, very clever and simple solution.  Well done.

Did they smoke on the first couple of uses due to the galvanising burning off?  If so did it affect the taste of the food?

Taz   

2007 Toyota Hilux SR5 Turbo Diesel
Freetime semi-off road camper trailer

Marschy

« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2013, 03:40:38 PM »
No effect whatsoever

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2013, 07:08:46 PM »
I saw this wind guard on one of the main camper trailer sellers at the Adelaide show last weekend....I think it was Camprite???

It looked like an egg ring on steroids that went around the actual burner itself and protected the flame from the wind, like Spada's invention, but without the holes.

2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2013, 07:37:54 PM »
Did they smoke on the first couple of uses due to the galvanising burning off?  If so did it affect the taste of the food?

No problems, the gal is still intact, no smoke. They do get hot to touch, but not hot enough to burn the gal coating.

Offline hargs

« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2013, 07:42:47 PM »
Excellent idea Spada.  I have some of that strapping in the shed and will make a couple on the weekend.  Thanks mate  :cup:

x2 thanks, I think problem solved !!!! :angel:

Offline VKPrado

« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2013, 08:48:08 AM »
 :cup: What a great simple solution to a problem I have been trying to solve for a while now but have always ended with great big complicated designs. Biggest issue now is trying to source some off cuts from someone.

« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2013, 08:50:09 AM »
Where are you?

OK, see you've since added your location.  Bit far away to offer you some of mine
« Last Edit: March 01, 2013, 01:32:22 PM by KingBilly »

Wind gaurd
« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2013, 09:01:27 AM »
I'm thinking that you probably should of taken out a patent on this one.... Great idea!

« Reply #17 on: March 01, 2013, 09:33:45 AM »
Anyone in Melbourne needing some let me know, we use this strap all the time and have off cuts and spare

Offline slave

2003 Holden Ute
1996 Cub Camper

« Reply #19 on: March 01, 2013, 12:16:14 PM »
Great job Spada. I'm going to Bunnings tonight to get some of this strapping and make a pair.

Related - if anyone in Cairns wants to make a set themselves, I should have roughly 29.5m left over...

« Reply #20 on: March 01, 2013, 01:29:10 PM »
I'll take half a metre Matto.!

Thats an awesome idea, well done.

Stick ina fancy box and charge $30 for it.!

Offline hargs

« Reply #21 on: March 02, 2013, 01:43:23 PM »
2 made !!!

Pop rivetted from the inside worked well.
Will be trying them next weekend.

Thanks again for the idea.

« Reply #22 on: March 02, 2013, 02:55:15 PM »
2 made !!!

Pop rivetted from the inside worked well.
Will be trying them next weekend.

Thanks again for the idea.

Hope they do the job for you. I've borrowed lots of info and idea's from here, so it's about time I paid something back.

« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2013, 09:03:32 PM »
Hope they do the job for you. I've borrowed lots of info and idea's from here, so it's about time I paid something back.

Thats what the forum is all about. I've gained Somme great knowledge from here, I hope I've added something of worth to the forum also over time.

Offline Kydar

• Australia, Love it or Leave it.
« Reply #24 on: March 02, 2013, 09:25:46 PM »
Just had to jump on board and say :  TOP IDEA  :cup:
2014 Nissan Patrol with mods
2012 Lifestyle Walkthru.