Poll

Do you remove your hitch when not towing?

Yes, I don't want to smash my shins
31 (23.3%)
Yes, I don't want some low life to run away with it
30 (22.6%)
No, protects the rear of my car
28 (21.1%)
No, but I keep it locked on there
11 (8.3%)
No, just can't be bothered/use it too often
33 (24.8%)

Total Members Voted: 129

Author Topic: Remove your hitch when not towing?  (Read 13029 times)

Re: Remove your hitch when not towing?
« Reply #25 on: June 23, 2017, 09:02:47 AM »
Interesting
http://www.asshat.com.au/moronsptyltd/Page.asp?PageID=558

What if it's a permanent hitch and not a tongue?? (ie) a car.

Offline rotare

« Reply #26 on: June 23, 2017, 09:33:04 AM »
I'd like to see them enforce it since every second car has a tow hitch fitted where I live.

It may be deemed illegal, but in nearly 30 years of having a license I've never heard of someone being booked.

I better make sure I fold my side mirrors in too when not using them just in case a pedestrian bumps into them with their shoulder....

« Reply #27 on: June 23, 2017, 11:05:58 AM »
I remove my hitch bar when it's not in use to save my shins and deter would be tealeafs. Here in NSW the rule only states that the hitch is not to protrude dangerously. Very subjective but, it does not mandate removal of the bar. When I took delivery of my Everest the bar was fitted up ready to go so Ford doesn't think it is dangerous.
I store the bar in the stock rear under floor compartment with the jack and tools (Same with Mrs Snow's Rav4) and have fitted McHitch hitches to both my camper and boxy drawbars relieving the need for more than one bar.

« Reply #28 on: June 23, 2017, 11:35:10 AM »
Never removed the hitch due to having forgotten the hitch one time and a locking pin fitted. Not to mention laziness....  Plus on the Prado the factory hitch protrudes no further than the factory spare wheel cover.

A Mitsubishi SUV boot rooted our Prado last week.  Damage looked very minimal to ours, as the hitch appeared to do most of the damage to the other car.  Still managed to do 3K damage to our car. Rear bar, spare wheel cover and spare wheel bracket.

« Reply #29 on: June 23, 2017, 12:20:40 PM »
Quote from: rotare
I'd like to see them enforce it since every second car has a tow hitch fitted where I live.

Sort of like people on mobiles, cars with 1 headlight, etc etc.. they could clear the national debt in a month

« Reply #30 on: June 23, 2017, 01:05:41 PM »
Sort of like people on mobiles, cars with 1 headlight, etc etc.. they could clear the national debt in a month

Just like in Vic..
Where the boys aren't interested in pinging anybody, unless it involves points on Licenses apparently.

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #31 on: June 23, 2017, 01:16:32 PM »
Just like in Vic..
Where the boys aren't interested in pinging anybody, unless it involves points on Licenses apparently.

And they have camera's for that, dont have to move their fat arse from the vehicle at all.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #32 on: June 23, 2017, 01:19:45 PM »
Hi All, When I bought the 80 series  5 or 6 years ago the tongue was that loose, it slopped backwards and forward and rattled that bad, I pulled the tongue tight and spot welded the the fours corners it has not moved or rattled sense. Craig

Offline rotare

« Reply #33 on: June 23, 2017, 01:41:11 PM »
Not sure what others have, but my hitch with ball connected is a fair slug of metal.  Unless strapped and secured inside the vehicle when not in use, I'd suspect it would do a fair bit of damage inside a vehicle, and to occupants, if you were ever in a roll over or be involved in a significant vehicle impact.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2017, 08:08:54 PM by rotare »

« Reply #34 on: June 23, 2017, 01:52:01 PM »
Quote from: loanrangie
  And they have camera's for that, dont have to move their fat arse from the vehicle at all.

I dunno.. In the middle of nowhere other day coming back from Portland there were 4 of em standing hidden beside an abandoned building in small country town that looked like it had been extinct for last 35 yrs..
1 with camera shooting almost down the verandah to the road (was on a corner), and 3 like council workers, and 1 bout klm down the road with some P Plater who probably did 1klm over, or smiled in public or similar deadly crime... If only he had of done a aggrevated burg instead he'd be in the clear.

« Reply #35 on: June 23, 2017, 02:20:46 PM »
Just to clear up a small thing, speed cameras on side of the road are operated by sub-contractors, not by members.

« Reply #36 on: June 23, 2017, 02:30:13 PM »
I remove as I have had 2 stolen on me already

« Reply #37 on: June 23, 2017, 03:15:31 PM »
Quote from: wilson79
I remove as I have had 2 stolen on me already

I cant believe people steal these things that often.. I've heard of it in caravan parks...  but not in the real world.

« Reply #38 on: June 23, 2017, 05:39:38 PM »
I cant believe people steal these things that often.. I've heard of it in caravan parks...  but not in the real world.

Yep once in a motel in Mt Isa the other I think it was at the Bunnings car park in Townsville

« Reply #39 on: June 23, 2017, 06:18:45 PM »
Just to clear up a small thing, speed cameras on side of the road are operated by sub-contractors, not by members.
so you're saying they are to lazy to even do that now? ;D ;D

« Reply #40 on: June 23, 2017, 07:17:00 PM »
so you're saying they are to lazy to even do that now? ;D ;D

Rummy, your just nasty.

Dunno about elsewhere, but Vic. the Police have Subbied out the job of roadside Speed Camera's, been like that for years.
The 'Bosses' refer to it as more uniform police available for "Interaction with the Public."

« Reply #41 on: June 23, 2017, 07:27:31 PM »
Rummy, your just nasty.

Dunno about elsewhere, but Vic. the Police have Subbied out the job of roadside Speed Camera's, been like that for years.
The 'Bosses' refer to it as more uniform police available for "Interaction with the Public."
all jokes mate...the coppers in every state work hard for their money i'm sure, then watch their hard work go down the drain as soft judges give repeat offenders continual slaps on the wrist.

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #42 on: June 23, 2017, 07:58:39 PM »
There are more important things to police.
Drunk/ drugged drivers.......when was the last time you were drug tested?
Bald tyres, lots of tgem around.
Dangerious vehicles/ trucks
4x4s that need a ladder to reach the drivers door.
Look at me lights, blinding everyone.

These things need more enfrcement, not a tow bar.

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #43 on: June 23, 2017, 10:02:01 PM »
I tried to get one out of a partially burnt out hilux in the bush once, damn thing was stuck solid. Wonder how many won't ever be coming out again?

Offline bellony

« Reply #44 on: June 23, 2017, 11:33:16 PM »
all jokes mate...the coppers in every state work hard for their money i'm sure, then watch their hard work go down the drain as soft judges give repeat offenders continual slaps on the wrist.

Be careful rumpig. 3 pollies nearly went to jail for stating the obvious.
2006 HDJ100R VX
2005 R51 Pathfinder
2004 KK Limited Ed

Offline moeite

« Reply #45 on: June 24, 2017, 12:38:26 AM »
Mine stays in. Lost the key for the locking pin.  ;D
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #46 on: June 24, 2017, 05:19:24 PM »
You can get radioactive ones but I use a standard one and hit it with some yellow marker paint I also have to spray the outer sides of the mudflaps and carry bar with as her indoors seems to struggle a bit watching where she's going-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/GLOW-IN-THE-DARK-HIGH-VIS-TOWBAR-SHIN-PROTECTOR-SHIN-GUARD-TOWBALL-ACCESSORY-/251302308162
Sometimes you need to consider suitable training aids in such highly technical matters  :-*   

There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline 4runnernomore

« Reply #47 on: June 25, 2017, 09:02:45 PM »
I remove mine on all my cars. I have the ozhitch so it sticks out a little bit to far and definitely do not want someone knocking it off.

Cheers, Chris :cheers:

« Reply #48 on: June 25, 2017, 10:52:20 PM »
I remove it.  It just makes sense. 

« Reply #49 on: June 26, 2017, 06:39:00 AM »
I remove it.  It just makes sense.
why does it "just make sense"?...mine is used regularly and doesn't protrude past the ladder or rubbish bag on the back of my canopy, so it "just makes sense" to me that I leave it on.