Author Topic: camel campers  (Read 12925 times)

Offline bunnywabbit

camel campers
« on: February 03, 2012, 08:57:34 AM »
I am looking to buy a used camper, and Camel campers have caught my eye.
Can anyone tell me the good, bad, and ugly about them

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
Re: camel campers
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 10:16:41 AM »
G'day Bunnywabbit and welcome to Myswag.

We have a 2010 Bushman plus and can only say good things about it.

We chose it based on what we believe to be great value for money.  We had a higher budget (along the lines of complete campsite) but found the difference in price was much larger than the difference in features/quality.

The Camels are very well made and constructed and for me the Vic dealer (Everything 4wd) is not far from home. They're 'E4WD' on Myswag.

I've made a couple of mods to mine: 
An extra 12v outlet,
carpet in the trailer,
a leg to hold the bed trap door up,
strip of LED lighting over the bed,
led lights in the trailer,
a drain on the air breather line for the water tank.

Nothing to correct a bad design (well maybe the air breather drain, but I think that's a common problem)

What model and year are you looking at??

LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2012, 10:30:26 AM »
Quote from: bunnywabbit
There are numerous threads that come up with the good, bad, and ugly about them if you try the search..

« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2012, 10:54:24 AM »

Camel are one of a number of soft floor campers between which it would be hard to pick, it would simply be a matter of personal oreference. The top of the tent, when packed, seems quite high to me.

Offline Fun Police

« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2012, 11:54:47 AM »
Ther'ye on our shortlist!!

Try and get say, a Bushman Plus, second hand.

Rare as rocking horse Shit! So the owners do hang on to them!!!

You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

Offline stevo

• I used to have a handle on life........but it broke
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2012, 04:13:40 PM »
I haave a 2010 Bushman plus, delivered right on Chrissy that year. I think they are a good bit of gear after previously having owned a Tru-Blu and a Pioneer hard floor. Very good company to deal with as I had a huge list of options, some of which i needed to speak to the factory direct to confirm wheel specs etc. They couldn't have been more helpful and it was delivered pretty much on time and i have not had a single problem with it and it has been used a fair bit including a trip up the Oodnadatta to Lake Eyre.
What influenced my decision to buy a Camel?- A full duragal chassis rather than a draw bar that only went back as far as the spring hangers. Good solid construction. A good quality tent with plenty of windows and a tropical roof standard. A nice big annexe. My Camel had quite a few mods that were not on their options list and they were quite happy to accomodate me with these. (some of these are now standard).
There is a write up I did a while back on it with pics- probably around the end of 2010. I am hopeless at pasting stuff across I am afraid.
Have fun with your looking, as the more you see the harder it gets.
Isuzu MU-X Coronet caravan
The hearse does not stop at the bank on the way to the cemetery.

Offline FZJ

« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2012, 05:09:21 PM »
Gday,
We have a 2011 bushman and couldnt be happier.Its build quality is great,from the trailer to the kitchen and the tent.Factory very helpfull.Easy to set up. Tough.
http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=12322.msg183520#msg183520

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=13348.msg260303#msg260303

Blackstump on here had a ripper also see if you can find his posts
Any questions about em just ask.
I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2012, 05:46:20 PM »
Camel and Trackabout were  the two on my shortlist and I would have gone either way except my Trackie came up at a price I could not go past. Still think they are a good bit of gear though I was only looking at 2nd hand. I love my Trackie though. I saw a few Camels and they all seemed well made and had lasted the test of time.

« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2012, 06:33:05 PM »
at the end of the day you get what you pay for...

Offline Jacko

• Here for a good time not a long time!
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2012, 08:32:33 PM »
G'day and welcome to myswag, I've got a Camel Discovery Plus 2010, the trailer is very tough and the canvas is great aussie dynaproofed stuff, the Camels are great gear but most models do lack electrics unless done after by owner. They are an excellent aussie made camper that do come up 2nd hand from time to time, well worth waiting to find the right one.
Cheers Jacko  :cheers:

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=15012.msg227580#msg227580
FZJ105 and Camel Discovery Plus CT

« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2012, 06:26:17 AM »
Hi bunnywabbit, welcome to My Swag. Good luck with your search.

Offline bunnywabbit

« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2012, 05:18:35 PM »
Gday LJ
Both the Discovery and the Bushman look good at this stage.
Havn't had any negative feedback yet.
regards
Darrel

« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2012, 09:12:26 AM »
Hi bunnywabbit and welcome to My Swag

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2012, 04:19:02 PM »
Hi Darrel,

About time we had someone else from our neck of the woods on here!!

Welcome to myswag fellow bunny tragic  ;D

:cheers: Glenyse

Offline Dreama

« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2012, 01:34:41 PM »
Hi Bunnywabbit,
Welcome to My Swag, goodluck with your search.

Offline Fun Police

« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2012, 02:01:21 PM »

Hi, how's it going!

We had Camel on the shortlist (see above post) but since removed it after visiting the Canberra show.

Nothing to do with build or quality, they are top notch, just the sloping canvas wall near the far side bed.
Wife and I prefer the straight up one.
You can't spell 'funeral' without 'fun', nor 'manslaughter' without 'laughter'

« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2012, 09:16:25 PM »
G'day Bunnywabbit and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2012, 06:55:33 AM »
G'day Bunnywabit,

Welcome to Myswag....... good luck with your searching, plenty of info on here...... If you are talking to the people from Camel CT's, tell them, to put more pics on their website...... bugger all on there at the moment........ makes it hard to get a good look at their trailers, kitchens etc....... lucky there are however a few pics on Myswag.......

Enjoy your time here.

Offline uncyspam

« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2012, 11:45:51 AM »
I just bought a Camel Discovery second hand. From our research, the Camel was on par with Lifestyle and trackabout, and they are damn hard to find second hand - we struck it very lucky in finding a 2011 hardly used Discovery locally, but there are not many on the market from what I have seen...

Offline Xoe01

« Reply #19 on: April 24, 2012, 06:45:58 PM »
How you going with your camel??
We bought a Bushman Plus second hand last June, it was a 2010 model. Really pleased with it, it does everything we ask & is well big & tough enough for us & our 3 kids.

Second hand definately the way to go, more money saved for trips!!!!
Xoe  :cheers:
Holden Colorado 7 2016 & Camel Bushman Plus 2010.. soon to be Jayco StarCraft