Author Topic: Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?  (Read 20287 times)

Re: Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?
« Reply #100 on: August 20, 2017, 01:48:10 PM »
It's probably bug guts. The speeds they were travelling I wouldn't be surprised if the bug splatter got everywhere.  ;D

Yep, the tail gate must be covered due to all the bugs catching up to them :D >:D

« Reply #101 on: August 20, 2017, 03:27:08 PM »
At the speed the car traveled the bugs could have landed had a rest and then jumped off again.  Unless they were Kamikaze grasshoppers.
https://www.flyfishingoutfitters.net/the-mystery-of-the-suicidal-grasshopper/

Offline flying.deck

« Reply #102 on: August 30, 2017, 05:00:04 PM »
Looks like the water pump base gasket which come pre-installed.

SIK0 not starting :( electrical problem I think.

Replaced dodgy throttle cable. Will do rad flush if I can get SIK0 running.

So not starting because runout of gas!

Green stuff now fully contained. Had to flatten the radiator's cap sealing surface and tighten clearance on cap locking tabs to hold the hot pressure. You learn something every day.  Removed inlet manifold to clear water galleries that feed temp sensor - the temp gauge now works. Rad flush and  short test run - at night so didn't want to get stuck too far from home - pushing along at 70-80 and no overheating!  Will adjust all valves and timing then do a longer endurance run on Saturday but I think SIK0 is cured.

« Reply #103 on: August 30, 2017, 05:51:05 PM »
Funny that, you tinker and toil with everything pulling this and that apart cursing etc  then the Ahahhhhh moment hits you like a brick .
"  Wonder if its out of juice " Haha just love playing with older machines that have character .. You can stick this electronic mumbo jumbo with a million sensors to have a Hic up ...
Good stuff, it seems SIKO  might be cured .
« Last Edit: August 30, 2017, 07:50:32 PM by edz »

« Reply #104 on: August 30, 2017, 06:57:25 PM »

pushing along at 70-80 and no overheating!  Will adjust all valves and timing then do a longer endurance run on Saturday but I think SIK0 is cured.

Was that 70-80 metres per hour

« Reply #105 on: August 30, 2017, 07:35:09 PM »
                                                           >:D

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #106 on: August 30, 2017, 07:56:54 PM »
So not starting because runout of gas!

Green stuff now fully contained. Had to flatten the radiator's cap sealing surface and tighten clearance on cap locking tabs to hold the hot pressure. You learn something every day.  Removed inlet manifold to clear water galleries that feed temp sensor - the temp gauge now works. Rad flush and  short test run - at night so didn't want to get stuck too far from home - pushing along at 70-80 and no overheating!  Will adjust all valves and timing then do a longer endurance run on Saturday but I think SIK0 is cured.

Must be a HOT machine, with twin carbs  >:D
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #107 on: August 31, 2017, 03:26:36 AM »
Wait till you hear the lumpy cam grind at idle!  :angel:

Offline raider

« Reply #108 on: September 16, 2017, 09:37:37 AM »
One of my mates bought a Hillman Hunter wagon that we used to cruise around in. He took it down to Rosebud one christmas and we used to go down the back beaches and would end up doing doughies in the carparks while bystanders would be pi$$ing themselves laughing. After he got home it seized somehow and they reckon they put oil in it, pulled the plugs out and he towed it around the block a few times with his XB Interceptor and it freed up and all good again. I will post a photo once I find the photo album hidden in our junk room.

I forgot about the pic.
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

« Reply #109 on: September 16, 2017, 10:09:37 AM »
In the tone of Jerremy Clarksons voice  " Some might say that sort of behaviour is pure madness / sheer lunacy / anti social  and downright dangerous "   ..................................................................................... " But all we know is, It was hilarious  fun and " ............................................" We all survived / the sky didnt fall / the world didnt end  and we all got the hell out of there as fast as we could with smiles a mile wide, before Mr Plod showed up " ..   ;D ;D

Disclaimer : Some may or may not approve of this sort of behaviour and should only be done in controlled environments by proffesional stunt drivers . :angel:

« Reply #110 on: September 16, 2017, 11:08:31 AM »
In the tone of Jerremy Clarksons voice  " Some might say that sort of behaviour is pure madness / sheer lunacy / anti social  and downright dangerous "   ..................................................................................... " But all we know is, It was hilarious  fun and " ............................................" We all survived / the sky didnt fall / the world didnt end  and we all got the hell out of there as fast as we could with smiles a mile wide, before Mr Plod showed up " ..   ;D ;D

Disclaimer : Some may or may not approve of this sort of behaviour and should only be done in controlled environments by proffesional stunt drivers . :angel:
We must've been the "lucky ones". You just can't do the "fun things" like that anymore. Phone cameras, internet, 10mins later, ticket/court. But we can still try  :D ;D ;D :cup:

« Reply #111 on: September 16, 2017, 12:33:45 PM »
My forte wasnt so much,  circle work as Raider and his mates are showing in the pic, but the odd flat out rally thrash day or night along sandy / dirt coastal and cane field tracks or tracks along side certain sections of highway around here in distant past years, I have been known for . Loved my Escort rally car and the raucous deep throated growl of the twin side draughts at full revs .

Offline raider

« Reply #112 on: September 16, 2017, 07:58:18 PM »
My forte wasnt so much,  circle work as Raider and his mates are showing in the pic, but the odd flat out rally thrash day or night along sandy / dirt coastal and cane field tracks or tracks along side certain sections of highway around here in distant past years, I have been known for . Loved my Escort rally car and the raucous deep throated growl of the twin side draughts at full revs .
Yeah, I shuddered when I found that photo again. Could've been bad in so many ways.  As for the rallying, I had a 180B with twin webers and 240K running gear and we raced a MK1 Cortina with a 2 litre and one weber. Used to go up to Amphlett road in Cockatoo at night and go crazy, sitting sideways at speed around the corners. Can't find a good rally car pic but below are the 180B when we were spectating at the Alpine Rally.
Middle photo is my mate's XB Interceptor, another mate's XR with a 289 I think and another mate's XA replica which went very hard. Bottom photo is the XB Interceptor blokes next car, a genuine XA GT and I think he then went to a twin cam Escort.
Last photo is one that got away- a boat I bought that had crashed at the Southern 80 with a 265 E38 motor with the triple carbs. I remember checking the engine numbers and it was genuine but I didn't realise the rarity back then and sold the boat for about $2400 to get married or help buy a house or something. It was called Hemi-roid and was very fast but I couldn't get the cav plate setup right. It had a triangular 116 litre fuel tank at the front, probably to keep the nose down. I reckon the bloke threw the boat away and kept the motor.;D

Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #113 on: September 16, 2017, 11:55:24 PM »
One  thing that I realy miss these days, Is the cars we used to see driving around ... Its so rare to see a Falcon XR=T-W-, cortina mazda Rx2-3-4 -929,  HQ-X-Z etc etc these days .. I get a WOW  look at that reaction,  When and If I see a rough stocky survivor at the shops car park.

« Reply #114 on: September 17, 2017, 07:50:10 AM »
One  thing that I realy miss these days, Is the cars we used to see driving around ... Its so rare to see a Falcon XR=T-W-, cortina mazda Rx2-3-4 -929,  HQ-X-Z etc etc these days .. I get a WOW  look at that reaction,  When and If I see a rough stocky survivor at the shops car park.
I saw a HZ ute in Adelaide on Friday and thought exactly the same thing.

And that photo with the guy hanging out of the widows in the wagon reminded me how lucky we where in our teenage years.
A lot of my mates lived out on farms and had some pretty cool headland bombs; escorts, kingswoods, even a moke ;)
One mate had a 253 HQ sedan with welded doors and no windows, it did a great General Lee impersonation. :)
I remember one afternoon after a pretty big day fishing and drinking down at the river, we where racing through the paddocks with me and another mate sitting on the boot with our legs through the back window and hanging on to the roof as we drifted through the cane fields.
I clearly remember the moment of realization as it hit me that what I was doing was probably the most stupid thing I'd ever done. And like most teenage boys growing up in the country, I had done a lot of stupid things....