Author Topic: Greetings!  (Read 8417 times)

Offline davethepom

Greetings!
« on: May 11, 2012, 01:35:42 PM »
Good afternoon all.  I just signed up and thought I'd say g'day before I start with all the questions.

As my user name implies, my name's Dave (there's also a clue to my origins).  I've done a fair bit of camping, rough and in a tent, but my wife wants a bit more comfort and desires an off road camper trailer.

I asked some questions on another forum I frequent (this makes 3...what a nerd!) and one of the guys on there steered me in your direction.

I'll try and find the right section to ask a couple of questions now ;D.

Cheers,  :cheers:

Dave.

Re: Greetings!
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 01:39:40 PM »
Welcome Dave,

Nothing wrong with a (little) bit of pommie heritage.

Where ya from?

Offline davethepom

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 02:32:28 PM »
Welcome Dave,

Nothing wrong with a (little) bit of pommie heritage.

Where ya from?

Surrey mate.  I came over in '88 and never left.

I am the classic P.O.M.E. backpacker who never went home ;D ;D.

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 03:59:40 PM »
G'day Dave,

Ask away mate, more than happy to help.
What are ya chasing?
Do you have a tow vehicle?
Have you a family or is there just the two of ya's?
Shoot.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2012, 04:01:17 PM by Hairs »

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2012, 04:13:11 PM »
G'day Dave the pom.  Welcome to the forum. I wont take the p1$$ about your origins, as I have a few mates from that part of the world.

« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2012, 04:44:32 PM »
welcome to myswag dave & family

« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2012, 05:08:32 PM »
Welcome Dave, plenty of info here mate.

Offline davethepom

« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2012, 06:32:58 PM »
G'day Dave,

Ask away mate, more than happy to help.
What are ya chasing?
Do you have a tow vehicle?
Have you a family or is there just the two of ya's?
Shoot.

Thanks.

We're chasing a galv, off road camper trailer for under $6k.
Tow vehicle(s) are:  '99 4WD v6 Rodeo (had since new and pulls hard) will be the tow vehicle for off road.  The wife's Forester might get used a bit for easy trips.

Two kids, 16 and 13.
G'day Dave the pom.  Welcome to the forum. I wont take the p1$$ about your origins, as I have a few mates from that part of the world.

Thanks mate.  feel free to take the p!55 all you want...everybody else I know does! ;D

welcome to myswag dave & family

Thanks gunna.

Welcome Dave, plenty of info here mate.

Thanks mate.  It certainly looks like a gold mine.

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2012, 07:07:04 AM »
G'day Dave and welcome.
Lots of fun chat here mate. ;D

Offline davethepom

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2012, 07:26:27 AM »
G'day Dave and welcome.
Lots of fun chat here mate. ;D

Thanks.  It looks like a good forum with a heap of good info.

I asked in the 'off topic' area of another forum I'm on about camper trailers and one of the guys sent me here.

Cheers,  (I'll join you in a couple of these  :cheers: later mate).

Dave.

« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2012, 04:09:20 PM »
Hi Dave and welcome to My Swag

Offline davethepom

« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2012, 05:34:20 PM »
Hi Dave and welcome to My Swag

Thanks bubba!  I'm going  :cheers: atm with a nice cold Cooper's Sparkling ;D.

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2012, 09:14:42 PM »
 ;D Welcome fellow countryman..................from one Pom to another :cup: bout time we got some propa class on this forum.. :cheers:

Oh and Navara04 say hi to.. He loves Poms... :-*

BHG   :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2012, 09:18:00 PM »
;D Welcome fellow countryman..................from one Pom to another :cup: bout time we got some propa class on this forum.. :cheers:

welcome Dave...........hope your a level above the resident My Swag boozing bludger BHG  :-*

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2012, 05:09:11 AM »
welcome Dave...........hope your a level above the resident My Swag boozing bludger BHG  :-*
"Why are people so unkind"   :'( :'( :'(

BHG

« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2012, 06:15:07 AM »
"Why are people so unkind"   :'( :'( :'(
BHG
BHG, forgive him; for he do not know what he is doing.
 8)

Offline davethepom

« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2012, 09:20:08 AM »

Thanks mate!  I've been over here more than half my life now but always a POME  ;D.

Thanks, but don't get your hopes up too much...boozing...where and when? :cheers: ;D

Offline pathfinder02

« Reply #17 on: May 15, 2012, 10:07:30 AM »
Welcome Dave and family,
There is heaps of info on this forum and all to share. Good luck with your campertrailer hunting.
 :cheers: Paul & Jo.
Cheers Paul.
2006 ST-L Pathy T/D
2008 Jimboomba Off Road Explorer Camper Trailer.

Offline davethepom

« Reply #18 on: May 15, 2012, 10:53:59 AM »
Welcome Dave and family,
There is heaps of info on this forum and all to share. Good luck with your campertrailer hunting.
 :cheers: Paul & Jo.

Thanks!  It's making my head hurt atm... ;D

« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2012, 11:02:58 AM »
Surrey mate.
No need to apologise   ;D ;D, we accept all kinds here even POMs.

Welcome to myswag, if you think getting a CT is making your head hurt, just wait till you visit the Electrical Section. Good luck finding your new CT.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 02:51:38 PM by noel_w »

Offline davethepom

« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2012, 01:29:15 PM »
Surrey mate.
No need to apologise   ;D ;D, we accept all kinds here even POMs.

Welcome to myswag, if you think getting a CT is making your head hurt, just wait till you visit the Electrical Section. Good luck finding your new CT.

Thanks noel.  I'll see what I end up getting, then brave the electrical section to hook up any extra stuff I need.

« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2012, 03:01:29 PM »
I see you are located just near The Summit, would be cool enough there in winter to remind you of summer at home. Spent a few days at "The Springs" just before easter which is on the N.E. highway towards Warwick. While we were there we had a very welcome visit from Chippy76 who lives near Killarney. Had a couple of  :cheers: to celebrate the occasion. Hope to get back there soon after the winter season is over and might be a good time to get a few swaggers together.

Offline davethepom

« Reply #22 on: May 15, 2012, 03:57:49 PM »
I see you are located just near The Summit, would be cool enough there in winter to remind you of summer at home. Spent a few days at "The Springs" just before easter which is on the N.E. highway towards Warwick. While we were there we had a very welcome visit from Chippy76 who lives near Killarney. Had a couple of  :cheers: to celebrate the occasion. Hope to get back there soon after the winter season is over and might be a good time to get a few swaggers together.

After a few Coopers  :cheers:, I tend to be more of a stagger than a swagger ;D.  I know what you mean though :laugh:.

There's one main difference I notice between the weather we're having atm and an English Summer;  It isn't raining. ;D

I love the cool weather!  I live on a North facing hill and we don't get much frost at home (just a slight one in patches this morning).  When I get to the front gate it's totally different.  Heat kills me so I picked the right place to settle, that's for sure!

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #23 on: May 16, 2012, 07:56:56 AM »
Hi and welcome Dave, we Grew up in the granite belt, still go down there a fair bit as all the families down there. Enjoy the forum :)
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline davethepom

« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2012, 08:44:53 AM »
Hi and welcome Dave, we Grew up in the granite belt, still go down there a fair bit as all the families down there. Enjoy the forum :)

Thanks!  I love the Granite Belt...shhhh though.  I don't want everybody to know how nice it is or it'll get too crowded! ;D