Author Topic: Interesting read on electric cars  (Read 139703 times)

Re: Interesting read on electric cars
« Reply #300 on: December 29, 2019, 09:37:14 PM »

Offline Nifty1

« Reply #301 on: January 04, 2020, 08:54:19 AM »
Some wag commented regarding the 2 hour queues to get petrol to evacuate the South Coast - imagine the shambles if they all then took 2 hours to recharge...
Tvan + Terracan
Hilux Adventure Camper
1999 Outback Sturt - an oldie but a goodie. Updated of course (passed on within family)

« Reply #302 on: January 04, 2020, 09:21:03 AM »
Ahhh but the power grids in these towns are down due to the fires in most places or been shutdown for safety ......
 Does your Tesla or EV take AAA ...AA .... Or 9V batteries    ?  sir / madam ..  :D

« Reply #303 on: January 04, 2020, 11:54:17 AM »
But... (from another forum 5pm yesterday)

"only one servo at Narooma has fuel, and only unleaded, no diesel available so a lot of tourists are stranded"

« Reply #304 on: January 04, 2020, 12:01:07 PM »
But... (from another forum 5pm yesterday)

"only one servo at Narooma has fuel, and only unleaded, no diesel available so a lot of tourists are stranded"

The servo might have one diesel tank, but have 3 petrol tanks... At times I'm glad my 80 is petrol for that sort of thing... the diesel 45 ute? Well, that runs on cooking oil at a push, and 20 litres of that would get me nearly 200kms.

Offline tombie

« Reply #305 on: January 04, 2020, 12:22:58 PM »
Ahhh but the power grids in these towns are down due to the fires in most places or been shutdown for safety ......
 Does your Tesla or EV take AAA ...AA .... Or 9V batteries    ?  sir / madam ..  :D

Does the burnt down servo in your town pump diesel or petrol?

Solar

Offline tombie

« Reply #306 on: January 04, 2020, 12:26:36 PM »
Some wag commented regarding the 2 hour queues to get petrol to evacuate the South Coast - imagine the shambles if they all then took 2 hours to recharge...

As an example - A Tesla 3 can put 250km range in under 15min.  Hardly a problem.

Also, most EV users will hook up when they get to where they’re staying, so people holidaying will likely have an almost full range vehicle.

How many people get somewhere running sub 1/4 of a tank and park up until they’re ready to go on the next run?

« Reply #307 on: January 04, 2020, 03:10:02 PM »
As an example - A Tesla 3 can put 250km range in under 15min.  Hardly a problem.

It is if there is no power.
No power, no petrol pumps and no Tesla either......amazing how we rely on that dirty coal fired power.

« Reply #308 on: January 04, 2020, 04:30:51 PM »
& also reported that no phone or internet = no cards, so cash only :o

« Reply #309 on: January 04, 2020, 04:32:00 PM »
Old school manual card machines, are they still an option?

« Reply #310 on: January 04, 2020, 04:50:27 PM »
Old school manual card machines, are they still an option?

i've been to servos that have used them in last few years, when theres a bank outage - which is regularly...

Offline tombie

« Reply #311 on: January 04, 2020, 08:46:33 PM »
It is if there is no power.
No power, no petrol pumps and no Tesla either......amazing how we rely on that dirty coal fired power.

Solar works . If we had an EV we could charge here off PV and Battery.

As I mentioned, you’ll find EV owners don’t run around on the bottom of their “tank” like ICE owners.  All those with EVs that I’ve met are far more diligent.

FYI- That Coal fired power is still more efficient / emissions are lower for the energy required to charge those EVs than the emissions from burning diesel/petrol to power a vehicle.

« Reply #312 on: January 21, 2020, 02:18:41 PM »
 " Ohh Those  Russians "    ;D ;D       https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKmvhEa8qEo   ;D
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 02:24:38 PM by edz »

« Reply #313 on: January 21, 2020, 02:40:36 PM »

Offline MB TD42

• Retroform Carpentry and Joinery
« Reply #314 on: January 21, 2020, 05:16:28 PM »
Interesting...New and hybrid electric cars use 4 times the amount of copper a norms generic unit from the 90s needs and has twice the carbon foot print in manufacturing...so many things left out.
Pretty sure we are in short supply of copper as well...great gimic...implications in change over could be 100s of years away realistically...

My 2 cents...

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

We're all hear coz we ain't all there...

« Reply #315 on: January 21, 2020, 06:13:47 PM »
May not be a problem in most of Australia, at present.

https://www.disclose.tv/new-test-reveals-electric-cars-are-practically-unusable-in-winter-383233?fbclid=IwAR1zll9-ovNiCXqLO0Dgiv2q1dlKNAs7RptEu646LIiP7ADpQJFbqqo2sw8

"A new comparative test of the car picture shows that electric cars massively lose range in winter. In frosty temperatures, the range of four out of five test candidates dropped to under 70 kilometers, and that of the Renault Zoe to under 60 kilometers.

Due to its enormous battery, only the Tesla Model S was able to reach a range of over 200 kilometers even in winter temperatures, but the luxury car is in a price range (it is available from 78,000 euros) that most drivers simply cannot cope with."

Offline MB TD42

« Reply #316 on: January 21, 2020, 07:31:47 PM »
I believe they will need to rethink climate control as well...it would decimate range in high temps...keeping the batteries cool would be the biggest problem on bitumen roads...instant inferno with Lipo examples.

« Reply #317 on: January 21, 2020, 08:25:59 PM »
All the issues raised re range, cold weather, climate control, copper shortage, etc are all just problems, with as yet unknown or uneconomical solutions.  But those solutions will come and probably quicker than most people think.

Offline tombie

Interesting read on electric cars
« Reply #318 on: January 21, 2020, 08:43:28 PM »
I believe they will need to rethink climate control as well...it would decimate range in high temps...keeping the batteries cool would be the biggest problem on bitumen roads...instant inferno with Lipo examples.

Tesla battery packs are liquid cooled to control battery temp and the vehicles also run a very effective AC.  Plenty of areas in the USA have the same temperatures as here and lots of Tesla getting around without a problem.

I know someone with a Tesla and happily does country runs in 40°c+ without issue and gets close to the advertised range with the cabin nice and cool.

A neat function is to pull up at a shop etc and put the vehicle in Pet mode.
A large sign appears on the screen saying the vehicle is climate controlled and pet is safe - vehicle then sits cooling the cabin.

We ran a comparison of our recent runs back and forth to Adelaide. We’ve done 19 trips in 3 months at over 900km return each.

Fuel cost is about $140 a trip x 19 = $2660.00 in Diesel
If we had used our friends Tesla it would have been $120.00 in electricity.  Each trip would require no more than 15 min at the Charger to easily make the return trip with a good 250km range to spare.

If the tech is this good now; imagine where it will be soon.

« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 08:48:40 PM by tombie »

Offline MB TD42

« Reply #319 on: January 21, 2020, 09:54:58 PM »
Best wishes to the wealthy...were the trips fully loaded...towing?
The other problem is having to change the batteries...2 years was a suggestion...5to 30k for a battery pack?

« Reply #320 on: January 21, 2020, 10:00:06 PM »
900 K's round trip...Model S has a max range of 600 K's, so a realistic 500K's.   So a full recharge needed at the 1/2 way point, and without a supercharger, approx 10hrs to charge with a normal power point from 1/2 charged ( which it won't be...more like 3/4 flat )

And the powers that be will soon find a way of charging you more for recharging an electric car than the normal household rate.

Offline tombie

« Reply #321 on: January 21, 2020, 10:06:23 PM »
900 K's round trip...Model S has a max range of 600 K's, so a realistic 500K's.   So a full recharge needed at the 1/2 way point, and without a supercharger, approx 10hrs to charge with a normal power point from 1/2 charged ( which it won't be...more like 3/4 flat )

And the powers that be will soon find a way of charging you more for recharging an electric car than the normal household rate.

There’s 6 Supercharger sites on the common routes from here to Adelaide.

Putting enough charge to comfortably return takes about 15m (a coffee stop).

Offline tombie

« Reply #322 on: January 21, 2020, 10:15:39 PM »
Best wishes to the wealthy...were the trips fully loaded...towing?
The other problem is having to change the batteries...2 years was a suggestion...5to 30k for a battery pack?

Nothing to do with wealth, Patrols weren’t cheap new either.

I’ll pose it to you thus... what’s your vehicle drink towing? Certainly more than when not.  It will all get sorted as the tech matures.

Not sure where you’re getting the battery info from - from Owners forums they’re getting 5 years+ and some serious mileages.  If you compare a new ICE vehicle doing average kilometres... (let’s assume workshop servicing)

$1000 for two full services a year
$3500 in fuel
That alone is $22,500 over 5 years.

Safe travels.

Offline MB TD42

« Reply #323 on: January 21, 2020, 10:52:06 PM »
It is to do with weath...by the way for us tradies thats 22k each year...yes that how much It cost to run a sole traders car each year.

Anyways ...our Aussie average income is only around 44k a year... less that 20% of Aussies can afford to purchase a car that cost more than 15k let alone buy a home..replacing 30k worth of batteries every couple of years would hurt...those who can afford are not part of the majority in Australia.

It will start as a privelidge...but who will fund the rest? I should say public transport should be upgraded first...

Removing combustion engines from the commercial transport industry. Rail Truck and public transport sectors first.

One yhing is sure...Plenty to be considered.

« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 10:55:20 PM by MB TD42 »

« Reply #324 on: January 21, 2020, 10:56:48 PM »
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 11:22:19 PM by edz »