Author Topic: At the bottom of a steep learning curve.  (Read 5364 times)

Offline Sundiesel

At the bottom of a steep learning curve.
« on: January 01, 2014, 04:12:18 PM »
Hello Folks,
Although I'm brand new to this forum, I'm not entirely brand new to this camper trailer stuff. But its been such a long time since I was slightly involved, I might as well be classified as a novice. So, please, treat me like a novice....... here goes......

My wife is soon to retire from her work and join me in the ranks of the retired. We've traveled extensively overseas, but now plan on seeing this great country of ours at our leisure, and many years ago we identified a Camper Trailer as being the best way to do this.

Now, I'm well aware that this is an "Off Road" camper trailer forum, but although we plan on staying on road, we'll not restricted ourselves to just bitumen. So the camper I'd be looking for would be either an "on road" or, a so called, "light off road".

At this stage, I'm just weighing up my options and I have joined this forum with the hope of being pointed in the right direction with all the excellent advice I'm sure you folk can provide.

My options so far are....buying a brand new Australian built item. Buying a used camper or building my own trailer and later, buying a new tent to fit. (Having Scottish blood in me, I tend to be a bit on the tight side, money wise.)

It'll need to be pretty light as we are not 4 wheel drivers, and our tow vehicle will be my trusty old 2.8 litre Diesel Hi-Ace van. I'm pretty involved with vintage stationary engines and this van economically pulls them around to rallies all over the place. I feel comfortable with it, in it and after owning it for nearly 20 years, I trust it.

So I look forward to being a member of this forum and absorbing all the good advice I know you folk can provide. You never know, I may be able to contribute something too.
Thanks for reading and not laughing, (although I suspect you did)

At the bottom of a steep learning curve.
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2014, 04:25:51 PM »
Welcome Rob, great intro.
It's ok, we won't hold your Scottish ancestry against you, we're a pretty friendly helpful group either way.
A few of us own 4wd's that you might be able to help with (vintage stationary engines:-) )
« Last Edit: January 01, 2014, 04:29:54 PM by scarps »

Re: At the bottom of a steep learning curve.
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2014, 04:45:35 PM »
Welcome Rob to the forum.  The search function on the home page is your friend but feel welcome to ask any questions.

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2014, 05:00:42 PM »
Welcome to myswag Rob :cheers:

However I'm afraid we have a problem, there is a medical condition you will catch called myswagitis. It involves reading what other people have been doing and going out and spending $$$ to do the same thing. This could be incompatible with your Scottish ancestry. All is not lost though we can start you slowly with a Weber Q ;D

« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2014, 06:05:39 PM »

Welcome to myswag Rob :cheers:

However I'm afraid we have a problem, there is a medical condition you will catch called myswagitis. It involves reading what other people have been doing and going out and spending $$$ to do the same thing. This could be incompatible with your Scottish ancestry. All is not lost though we can start you slowly with a Weber Q ;D
and a new camp chair!

« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2014, 06:26:57 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Rob. Good luck in keeping our wallet closed. :D

Offline Sundiesel

« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2014, 06:48:07 PM »
Thanks for the warm & friendly welcome gents. Its much appreciated.

« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2014, 07:22:51 PM »

Thanks for the warm & friendly welcome gents. Its much appreciated.
pleasure, my dog says Hi also

Offline Sundiesel

« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2014, 07:31:56 PM »
Scarps,
Now he has to be an "Angus", "Hamish", "Mac", "Jock" or something similar.
What a handsome dude...or dudette.
Thanks,

« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2014, 07:38:34 PM »
That be Angus and here he is with Hollie

« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2014, 07:41:52 PM »
And here be Mac and Hollie

« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2014, 07:45:48 PM »
Welcome Rob,

Have a great time seeing our great land.

« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2014, 07:46:14 PM »
G'day Rob and welcome to Myswag. Rrrrrr.  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2014, 07:47:59 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Rob, the best forum going round, good luck with the camper. My choice would be a second hand Aussie unit which someone else has prepared for the journey

« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2014, 10:38:26 PM »

Just the two of you?

I am partial to one of these;

http://www.littleguyaustralia.com.au/

Compact, light, weatherproof, quick setup, capable off road.

Offline Sundiesel

« Reply #15 on: January 02, 2014, 05:16:42 AM »
Well, I'm impressed.
I've been a member of several forums over the years but I've never experienced such a big response.
I know from experience that most forum members couldn't be bothered looking at a forums "introductions" page and go straight to the page that interests them.
So again, thanks for taking the time to make me feel welcome & comfortable here.

« Reply #16 on: January 02, 2014, 07:09:31 AM »
G'day Rob and welcome.
Good luck with the camper trailer search mate. There's heaps out there. ;D
Remember no question is a silly question. ;D  ask away.