Author Topic: Another Hapless Fool  (Read 9321 times)

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
Another Hapless Fool
« on: June 04, 2012, 03:53:53 PM »
Someone once told me that posting on an internet forum was something akin to farting in public, they were right you know, so here we go.

Many years ago we started with a tent, but to lug all the required paraphernalia along one really required a truck or a trailer. So we gave that the flick and joined the endless procession of happy punch buggy big brother owners, yes sports fans the kombi. This wonderful vehicle was the start of our love affair with the national parks and glorious crooks and nannies of northern N.S.W.  The Kombi has been around awhile now and they're getting a bit long in the tooth, as in old and in constant need of attention, so it was sayonara  to the zombie van and hello to the Jayco, finch that is. We just loved that little windup camper, loved it for ten years, but then the yacht appeared on our bank statement and the finch flew the coop. The hole in the water eventually drifted away and was replaced by an old Viscount, no not an aging member of European royalty, a caravan, an oldie but a goodie.
Now here's the funny bit, for many years I've been sitting back with a cleansing ale or ten and watching those poor hapless souls as they attempt to erect the ungainly monstrosities of canvas screwed to trailers. Often mumbling incoherently  “Campertrailer, ya gotta be kidding, who in their right mind would purchase one of those clumsy setups”. Well in a nutshell, I would, yes I know I'm a hypocrite and all that, its just that I couldn't resist the temptation to capitulate.
You see its like this, although the caravan is easy to setup, watertight and has all the bells and a whistle or two. It does burn some fuel in the tug, I'll admit that, but thats not the problem, the issue we have is accessibility. Not getting in and out of the van, although on occasion, after over lubrication with ones preferred libation it is better to stay where you have fallen, than attempt further movement. No the problem is getting the rig to some of the more hard to get to places.
So after researching and costing and researching some more, we came to the conclusion that maybe just maybe those hapless fool and their trailer tents were on to something, maybe.
We looked at second hand setups, had a gander at the minefield that is imported or partly imported product, had a quick squiz at new Aussie made models, looked at the bank account and scratched our heads.
After much deliberation the final conclusion amongst the myriad of confusion was that a short sojourn up the motorway to Springwood was in order. The end destination was Lifestyle Camper Trailers where a deposit was placed on an Explorer.
Thats it, short and sweet, can't wait.

Re: Another Hapless Fool
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2012, 04:06:03 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Malcolm, the hard bits done, you have made your first post and purchased the trailer. I hope the wait is not too long, enjoy your stay and join in the banter

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2012, 04:13:19 PM »
Welcom Malcom!!

Great Read, look forward to some more of your posts and adventure pics.

Cheers, Mace.

« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2012, 04:27:43 PM »

Great user name, very funny. Thanks for the introduction, I sense that you will become a regular on these virtual pages.

« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2012, 06:25:06 PM »
Welcome to My Swag Malcolm hope you have plenty of spare time  :cheers:

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2012, 06:47:55 PM »
Quite a fart Malcom  ;D

Welcome to myswag, sing out if we can help with anything.

regards

jas

« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2012, 07:07:25 PM »
welcome malcolm, enjoy the forum mate.... good to see you have a sense of humour... if only more people in the world were like this

Scott

Offline becboo

• take nothing but pics leave nothing but footprints
Another Hapless Fool
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2012, 07:28:39 PM »

That has to be the best intro I have read!!

Becboo
Aussie Swag Camper towed by an awesome 100 series with goodies!!

Education & Intelligence accomplish nothing without action....

« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2012, 07:29:19 PM »
Quite a fart Malcom  ;D

Welcome to myswag, sing out if we can help with anything.

regards

jas

x 2 ...   ;D

« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2012, 08:11:54 PM »
G'day Malcom and welcome.
Great intro and congrats on the new camper mate.

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2012, 08:40:31 PM »
Welcome to myswag, sure you will love it! Congrats on the camper :)
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2012, 06:43:14 AM »
Welcome to the forum Malcolm.  You make great reading.  You weren't a paper reporter in your working life by any chance, were you?

Graham
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2012, 09:01:19 PM »
I have a small confession to make, its nothing dire or abhorrent, more a slight matter of house keeping, doing the dishes and ironing out the creases so to speak. A  problem has arisen, and it needs to be nipped in the bud before it gets out of hand. Its the Malcolm thing, yes its an alias, although one could pronounce my name in the aforementioned manner, its the spelling that differs ever so slightly but quite drastically; as in my given name is spelt “bee-are-ewe-sea-eee”.
Now that that is sorted, we can all move on, except for the Tugless bit, again, its the same, and in reality probably a bit to far removed from the truth, but you more than likely had that one figured out early on in proceedings. But feel free to call me Malcolm, if you so desire,  I'm always up for a challenge. Proof of that being the simple fact that we is, as in the royal we, purchasing one of them there trailer tent behemoths like contraptions and are rather excited at the prospect.

I'm very tempted to start asking questions about fridges, considering the hours of entertainment the topic brings to the table. But after a recent visit to the zoo, masturbating monkeys and gorillas eating and throwing pooh at each other has lost its gloss. Mind you, one of the main reasons I found this site more endearing than some of the others, was during the endless search for knowledge on all things pertaining to portable refrigeration, its inmates were far more reasonable in the discourse than some of the other lunatics floating around in the sub-ether. Refrigeration, its certainly a hot topic, makes politics, religion and bestiality seem rather timid in comparison. But I think I've got that one covered now, no not the monkeys or god or Canberra, the fridge thing is pretty well sorted.

Now theres the slight matter of battery charging, predominantly the second battery, isolator, dc-dc charging, portable, fixed, automatic or switched, hitched, unhitched or unhinged with a convulsive twitch. Not quite there yet, even though the medication seems to be working, I've still got that itch.

The tent on wheels is quite a few weeks away, in the meantime we'll wait, plan and procrastinate. Thats life in the zoo.

Cheers Malcolm. 

« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2012, 09:34:05 PM »
Now theres the slight matter of battery charging, predominantly the second battery, isolator, dc-dc charging, portable, fixed, automatic or switched, hitched, unhitched or unhinged with a convulsive twitch.

Hey Mal,

Whatever the question you ask ... just remember you can purchase what appears to be a tennis racquet, but it runs off 2 batteries ... and you can electrocute bugs with it. 

So no matter how you get your camper wired up or even what fridge you've purchased (heaven forbid it's "that" brand or size) ... I'd seriously recommend one of those tennis racquets.  Serious fun to be had on camp!

« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2012, 06:19:07 AM »
G'Day Malcolm,

If your sinus are blocked and you are deaf, who's to say that your farted?    ;D
Congrats on the camper, plenty of great ideas here to help with mods and to wet your appetite for adventure before dementia.
Funny how you have just given the flick to the Kombi, The couple in their 70's next door have just bought one to travel with. A Kombi is something I wish I had when I was a kid, for those surf trips up & down the coast.
While hitchhiking from Briisvagas to Byron as a kid, I got a lift from a bloke and his kombi, at the time I thought how cool this would be, You car is your home, you always had somewhere to crash, it had a fridge, a tape player so you always had your tunes with ya.

Yes you're right about the subjects of refrigeration and all things electrical, Even tho I am 6'3', I keep out of those cages.
I'd rather watch from a distance with a cold beer in hand.
Happy & Safe travels,

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2012, 07:10:05 AM »
Welcome to MySwag you sound like the type of bloke we need around here  but thats what they thought about me  :cheers:
So ask away on any topic re gear or bits & pices somebody will know ,, or get a firestorm going be slagging a product we know & love .
You will enjoy it here , you just have to as theres is no way out  :cheers:

Offline Toy pradopetty

Another Hapless Fool
« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2012, 07:44:17 AM »
I'm with everyone here. Welcome. Awesome intro especially if it leaves you hanging for the next post, which you also delivered excellently.  Enjoy this place
Frank

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2012, 08:31:11 AM »
You sold a Kombi...  :cry:

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

Offline gacoxd

• You wring your hands, I'll roll up my sleeves ...
« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2012, 08:43:09 AM »
Dare I say it? 

Intro Of The Year!!

2011 Navara STX-550
2011 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2012, 10:02:15 PM »
Hi Malcolm and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2012, 10:50:24 PM »
Dare I say it? 

Intro Of The Year!!

x2 :cheers:

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2012, 10:56:29 PM »
Hi Malcolm
Welcome to this wonderful site.  I have learned heaps here and I sure you will.  By the way, nothing wrong with farting in public, at least then everyone can enjoy the scent, I do it all the time.  Probably why the grandkids call me an old fart.

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2012, 11:13:14 PM »
 :cup: :cup:

what an intro!

Good stuff mate!

Disco Teddy.

Offline tojo100

• all time not spent camping is time wasted
« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2012, 11:36:28 PM »
luv ya writing style welcome, doesn't matter what your ct is just being out their is whats important. Look forward to viewing some more of ya wit
100series 4.2 cruiser ultimate camper

Offline jim-m-72

« Reply #24 on: June 13, 2012, 09:48:41 AM »
Welcome Mal looking forward to more posts
dyslexics of the world untie