Author Topic: G'day from NQ  (Read 6192 times)

Offline NQ42GU

G'day from NQ
« on: November 03, 2013, 01:15:42 PM »
G'day everyone,

We are a family of 5, Mum, Dad and 3 girls 5, 3 and 10 weeks old.

RIG - We have a 2005 4.2 GU Patrol Wagon with Nissan winch bar (soon to hold new winch) HID spotties, Long range tank, rear bar, rear camp light, Black widow draws, 2" Heavy duty EFS suspension, Air Bags, Mickey Thompson ATZ 4 ribs, 3" exhaust, Mild tune up and boost up, Duel Battery, and a poxy Ebay head unit. Hoping to add ARB brush bars and steps and maybe a front Auto-locker soon.

CAMPER- I am a coach builder by trade so I built my own heavy duty trailer and added a swag camper trailers top. 9ft with an extra room at the front for the kids. Water tank, tap, spare, ally box on front. Nothing special about the camper but it is built very strong and it's satisfying building my own. Still have a few things to sort out and add. like dust proofing it and have a heap of solar stuff on the way to run a few lights and the 80L Weaco.

We are planning on doing a 6-8 week trip from our home in Ingham to Mareeba/Mt Mulligan and then across to Lawn Hill, Lorella Station and then on to the NT for a look around. From about mid to late March to the end of April. Hopefully it wont be too wet.
05 4.2 GU with some gear and home made off road soft floor.

Re: G'day from NQ
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2013, 01:21:43 PM »
Welcome to MySwag NQ42GU. Nice tug and CT. it's good to see others from up this way on the forum. Muz.

Offline NQ42GU

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2013, 01:25:47 PM »
Few more of the Nissan with a bit more gear and the camper all setup.

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2013, 01:29:01 PM »
Welcome to myswag, if you have some pics of your camper build throw them up in a build thread, we like to see/pinch other people's good ideas :)

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2013, 01:34:16 PM »
G'day and welcome NQ42GU and Family.
Top setup there mate. :cup: 4.2 Nissan Patrol..... One of the best.
We go camping down your way at Broadwater National Park, Wanderers Caravan Park at Lucinda, Rollingstone Caravan Park (last weekend) and go through Ingham and up Mt Fox to get to Reedybrook.

Offline FalcOn

« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2013, 07:25:42 PM »
Hi NQ42HU

Sounds like a great trip, we live in the north and have been dreaming of a similar trip. It's just finding a window between work and the kids school that holds us back... Good luck with the trip preparation...

Offline NQ42GU

« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2013, 08:18:05 PM »
Thanks for the welcome guys, \

SOL - Yep Broadwater is a magic spot, bit dry at the moment but the creek is still nice and clear. I'd love to get up Tully way and chase some Jungle Perch up that way.

D4D - I will throw some pics of the camper build in a build thread shortly.

« Last Edit: November 03, 2013, 08:21:14 PM by NQ42GU »

« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2013, 05:26:54 AM »
NQ42GU,

We went for a drive up to Cochable Creek a few weeks ago and the Jungle Perch were pretty thick.
Just bring your March Fly Repellant  ;D

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2013, 07:52:04 AM »
Welcome to the forum.  Great looking setup you have there.  Look forward to seeing some more photos of the CT in your build thread.

KN

« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2013, 09:19:38 AM »
Welcome NQ42GU,

Looks a good set up you have there,
happy camping

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2013, 11:22:10 AM »
G'day NQ42GU,

Welcome to MySwag.
We were just up your way 2 weeks ago at Broadwater. Driest I've seen it. Still had a ball though in the creek.
Driest I've seen the whole Ingham area I reckon. 

We were up at Mt Mulligan in the last school holidays - well worth including it on your itinerary .

Look forward to following your adventures

« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2013, 11:44:01 AM »
Welcome to MySwag, great tow buggy and the camper looks the goods. Enloy your stay and join in the banter

Offline LeeandLisa

« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2013, 01:50:46 AM »
NQ42GU,

Welcome to the forum. Great set up. Top truck too. I have a GQ 4.2 and was going to upgrade to a GU but for the price couldn't find a reason. ;Reedybrook station is our favorite place so far, you should try and get there (about 4 hr drive from Ingham) If you need any info PM me
Mt Mulligan is nice too. Sounds like a great trip.
Lee

Offline Clouty

« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2013, 06:32:50 AM »
Welcome to the forum NQ42GU... :cup:

« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2013, 06:37:57 AM »

Looks like a great set up. Looking forward to hearing about your trips

« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2013, 10:20:57 AM »
Welcome NQ42GU, good to see another North Queenslander.
Have you seen this thread.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=32609.0

Offline NQ42GU

« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2013, 08:50:04 PM »
Thanks jclures,

I would love to have come but had a weekend booked with the fishing club at Proserpine that weekend. I'll keep an eye out for other NQ member's meet up's would love to meet some like minded folk.

Did get my first metre Barra though.  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Andy

« Reply #17 on: December 14, 2013, 09:26:21 PM »
Thanks jclures,

I would love to have come but had a weekend booked with the fishing club at Proserpine that weekend. I'll keep an eye out for other NQ member's meet up's would love to meet some like minded folk.

Did get my first metre Barra though;D ;D ;D ;D

Andy

Andy, you are a bit slow there mate, been there and done that. ;D >:D