Author Topic: Another new member from Perth  (Read 10398 times)

Re: Another new member from Perth
« Reply #25 on: November 11, 2010, 08:38:54 PM »
Welcome to Myswag Wilsurf.  We don't have a ct yet either - ordered it 2 weeks ago but don't get it till end of Feb. 
You'll enjoy the forum - everyone is very friendly and helpful.
Have fun.

Offline Ray-C

« Reply #26 on: November 11, 2010, 09:26:29 PM »
Welcome wilsurf    :cheers:
C:\Users\Ray\Pictures\2010-08-01 tom price\tom price 017 email.JPG

Offline youngpop

« Reply #27 on: November 12, 2010, 04:12:07 PM »
G'day and welcome to Myswag, sounds like you've got the tow sorted out. Look forward to some pics of the CT.

« Reply #28 on: November 12, 2010, 04:14:40 PM »
I can't wait myself, but I have too. :-)
When I see the trailer, we will take pics.

« Reply #29 on: November 15, 2010, 06:58:46 PM »
I have a question for the experts here.

How do you guys and girls charge the batteries when driving?
Do you use a battery isolator between the car battery and the CT batteries?

Offline Alchemist

« Reply #30 on: November 15, 2010, 08:06:13 PM »
Hi Wilsurf,

I'm getting Jamie to install a Redarc BCDC isolator / charger unit.  This will isolate the KK batteries from the Prado's, while also increasing the rate at which the Prado charges the KK batteries.

Alchemist

« Reply #31 on: November 22, 2010, 05:29:38 PM »
Got an email from Jamie telling us that he expected the trailer mid week.

Only one problem: ARB stuffed up AGAIN with the towbar.
"The holes are not lining up so it doesn't fit"
MAKE IT FIT!!!!!

This is the last time they get to do anything on my car.

« Reply #32 on: November 25, 2010, 06:15:09 PM »
Hurray, the trailer is at the dealer in Perth. :-)
Now I have to wait for the towbar to be fitted. :-(

« Reply #33 on: December 13, 2010, 02:16:11 PM »
Got a phone call from my mate who is installing the "difficult-to-be-modified" towbar.
He told me that it took him longer to drive my car in his workshop and take the new towbar out of the car, then to install it.
No modifications at all, a straight bolt on.
Friday, here we come to pick up the trailer.  :cheers:

« Reply #34 on: March 10, 2011, 11:20:57 AM »
Just a quick update.

We went away last long weekend (Labour Day in WA).
The destination was Myalup where we bush camped with 4 other camper trailers, all members of our 4wd club.
It was great.
The sand was soft, so soft that at onetime the trailer dragged the rear of the car of the track and I get bogged. :-(
After digging and using Maxxtracks and those rubber tracks, we were out.

We love our trailer. Setting up takes me no more then 2 minutes, taking my time and using only 1 arm.
The kids were playing in the sand. The top layer is white-ish, but underneath it is black.
So were the kids. :-)
No problem. Start the hot water system and shower them. :-)
Great little comfort in the bush.

« Reply #35 on: March 10, 2011, 11:38:42 AM »

« Reply #36 on: March 10, 2011, 12:49:26 PM »
I know, will do it tonight.

« Reply #37 on: March 10, 2011, 07:49:14 PM »
Hi Wilsurf and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #38 on: March 10, 2011, 10:30:50 PM »
Here we go.

« Reply #39 on: March 10, 2011, 11:22:08 PM »
Looks like a nice spot and that sand looks ordinary, what pressure were you running?

« Reply #40 on: March 11, 2011, 10:23:58 AM »
Going in on 15 psi, later on the beach 10 psi which made a huge difference.
It was soft sand. Did I mention soft?  ;D
There was only three other campers at the beginning of the area, nobody else. We were surprised as it was a long weekend.

Offline Orinoco

« Reply #41 on: March 11, 2011, 09:51:53 PM »
Hi WilSurf,

There is a ton of useful info here.

Enjoy your time on the boards

« Reply #42 on: March 19, 2011, 09:54:18 PM »
For those who a KK, the kwik awning and the full enclosure: are the front and rear wall interchangable?

« Reply #43 on: March 21, 2011, 11:02:00 PM »
Anyone?

« Reply #44 on: September 22, 2011, 04:18:55 PM »
Right, another update.

We are back after a 3 week trip to see Lake Eyre and the Flinders Ranges.
It all went well, apart from a few things.

Car:
- Shredded rear tyres on the Birdsville Track. Replaced with spare.
- One battery 100% dead, had to be jump started twice. Replaced under warranty.
- Broken studbolt from the long range tank which fell on the driveshaft. Repaired with 3 cable ties.

Campertrailer:
- windgust blew up the awning: bend quick awning pole and pocket for pole ripped off
- plastic eyes on both traps holding the backdoor open when CT is closed broken.
- jockey wheel which has been replaced before touching one side of its frame so not very usefull anymore.
- quick connection of the gas to the cooker very hard to get off.
- led light in the front box doesn't work anymore.
- canvass flap torn at the driver side door to the ensuite.
- plastic eyes from the spreaderbars for front awning broken.

The dealer is looking into these items.
Alchemist, how are your spreaderbars doing?

Offline Alchemist

« Reply #45 on: September 23, 2011, 01:01:54 AM »
Bummer about the damage Wilsurf  >:(

I dropped the end of my gas hose (with the quick snap lock fitting) in the dirt a Cape
Leveque and it was never the same again.  After I got back, I went to Bunnings and fortunately, they have replacement fittings for $18.

Is the canvas flap tear a result of it getting crushed / torn in the hinge (ie: amongst where the three tent support brackets pivot) during folding?  If so, been there... done that (and got the $330 repair bill to prove it) *sigh*. 

The spreader bars are still holding up so far, but I can see that they won't last long.  I strolled through a new BCF the other day and noticed they have a decent range of 25mm aluminium poles and assorted ends - I bought spare eyelet ends, c-bracket ends and locking (wingnut ends) for when (not "if"!) they break. Around the $8ish mark per pack of two from memory.

Good luck with the repairs.  I'm hoping to get mine back soon (fingers crossed!)

Alchemist

« Reply #46 on: December 20, 2012, 06:39:29 PM »
Another picture to keep this alive.