Author Topic: Hi from Perth  (Read 6350 times)

Offline Crockett

Hi from Perth
« on: March 18, 2012, 12:21:21 AM »
Hi , I'm Dave
Very new to CTs, I Picked up an old Wanderer Bushmaster a month ago and its now on blocks, partly as it needs some offroad suspension as it was a roady and partly as I'm moving house atm.
The tow rig is a GQ 4.2 NA Diesel that I got back in October, I'm having my midlife it would seem a decade early  8). It to was stock so will get bits and bobs as time goes by.
As for pics, I'm yet to take some, so have nothing to post up atm.

90% of my camping thus far has been in a tent or swag, so I'm looking forward to specing up the new rigs, and getting a "camping in comfort" experience.
Though I'm not pitching my expectations too high as Ive always managed to be quite comfy with the simplest setups, so, having a few reservations as to the new level of complexity Ive let myself in for. I love looking at CTs and reveling in new found ideas, but it just adds to the list of wants  ;D
So cheers to all for now and looking forward to reading the 252000 odd unread posts I have to catch up on, Cheers Dave

Re: Hi from Perth
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 12:47:34 AM »
Welcome to the forum Dave, as you said...lots of things to see & do here.

Enjoy the ride.

Don't forget  :worthles:

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2012, 06:13:29 AM »
G'day Dave and welcome to the forum
Enjoy the chat mate.

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2012, 06:20:14 AM »
Welcome to the forum Dave... Plenty to keep you occuopied and inspired on here mate

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2012, 07:03:30 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Dave, lots of info available, fill up your glass, put your feet up and start researching

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2012, 07:32:58 AM »
Welcome to myswag Dave
hope u enjoy the site

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2012, 08:04:26 AM »
welcome to myswag dave

plenty of info here for the campertrailer and the wagon

cheers grc

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2012, 09:28:31 AM »
Welcome dave, make sure you post pictures of the rebuild and chech the was get together in dwelling up thread if you want to put some names to faces.

« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2012, 09:30:23 AM »
G'day & Welcome Dave.

Moving sux, camping doesn't, hope you get out again soon.

« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2012, 09:35:01 AM »
Hi Dave Welcome to My Swag hope you have plenty of spare time to catch up on all those unread posts  :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2012, 10:19:40 AM »
Hi Dave and welcome to My Swag

Offline Crockett

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2012, 01:25:44 PM »
G'day & Welcome Dave.

Moving sux, camping doesn't.

You got that right, currently still securing a house, but getting out of the one we are in as owner is selling. Trying to sort and  store everything without knowing were we will end up  ???
May have to prioritize the camper and move into that  ;D

Welcome to the Forum Dave, lots of info available, fill up your glass, put your feet up and start researching

Great advice, though one glass tuned into three, and about 2am nearly asleep on the keyboard   :cheers:

Thanks for all the welcomes   :cheers:  Dave

Offline Crockett

« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2012, 10:02:47 PM »
Well, had a last minute change of plans on our existing camper, the old Wanderer Bushmaster.  Just as I was getting ready to start building some independent suspension,  a Track Camper came up at the right price. I had to drive 700 ks to have a look at it, but knowing how rare or held onto by their owners these are, I jumped in the Ute and headed off to see. It was evering thing the chap had told me it was, so we struck a deal and I headed home with a true Offroad Camper  ;D

Offline cetacean

« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2012, 11:29:36 PM »
Welcome aboard Dave.
         Well done on the purchase, The Track Trailer looks like an "oldie but a goodie",a bit like myself  ;D
         Think I might have seen it on gumtree recently ?

Darryl
Mazda BT50, Trakmaster Sturt X-- Country, Stacer 369 Seasprite

Offline Crockett

« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2012, 12:05:02 AM »
Welcome aboard Dave.
         Well done on the purchase, The Track Trailer looks like an "oldie but a goodie",a bit like myself  ;D
         Think I might have seen it on gumtree recently ?

Darryl

Hi Darryl,,,, Your not that old mate,,,, long time no see, I realised it was you as soon as I saw your forum name.
Its me Dave, from the Indian ocean Safari days  8)
I'm hoping a CT will give me some more quality time with the kids, they got excited at it in the back yard  :cup:

And yes it was the one on gumtree, got it for just over 5k as it needs a few minor things, but overall its in good condition, and most importantly, they are bullet proof offroad.
All the best

Dave "Deckie"

« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2012, 12:09:13 AM »
Welcome Dave, good buy there  ;D

Offline Darren253

« Reply #16 on: April 03, 2012, 12:15:51 AM »
Nice... There are some great deal to be had if you are prepared to travel! Enjoy!!!
2013 LC200 Altitude
2014 CC Exodus 14

Offline Crockett

« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2012, 12:28:16 AM »
Nice... There are some great deal to be had if you are prepared to travel! Enjoy!!!

It was a down and back in a long day kind of trip, But worth it,
Esperance is beautiful place, I haven't been since I was a kid and will now be taking mine back for sure, and there are so many places on the way that could easily do it several times to try and fit them all in.

A shot of the town beach

Offline cetacean

« Reply #18 on: April 03, 2012, 12:44:44 AM »
G'day Dave,
                    Bloody hell, the people you meet on MySwag !
   Looks like a ripper camper mate, I'm sure you'll have loads of fun it with Jodie and the kids.
  Bev and I bought a second hand Adventure Daintree a couple of years ago and we've been using it heaps around the place. We're off for 6 months around Oz next year  :cheers:
      Quite possibly the best purchase I've ever made (apart from Cetacean of course !)  and sure beats lugging all your camping gear onto a boat then up a beach !!
      Might have to catch up and go camping for oldl times sake
   Keep in touch,might have to compare notes on camper trailers.
   I'll send you a pm and we can have a chat

Darryl

Mazda BT50, Trakmaster Sturt X-- Country, Stacer 369 Seasprite

Offline theflyingbadger

Hi from Perth
« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2012, 03:24:53 AM »
Hiya Dave. Fancy seeing you over here! Are you planning on coming down to the myswag meet on the mothers day weekend? Or our one the weekend before?
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

Offline Crockett

« Reply #20 on: April 04, 2012, 01:58:03 AM »
Hiya Dave. Fancy seeing you over here! Are you planning on coming down to the myswag meet on the mothers day weekend? Or our one the weekend before?

I think I have finally secured a rental, I find out after Easter for sure and a date. So not sure when my first trip will be, but if I'm free on either Ill be keen to hook up the camper.  :cheers:

« Reply #21 on: April 09, 2012, 12:46:42 PM »
G'day Dave and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers: