Author Topic: Isuzu mu-x  (Read 141740 times)

Re: Isuzu mu-x
« Reply #100 on: May 14, 2014, 09:55:18 PM »
When I can find a suitable replacement the Prado will be retired.

Why? Your Prado is a fine piece of gear. What do you think you will find that warrants the expense?

Change for change sake, perhaps......??

« Reply #101 on: May 15, 2014, 08:21:02 AM »
If your prado is a diesel I'd be really keen for you to take a lst mux for a drive and give us your honest assessment.

Sounds like a plan

Why? Your Prado is a fine piece of gear. What do you think you will find that warrants the expense?

Hence why I said when I find something suitable. I'd like some extra width from a 200 but then it is too high for around town.

« Reply #102 on: May 15, 2014, 10:28:11 AM »
If your prado is a diesel I'd be really keen for you to take a lst mux for a drive and give us your honest assessment. I'm not sure what a new diesel prado is worth but a lst mux is under 50k

I came from a 120 series prado and then test drove the 150 prado and the dmax i ended up buying on the same day. Between the 150 series and the dmax i could not tell the difference i think the prado has a little more torque on paper but the dmax has a weight advantage

But the selling point for me was the ute style it just swallows up gear

« Reply #103 on: May 15, 2014, 12:03:59 PM »
I'm keen to know more about the drawers and how your fitting them. I am guessing you are removing the rear seats and false floor thingy? If so I'd like to see a pic when it's all removed.

G'day, will post some photos when we get the base installed etc.  I removed the last row of seats and put some 35mm square bar across the floor and bolted it in with the existing bolts.  The false floor will screw to that and it overcomes the lip at the rear so the fridge slide and drawers can slide out easily.

Is yours pearl white or plain white?  Plain white - easier to look after when you have travelled the odd scratchy track.

Is your fuel economy as they say on the brochure?  Only done about 1000 k and getting 9.7Km/100 k according to the computer around town.

Do you know if you can add your own maps to the gps/stereo unit? Or if it runs windows ce?  Not sure about the maps.  I don't think you can do much with them just based on the sales guys but I have a mate in IT who may be able to provide advice.  Great if we could put HEMA maps on it wouldn't it?
Have you had it off road?  Not as yet.  did some great off roading with the dmax and was very happy with it's capabilities.  Will have to wait and see but at least I have a bulbar and winch on this one.

Once again thanks for the reply, i got the PM by the way.

Im wondering what sort of vehicle you drove prior to buying this one? Or prior to the dmax?

For me, having driven both the only real difference between the dmax and mux was the comfort in terms of one has leaf springs the other has coils. They were both very similar as far as engine and drivability which well deeeer they are the same but if I was to be harsh I found they were a little 'commercial' as I stated earlier in this thread. You certainly knew you had a rattly old truck diesel under the hood. Which for me being used to the Patrol with a straight through exhaust and screaming turbo was rather luxurious LOL Do you agree with this?
Having only done 1000 kays and not yet been off road you would expect everything is still going to be hunky dory :)

Offline lochgilphead

• Disgruntled by work; Gruntled by camping
« Reply #104 on: May 15, 2014, 02:14:48 PM »
I had a GU patrol 3.0l diesel.  Had it all  set up and did 200k in it across Australia but she was getting  bit old so traded to the dmax.  Yes I agree there is not a great deal of difference b/w the dmax and the mux but that was the reason I bought the mux.  I was very happy with the dmax with the exception of the ute space as we didn't want a canopy.  Have added a couple of photos of the prep for Andrew installing the drawers tomorrow.  False floor will bolt onto the tube and I found that I could hide the rear row of seat belts in the panels with a bit of fiddling so that ended up neat as well.  Mac   :cheers:
Mac and Jen - Isuzu MUX with some small mods towing a Rhinomax Discovery. This is our rig until we stop travelling!!

Offline speedcomm

« Reply #105 on: May 16, 2014, 04:36:31 PM »
Have any of you Mux people driven the Holden equivalent ? Interested in the difference in drivetrain, neither the ute nor the wagon seem as popular as the Isuzu version, the Holden on paper has a more modern motor, versus the Isuzus proven power plant.
2.8L Prado. Jayco Eagle OB.

« Reply #106 on: May 16, 2014, 05:16:31 PM »
One thing that'd concern me about the Colorado 7 is the 2.8ltr pushing out 500nm. To me that doesn't say longevity.... Only my opinion and quite happy to be wrong.

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy

« Reply #107 on: May 16, 2014, 05:17:10 PM »
The 2.8l Colorado motor is sourced from Fiat and is also used in some Jeeps if you are looking to google any details about the engine.

I believe the Colorado gearbox is the same as that in a V8 Commodore but don't quote me on that.  The Dmax uses an Aisin box.   Toyota Motor Corporation and Aisin Seiki are the two major shareholders of Aisin.

« Last Edit: May 16, 2014, 05:24:30 PM by KingBilly »

« Reply #108 on: May 16, 2014, 05:45:41 PM »
Fiat and Jeep.... Now there's 2 vehicles known for their reliability ;)

Offline har05l

« Reply #109 on: May 16, 2014, 11:11:30 PM »
The Colorado also only markets an auto.

At least the M-UX gives the option
2010 MN Triton with most of the goodies

2014 Jayco Starcraft Outback 15.48

http://www.newtriton.net/

Offline BBwilly

« Reply #110 on: May 17, 2014, 05:00:00 PM »
The wife and I drove to the dealership today to have a look the MUX's,I think I may be replaced by a big black LS-T thing in the near future but I don't mind as long as I can drive it when allowed.

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #111 on: May 18, 2014, 08:59:53 AM »
Hopefully the aftermarket kicks in soon. I've been told they are working on a rear bar and for tyre relocation and larger 110l tank for it.

http://www.somuchviral.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/beer-holder.gif

Offline speedcomm

« Reply #112 on: May 18, 2014, 10:03:10 AM »
Do the ute accessories like bullbar and snorkel fit ?
2.8L Prado. Jayco Eagle OB.

« Reply #113 on: May 18, 2014, 10:26:30 AM »

Yes but you loose something to do with the safety rating according to the dealer unless you use isuzus bullbar ;)

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #114 on: May 18, 2014, 10:43:01 AM »

ARB told me there are slight differences between tge dmax and mu-x and the bull bar isnt compatible. They are working on one. Safari have a snorkel and so do isuzu oem.

« Reply #115 on: May 18, 2014, 10:50:05 AM »
They need to come up with something a little more attractive than this

I actually don't mind the nudge bar

« Reply #116 on: May 18, 2014, 12:18:42 PM »
I'm with D4D on the nudge bar

« Reply #117 on: May 18, 2014, 12:58:57 PM »
I like the colour coded bars like on this dmax

« Reply #118 on: May 18, 2014, 01:03:03 PM »
...and I said to the missus I wasn't going to make it look like a redneck's car :)

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #119 on: May 18, 2014, 02:17:06 PM »
...and I said to the missus I wasn't going to make it look like a redneck's car :)

The 'evolution' is inevitable :)

« Reply #120 on: May 18, 2014, 02:21:47 PM »

Yep the dmax is definitely feral but it's the only pic I could find with a colour coded ARB style bullbar!

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #121 on: May 18, 2014, 05:12:56 PM »
Isuzu is not behind in engine development, in Europe the latest model of the D.Max/ MU-X has a 2.5 Litre twin turbo rated at 400Nm and a 6 speed auto, so when they have to go to Euro 6 they are well sorted and will have a motor that has been proven. Would love to be able to test drive one against the 3.0 Litre.
Have been trying to find out what Bruce Garland is using in his new built up MU-X Dakar vehicle, will be very interesting.

Heres a pic of Bruces build up. Spotted some kings suspension hiding in there

and clarkson the sneaky old pom picked up michelle jenneke in an isuzu  >:(

« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 05:28:10 PM by Dogsbreakfast »

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #122 on: May 18, 2014, 07:44:57 PM »
Thanks for that they are doing the Finke with it, would love to be there.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Offline lochgilphead

• Disgruntled by work; Gruntled by camping
« Reply #123 on: May 18, 2014, 09:49:05 PM »
Hopefully the aftermarket kicks in soon. I've been told they are working on a rear bar and for tyre relocation and larger 110l tank for it.

I tried to find where I may buy that winch bar - THAT is exactly what I would prefer.  I couldn't make head nor tail of the Thai Isuzu MU-X website though.   I am seeking some further advice before I go on with the Ironman install.  If the Dmax bar and MU-X are not 100% compatible I expect they should tell me so. (Or am I being naïve?)  A major supplier like Ironman should not be bullsh!tting their customer base and I would rather wait for the proper fit for my 4B as I will only get one crack at it.  If anyone has an opinion please make yourself heard.
Mac and Jen - Isuzu MUX with some small mods towing a Rhinomax Discovery. This is our rig until we stop travelling!!

Offline monbeg

« Reply #124 on: May 18, 2014, 11:06:11 PM »