Author Topic: Greetings from Perth  (Read 13934 times)

Offline Hogie

Greetings from Perth
« on: October 24, 2012, 08:41:18 PM »
Hi all, my name is Paul and I have been lurking around for a while but seeing as I am about to buy my first camper trailer I thought I would join up to bask in the collective knowledge that is MySwag.

I am 99.9999% sure that our choice of trailer will be the Camprite TX6. I went past the showroom in Wangara to have a look at the TL8s and whilst I was talking to them they took me around the back to show me one of the new TX6 models that was almost finished, very nice indeed.

Anyway provided the numbers work out ok we will hopefully be happy Camprite campers....
2010 ST Patrol
2012 Camprite TX6

Offline LB

Re: Greetings from Perth
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2012, 09:13:18 PM »
Welcome Paul :cheers:

We have just ordered our first CT, its very exiciting and scary all at the same time.

LB
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

Offline mike and tracy davis

• The Davis Clan
    • http://myswag.org/gallery/v/mike+and+tracy+davis/
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2012, 09:28:41 PM »
Greetings Hogie and Welcome :cup:
Good to see another West OZZ'y on board.
Mindarie, just shy of Geraldton but closer to the Northwest than us! ;D
Love to see the new camprite when you post it up.

Cheers Mike and Tracy. :cheers:
Mike and Tracy Davis VKS737 mobile 3424
Nomad 96 4WD Club of WA. Only owns and drives Patrols, likes to get out there .......and make it back!

Offline Trex_s4m1

• need more toys! :D
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2012, 09:31:42 PM »
welcome mate. anything you choose will beat a dome tent or swag. enjoy your time here and up north!  :cheers:

Offline coffs camping

• We are three - Mum, Ms.15 and Mr.9
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2012, 09:55:48 PM »
Welcome!

Enjoy the new camper and the forum,

J (Contrary to my user name and sig, I am also a WA swagger).
Love weekend camping whenever we can in our 2002 Cub Spacematic (Transcontinental Pack) with the 80series LC. See you out there!! J

« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2012, 10:23:15 PM »
Welcome mate, from another WA-swagger.
Don't forget to go to George (Followmecampers, next to Camprite in Wangara)

Offline Amy

Greetings from Perth
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2012, 12:00:21 AM »
Hi Paul. We love our camprite. We're 6 months into an 8 month trip and it's been great, especially with our 2 kids. Good luck with your purchase.

« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2012, 05:27:28 AM »
G'day Paul ,

To MySwag,
There are plenty of Swaggers in your neck of the woods.
A lot of great info here to help you set your camper up and heaps of trip reports to get you out there and enjoying it.

« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2012, 02:53:04 PM »
Gday Hogie and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2012, 03:44:06 PM »
Welcome mate and thanks for alerting me to a new Camprite mode, just another one to drool over.  Any idea on what the new model specs are over a TL8s?  There are no details on their website yet.

Offline rkwpjv

« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2012, 05:41:00 PM »
Welcome!!
Prado 120 T/D Grande + 2010 Jayco Eagle Outback Alpha Pack

Offline Hogie

« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2012, 11:49:04 PM »
Welcome mate and thanks for alerting me to a new Camprite mode, just another one to drool over.  Any idea on what the new model specs are over a TL8s?  There are no details on their website yet.

To be honest I cant remeber too much, it was all a bit of information overload... I do recall that the front storage box is bigger, two batteries located under the trailer and accessed by a hatch in the floor, I also think he mentioned the axle has been moved back slightly and of couse it is going to cost more than the TL8s.

I am heading back tomorrow for another look so if I find out more I will try and confirm the above and will let you know.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 11:51:45 PM by Hogie »
2010 ST Patrol
2012 Camprite TX6

Offline Captain

• My Cruiser & AORC Quantum
    • My online pics
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2012, 11:56:06 PM »
The Camprite TL8 was a great family camper, so an update should only been better  8)

Captain
My GXL TTD 200 Landcruiser and AORC Quantum loaded with Kayaks and bikes (my Camprite now sold )

« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2012, 12:33:42 PM »
two batteries located under the trailer and accessed by a hatch in the floor, I am heading back tomorrow for another look so if I find out more I will try and confirm the above and will let you know.

Interesting as this is what I have planned for my TL8 as it looks like I will be able to fit the box in there with the suspension and spare with a bit of thought and I did it in the Jayco and it was a winner.  I don't like the battery sitting way forward on the drawbar due to the extra towball weight.  If you can get any pictures of the battery box from underneath I would love to see them.

Burnsy

Offline pattyann

« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2012, 04:50:23 PM »
Good choice - Our's is now twelve months old - we have just spent five weeks in the Kimberly (Aug/Sept) and travelled the GRR easy peasy she towed beautifully - most places we stopped someone would want to talk "Camprite"

Complete Campsite Exodus 11 and we bought a Jeep (sold Camprite)

« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2012, 07:36:25 PM »
I like the Camprite when it is closed.

« Reply #16 on: October 28, 2012, 06:26:12 AM »
Hi Paul and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2012, 11:42:45 AM »

I haven't heard of the TX6, so look forward to seeing pictures and stories of yours if you go ahead. Best of luck.

Offline Hogie

« Reply #18 on: November 02, 2012, 07:16:35 PM »
Well today I made the decision and went and signed up for the Camprite TX6  ;D

Should be on for December delivery!!!

I will post up a thread in the Camper Trailer section once we get her home....
2010 ST Patrol
2012 Camprite TX6

bunyip

« Reply #19 on: November 02, 2012, 07:19:13 PM »
Hogie,

Congrats on ordering the CT  :cup:, a big step.

The wait will kill you, but it will end. ;D

We have 13 more sleeps till ours arrives.

Offline martz8

« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2012, 12:26:59 PM »
Welcome!
Enjoy

« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2012, 02:03:01 PM »
Welcome Paul.  If you thought making the decision was the hard part, you were wrong.  It is the waiting until delivery.  Exciting times ahead.  Enjoy.

The following users thanked this post: oldmate

Offline Hogie

« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2012, 06:06:13 PM »
Here are a couple of teaser pics of an almost identical TX6 at the Perth 4WD show today.

Ours is pretty much the same as this but minus the hot water system, sink and different rims.

Matt said that mine has been painted already.... Can't wait!!!

« Last Edit: November 09, 2012, 06:11:11 PM by Hogie »
2010 ST Patrol
2012 Camprite TX6

Offline Hogie

« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2012, 06:15:35 PM »
Interesting as this is what I have planned for my TL8 as it looks like I will be able to fit the box in there with the suspension and spare with a bit of thought and I did it in the Jayco and it was a winner.  I don't like the battery sitting way forward on the drawbar due to the extra towball weight.  If you can get any pictures of the battery box from underneath I would love to see them.

Sorry Burnsy, I completely forgot to get pics of the battery set up. Basically they sit in a box side by sile lengthways across the camper pretty much in the middle of the floor so the battery box lid is flush with the existing flooring.
2010 ST Patrol
2012 Camprite TX6

liney

« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2012, 07:49:04 PM »
Hey Hogie- can't see the pics mate- how'd you find this years show?