General => Introductions => Topic started by: ScottnRach on March 04, 2011, 05:57:36 PM

Title: Newbies
Post by: ScottnRach on March 04, 2011, 05:57:36 PM
Hi to all and thanks very much for some interesting reading over the past few months.  My name is Scott and for some time now we have been looking at the CT lifestyle.  Due to an economic turndown and Government regulations that puts just too much pressure on small business, the family pulled up stumps in country NSW and moved to Charleville in Queensland.  We work 24/7 but every 6 weeks we get 6 days off.
Due to available funds we have opted to go camping every 6 weeks and after much deliberation and limited funds we just purchased a 2011 model GIC offroad camper.
I have read a lot of good and some bad about GIC, but so far our dealings have been excellent.  Our only hitch was after travelling 1400k's to pick her up we had to wait an hour and a half.  The only reason for the wait was that GIC had promised us a 2011 model and realised that they had provided a 2010 model.  We weren't worried, but they insisted on us getting the upgrade.  Hopefully the photo comes out.
The 2011 has tougher guards and new tyres and black sunraysia wheels.  We also got the free kitchen and water tank, a poly block hitch, external tap and large tool box.
I am not a boilermaker, but so far the trailer is as tough as nails.  The roads north are fairly rough after the floods and it swallowed up the potholes without even a bounce and at fairly high speeds followed the Kluger like a dream.
We understand that there are many different styles and quality of campers out there, but for the money we are over the moon and can't wait until our next break to head off.
Anyway as i said so far our experience with GIC has been excellent and we believe we got a good deal for the $5500 outlay.  We have written a bucket list of places to camp and we have a list of mods to complete when funds are available.  If I can sell my 65 Mustang the mods will get done a lot quicker, so if anyone is after a pristine Mustang let me know as it has been a casualty of the Global Financial Crisis, and a luxury I can no longer afford.
Cheers for now
ScottnRach
Title: Re: Newbies
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 04, 2011, 06:01:34 PM
Welcome to MySwag, no worries about the GIC as long as you get out and enjoy yourself, because that's what it is all about

Post by: BigJules on March 04, 2011, 06:03:14 PM
G'day & Welcome ScottnRach.

GIC had a very poor reputation early on, but it would appear that they've taken head of that feedback and lifted their game. There is plenty of happy owners on here, and it's great that you are too.

Look forward to reading a big wrap every 6 weeks.  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on March 04, 2011, 08:10:34 PM
Scottnrach Welcome aboad to MySwag . Its not where you start , its the journey that is the defining thing . If you need the answer to a question ask . The only silly question is the one not asked .  :cheers:
Post by: KevRM on March 04, 2011, 08:35:46 PM
Welcome, i can vouch for that, newbie myself & got welcomed very warmly great lots of info & trips
to meet new people......have fun ;D
Post by: D4D on March 04, 2011, 08:57:37 PM
Welcome to myswag, those Klugers are a pretty good tow rig from what I hear.
Post by: Heiny on March 04, 2011, 09:07:29 PM
Hi ScottnRach and welcome to My Swag, congrats on the GIC and hope you enjoy it :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on March 04, 2011, 10:17:45 PM
Welcome mate, great place to be  :cheers: :cheers:

So how much for the Stang? :cheers:

Post by: ScottnRach on March 04, 2011, 10:25:09 PM
Thanks Black Diamond, The Mustang has been reduced to 30K, it owes me over 40K, but we have to move on and cut some losses, hopefully the camper is the start of a new era.
Post by: Wandering Tassie on March 05, 2011, 06:45:36 AM
Welcome, dosn't matter what camper you have as long as you use it.

Post by: Snow on March 05, 2011, 07:41:03 AM
G'day ScottnRach and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:
Post by: pacs on March 05, 2011, 07:48:33 AM
Welcome to my swag guys and enjoy the new CT
Post by: Old Croc + plus one on March 09, 2011, 02:16:50 PM
Hi and welcome to My Swag

Happy Trails with your Camper
Post by: WaituiRob on March 09, 2011, 09:24:01 PM
Hi Scott and Rach,

Glad to hear your trip to Sydney and back to get your camper went o.k. as it such a long way.
           I know you will get a lot of enjoyment out of it, 6 days at a time is a good break and something to
            look forward to.

I hope your move to QLD. goes well and you are soon back on track.
       Robyn.