Author Topic: Hi From Townsville  (Read 10405 times)

Offline Skilee

Hi From Townsville
« on: January 07, 2015, 04:30:40 PM »
Hi to all. Any tips on how to calm the nervous / past the time awaiting picking up your very first ever camp trailer? This time tomorrow we should have our new pride and joy.....  ;D

Hi From Townsville
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2015, 04:31:35 PM »
Alcohol, or increasing your post count on myswag.  Btw, welcome to myswag. Great to have you on board.  What CT did you order?
« Last Edit: January 07, 2015, 04:45:45 PM by scarpsD40 »

Offline Skilee

Re: Hi From Townsville
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2015, 05:13:52 PM »
Alcohol it will have to be  8)Not technically minded.  We got a Ecomate FF.

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2015, 05:15:17 PM »
Welcome to myswag.  Congrats on the Ecomate.  Hearing lots of good things about them  :cup:

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2015, 05:29:15 PM »
Welcome mate, nice choice of trailer!!!

« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2015, 07:37:35 PM »
Great to see another member from NQ, like everyone else, what CT did you buy?

Offline Skilee

« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2015, 08:14:08 PM »
We got an Ecomate Forward Fold. Super excited to get out and about. Haven't been anywhere but Bivouac. Any good locations suggestions (not to off road (4wd) and Kiddie friendly) will be greatly appreciated.

« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2015, 09:21:19 PM »
G'day and welcome mate.
Top part of the country you live in there. :cup:
Congrats on the camper. A customer of mine took his over to Broome and back in August and raved about it.
We also like heaps of pics of the camper when you get it. ;D ;D

Offline Redbream

« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2015, 10:35:55 PM »
Might have to catch up with a few of these Nth Qlders as I am just north of Townsville (Balgal Beach) and get a few ideas for some mods.
Cheers Ray
I think paranoid people are following me

« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2015, 08:45:20 AM »
G'day Skilee, welcome to the forum.........

Camping around fnq is a bit tough this time of year...... though based in t'ville you'll find plenty of close range options.... head west for the outback style bush camp, up round Ingham/Lucinda for the tropical camp..... have fun.

Catch ya,

Barrabart...

Offline ianola

« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2015, 11:52:37 AM »
Well done on your choice of Camper from another newbie to myswag. We ordered an Ecomate explorer series 3 rear fold in late November 2014 and have delayed taking delivery until builders complete our new shed hopefully by mid February.  Currently we own a Cape York off road soft floor camper with boat rack which we purchased in 2002. We  intend to keep the "Yorkie"(which has been extremely reliable) for our annual fishing trips to the Cape and also our kids make good use of it. Our decision to purchase the Ecomate was based on reasonable price,quick set up,facilities such as kitchen incl stove, slide for fridge, room for generator etc. all of which make the camper suitable for extended touring. Also, we have inspected a number of rental Ecomates some of which have been to the"Tip" in excess of 6 times and from talking to the people at Savanah Trailers there have been no issues with performance an reliability. My Swag member Muzza 01 who owns a similar camper has also been very helpful to us with his expert advice.

All the best with your new camper.
Ecomate  RF hard floor camper
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

You have as much right to be wrong as you have to be right

« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2015, 10:50:50 PM »
G'Day and welcome to the forum......gr8 choice of CT.....Safe and pleasant trips
                  cheers Tracker

« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2015, 11:13:39 AM »
Hi to all. Any tips on how to calm the nervous / past the time awaiting picking up your very first ever camp trailer? This time tomorrow we should have our new pride and joy.....  ;D

G'day guys did you pick up the camper ;D any pics?

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2015, 02:18:05 PM »
We got an Ecomate Forward Fold. Super excited to get out and about. Haven't been anywhere but Bivouac. Any good locations suggestions (not to off road (4wd) and Kiddie friendly) will be greatly appreciated.

Broadwater State Forest near Ingham is great for kids & close enough for a weekend.
Dirt forestry road in but usually in good condition.
The thread below has info on Broadwater plus some other NQ locations
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=746.0

Big Crystal Creek is close. I've never camped there myself. Gets busy at times

Offline LuckyDog

« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2015, 03:57:50 PM »
Welcome to the forum and i am sure you'll enjoy the new camper   :cheers:
2016 Landcruiser GXL SC with Obieco Canopy
Kedron 2002 XC poptop
Don't use either as much as i like,
Would every Day be too much to ask tho?

Offline Chris J

• My OKA - 166
« Reply #15 on: January 09, 2015, 06:36:43 PM »
Welcome on-board,

Likewise I’m also from Townsville, keep an eye on the Trips, Tracks, Touring and Report section as the North Queenslanders do have a few get togethers throughout the year.

Regards, Chris.
Chaos, Panic, Disorder - My work is done here.

Offline Skilee

« Reply #16 on: January 09, 2015, 09:31:19 PM »
Thanks for all the welcomes and camp site suggestions.
We picked up our camper on Thursday!!!!
We set it up straight away (basic) in our carport and the kids moved in. Today we moved it to the front yard and added annex wall (still have to add ensuite) Over the weekend we will pack all our gear into it and get ready for our first trip on Australia day weekend.
It is absolutely brilliant!!!
Ps just trying to work out how to post photos using my phone ????
« Last Edit: January 09, 2015, 09:33:52 PM by Skilee »

« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2015, 07:59:00 AM »
Great to hear, where is the campers first shakedown going to be?

Offline Skilee

« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2015, 08:11:24 AM »
We are heading for Forest Beach. While up that way we are going to check out Broad water and maybe spend a night at Rollingstone on the return.  Not that I expect anything to go wrong but want to stay relatively local for Justin ????. Bivouac would have been my first choice but the Ashes are on that weekend.

« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2015, 10:58:36 AM »
We are heading for Forest Beach. While up that way we are going to check out Broad water and maybe spend a night at Rollingstone on the return.  Not that I expect anything to go wrong but want to stay relatively local for Justin ????. Bivouac would have been my first choice but the Ashes are on that weekend.

Yes we were going to go to bivoac as well, we are now going to rolling stone beach caravan park as we will be meeting friends there.

« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2015, 11:58:17 AM »
We camped at Jorama Falls NP last August and it was nice also.
I would definitely go back again.
Happy camping guys

Offline Skilee

« Reply #21 on: January 11, 2015, 07:36:49 PM »
Just spent the last 3 nights in the camper. Other than sorting out possibility of upgrading mattress, we all fit in there with room to move around. So much better than a tent, the kids didn't even know if it was morning as it was so dark in there.
We packed it all up this arv and are really happy that we can store all bedding, and annexes plus table in the camper. All others "must haves" like the coffee machine ????, porta loo and hot water to go are  now in there new home. I didn't think it would fit but pleasantly surprised. Count down is now on....

Offline Skilee

« Reply #22 on: January 11, 2015, 07:38:50 PM »
Yes we were going to go to bivoac as well, we are now going to rolling stone beach caravan park as we will be meeting friends there.

Happy weekend. Love Rollingstone...

Offline michael56

« Reply #23 on: January 12, 2015, 06:42:21 PM »
Nothing like a new camper to get one excited. Welcome to myswag. I came through Townsville a few months ago a nice part of the country.
Cheers  :cheers:
Michael
Bushranger Off Road camper hauled by a Landrover Defender TD5 Wagon

Offline MrsWilson79

« Reply #24 on: January 13, 2015, 07:39:14 PM »
Welcome Skilee! Great camper, we have the same FF Ecomate and found we had the same issues with the standard mattress. We were fortunate enough that our self-inflatable mattress from our tent days, fit over the camper's mattress and makes the bed a lot more comfortable.  We just leave the self-inflatable on the standard mattress, as a mattress topper.

Can't wait to see some pics from your first trip and hope to see you around the traps.

Happy camping!
Check out our family adventures www.thewilsonfamilyadventures.wordpress.com