Author Topic: Hi Everyone!  (Read 9133 times)

Offline Monique-Wilson

• Always looks for the Australian Made option first!
Hi Everyone!
« on: September 05, 2012, 03:17:00 PM »
Hi everyone,

My name is Monique Wilson, I am the youngest daughter of Glenn & Trish Wilson- original owners/creators of All Terrain Camper Trailers, and I'm pretty new to camping on my own. My partner Jarryd and I are looking to purchase a Rooftop Tent for the Nissan as we are going up to the Cape in 2014, however being a university student myself, I won't be able to afford a decent camper by then, so rooftop is next best thing. Any advice on Rooftop tents (No I am not buying a cheapo ebay one so please don't suggest that) would be very appreciated. I myself still have a lot to learn, so as I said any tips or advice I'm sure will help go a long way!

Monique Wilson  :D
Youngest daughter of Glenn & Trish Wilson from All Terrain Campers...though still has a fair bit to learn.

Nissan Patrol GQ

Re: Hi Everyone!
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2012, 03:45:20 PM »
Welcome aboard to a great forum with great people. All your questions will get answered by someone!!!

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2012, 04:54:06 PM »
Hi Monique Wilson,

Welcome aboard the MySwag!  Nice to see another female here as I think we are outnumbered 5 to 1.

As for rooftop campers, well there are heaps available ... ARB do one that I know of ... but I don't have any recommendations for you.   There are quite a few manufacturers of them out there.  Just looking through my CTT magand it seems "Tigerz11" stock them as well.

Online Hairs

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2012, 05:15:55 PM »
G'day Monique & Jarryd,

You will find plenty of great info here to help you guys plan your trip.
If you don't know just ask, I'm sure there are a lot of Swaggers with rooftop tents.

Offline Smitty

Hi Everyone!
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2012, 06:52:33 PM »
Hey Monique, welcome, I'm new to My Swag too and have found it really helpfull and full of friendly fellow campers. We borrowed a friends canvas roof topper that opened out to the side of the car but if I was looking at buying one I would look at one that flips over the back of the car so it acts like a canopy over the rear of the 4x4 to shelter from the sun/rain with the rear car doors open. I know Iron Man supply a decent looking one at a decent price and also have the roll out canopies with add on mozzie proof sides that attach to the roof racks. They also have the extensions too for the ladder if you have a lift kit to the fourbie. Don't know if this helps but best of luck and enjoy the Cape, it's an awesome trip...

Offline savio

« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2012, 08:19:08 PM »
Hi Monique
Welcome
I have an ARB roof top tent with annex which I use by myself and being female and a lot older than you I can gladly reccomend them. Lots of room, easy to fold up and down, a small increase in fuel consumption on windy days otherwise none noted. Love it!  ;D

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2012, 09:54:17 PM »
Hi Monique and welcome to the forum.

Never had a rooftop tent so I am not much help to you, but good luck with your trip plans for 2014!

Offline LB

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2012, 05:27:34 AM »

Nice to see another female here as I think we are outnumbered 5 to 1.

I second that :D

LB
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2012, 05:31:10 AM »
G'day Monique and welcome.
My son has an Ironman rooftop tent and he's very happy with it.
He got the extra awning with it as well.
Enjoy the Cape trip and good luck with the search :D

:cheers: sol

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2012, 07:50:41 AM »
Hi Monique and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2012, 09:46:32 AM »
G'day & Welcome Monique.

The M/F ration is actually 13.6/1, so I too am glad to see another female member  :D.

bunyip

« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2012, 09:56:40 AM »
Monique,

Welcome to MySwag. Like so many other I rely on the expertise of others to help people out. Good luck with your search.

BigJules,

That is quite a ratio you have there!

« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2012, 10:25:52 AM »
so rooftop is next best thing. Any advice on Rooftop tents (No I am not buying a cheapo ebay one so please don't suggest that) would be very appreciated. I myself still have a lot to learn, so as I said any tips or advice I'm sure will help go a long way!

Monique Wilson  :D

Hi Welcome to the asylum
The Ebay Roof toppers you refer to are most likely very similar if not the same quality as the ones you see in the retail outlets.

ARB's, Ironman, Tigerz, Ebay retailers etc roof top tents are all made in China.

I have spent quite a bit of effort examining the various versions of the mentioned retail outlets and I can assure you they are very similar if not the same quality as each other.

There are other options that are NOT Chinese manufactured if that is an issue for you, Hannibal from South Africa is one that comes to mind.

However, I own one of the Chinese versions and find it more than adequate. Where you buy it or what you pay for it is up to you but have a good look at what each retailer offers and you come to your own conclusion as to how much you should spend on one.

Offline aquadux

• It's great to be outdoors
« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2012, 10:34:46 AM »
Hi Monique and welcome
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2012, 10:50:25 AM »
I just had a quick look at your parents website. If it were me Id ask them to make you a decent roof topper, they are very basic. They have the infrastructure to build camper trailers. A RTT is only hoops with a canvas top and a pvc cover. You would know the quality was good. :)

Offline Monique-Wilson

• Always looks for the Australian Made option first!
« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2012, 12:04:08 PM »
Thankyou everyone for the lovely welcoming.

@ DannyG, my parents sold AT in January this year. Jarryd (who was the tradie building the trailers downstairs at AT) now works at an engineering company in Canberra, and I have no doubt that he could make the steel side of things, however Mum and Dad only have one or two of the sewing machines from AT and not a lot of space to use them- I mean considering AT had a massive benchtop to work on, and ours are currently sitting in the garage! That and time to do it, given that they are both working.

We have thought to ask Mum and Dad to do the canvas, but if they are too busy then I'd probably go to All Terrain to do it. I mean at least I know it is quality aussie canvas, and I would be supporting, at the end of the day, a good company. As I said before though, money on my side is a factor-Jarryd may be a tradesman but I'm only a uni student. So we are looking for the best quality in our price range I guess :/
Youngest daughter of Glenn & Trish Wilson from All Terrain Campers...though still has a fair bit to learn.

Nissan Patrol GQ

Offline Trackabout Off Road Campers

• Trackabout Off Road Campers
« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2012, 12:14:50 PM »
G'day Monique and welcome to the forum, I'm sure you'll find the site to be fantastic help when looking for advice on almost anything camping...

Cheers Dave :cheers:

www.trackabout.com.au

« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2012, 03:42:42 PM »
The M/F ration is actually 13.6/1, so I too am glad to see another female member  :D.

Gee I didn't think we were that outnumbered here.   :o

« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2012, 03:51:26 PM »
Those are the raw numbers, they do not necessarily reflect the contribution ;)

bunyip

« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2012, 04:57:38 PM »
BigJules,

I seem to remember Kit_e commenting only a few days ago on how quickly she reached Hard Top Camper status  :laugh:

<running in the other direction>

Offline Camping Grant

• The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but seeing with new eyes
  • Such Is Life
    • Grant & Kerryn's Camping Adventures
« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2012, 07:04:10 PM »
Welcome to the forum Monique...

Grant

Offline RachGlenEm

« Reply #21 on: April 01, 2013, 09:03:08 PM »
Hi Monique firstly welcome. A good friend of ours owns one. I will find out the brand and get back if ur still in the market for one.
Hope ur parents are both doing great. Please say hi to them for us...
Rach,Glen & Em
2008 Dual Cab Hilux
2" OME Suspension,
2011 All Terrain

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #22 on: April 01, 2013, 10:05:29 PM »
G'day and welcome to myswag  ;D

I wouldnt be in a rush to discount the ebay roof top tents.
A good mate was in a similar situation (couldnt afford a camper)
So bought a roof top tent package instead. It included the tent, rear annex for the ladder, side awning 2x2 which included a mozzie screen for the awning and a quick fold tent that attaches to the awning.
Its a brilliant bit of kit, no leaks, easy to set up and use and very solid.
He paid around $1600ish for it and loves it. Cheap yes, long lasting?? Dont know yet, but he has had a good run so far.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline RachGlenEm

« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2013, 07:43:14 PM »
Hi Monique firstly welcome. A good friend of ours owns one. I will find out the brand and get back if ur still in the market for one.
Hope ur parents are both doing great. Please say hi to them for us...
[/qu
The roof top tent our mate owns is a Kimberley. :-)
Rach,Glen & Em
2008 Dual Cab Hilux
2" OME Suspension,
2011 All Terrain

Offline Armadillo & Customline Campers

• Aussie Made, Aussie Owned, Aussie Tough.
    • Customline Camper Trailers
« Reply #24 on: April 05, 2013, 03:56:58 PM »
Hi and welcome Monique,
This is a great place for infomation.
And remember to show us your pics of what you get.
And enjoy the Cape it is fantastic....

Rod....
www.customline.com.au
Rod@customline.com.au
www.armadillocampers.com.au
https://scontent-a-nrt.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t31.0-8/10479144_653750608056996_765917182289645688_o.jpg