Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 494763 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #2100 on: February 06, 2021, 05:24:00 AM »
Planning on riding the Noosa Strade Bianche this year, if it goes ahead, you basically ride a vintage bike for 140kms. Looking to spend a week in Noosa with the family, and on the weekend go for a couple of rides and check out some vintage bikes. Decided I didn't want to take any of my current bikes as I didn't want to get them damaged. Found a Miyata 310 for $100, it's a pile of scrap metal at the moment but should be nice when it is cleaned up, it is mostly original only the wheels have been changed. Miyata's were made in Japan, this one is from around 86-87, and have a cult following as great mid level bikes. The 310 was their 'sport touring' model and comes with 27 inch wheels, makes it a bit if a pain to find tyres/tubes but will be good to ride on the gravel.

https://noosa-stradebianche.com.au/

As I bought it...

What it will hopefully look like...

Offline BC66

« Reply #2101 on: February 06, 2021, 07:46:10 AM »
Planning on riding the Noosa Strade Bianche this year, if it goes ahead, you basically ride a vintage bike for 140kms. Looking to spend a week in Noosa with the family, and on the weekend go for a couple of rides and check out some vintage bikes. Decided I didn't want to take any of my current bikes as I didn't want to get them damaged. Found a Miyata 310 for $100, it's a pile of scrap metal at the moment but should be nice when it is cleaned up, it is mostly original only the wheels have been changed. Miyata's were made in Japan, this one is from around 86-87, and have a cult following as great mid level bikes. The 310 was their 'sport touring' model and comes with 27 inch wheels, makes it a bit if a pain to find tyres/tubes but will be good to ride on the gravel.

https://noosa-stradebianche.com.au/

As I bought it...

What it will hopefully look like...

Looks very similar to my bike.
I don’t know what brand it is and it used to have a sticker saying it was made from Reynolds tubing.
I thought it was a Hillman, so I contacted them with the serial number but it wasn’t one if their frames

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #2102 on: February 07, 2021, 07:37:12 AM »
Gator skins Hardshell 32 mm .

Good on gravel also - sorry no pics ..... I rebuilt an Apollo with all nos - frame and components , unfortunately don’t really ride it .
I have other bikes   8)
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #2103 on: February 12, 2021, 05:38:00 PM »
I'm going to Derby in March with a mate, fingers crossed with COVID. I thought I'd drag the MTB out today and take it for a blast on the local trails. All the road riding I have been doing has made me soft, my bike handling was atrocious. Need to get some more time on the MTB before the trip.

Well there goes the trip for the 3rd time. As of midnight tonight Tassie has declared all of VIC high risk indefinitely. If you have been in VIC 14 days prior to travel you will not be permitted enter Tasmania.

« Reply #2104 on: February 13, 2021, 07:35:43 PM »
Day 1 in lockdown #3 spent degreasing, cleaning and hand polishing the parts for the Miyata. Came up ok for a mistreated 35 year old bike. Managed to save all the parts except for the headset which was too far gone. Also found some correct brake levers on eBay in the UK for a reasonable price.

« Reply #2105 on: February 14, 2021, 11:41:03 AM »
Day 1 in lockdown #3 spent degreasing, cleaning and hand polishing the parts for the Miyata. Came up ok for a mistreated 35 year old bike. Managed to save all the parts except for the headset which was too far gone. Also found some correct brake levers on eBay in the UK for a reasonable price.

What did you use to polish them with? I asked a smash repair place and they use Purple as that is what has been the best for the alloy parts that they have come across.

I bought a polishing kit with different shaped pads that I'm going to try when I start rebuilding my old Road and Track bike parts.

« Reply #2106 on: February 14, 2021, 12:51:22 PM »
What did you use to polish them with? I asked a smash repair place and they use Purple as that is what has been the best for the alloy parts that they have come across.

Autosol and a packet of Bunnings bulk microfibre cloths. For deeper scratches or rust I give the area a quick touch up with some 600 wet & dry. Be careful with sanding if the part has anodising as you will take it off, as I found out with a Dura Ace seat post :(

You can get a way better almost mirror finish polishing with a bench grinder and polishing wheel. I just wanted to get them back to looking reasonable for their age as I like a bit of patina.

https://www.bunnings.com.au/autosol-350g-metal-polish_p4460754

« Reply #2107 on: February 14, 2021, 01:01:44 PM »
This is what I got for the reno of my cranks chainrings other bits.  :)

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

« Reply #2108 on: February 14, 2021, 01:27:53 PM »
This is what I got for the reno of my cranks chainrings other bits.  :)

You'll need to clamp your drill to the bench somehow as you want both hands free to move the part around.

I forgot to mention the alfoil and WD40 trick for rust. Dunno what the science is but it works. Front skewer after 10 minutes cleaning, rear skewer before clean.

« Reply #2109 on: February 14, 2021, 01:37:54 PM »
You'll need to clamp your drill to the bench somehow as you want both hands free to move the part around.

I forgot to mention the alfoil and WD40 trick for rust. Dunno what the science is but it works. Front skewer after 10 minutes cleaning, rear skewer before clean.

Yeah, I tried the alfoil before on something and was pleasantly surprised.  :o

« Reply #2110 on: February 14, 2021, 02:09:48 PM »
Yeah, I tried the alfoil before on something and was pleasantly surprised.  :o

Forgot to mention, I'd practice polishing on something you don't mind if you bugger up.

If you really want a good job send it to Chris, he's a legend and reasonably priced too. I'm lucky he's about 40 min drive from me, he does all my retro work.

https://www.cycloretro.com/

« Reply #2111 on: March 01, 2021, 11:23:11 AM »
Sorry cant get the photos to load but seek link below

After 9 faithful years on the Scott Sportster, it finally got to the time when the repairs were costing more than the bike, so a new work commuter and bike path basher on the weekend with the missus was in order

So I did a little shopping for my birthday
https://www.specialized.com/au/en/sirrus-x-3-0/p/171177?color=274027-171177&searchText=92420-7201

Cant believe how tech has changed still an aluminum frame but somehow about 4kgs lighter than the Scott

« Reply #2112 on: March 01, 2021, 11:53:29 AM »
After 9 faithful years on the Scott Sportster, it finally got to the time when the repairs were costing more than the bike, so a new work commuter and bike path basher on the weekend with the missus was in order

So I did a little shopping for my birthday
https://www.specialized.com/au/en/sirrus-x-3-0/p/171177?color=274027-171177&searchText=92420-7201

Cant believe how tech has changed still an aluminum frame but somehow about 4kgs lighter than the Scott

Nice, that flat bar upright road style of bike is very versatile and comfortable. Load it up with bags for commuting or bike packing, or ride it as it is all day on bike paths/rail trails etc.

« Reply #2113 on: March 02, 2021, 12:28:58 PM »
I watch the new video from GCN where they showed the Orbea "Streetfighter".
If it only was for sale in the shops...………..

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #2114 on: March 03, 2021, 07:02:40 PM »
I watch the new video from GCN where they showed the Orbea "Streetfighter".
If it only was for sale in the shops...………..
Looked pretty neat, hey?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #2115 on: March 03, 2021, 10:56:40 PM »
Looked pretty neat, hey?

Absolutely, if they only were made.....

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #2116 on: March 03, 2021, 11:21:39 PM »
Absolutely, if they only were made.....

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk
You could take a Marin DSX 2 and put road wheels on it, and get a similar experience on aluminium I guess

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #2117 on: March 04, 2021, 12:37:40 PM »
Might be of interest for some https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mt2FpYsQ4IE 

« Reply #2118 on: March 04, 2021, 04:54:43 PM »
Might be of interest for some https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mt2FpYsQ4IE

Yeah nah, I'd trust that as much as I trust politicians.  ;D

« Reply #2119 on: March 05, 2021, 04:38:34 PM »
An amazing woman, especially when you look at her bike back then!  :o

https://vimeo.com/98539448?ref=fb-share&fbclid=IwAR0PByH8ye6ScnK2j5Ny_cGhI6mtUh6eeAVBtRoBjV0MlkuA5j-xaAl507c

« Reply #2120 on: March 15, 2021, 04:55:40 PM »
My Noosa Strade Bianche bike is ready.

It was destined for the tip when I bought it, a heap of elbow grease, some parts and it is reborn.

« Reply #2121 on: March 19, 2021, 07:18:57 PM »
My new to me bike with brakes, gears, pedals, tyres, and stuff.

Thanks Wayne for your help, finders fee when your down next time

« Last Edit: March 19, 2021, 07:21:25 PM by Bird »

The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

« Reply #2122 on: March 19, 2021, 07:24:44 PM »
Nice fat bike, get some end caps on those bars in case you skewer yourself.

« Reply #2123 on: March 20, 2021, 08:44:25 AM »
My Noosa Strade Bianche bike is ready.

It was destined for the tip when I bought it, a heap of elbow grease, some parts and it is reborn.

The crank is not horizontal, the gear levers aren’t parallel, the valve stems aren’t aligned together and the tyres aren’t mounted to the rims in the same way.

But seriously a massive improvement form when you rescued it. Looks great.

« Reply #2124 on: March 20, 2021, 08:54:08 AM »
The crank is not horizontal, the gear levers aren’t parallel, the valve stems aren’t aligned together and the tyres aren’t mounted to the rims in the same way.

But seriously a massive improvement form when you rescued it. Looks great.

Thanks, how's this? It is seriously hard riding with 38mm bars.