Author Topic: Greetings from Cairns  (Read 8036 times)

Offline Sawed-Off

Greetings from Cairns
« on: March 12, 2012, 07:43:06 PM »
Having a great time. Wish you were all here. :)

Hi crew. I'm Matt. The wife and I have been wanting to buy a CT for a few years now. We're experienced campers, but every year it's getting harder to get up from a mattress on the ground. ;D

I hope you don't mind if I lurk, read, and ask a few dumb questions. Thanks for having me.  :cheers:
Matt.

Rootin', Tootin', & Shootin'. It's the Cowboy Way.

'97 HZJ80R Land Cruiser Dual Cab
'05 Tambo "The Cooper" : Nights used - 2015: 13  2014: 34  2013: 36  2012: 31

Re: Greetings from Cairns
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 07:45:38 PM »
Welcome aboard Matt, plenty to keep you busy with a bunch of top people with plenty of knowledge.

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2012, 07:52:23 PM »
Welcome, good to see another FNQer.......

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2012, 07:56:46 PM »
Welcome to the Forum Matt, heaps of info available and ask away

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2012, 08:05:26 PM »
Welcome Matt,

Always good to see another Nth Qldr join up. You've come to the right place, enjoy yourself.

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2012, 08:33:31 PM »
G'day and welcome Matt
As Teabag said "Nice to have another FNQer on the forum.
Enjoy the chat mate

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2012, 09:19:00 PM »
G'day Matt and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline BigDougie

• Enjoy Today for who knows what the future holds!
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2012, 10:42:21 PM »
G'day Matt and welcome to MySwag.

Enjoy and  :cheers: Big D
Our Maverick and New to us Trackabout Overlander RF

"Smile and Wave boy's, Smile and Wave"

Online Hairs

« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2012, 04:59:41 AM »
G'day Matt,

To MySwag.,
Hope you enjoy your time here, there is heaps to keep you busy.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2012, 05:01:54 AM by Hairs »

Offline Nutto

• Burning desire to camp.....
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2012, 07:00:01 AM »
Gidday matt, welcome to another cairns member

Offline Aussie Blue

• Do you have a Plan B Income?
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2012, 07:38:23 AM »
Good to see more Cairnsites on board.
Not good weather ATM to go camping though  >:(
Search function works well for all queries.

Blue
Life is short, eat desert first

Blue

Highly modified cheapy Chinese CT, 2000NM Pajero

« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2012, 09:32:51 AM »
G'day & Welcome Matt.

Ask away!

Offline Sawed-Off

« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2012, 09:44:19 AM »
Thanks for the welcome, everybody. When I said I wished you were all here, I didn't realise you already were. ;D

Now, on with the search. I have to admit that I'm struggling a bit to find what I want in a ready-to-roll configuration. I'd be prepared to look as far as Townsville for a good complete unit, if anyone has any recommendations. I'm prepared to look at buying the tent separately and getting a custom made trailer built locally if need be. What did you local folks end up doing?
Matt.

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2012, 09:56:36 AM »
Another from Cairns .... how ya going ?

Offline barraboy

« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2012, 01:00:22 PM »
Welcome to the Far North Matt,   I have noticed quite a few good quality camper trailers in the Cairns Post Car Guide of a Saturday at reasonable prices. Guess with the Cairns economy being in the doldrums there may be some people struggling and having to sell.  Good luck

« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2012, 08:44:37 PM »
Having a great time. Wish you were all here. :)

The wife and I have been wanting to buy a CT for a few years now.

G'day Sawed-Off,

Just seen this post from Duggie..........

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=20637.0

Thought you may be interested..........

Also i sent you a PM on another Trackabout for sale in Cairns......

Barrabart.

« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2012, 05:41:07 AM »
G'day Sawed-Off,

Welcome to Myswag , It is great to see another northener on nere.
I saw the add that Barrabart has copied into this post. I am going down to Atherton again today and I will have another look at the add. i will post up the phone number later.  I do own a Trackabout and without any bias they are a real good unit.
cheers duggie

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2012, 07:26:32 AM »
Hi Matt and welcome to My Swag

Offline phatassphairy

• BarraBarts better half
« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2012, 09:45:45 PM »
waves :cheers:
have you ever noticed, that whenever you run into a spiderweb, you turn into a ninja?!

« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2012, 06:38:12 PM »
Hi Matt, welcome to My Swag.
Sure you will find what your after, just takes time.

« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2012, 06:38:16 PM »
Hi Matt and welcome from another Cairns Myswagger.

Know exactly what you mean when you said it gets harder to get up off the floor in the tent!!  We were finding the same, so bought our first camper trailer about a year ago now.  You won't know yourselves once you do it.  We just love it.  Good luck with your research. 
Duggie mentioned the Trackabout - we have one of those too - a very good camper.

On another topic -  if you'd like to meet some of the local Myswaggers,  we are having dinner at the Balaclava at 7pm on the 14th April.   We would be happy to have you join us - just let me know by early April, so I can make a booking.

Enjoy your time on the forum.

Sharyn  :D 

Offline Sawed-Off

« Reply #21 on: March 17, 2012, 03:42:23 PM »
Thanks again for such a warm welcome, everyone.  :D

I'm on the lookout for something with a lockable side access, with or without drawer, up to $10k if anyone spots anything. This is severely cutting down the secondhand options. We shoot competitively and we're lucky to combine this with our love of camping, as we travel to competitions and camp on the range. When it used be just me, I could put the firearms behind the seats in the ute, but now we both shoot, we just don't have the room inside for them. In researching options, I've fallen for the Drifta goodies. The front storage box would be perfect for us, along with the kitchen and other boxes. To get what we want, I think we're going to have to get a custom trailer built and add the tent and other fruit ourselves.

Sharyn, thanks for the invite. I'll have to check my calendar. We'll be getting geared up for the state titles around then, so would have to let you know.
Matt.

« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2012, 06:28:06 PM »
G'day Sawed-off,

Did you get my PM regarding the Trackabout for sale at Stratford?

Offline Sawed-Off

« Reply #23 on: March 18, 2012, 12:04:49 AM »
I did, Barrabart. I haven't tried tracking him down. If you say he's got side access, I'll be all over it.  8)
Matt.

« Reply #24 on: March 19, 2012, 04:11:20 PM »
Welcome Matt. Nice choice in name.

Can't help you with suggesting any local CT's for you, but don't forget that you could always buy a trailer without side access and then have it modified to suit. If you don't have the time, inclination or tools to do so, I'm sure there'd be a few places in town that could help out. To give you an idea of what I'm thinking, have a look through Joff's modifications to his All Terrain camper. He added in a side door, and got the Drifta front storage drawers to suit had ORS build a set of drawers to suit. Luke from Drifta does good work. As do the ORS crew.  ;D

I'm wondering though how you'd go with security for the guns in that kind of a setup, but you'd know more about what's required there than I would.

I'd love to hear what sort of shooting you do - sounds like a lot of fun.

Good luck!
« Last Edit: March 19, 2012, 04:29:28 PM by Matto »