General => Introductions => Topic started by: WilSurf on September 22, 2010, 06:50:04 PM

Title: Another new member from Perth
Post by: WilSurf on September 22, 2010, 06:50:04 PM

After a few weeks of lurking around, I decided to sign up.
We don't have a CT yet, but that won't be long.
After hiring a Johnno's Easter a year ago we are looking for a CT.
We used to camp in a Black Wolf tent which is great, but not everything.

Our eyes are set on the KK Sports RV Limited.
The tow vehicle is the trusty Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G 3.0 liter turbo diesel with D-Gas system.
Added to this vehicle are: 113 liter replacement tank, snorkel, 2.5" exhaust with straight through muffler, fwh, 31" Coopers STs.

Before you all begin asking, pictures will follow.
Some of you will recognize me as I am member of other forums as well (PCoA, Toyotasurf, P4x4).

I hope I will learn a lot from you.
See you out there.
Title: Re: Another new member from Perth
Post by: hutchie62 on September 22, 2010, 06:53:33 PM
Hi & welcome to myswag, you will get a lot of great ideas here.
Post by: bommy on September 22, 2010, 07:03:17 PM
Welcome :D
Post by: gunna on September 22, 2010, 07:29:13 PM
Hi Welcome to Myswag
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 22, 2010, 07:52:22 PM
Welcome to the forum

Post by: Snow on September 22, 2010, 07:56:08 PM
G'day Wilsurf and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on September 22, 2010, 07:57:09 PM
Welcome to MySwag Wilsurf!

Post by: CRW on September 22, 2010, 07:57:19 PM

After a few weeks of lurking around, I decided to sign up.
We don't have a CT yet, but that won't be long.
After hiring a Johnno's Easter a year ago we are looking for a CT.
We used to camp in a Black Wolf tent which is great, but not everything.

Our eyes are set on the KK Sports RV Limited.
The tow vehicle is the trusty Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G 3.0 liter turbo diesel with D-Gas system.
Added to this vehicle are: 113 liter replacement tank, snorkel, 2.5" exhaust with straight through muffler, fwh, 31" Coopers STs.

Before you all begin asking, pictures will follow.
Some of you will recognize me as I am member of other forums as well (PCoA, Toyotasurf, P4x4).

I hope I will learn a lot from you.
See you out there.

Hi Wilsurf

Welcome to the forum. I am also from PCoA

Post by: BigJules on September 22, 2010, 08:09:34 PM

It would be hard to go wrong with a KK, good luck.
Post by: Bushman on September 23, 2010, 05:31:13 PM
Welcome aboard  ;D
Post by: Alchemist on September 23, 2010, 11:44:19 PM
Good to see another Perth Myswagger Wilsurf!  I've just put some $$$ down for a KK - due to collect late November!  They're a great unit and the WA agent ("Care-a-Van") couldn't have been more helpful. Hope you have many happy years and times with it!
Post by: Cozzie on September 24, 2010, 09:10:40 AM
Welcome to this great forum, can't go wrong with a KK I just checked out the new Red Track camper at Campertrailers WA it's also a top looking unit...enjoy whatever ya end up with :cheers:
Post by: WilSurf on September 28, 2010, 02:21:29 PM
Good to see another Perth Myswagger Wilsurf!  I've just put some $$$ down for a KK - due to collect late November!  They're a great unit and the WA agent ("Care-a-Van") couldn't have been more helpful. Hope you have many happy years and times with it!

Thanks, which one  did you order?
I was at Care-a-Van last Friday to check if the +30 offset rims fit on my car.
There was a customer with Jamie while we were there, it might be you.
Post by: skmaint on September 28, 2010, 04:14:02 PM
Hi Wilsurf...Welcome  :cheers:

Simon.
Post by: spike45 on September 28, 2010, 08:18:37 PM
Welcome aboard Wilsurf, Keep on looking
Spike45
Post by: robsgq on September 28, 2010, 10:42:36 PM
Hello and welcome ;D
Post by: WilSurf on September 29, 2010, 10:02:15 AM
Thanks all.
Just amazing how busy the forum is.
We will probably order the CT today before 2pm WA-time as there is an increase starting tomorrow. That will cost us $1500
Post by: WilSurf on September 29, 2010, 01:35:38 PM
NEWS FLASH

CT has been ordered this morning.
The factory has to confirm dates, but the dealer received an email this morning from the factory that there are a few spots available for late November/early December.
Otherwise it will be January next year.

The Kimberley SportsRV Limited is on its way (not real, but you know what I mean)
Now the wait can start.  :D
Post by: TC Cocky on September 29, 2010, 09:05:43 PM
G'day mate, great to see more and more sandgropers on here! We're a few hours north of Perth. Sympathise with your waiting, we bought our aussie swag 2nd hand this time last year and couldn't get there to pick it up until after harvest and christmas. Hope it all goes smoothly for you. We must just about have enough sandgropers for a gathering?!
Post by: DJ67 on September 29, 2010, 11:46:54 PM
A welcome right back at you Wilsurf, and congratulations on your ct order!

Cheers, Dave
Post by: WilSurf on September 30, 2010, 10:05:58 AM
Got the confirmation yesterday: Ex-works 13th December.
Might be getting it just before X-mas.
Only the rims are still an issue.
Last Friday we tried the +30 offset on my Surf. They fit, however on full lock it hits the steering components.
So I ordered the CT with the zero offset rims on the +40 electric swingarms.
Now the factory won't ship it with the zero offset as the tyres will protrude out the mudguards.
Post by: WilSurf on October 04, 2010, 01:22:30 PM
Does someone know if there are steel rims with +15 offset in either 15" or 16" 6 stud?
Post by: Alchemist on October 10, 2010, 05:01:07 PM
Thanks, which one  did you order?
I was at Care-a-Van last Friday to check if the +30 offset rims fit on my car.
There was a customer with Jamie while we were there, it might be you.

Heya Wilsurf - I ordered the Platinum - figured that the more creature comforts I get the Mrs, the more often we'll be getting out amongst it!  ;D

That could have been me - did the guy you see have a tremble in his hand and sweat on his brow as he was signing up?  ;D. Mine will be getting in mid-Nov, but I won't be able to pick up until 26th Nov... The wait is killing me!
Post by: WilSurf on October 19, 2010, 12:16:16 PM
Received an email from the dealer.
The SportsRV Limited should be Ex-works factory around 15th November, in Perth at the end of November.

Now I have to sort out a brake controller and have the towbar installed.
Post by: WilSurf on November 11, 2010, 10:00:09 AM
The trailer is ready for dispatch, all I have to do is make the payment. Ough. :-)
Post by: tropicbird54 on November 11, 2010, 08:38:54 PM
Welcome to Myswag Wilsurf.  We don't have a ct yet either - ordered it 2 weeks ago but don't get it till end of Feb. 
You'll enjoy the forum - everyone is very friendly and helpful.
Have fun.
Post by: Ray-C on November 11, 2010, 09:26:29 PM
Welcome wilsurf    :cheers:
Post by: youngpop on November 12, 2010, 04:12:07 PM
G'day and welcome to Myswag, sounds like you've got the tow sorted out. Look forward to some pics of the CT.
Post by: WilSurf on November 12, 2010, 04:14:40 PM
I can't wait myself, but I have too. :-)
When I see the trailer, we will take pics.
Post by: WilSurf on November 15, 2010, 06:58:46 PM
I have a question for the experts here.

How do you guys and girls charge the batteries when driving?
Do you use a battery isolator between the car battery and the CT batteries?
Post by: Alchemist on November 15, 2010, 08:06:13 PM
Hi Wilsurf,

I'm getting Jamie to install a Redarc BCDC isolator / charger unit.  This will isolate the KK batteries from the Prado's, while also increasing the rate at which the Prado charges the KK batteries.

Alchemist
Post by: WilSurf on November 22, 2010, 05:29:38 PM
Got an email from Jamie telling us that he expected the trailer mid week.

Only one problem: ARB stuffed up AGAIN with the towbar.
"The holes are not lining up so it doesn't fit"
MAKE IT FIT!!!!!

This is the last time they get to do anything on my car.
Post by: WilSurf on November 25, 2010, 06:15:09 PM
Hurray, the trailer is at the dealer in Perth. :-)
Now I have to wait for the towbar to be fitted. :-(
Post by: WilSurf on December 13, 2010, 02:16:11 PM
Got a phone call from my mate who is installing the "difficult-to-be-modified" towbar.
He told me that it took him longer to drive my car in his workshop and take the new towbar out of the car, then to install it.
No modifications at all, a straight bolt on.
Friday, here we come to pick up the trailer.  :cheers:
Post by: WilSurf on March 10, 2011, 11:20:57 AM
Just a quick update.

We went away last long weekend (Labour Day in WA).
The destination was Myalup where we bush camped with 4 other camper trailers, all members of our 4wd club.
It was great.
The sand was soft, so soft that at onetime the trailer dragged the rear of the car of the track and I get bogged. :-(
After digging and using Maxxtracks and those rubber tracks, we were out.

We love our trailer. Setting up takes me no more then 2 minutes, taking my time and using only 1 arm.
The kids were playing in the sand. The top layer is white-ish, but underneath it is black.
So were the kids. :-)
No problem. Start the hot water system and shower them. :-)
Great little comfort in the bush.
Post by: Burnsy on March 10, 2011, 11:38:42 AM
Post by: WilSurf on March 10, 2011, 12:49:26 PM
I know, will do it tonight.
Post by: Heiny on March 10, 2011, 07:49:14 PM
Hi Wilsurf and welcome to My Swag
Post by: WilSurf on March 10, 2011, 10:30:50 PM
Here we go.
Post by: Burnsy on March 10, 2011, 11:22:08 PM
Looks like a nice spot and that sand looks ordinary, what pressure were you running?
Post by: WilSurf on March 11, 2011, 10:23:58 AM
Going in on 15 psi, later on the beach 10 psi which made a huge difference.
It was soft sand. Did I mention soft?  ;D
There was only three other campers at the beginning of the area, nobody else. We were surprised as it was a long weekend.
Post by: Orinoco on March 11, 2011, 09:51:53 PM
Hi WilSurf,

There is a ton of useful info here.

Enjoy your time on the boards
Post by: WilSurf on March 19, 2011, 09:54:18 PM
For those who a KK, the kwik awning and the full enclosure: are the front and rear wall interchangable?
Post by: WilSurf on March 21, 2011, 11:02:00 PM
Anyone?
Post by: WilSurf on September 22, 2011, 04:18:55 PM
Right, another update.

We are back after a 3 week trip to see Lake Eyre and the Flinders Ranges.
It all went well, apart from a few things.

Car:
- Shredded rear tyres on the Birdsville Track. Replaced with spare.
- One battery 100% dead, had to be jump started twice. Replaced under warranty.
- Broken studbolt from the long range tank which fell on the driveshaft. Repaired with 3 cable ties.

Campertrailer:
- windgust blew up the awning: bend quick awning pole and pocket for pole ripped off
- plastic eyes on both traps holding the backdoor open when CT is closed broken.
- jockey wheel which has been replaced before touching one side of its frame so not very usefull anymore.
- quick connection of the gas to the cooker very hard to get off.
- led light in the front box doesn't work anymore.
- canvass flap torn at the driver side door to the ensuite.
- plastic eyes from the spreaderbars for front awning broken.

The dealer is looking into these items.
Alchemist, how are your spreaderbars doing?
Post by: Alchemist on September 23, 2011, 01:01:54 AM
Bummer about the damage Wilsurf  >:(

I dropped the end of my gas hose (with the quick snap lock fitting) in the dirt a Cape
Leveque and it was never the same again.  After I got back, I went to Bunnings and fortunately, they have replacement fittings for $18.

Is the canvas flap tear a result of it getting crushed / torn in the hinge (ie: amongst where the three tent support brackets pivot) during folding?  If so, been there... done that (and got the $330 repair bill to prove it) *sigh*. 

The spreader bars are still holding up so far, but I can see that they won't last long.  I strolled through a new BCF the other day and noticed they have a decent range of 25mm aluminium poles and assorted ends - I bought spare eyelet ends, c-bracket ends and locking (wingnut ends) for when (not "if"!) they break. Around the $8ish mark per pack of two from memory.

Good luck with the repairs.  I'm hoping to get mine back soon (fingers crossed!)

Alchemist
Post by: WilSurf on December 20, 2012, 06:39:29 PM
Another picture to keep this alive.