Author Topic: G'day from Gold Coast  (Read 4955 times)

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
    • LJ Hooker Mermaid Beach
G'day from Gold Coast
« on: April 21, 2012, 01:38:06 PM »
Hi all...just about to purchase a 1978 jayco dove and join the ranks of happy campers! 

Still recovering from our first camping trip in a tent since having two girls (18 months & 3 months). Forgot that when it was just the wife and I we could fold down the back seats in the 4wd to fit more stuff in...well with 2 baby seats that is no longer a possibility so we camped without half the stuff we normally take and on day 3 of 5 I chucked a tantrum, packed the car and came home telling my wife we would never camp again unless we had camper trailer.

So low and behold the wife gave me permission!

Anything I should look out for on this camper...ie potential problems??

Thanks in advance for your help!
Steinzy

Re: G'day from Gold Coast
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2012, 04:56:29 PM »
Steinzy & family

« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2012, 05:03:32 PM »
Welcome mate, love to see pics of the dove when u pick it up.

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
G'day from Gold Coast
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2012, 05:37:32 PM »
Took some pics this arvo

Also has full annex
Canvass is only 12 months old
Roof needs a little work as it has bad hail damage
Steinzy

« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2012, 06:12:52 PM »
G'day Steinzy and welcome to Myswag.

That old grl is a real beauty. Just make sure the hubs and bearings are in good nick and well greased. Also, if you don't know the age of the tyres it is good practice to fit new rubber.

« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2012, 06:39:06 PM »
Wow Steinzy that one should be heritage listed    ;D..... great looking camper..

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2012, 07:04:03 PM »
Hey mate. Good looking camper. Should be some good memories in that one. Welcome.

« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2012, 07:21:02 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, go the retro. Snow made some great points but also check the gas setup, when was it last checked??

« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2012, 07:23:56 PM »
G'day Steinzy,

Nothing wrong with the old girls, they'll last for ever, we love our 78 Swan, Touche Turtle  ;D
I've just uploaded a couple pfd files about the Windup System on the jayco's, Download them for further reference.
How to repair a Jayco Lift System
Can't make out what model your fridge is, Looks like an RM360, This manual may help you as well.
Dometic_Refr_Service Manual
Hope these are of some help.
There is heaps of great info here on Myswag to help you with all your mods.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 07:26:00 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2012, 07:27:38 PM »
G'day Steinzy.
Welcome to the forum.Nice setup mate.

Offline Camping Grant

• The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but seeing with new eyes
  • Such Is Life
    • Grant & Kerryn's Camping Adventures
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2012, 07:33:24 PM »
G'day Steinzy

Welcome to the forum...what part of the coast do you live in?

Grant

« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2012, 07:41:05 PM »
Welcome mate......... now get out there and make some great memories in the ol'Jayco......

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2012, 10:18:02 PM »
G'day Steinzy,

Nothing wrong with the old girls, they'll last for ever, we love our 78 Swan, Touche Turtle  ;D
I've just uploaded a couple pfd files about the Windup System on the jayco's, Download them for further reference.
How to repair a Jayco Lift System
Can't make out what model your fridge is, Looks like an RM360, This manual may help you as well.
Dometic_Refr_Service Manual
Hope these are of some help.
There is heaps of great info here on Myswag to help you with all your mods.

That's awesome....looks like I will be an,e to use the info as the fridge doesn't cool on 240v

Thanks heaps!
Steinzy

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2012, 10:19:44 PM »
G'day Steinzy

Welcome to the forum...what part of the coast do you live in?

Grant

I'm in mermaid waters so just down the road from you  :cheers:
Steinzy

Offline fromunder

« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2012, 02:22:53 AM »
welcome mate,
They have not changed that much
a system that works :cup:

Dwayne
2005 SR5 Toyota Hilux D/CAB - Jimboomba maddison offroad CT

« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2012, 08:11:31 AM »
Hi Steinzy and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2012, 09:18:08 AM »
welcome to myswag Steinzy

Best off luck with with your camper

Check all the wiring brakes as well

Cheers grc   :cheers:

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2012, 09:19:30 AM »
That's awesome....looks like I will be an,e to use the info as the fridge doesn't cool on 240v
Thanks heaps!

Ours had trouble with the thermostat, well not actually the thermostat it'self, but the long bar that goes from the thermostat to the switch, a pin had come out and it wouldn't allow the it turn to the correct position for it to run on 240V
If you can take the fridge out, turn it upside down, which doesn't hurt them, and have a look at the works underneath, might be something simple like that.
We also last time we had it out, we had the 12V 150W element installed so it will keep temp when traveling. A switch near the main fuse box allows to turn the 12V on or off as need be. Note, you can buy a motion sensor that will cut the 12V power when you stop traveling, this will stop the fridge draining the batteries.
Also a computer fan will help with cooling. have a read of this,  Three Way Fridge Ventilation Upgrade
I installed one, and they do make a difference, you hardly hear it of a night.
Good luck with it all.

Edit,
Have a look at Burnsy's camper rebuild here.
1986 Jayco Dove Rebuild, Some great info and pics here.

« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 09:24:44 AM by Hairs »

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
G'day from Gold Coast
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2012, 02:58:58 PM »
Ours had trouble with the thermostat, well not actually the thermostat it'self, but the long bar that goes from the thermostat to the switch, a pin had come out and it wouldn't allow the it turn to the correct position for it to run on 240V
If you can take the fridge out, turn it upside down, which doesn't hurt them, and have a look at the works underneath, might be something simple like that.
We also last time we had it out, we had the 12V 150W element installed so it will keep temp when traveling. A switch near the main fuse box allows to turn the 12V on or off as need be. Note, you can buy a motion sensor that will cut the 12V power when you stop traveling, this will stop the fridge draining the batteries.
Also a computer fan will help with cooling. have a read of this,  Three Way Fridge Ventilation Upgrade
I installed one, and they do make a difference, you hardly hear it of a night.

Thanks again the fan idea sounds like the way to go!  Will pull the fridge out to give it a good clean and will check he thermostat and try turning it on its head...will let you know how it goes ;)
Steinzy

Offline kingwoos

« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2012, 07:33:17 PM »
Welcome Steinzy,

I have a 1978 Jayco Dove as well, and we love it.

We just got back from a trip to the flinders and we towed it up to Arkaroola and back.
The only problem is they don't handle the dust too well. Still cleaning it out now  ;D

Good luck and Im sure you will have many good memories in the old girl  :cheers:

Kingy
1994 Landcruiser 1FZJ 80 & 1978 Jayco Dove

« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2012, 08:33:58 PM »

Hey Steinzy,

Welcome and congrats on the "old girl". 

Once you've done the mods, checked all those things they've been mentioning ... which shouldn't take you long ... and then after you've packed it up ready to head out and you feel like going bush, check out my blog for a great weekend destination!

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
G'day from Gold Coast
« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2012, 05:35:52 PM »
Will do. Thanks Kit e kat
Steinzy

Offline disco95

« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2012, 07:22:38 PM »
 BEEN THERE DONE THAT.  WIFE AND TWO DAUGHTERS NEEDED THE LUXURIES

END UP COSTING ME

TENT-CAMPER TRAILER-NOW A CARAVAN WITH TOILET AND SHOWER AIRCON WELL IF IT STILL GETS US OUT AND ABOUT AS  A FAMILY ITS WORTH IT.

STILL GO IN THE SWAG ON BOYS WEEKENDS.

95 Discovery, 90 Rangie, 2010 Territory, Roma Sov'reign CV and  a swag.

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
G'day from Gold Coast
« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2012, 10:35:52 PM »
That's it...if you can still go out as a family and ENJOY you holiday rather than stressing because the wife doesn't  have some of the luxuries than it's all worthwhile
Steinzy