Author Topic: Swan outback 2013  (Read 20060 times)

Offline swanoutback2013

Swan outback 2013
« on: May 01, 2013, 09:45:21 PM »
Gday all im new to all this so forgive me for dribbling, we have just ordered our brand new jayco swan outback from caravanland in perth
Here is the set-up we have ordered
2013 swan outback
"Alpha pack" includes
Hot water system
Extra water tank
2nd gas bottle
Control panel showing water and battery levels
100amp Deep cycle battery
External shower
12volt water pump
Hot and cold taps inside.
"Lifestyle pack" includes
Upgrade to fusion bluetooth stereo
Outdoor speakers fitted
18"tv with built in dvd
Wineguard wind up aerial.
We optioned to
Extend a frame by 300mm
Annex walls
Tv point to external wall
120watt free standing solar panel
Bbq gas point fitted near rear power points under awning
Comes standard in WA with
Bag bed end flys
Roof racks
Microwave
Bag awning
Bumper bar

We now have the agonising wait until mid july when we can pick her up
And get out on the road and test her out
This is our first ever camper trailer and we are very open to any kind of advise
As trivial as it may seem that would help us out with our new toy
Wether it be things we should consider adding to our camper now or later( we still have a chance for jayco to add mods if need be)or advise for when we get out on the road
Any advis what so ever would be greatly appreciated as the mrs is already booking in
Camp sites for october and xmas holidays for us and our 4 and 2year olds :cheers:

Re: Swan outback 2013
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 09:49:32 PM »
Hi there Swanoutback2013,

Dribbing is allowed when you have just ordered a rig like that!

Welcome to the friendliest place I have found ont he interweb.

There will be heaps of great advice from other Jayco owners and other in Perth regarding camping lcoations.

What is your tow vehicle?

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 10:04:49 PM »
Gday bunyip cheers mate we currently have a mitsubishi outlander but are in the process of
Trading it in for a nissan patrol before we pick up the swan probably around a 2007 -2009 model
Ive got a few patrol utes at work and im very happy with them so gunna look at a auto wagon
So themrs can drive it day to day aswell
Cant wait to get out there but at the moment
All the gear and no idea ???

« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2013, 10:19:14 PM »
Lots of swaggers to help you out.

You could always check out the trip report section, in particular there is a WA Locations area. http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=748.0

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2013, 10:22:27 PM »
Thanks mate will do

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2013, 10:27:06 PM »
Welcome aboard mate that's an impressive list. Make sure you ask them to increase your payload. By the time you fill both water tanks and Gas bottles there won't be much left for everything else :cheers:

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2013, 10:38:03 PM »
Coulb you explain a bit more about that mate

« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2013, 11:20:05 PM »

Payload is the maximum amount of weight that you can load in/on the trailer without exceeding the GVM (legally)

The kerb weight of a caravan or trailer  (also known as the Tare weight) is the weight as it leaves the manufacturer and is usually the weight without water in the tanks or the gas tanks. The kerb weight should be on the caravan’s compliance plate.

Gross Trailer Mass (GTM) is the maximum weight the trailer is allowed to be operated.  GVM is the kerb (tare) weight plus the payload.  Operating a trailer  exceeding its GVM is illegal.  It will void the manufacturer’s warranty and likely to void your insurance. 

So if you fill your two 90lt tanks your using up 180 kg's of payload already plus the gas tanks plus the batt. Can't remember what the standard payload on the swan is but its not a lot when running two tanks. In some cases they sensibly up it from factory but not always as had been discussed at length on here so its worth to check with them and if not get as much as you can. Won't cost any extra :cheers:

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2013, 11:20:29 PM »
Cheers ill look into it

Offline Smitty

Swan outback 2013
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2013, 12:03:05 AM »
That's the same set up as our 2012 swan except we opted for no microwave as we are rarely near power which in turn gave us a huge cupboard for pots, pans and nappies for our two year old plus we had the gas bayonet installed on the draw bar so we weren't bbqing under the awning. I also installed a diesel heater for our Victorian winters which really makes it a home away from home... Also opted for the Hyland hitch which makes it easier to hook up instead of the poly block if your looking at an off road hitch... Nothing I would change with our set up since owning it except the bagged awning is a pain in the butt at times... Hope you enjoy the new toy, cheers Smitty...

Offline Smitty

Swan outback 2013
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2013, 12:08:03 AM »
One other thing, we travel with a vinyl  rubbish bag strapped to the spare wheel  for rubbish so we don't have to travel with rubbish bags full of crappy nappies in the 4wd or camper...

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2013, 07:02:00 AM »
Welcome Swanoutback2013 to Myswag,

Great set up you have ordered,
July will come quickly and then your out there.
Good luck,

« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2013, 07:56:43 AM »
Welcome aboard mate

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2013, 12:58:05 PM »
Cheers fellas and great idea about the nappy bag smitty :cheers:

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2013, 02:04:26 PM »
Smitty I still have time to change the gas
Point location, do you find it better out the
Back, suppose it could get a bit smokey
Under the annex?

« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2013, 02:08:08 PM »
I also have the gas bayonet on drawbar. Works well.

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2013, 02:09:25 PM »
I'm thinking maybe to move it to the very
End near where annex finishes so could cook
Outside or undercover depending on the weather

Offline Smitty

Swan outback 2013
« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2013, 11:42:19 PM »
That's the reason we opted for the draw bar mount so we not cooking under the awning but also had the hose on the Webber extended so if rains can drag it in under cover...

Offline darrenh

Swan outback 2013
« Reply #18 on: May 03, 2013, 06:37:03 AM »
I installed an extra gas bottle on the drawbar just for the weber. I have one of those fast connect gas fittings so that I can quickly connect the 3m gas hose to the weber.
We usually leave the gas bottle on the drawbar and use the weber at the front of the jayco. The back of the landcruiser is usually parked at the front of the camper and we access the engel fridge in the back. So the drawbar end of the camper is usually better for us. However, if based on the weather or baking sun I sometimes lift the gas bottle out and relocated the setup to the rear or side of the bag awning. This setup also lets us throw the weber in the back of the cruiser and go for a drive and lunchtime BBQ.

Darren

2006 100 series sahara
2008  Jayco flamingo outback

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2013, 09:07:55 AM »
Both great ideas cheers

Offline Smithyworld

Swan outback 2013
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2013, 09:40:38 AM »
I installed an extra gas bottle on the drawbar just for the weber. I have one of those fast connect gas fittings so that I can quickly connect the 3m gas hose to the weber.
We usually leave the gas bottle on the drawbar and use the weber at the front of the jayco. The back of the landcruiser is usually parked at the front of the camper and we access the engel fridge in the back. So the drawbar end of the camper is usually better for us. However, if based on the weather or baking sun I sometimes lift the gas bottle out and relocated the setup to the rear or side of the bag awning. This setup also lets us throw the weber in the back of the cruiser and go for a drive and lunchtime BBQ.

Darren

I like this idea....

Chris and Angie
Ford Ranger Wildtrak & Jayco Outback Eagle 2013
Www.chrissmithphotography.com.au
Chris

Ford Ranger Wildtrak and Jayco Outback Eagle 2013

www.chrissmithphotography.com.au

Offline Baggs

« Reply #21 on: May 05, 2013, 10:34:22 AM »
Hey Swanoutback2013,

We are in the same boat. Have ordered our Swan and it will be ready July from Caravan Land.
Mrs and kids (3yrs & 6yrs) are pumped. We are heading to to Coral Bay in Oct but will be heading out on a few trial runs before that.

Enjoy mate 

Offline swanoutback2013

« Reply #22 on: May 05, 2013, 02:12:32 PM »
Congrats baggs i bet the family is pumped just like mine, we have booked kalbarri and momkey mia
For the october school holidays and were thinking denmark/esperence way for xmas break,we just back from a tenting weekend in lancelin and im tellin ya july cant come quick enough, if ive ever gotta pack up that bloody thing again it will be too soon,was very jealous of seeing all the jaycos rollin into the park.
Is this your first camper aswell?

Offline Stozz

• The Driver, The Nav and The Dog
« Reply #23 on: May 05, 2013, 02:33:23 PM »
We are in the same boat. Have ordered our Swan and it will be ready July from Caravan Land.

I bet the family is pumped just like mine, we have booked kalbarri and momkey mia

Congrats to both of you.  Exciting and fun times ahead.

Our advice: make sure you do a REALLY thorough handover at pick up at Caravanland. Allow at least 3 hours to go over, under and into everything. It is worth taking the time.  This includes unrolling the bed end flys and making sure they are the right size and fit. Go through the complete set up and pack up with the Jayco mob.  Do a few set ups and pack ups at home on the front lawn, and a few close-to-home shake down trips.  Allow time for a few little warranty fix ups back at Jayco as invariably it happens.

We had a new 2011 Outback Swan and went through a bit of pain to get it all good to go.  In the end we moved to a hard floor KK as that suited our needs better, but a Swan is great for young families - you will love it.

If you delve back into some of the older posts on our blog you will see where we were able to take our Swan. http://teamstozz.com/
Happy (waiting and) camping!

« Last Edit: May 05, 2013, 02:40:00 PM by Stozz »

Offline Baggs

« Reply #24 on: May 05, 2013, 04:30:13 PM »
To swanoutback2013,

Ha ha, we just did the last tent mission last week to Hamelin Bay as well, I'm hearing ya mate,  had the car packed to the rafters.

Yeah this our first camper, I think there will be a sacrificial burning of the tent when it arrives.

Stozz

Cheers for the heads up on pick up